DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by the US Patent Application Publication to Chen 2019/0331989US.
In terms of Claim 1, Chen teaches a wavelength conversion element (Figure 3c), comprising a substrate (Figure 3c: 110) and a wavelength conversion material (Figure 3c: 121/122; [0028]), wherein: the wavelength conversion material is disposed on the substrate (Figure 3c: 110 and 122/121), the wavelength conversion material is configured to convert an excitation beam into a conversion beam ([0028]), and the wavelength conversion material (Figure 3c: 121 and 122) comprises: a fluorescent glass comprising a glass material and a first fluorescent material (Figure 3c: 121a and [0038]); and a second fluorescent material (Figure 3c: 122a and [0040]), wherein the fluorescent glass covers the second fluorescent material (Figure 3c: 122a is made of glass powder [0038] wherein powder form of phosphor is scattering in the glass, thus the glass is covering the fluorescent material), and the first fluorescent material and the second fluorescent material are different ([0026]).
As for Claim 2, Chen teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the conversion beam has a plurality of different wavelength peaks (Figure 4: 100 from 121a and 122a produce different wavelength peaks as shown by 60G – green color light and 60Y yellow color light which contains different wavelength ranges from green light).
As for Claim 3, Chen teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the fluorescent glass (Figure 3c: within 122a/121a) is configured to convert the excitation beam into a first beam (Figure 4: see 100; [0028]), the second fluorescent material (Figure 3c: 122a) is configured to convert the excitation beam into a second beam ([0026]), a wavelength peak of the first beam and a wavelength peak of the second beam are different (Figure 4: see 60Y or yellow light and 60G or green light wherein the colors produce different wavelengths peaks), and the conversion beam comprises at least one of the first beam and the second beam (Figure 4: 60G and 60Y).
As for Claim 4, Chen teaches the device of Claim 3, wherein the wavelength peak of the first beam is greater than the wavelength peak of the second beam (60Y yellow light has a wavelength range of 570-590 nm; while 60G light has a wavelength range of 495-570 nm).
As for Claim 5, Chen teaches the device of Claim 3, wherein the wavelength peak of the first beam is less than the wavelength peak of the second beam (The conversion is capable of producing other color light such as yellow, green and red [0056]; thus, due to 3 colors variance the various wavelengths will be greater and less relative to each other).
As for Claim 6, Chen teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the glass material comprises silicate ([0027]), borate [0036], aluminate ([0036]), phosphate ([0028]), alkali metal, alkaline earth metal, zinc oxide, or any combination thereof.
As for Claim 7, Chen teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein a thickness of the wavelength conversion material is between 0.05 mm and 0.5 mm ([0053]).
As for Claim 14, Chen teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the substrate (Figure 3c: 110) has a wavelength conversion region (121a/122a) and a non-wavelength conversion region (Figure 3c: 121b/122b), and the wavelength conversion material ([0038-0040]) is disposed at the wavelength conversion region (Figure 3c: 121a and 122a).
In terms of Claim 15, Chen teaches a projection device (Figure 4), comprising an illumination system (Figure 3c: 100 and Figure 4: 210 and 100), a light valve (Figure 4: 260; [0044]), and a projection lens (Figure 4: 270; [0044]), wherein: the illumination system (Figure 4: 210) is configured to provide an illumination beam (Figure 4:50), and the illumination system comprises a light source module (210) and a wavelength conversion element (100), wherein: the light source module is configured to provide an excitation beam (Figure 4: 210; [0045]); and the wavelength conversion element (Figure 3c: 100 or Figure 4: 100) is disposed on a transmission path of the excitation beam (Figure 4: 100), and the wavelength conversion element comprises a substrate (Figure 3c: 110) and a wavelength conversion material (121a), wherein: the wavelength conversion material is disposed on the substrate (Figure 3c: 121a and 110), the wavelength conversion material is configured to convert the excitation beam into a conversion beam ([0026-0028]), and the wavelength conversion material comprises a fluorescent glass (121a [0038]) and a second fluorescent material (122a [0040]), wherein the fluorescent glass comprises a glass material and a first fluorescent material ([0038]), the fluorescent glass covers the second fluorescent material (Figure 3c: 122a and 121a is made of glass with fluorescent phosphor embedded), the first fluorescent material and the second fluorescent material are different ([0026]), and the illumination beam comprises at least one of the excitation beam and the conversion beam (Figure 4: 50 and converted beam 60Y/60G); the light valve (260) is disposed on a transmission path of the illumination beam and configured to convert the illumination beam into an image beam; and the projection lens (270) is disposed on a transmission path of the image beam and configured to project the image beam out of the projection device (Figure 4: at 90).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Chen 2019/0331989US in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Kishimoto 2012/0140496US.
