DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. The following title is suggested: “Display Control Apparatus, Display Control Method, and Storage Medium for Restricting Display of User Information” or a title more indicative of the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono (US 2019/0320028 A1, hereinafter referenced “Ono”) in view of Kojo (US 2012/0251997 A1, hereinafter referenced “Kojo”).
In regards to claim 1. Ono discloses a display control apparatus (Ono, Abstract) comprising:
-a processor, wherein the processor is configured to, display on a display of a terminal operated by each member, display information of each of a plurality of members associated with information that specifies each member (Ono, para [0108]-[0110]; Reference at para [0108] discloses a process of checking, by a teacher, an answer to a homework assignment submitted by a student will be described. Para [0109] discloses In step S401, the processor 11 causes the teacher's terminal to display details of the submission status (i.e. a processor, wherein the processor is configured to, display on a display of a terminal operated by each member with regards to the teacher’s display of the students homework submissions). FIG. 15 shows an example of a submission status detail screen 380 displayed on the teacher's terminal. Para [0110] discloses the submission status list 383 includes a submitter name list 384 indicating the names of students who have submitted answers to the homework assignment, and a URL field 385 (i.e. display information of each of a plurality of members associated with information that specifies each member regarding students). That is, the submission status list 383 shows a list of students' names who have submitted answers to the homework assignment and URLs of the respective answers),
Ono does not explicitly disclose but Kojo teaches
-and in a case where a specific operation by a specific member among the plurality of members is detected, based on the detected specific operation, restrict a display of the display information of the member operating the terminal or information other than the information that specifies the member on a display of the terminal operated by each member (Kojo, para [0149]-[0150]; Reference at para [0149] discloses next, when a user (teacher) performs switching operation with respect to the text display tag Tg1 in the electronic blackboard 3 (step S42; Yes), a notice indicating that switching to the text display tag Tg1 is performed and the page number “82” of the page displayed at the moment are transmitted to the student terminal 4 (step S43) and thereafter, the display mode of the display 310 in the electronic blackboard 3 is set to the text mode (i.e. the switching operation performed by the teacher interpreted as and in a case where a specific operation by a specific member among the plurality of members is detected). Para [0150] discloses in the student terminal 4, after a notice indicating that switching operation is performed with respect to the text display tag Tg1 in the electronic blackboard 3 and the page number “82” of the page being displayed in the electronic blackboard 3 are received (step T6; Yes), the types of restriction target functions corresponding to the text display tag Tg1 after switching (here, functions other than the handwriting input function and the marker function, see the second row in FIG. 4B) are read out from the blackboard display tag-wise function restriction table 443 and execution of the restriction target functions is prohibited in the student terminal (step T7). The restriction of functions for the student terminal in response to the teacher page switching operation is interpreted as restricting a display of information other than the information that specifies the member on a display of the terminal operated by each member).
Ono and Kojo are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding teacher/student collaboration tools. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the web service system of Ono to include the electronic blackboard features of Kojo in order to provide the user with a system for creating information indicating a first content in response to an operation on a first client terminal, assigning a unique first address on a network to the first content, and permitting access to the first address from a second client terminal for editing the first content as taught by Ono while incorporating the electronic blackboard features of Kojo to allow for use of an electronic blackboard which communicates with a student terminal that executes a plurality of terminal functions where restrict target functions are used to decide what functions are made unavailable to the student terminal from the functions of a teacher commands to reduce distractions and increase learning focus and efficiency, applicable to the teacher/student display terminal systems as taught in Ono.
In regards to claim 2. Ono in view of Kojo teach the display control apparatus according to claim 1.
Ono further discloses
-wherein information other than information that specifies the member is information generated by each member (Ono, para [0058]; Reference discloses the data ID is an ID uniquely assigned to each item of material data. The teacher ID is an ID assigned to a teacher who has created the material data. As an example, FIG. 5A shows three items of material data created by the teacher assigned with the ID “T0001”. The material ID is an ID assigned to each material. The material ID may be an ID associated with the teacher ID, as in the example shown in FIG. 5A. The material ID interpreted as teacher and student information other than the ID information which identifies the teacher and student i.e. information other than information that specifies the member is information generated by each member).
In regards to claim 3. Ono in view of Kojo teach the display control apparatus according to claim 1.
