DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO 1449.These IDS has been considered.
Examiner’s Note
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim objections
Claim 1 are objected to because: As per claim 1, claim recites “scanning light receiver; optical component”, there is no antecedent basis for this limitation in this claim.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of expediting the processing of the application, Claims have been rejected in view of the prior art (see below) based on a broader interpretation that meets the claimed subject matter as interpreted by the Examiner.
Claim 8 are objected to because: As per claim 8, claim recites “diffraction-type gratings,”, there is no antecedent basis for this limitation in this claim.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of expediting the processing of the application, Claims have been rejected in view of the prior art (see below) based on a broader interpretation that meets the claimed subject matter as interpreted by the Examiner.
Claim 14 are objected to because: As per claim 14, claim recites “linear diffraction grating”, there is no antecedent basis for this limitation in this claim.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of expediting the processing of the application, Claims have been rejected in view of the prior art (see below) based on a broader interpretation that meets the claimed subject matter as interpreted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EGGERS et al. (KR2025-0116144) (herein after EGGERS) in view of Jung et al. (US 20010038453 A1) (herein after Jung).
As to claim(s) 1, EGGERS discloses a spectrum measurement device, comprising:
a scanning light receiver [110], receiving a plurality of light beams of a display image sequentially on a plane according to a scanning operation to generate a plurality of input light beams sequentially [The receiver unit (110) is designed to receive a light beam (130) of light (120) transmitted through or reflected from the test piece (105). In this case, the light beam (130) represents at least one image representation of the projected object structure…page 7][ Capturing is implemented by recording using a system as described by sequentially recording images, each filtered differently, through a filter wheel. In this case, the image recording for each filter position may include one image or multiple images, even if the exposure times are different…page 8][ the targets may be generated and projected purely selectively, either by self-luminous display elements that are part of the test piece (105), or by a target projector that projects the target through the test piece (105)…page 8];
an optical component, receiving the input light beams sequentially [the detector (140) may comprise: a plurality of spectral channels (141); An image sensor (142) …page 7] and generating a plurality of pieces of processed information [computing unit (150). In this case, the apparatus (100) is capable of simultaneously determining optical, and also photometric or chromatic measurement parameters of the optical system or module to be tested…page 10]; and
a processor [150], obtaining luminance and chromaticity information of the display image according to the processed information [To measure optical and chromatic parameters, the recorded data is transmitted to a computing unit (150) and processed by the computing unit (150)…page 8] [To measure optical and chromatic or luminous parameters, a target as described is projected by a test piece (105)…page 8].
[Note: while each unit configured to perform as claimed may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, because apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does].
EGGERS discloses all the features of the claimed invention except the limitation such as: “the processor coupled to the light source component”.
However, Jung from the same field of endeavor discloses a processor coupled to a light source component [@fig.39: Computer 642 also is coupled to light source 638…¶0286].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the device/method/system of EGGERS such that the processor coupled to the light source component; as taught by Jung, for the advantages such as: in order to obtain an optimum measurement.
As of claim 2, EGGERS discloses the spectrum measurement device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the scanning light receiver comprises: a light-receiving lens [an optical system (184) (e.g., a lens)…page 9], moving in a first axis direction or a second axis direction of the plane according to the scanning operation [the test piece (105) can be displaced one-time or repeatedly along the x-axis, y-axis and z-axis of the coordinate system using the stage…page 9].
Claim(s) 3-11 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EGGERS et al. in view of Jung et al. and further in view of He et al. (US 20050094934 A1) (herein after He).
As to claim(s) 3-11 and 14-15, EGGERS when modified by Jung discloses all the features of the claimed invention except the limitation such as: “The spectrum measurement device as claimed in claim 2, wherein the optical component comprises: a slit device, a reflector, and a diffraction grating, wherein the slit device, the reflector, and the diffraction grating are arranged sequentially to receive each of the input light beams and generate each piece of the processed information sequentially.
The spectrum measurement device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the scanning light receiver comprises: a slit array, having a plurality of slits, wherein each of the slits is opened sequentially according to a scanning sequence, so as to receive each of the light beams sequentially; and a focusing lens, arranged to overlap with the slit array, and receiving each of the light beams and focusing each of the light beams to generate each of the input light beams.
The spectrum measurement device as claimed in claim 4, wherein the optical component comprises: a diffraction grating, receiving each of the input light beams, and diffracting each of the input light beams to generate a plurality of diffracted light beams; and a linear sensor, wherein the diffracted light beams are projected to different areas of the linear sensor respectively, and the linear sensor is configured to obtain wavelength energy of each of the diffracted light beams.
The spectrum measurement device as claimed in claim 5, wherein the linear sensor receives a light generated by the diffraction grating.
The spectrum measurement device as claimed in claim 4, wherein the focusing lens comprises a plurality of unit lens elements, and the unit lens elements are arranged corresponding to the slits respectively.