In regards to Claim 8, Chen teaches the device of Claim 1.
Chen does not teach wherein the fluorescent material is made of gallium.
Kishimoto teaches wherein fluorescent material made in a glass material with low melting point produces a device that has long lasting lifespan ([0004]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluorescent material to be made out of gallium in order to produce a device that has a long-lasting lifespan and prevent deterioration of device due to short wavelengths light.
In regards to Claim 9, Chen teaches the device of Claim 1.
Chen does not teach wherein the fluorescent material is made of YAG or also known as yttrium aluminum garnet.
Kishimoto teaches wherein fluorescent material made in a glass material (silicate base [0248]) having YAG (yttrium aluminum garnet) or TAG (Terbium Aluminum Garnet). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluorescent material of device to be made out YAG or TAG in order to match fluorescent of common LED light source in order to provide compatibility with common light emitting diodes sources.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Chen 2019/0331989US in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Yuasa 2019/0237635US.
In regards to Claims 10-13, Chen teaches the device of Claim 1.
Chen does not teach wherein a weight percentage concentration of the fluorescent glass in the wavelength conversion material is between 40% and 70%; and wherein a weight percentage concentration of the second fluorescent material in the wavelength conversion material is between 30% and 60%; wherein a weight percentage concentration of the first fluorescent material in the fluorescent glass is less than or equal to 10%; wherein a weight percentage concentration of the first fluorescent material in the wavelength conversion material is less than or equal to 10%.
Yuasa does teach a fluorescent material in a matrix having weight percentage of 30%, 45% and 60% ([0082]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the weight percentage of the fluorescent material in order to achieve different level of color purity in the wavelength conversion layer (See [0082]).
One would be motivated to optimize the result by adjusting different degrees of weight percentages of the fluorescent material to achieve a desired purity base on different applicant needs. Further the same idea can be applied to for “wherein a weight percentage concentration of the first fluorescent material in the fluorescent glass is less than or equal to 10%” or “wherein a weight percentage concentration of the first fluorescent material in the wavelength conversion material is less than or equal to 10%”. If the desired application does not require high level of clarity or if the material used can produce a desired effects one would want to adjust the fluorescent level to be less than 10% in order to save on material cost.
Claims 16-19, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Chen 2019/0331989US in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Chen #2 (2021/0341656US).
In terms of Claim 16-18 and 21, Chen ‘989 teaches a manufacturing method of a wavelength conversion element, comprising: mixing a glass material and a first fluorescent material to form a fluorescent glass body raw material (Figure 3c” 121a and [0027] and [0038]); manufacturing a fluorescent glass from the fluorescent glass body raw material (Figure 3c: 121a); mixing a second fluorescent material and the fluorescent glass ([0027] and [0038]) wherein the first fluorescent material and the second fluorescent material are different ([0026]); and disposing the wavelength conversion material to a substrate to form the wavelength conversion element (Figure 3c: 121a and 122a on 110); wherein the step of manufacturing the fluorescent glass from the fluorescent glass body raw material further comprises: heating the fluorescent glass body raw material to form a fluorescent glass body liquid ([0035] teaches wherein the material is heated up to be thermoforming which the examiner considers to be in a liquid molten state); and cooling the fluorescent glass body liquid to form the fluorescent glass ([0035] also teaches a cooling step using heat dissipation techniques).