Ono further discloses
-wherein each member is set to belong to a common group (Ono, para [0078]; Reference discloses managing of deadlines for homework submissions as it details the setting may be configured to prohibit students from creating an answer to a homework assignment for which the deadline has passed. Moreover, the setting may be configured to prohibit students from viewing a homework assignment for which the deadline has passed. Furthermore, the setting may be configured to prohibit teachers from editing a homework assignment for which the deadline has passed (i.e. students interpreted as members set to belong to a common group)).
In regards to claim 4. Ono in view of Kojo teach the display control apparatus according to claim 1.
Ono does not explicitly disclose but Kojo teaches
-wherein a restriction of the display of the display information of the member or the information other than the information that specifies the member is performed by changing a display layout or position of restricted information, or by displaying obscured characters (Kojo, para [0150]; Reference discloses in the student terminal 4…the types of restriction target functions corresponding to the text display tag Tg1 after switching (here, functions other than the handwriting input function and the marker function, see the second row in FIG. 4B) are read out from the blackboard display tag-wise function restriction table 443 and execution of the restriction target functions is prohibited in the student terminal (step T7). Here, in the drawing, the shaded regions show that operations with respect to the soft keys K and the display tags Tg in such regions are not effective and execution of the functions are prohibited. Moreover, in this example of operation, execution of the audio output function and the recitation function are prohibited in the student terminal 4 at the time shown in FIG. 7A. The shading of regions for restricted functionality interpreted as is interpreted as wherein a restriction of the display of the display information of the member or the information other than the information that specifies the member is performed by changing a display layout or by displaying obscured characters).
Ono and Kojo are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding teacher/student collaboration tools. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the web service system of Ono to include the electronic blackboard features of Kojo in order to provide the user with a system for creating information indicating a first content in response to an operation on a first client terminal, assigning a unique first address on a network to the first content, and permitting access to the first address from a second client terminal for editing the first content as taught by Ono while incorporating the electronic blackboard features of Kojo to allow for use of an electronic blackboard which communicates with a student terminal that executes a plurality of terminal functions where restrict target functions are used to decide what functions are made unavailable to the student terminal from the functions of a teacher commands to reduce distractions and increase learning focus and efficiency, applicable to the teacher/student display terminal systems as taught in Ono.
In regards to claim 5. Ono in view of Kojo teach the display control apparatus according to claim 1.
Ono further discloses
-wherein the processor displays on a display of a terminal of a viewing member the display information of the viewing member, and restricts the display of the display information of the member other than the viewing member on the display (Ono, para [0101]; Reference discloses the student memorizes the URL and the password displayed on the student's terminal in a desired manner, e.g., by making a note of it. Through the web application of the present embodiment, a student can access the data edited by the himself or herself any time by accessing the URL. That is, when the student's terminal has accessed the URL, the authentication screen as shown in FIG. 10 is displayed in step S301. When the student's terminal has transmitted the password corresponding to the URL to the server 10, access to the homework data in the server 10 is permitted. The data corresponding to the submission ID managed by the homework submission management table 140 is read from the material data table 120 in step S303, and is displayed on the student's terminal in step S304. Through the steps S305 to S309, the student can edit an answer to the homework assignment….Accordingly, the URL and the password will not be known to other people, thus preventing unauthorized access to the answer data from a third party. Preventing unauthorized access to answer data created by the specified student using the URL and password is interpreted as restricting the display of the display information of the member other than the viewing member on the display).