The spectrum measurement device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the scanning light receiver comprises: a slit array, having a plurality of slits, wherein each of the slits is opened sequentially according to a scanning sequence, so as to receive each of the light beams sequentially; and a plurality of diffraction-type gratings, arranged corresponding to the slits respectively, wherein each of the diffraction-type gratings is configured to receive each of the light beams, and to diffract each of the light beams to generate the plurality of input light beams.
The spectrum measurement device as claimed in claim 8, wherein the optical component comprises: a linear sensor, wherein the input light beams generated by the respective diffraction-type gratings are projected to different areas of the linear sensor.
The spectrum measurement device as claimed in claim 9, wherein each of the slits is opened sequentially along a first axis direction or a second axis direction according to the scanning sequence, and the linear sensor corresponds to each of the slits being opened to perform movements along the first axis direction or the second axis direction.
The spectrum measurement device as claimed in claim 9, wherein each of the slits is opened sequentially along a first axis direction or a second axis direction according to the scanning sequence, in response to each of the slits being opened along the second direction, the linear sensor corresponds to each of the slits being opened to perform movements along the second axis direction.
The spectrum measurement device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the scanning light receiver comprises: a linear diffraction grating, receiving a plurality of first light beams distributed along a first axis direction among the light beams, wherein the linear diffraction grating moves along a second axis direction according to a scanning sequence, and the first axis direction is orthogonal to the second axis direction.
The spectrum measurement device as claimed in claim 13, wherein the optical component comprises: a linear sensor, wherein the input light beams generated by a linear diffraction grating are projected to different areas of the linear sensor, and the linear sensor corresponds to the linear diffraction grating to move along a second axis direction”.
However, Jung from the same field of endeavor discloses and shows in figs. 1, 2 and 6, a slit device [16o and 16e], a reflector [12A@¶0052], and a diffraction grating [11@¶0046], wherein the slit device, the reflector, and the diffraction grating are arranged sequentially to receive each of the input light beams and generate each piece of the processed information sequentially [¶0046];
a slit array [16o and 16e], having a plurality of slits, wherein each of the slits is opened sequentially according to a scanning sequence, so as to receive each of the light beams sequentially [¶0046]; and a focusing lens [28o/28e], arranged to overlap with the slit array, and receiving each of the light beams and focusing each of the light beams to generate each of the input light beams [¶0051];
a diffraction grating [11], receiving each of the input light beams, and diffracting each of the input light beams to generate a plurality of diffracted light beams; and a linear sensor, wherein the diffracted light beams are projected to different areas of the linear sensor respectively, and the linear sensor is configured to obtain wavelength energy of each of the diffracted light beams [¶0046, 0049];
wherein the linear sensor receives a light generated by the diffraction grating [¶0046];
wherein the focusing lens comprises a plurality of unit lens [25o,25e] elements, and the unit lens elements are arranged corresponding to the slits respectively [¶0049];
a slit array [16o and 16e], having a plurality of slits [16o and 16e], wherein each of the slits is opened sequentially according to a scanning sequence, so as to receive each of the light beams sequentially [¶0046, 0049]; and a plurality of diffraction-type gratings, arranged corresponding to the slits respectively, wherein each of the diffraction-type gratings is configured to receive each of the light beams, and to diffract each of the light beams to generate the plurality of input light beams [¶0046];
a linear sensor [21o-21e], wherein the input light beams generated by the respective diffraction-type gratings are projected to different areas of the linear sensor [¶0047];
wherein each of the slits is opened sequentially along a first axis direction or a second axis direction according to the scanning sequence, and the linear sensor corresponds to each of the slits being opened to perform movements along the first axis direction or the second axis direction [¶0046, 0049]; wherein each of the slits is opened sequentially along a first axis direction or a second axis direction according to the scanning sequence, in response to each of the slits being opened along the second direction, the linear sensor corresponds to each of the slits being opened to perform movements along the second axis direction [¶0046, 0049];
a linear diffraction grating [11], receiving a plurality of first light beams distributed along a first axis direction among the light beams, wherein the linear diffraction grating moves along a second axis direction according to a scanning sequence, and the first axis direction is orthogonal to the second axis direction [¶0046, 0049];