Chen ‘989 does not teach sintering glass material in order to produce wavelength conversion material; wherein a temperature of heating the fluorescent glass body raw material to form the fluorescent glass body liquid is between 1200 degrees and 1600 degrees; wherein a sintering temperature of sintering the second fluorescent material and the fluorescent glass to form the wavelength conversion material is between 700 degrees and 900 degrees.
Chen #2 ‘656 teaches sintering glass material in order to produce wavelength conversion material ([0021]); wherein a temperature of heating the fluorescent glass body raw material to form the fluorescent glass body liquid is between 1200 degrees and 1600 degrees ([0021]); wherein a sintering temperature of sintering the fluorescent material and the fluorescent glass to form the wavelength conversion material is between 700 degrees and 900 degrees ([0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method step of making the wavelength conversion device to include a sintering step at temperatures between 1200-1600 or 700-900 degrees in order to control porosity of the layer. The porosity of layer also produce device less vulnerable to damage collision and cracks ([0021-0023]).
In regards to Claims 19 and 22, Chen ‘989 and Chen ‘656 teach the method of Claims 16 and 17.
Chen ‘989 and Chen ‘656 do not teach wherein a viscosity of the fluorescent glass body liquid is 1 Pa*S or wherein a viscosity of the wavelength conversion material is between 102 Pa*S and 105.5 Pa*S and the wavelength conversion material is formed by sintering the florescent material and the fluorescent glass. The viscosity must be present due to sintering effects. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the sintering temperature in order to change to a desired viscosity. Chen ‘656 indicate that sintering and various temperature ranges produce different porosity thus improving durability ([0021-0023]). Since viscosity is by product of the sintering temperature one would be motivated to adjust it to allow the layer to easier thermal form or weld while achieve some degree of desired porosity.
In regards to Claim 23, Chen ‘989 and Chen ‘656 teach the method of Claims 16, wherein Chen ‘989 teaches that the first fluorescent layer 121a and the second fluorescent layer 122a are made of different materials ([0026]). Thus, the melting or liquid or molten temperature will also be different thus meeting the limitation of “wherein a temperature of forming the fluorescent glass is greater than a sintering temperature of sintering the second fluorescent material and the fluorescent glass to form the wavelength conversion material” as produce by sintering steps of Chen ‘656 as rejected in Claim 16.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen 2019/0331989US / Chen #2 (2021/0341656US) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication to Shioi 2010/0164367US.
In regards to Claim 20, Chen ‘989 and Chen ‘656 teach the method of Claims 16, wherein Chen ‘989 teaches the step of mixing the second fluorescent material and the fluorescent glass ([0026-0028] and [0038-0040]) and mixing the second fluorescent material and the fluorescent glass powder and heating ([0026-0028] and [0040]).
Chen ‘989 does not teach sintering the two to form the wavelength conversion material.
Chen #2 ‘656 teaches sintering glass material in order to produce wavelength conversion material ([0021]); wherein a temperature of heating the fluorescent glass body raw material to form the fluorescent glass body liquid is between 1200 degrees and 1600 degrees ([0021]); wherein a sintering temperature of sintering the fluorescent material and the fluorescent glass to form the wavelength conversion material is between 700 degrees and 900 degrees ([0021]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method step of making the wavelength conversion device to include a sintering step at temperatures between 1200-1600 or 700-900 degrees in order to control porosity of the layer. The porosity of layer also produce device less vulnerable to damage collision and cracks ([0021-0023]).
Chen ‘989 and Chen ‘656 does not teach a method further comprises: grinding the fluorescent glass to form a fluorescent glass powder.
Chen ‘989 and Chen ‘656 do not teach wherein the powder was produce via
Shioi does making a fluorescent material in a powder form wherein the powder was made using a grind process ([0028]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the powder of Chen’989 to be made from a grinding process in order to control the diameter of the powder particles thus allow for a more uniform and even distribution of the powder in the fluorescent conversion material ([0028]). This will produce a more control conversion device across the entire conversion layer surface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication to Li 2016/0053950US teaches wavelength conversion layers using fluorescent materials.
/HOANG Q TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874