a linear sensor [21o], wherein the input light beams generated by a linear diffraction grating are projected to different areas of the linear sensor, and the linear sensor corresponds to the linear diffraction grating to move along a second axis direction [¶0046, 0049].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the device/method/system of EGGERS when modified by Jung such that the slit device, the reflector, and the diffraction grating, wherein the slit device, the reflector, and the diffraction grating are arranged sequentially to receive each of the input light beams and generate each piece of the processed information sequentially; the slit array, having the plurality of slits, wherein each of the slits is opened sequentially according to the scanning sequence, so as to receive each of the light beams sequentially; and the focusing lens, arranged to overlap with the slit array, and receiving each of the light beams and focusing each of the light beams to generate each of the input light beams; the linear sensor receives the light generated by the diffraction grating; wherein the focusing lens comprises the plurality of unit lens elements, and the unit lens elements are arranged corresponding to the slits respectively; the slit array, having the plurality of slits, wherein each of the slits is opened sequentially according to a scanning sequence, so as to receive each of the light beams sequentially; and the plurality of diffraction-type gratings, arranged corresponding to the slits respectively, wherein each of the diffraction-type gratings is configured to receive each of the light beams, and to diffract each of the light beams to generate the plurality of input light beams; the optical component comprises: the linear sensor, wherein the input light beams generated by the respective diffraction-type gratings are projected to different areas of the linear sensor; wherein each of the slits is opened sequentially along the first axis direction or the second axis direction according to the scanning sequence, and the linear sensor corresponds to each of the slits being opened to perform movements along the first axis direction or the second axis direction; wherein each of the slits is opened sequentially along a first axis direction or a second axis direction according to the scanning sequence, in response to each of the slits being opened along the second direction, the linear sensor corresponds to each of the slits being opened to perform movements along the second axis direction; the lens element group, disposed between the display providing the display image and the scanning light receiver; and the zoom lens, arranged to overlap with the lens element group, and disposed between the lens element group and the scanning light receiver; the linear diffraction grating, receiving the plurality of first light beams distributed along the first axis direction among the light beams, wherein the linear diffraction grating moves along the second axis direction according to the scanning sequence, and the first axis direction is orthogonal to the second axis direction; the linear sensor, wherein the input light beams generated by the linear diffraction grating are projected to different areas of the linear sensor, and the linear sensor corresponds to the linear diffraction grating to move along a second axis direction; as taught by He, for the advantages such as: to measure the optical property with higher precision and also facilitate focusing at the object.
Claim(s) 12-13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EGGERS et al. in view of Jung et al. and He et al. and further in view of HARAGUCHI et al. (DE 3750569 T2) (herein after HARAGUCHI).
As to claim(s) 12-13 and 16, EGGERS when modified by Jung and He discloses all the features of the claimed invention except the limitation such as: “The spectrum measurement device as claimed in claim 4, further comprising: a lens element group, disposed between a display providing the display image and the scanning light receiver; and a zoom lens, arranged to overlap with the lens element group, and disposed between the lens element group and the scanning light receiver.
The spectrum measurement device as claimed in claim 12, wherein the zoom lens has an adjustable focal length.
The spectrum measurement device as claimed in claim 14, further comprising: a lens element group, disposed between a display providing the display image and the scanning light receiver; and a zoom lens, arranged to overlap with the lens element group, and disposed between the lens element group and the scanning light receiver”.
However, HARAGUCHI from the same field of endeavor discloses a lens element group, disposed between a display providing the display image and the scanning light receiver [Figures 2 to 4, the base plate 6 includes a lens support plate portion 6a disposed in a plane perpendicular to the optical axis of the lens…page 8]; and a zoom lens, arranged to overlap with the lens element group, and disposed between the lens element group and the scanning light receiver [Fig. 1 to 8. A central shutter camera according to the invention contains as essential elements a zoom lens 1…page 8]; wherein the zoom lens has an adjustable focal length [The lens system used in the viewfinder assembly 8 essentially comprises an object lens group L3, an eyepiece group L4 and a variable magnification movable lens group L5., which is varied in accordance with the zoom operation of the lens 1…page 12];
a lens element group, disposed between a display providing the display image and the scanning light receiver [As best shown in Figures 2 to 4, the base plate 6 includes a lens support plate portion 6a disposed in a plane perpendicular to the optical axis of the lens and a horizontal support plate portion 6b extending perpendicularly from the lens support plate portion 6a. The support plate portion 6b extends beyond the right side edge of the plate 6a as seen in Figure 2 to support the viewfinder assembly 8 and the flash assembly 9…page 8]; and a zoom lens, arranged to overlap with the lens element group, and disposed between the lens element group and the scanning light receiver [Fig. 1 to 8. A central shutter camera according to the invention contains as essential elements a zoom lens 1…page 8].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the device/method/system of EGGERS when modified by Jung and He such that the lens element group, disposed between the display providing the display image and the scanning light receiver; and the zoom lens, arranged to overlap with the lens element group, and disposed between the lens element group and the scanning light receiver; wherein the zoom lens has the adjustable focal length; the lens element group, disposed between the display providing the display image and the scanning light receiver; and the zoom lens, arranged to overlap with the lens element group, and disposed between the lens element group and the scanning light receiver as taught by HARAGUCHI, for the advantages such as: to accurately calibrate optical measurement devices.
MD M. RAHMAN
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2886
/MD M RAHMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877