In regards to claim 6. Ono discloses a display control method executed by a display control apparatus (Ono, Abstract), the method comprising:
-displaying on a display of a terminal operated by each member, display information of each of a plurality of members associated with information that specifies each member (Ono, para [0108]-[0110]; Reference at para [0108] discloses a process of checking, by a teacher, an answer to a homework assignment submitted by a student will be described. Para [0109] discloses In step S401, the processor 11 causes the teacher's terminal to display details of the submission status (i.e. display on a display of a terminal operated by each member with regards to the teacher’s display of the students homework submissions). FIG. 15 shows an example of a submission status detail screen 380 displayed on the teacher's terminal. Para [0110] discloses the submission status list 383 includes a submitter name list 384 indicating the names of students who have submitted answers to the homework assignment, and a URL field 385 (i.e. display information of each of a plurality of members associated with information that specifies each member regarding students). That is, the submission status list 383 shows a list of students' names who have submitted answers to the homework assignment and URLs of the respective answers);
Ono does not explicitly disclose but Kojo teaches
-and in a case where a specific operation by a specific member among the plurality of members is detected, based on the detected specific operation, restricting a display of the display information of the member operating the terminal or information other than the information that specifies the member on a display of the terminal operated by each member (Kojo, para [0149]-[0150]; Reference at para [0149] discloses next, when a user (teacher) performs switching operation with respect to the text display tag Tg1 in the electronic blackboard 3 (step S42; Yes), a notice indicating that switching to the text display tag Tg1 is performed and the page number “82” of the page displayed at the moment are transmitted to the student terminal 4 (step S43) and thereafter, the display mode of the display 310 in the electronic blackboard 3 is set to the text mode (i.e. the switching operation performed by the teacher interpreted as and in a case where a specific operation by a specific member among the plurality of members is detected). Para [0150] discloses in the student terminal 4, after a notice indicating that switching operation is performed with respect to the text display tag Tg1 in the electronic blackboard 3 and the page number “82” of the page being displayed in the electronic blackboard 3 are received (step T6; Yes), the types of restriction target functions corresponding to the text display tag Tg1 after switching (here, functions other than the handwriting input function and the marker function, see the second row in FIG. 4B) are read out from the blackboard display tag-wise function restriction table 443 and execution of the restriction target functions is prohibited in the student terminal (step T7). The restriction of functions for the student terminal in response to the teacher page switching operation is interpreted as restricting a display of information other than the information that specifies the member on a display of the terminal operated by each member).
Ono and Kojo are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding teacher/student collaboration tools. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the web service system of Ono to include the electronic blackboard features of Kojo in order to provide the user with a system for creating information indicating a first content in response to an operation on a first client terminal, assigning a unique first address on a network to the first content, and permitting access to the first address from a second client terminal for editing the first content as taught by Ono while incorporating the electronic blackboard features of Kojo to allow for use of an electronic blackboard which communicates with a student terminal that executes a plurality of terminal functions where restrict target functions are used to decide what functions are made unavailable to the student terminal from the functions of a teacher commands to reduce distractions and increase learning focus and efficiency, applicable to the teacher/student display terminal systems as taught in Ono.
In regards to claim 7. Ono in view of Kojo teach the display control method according to claim 6.
Ono further discloses
-wherein information other than information that specifies the member is information generated by each member (Ono, para [0058]; Reference discloses the data ID is an ID uniquely assigned to each item of material data. The teacher ID is an ID assigned to a teacher who has created the material data. As an example, FIG. 5A shows three items of material data created by the teacher assigned with the ID “T0001”. The material ID is an ID assigned to each material. The material ID may be an ID associated with the teacher ID, as in the example shown in FIG. 5A. The material ID interpreted as teacher and student information other than the ID information which identifies the teacher and student i.e. information other than information that specifies the member is information generated by each member).
In regards to claim 8. Ono in view of Kojo teach the display control method according to claim 6.
Ono further discloses
-wherein each member is set to belong to a common group (Ono, para [0078]; Reference discloses managing of deadlines for homework submissions as it details the setting may be configured to prohibit students from creating an answer to a homework assignment for which the deadline has passed. Moreover, the setting may be configured to prohibit students from viewing a homework assignment for which the deadline has passed. Furthermore, the setting may be configured to prohibit teachers from editing a homework assignment for which the deadline has passed (i.e. students interpreted as members set to belong to a common group)).
In regards to claim 9. Ono in view of Kojo teach the display control method according to claim 6.
Ono does not explicitly disclose but Kojo teaches
-wherein the restricting of the display of the display information of the member or the information other than the information that specifies the member is performed by changing a display layout or position of restricted information, or by displaying obscured characters (Kojo, para [0150]; Reference discloses in the student terminal 4…the types of restriction target functions corresponding to the text display tag Tg1 after switching (here, functions other than the handwriting input function and the marker function, see the second row in FIG. 4B) are read out from the blackboard display tag-wise function restriction table 443 and execution of the restriction target functions is prohibited in the student terminal (step T7). Here, in the drawing, the shaded regions show that operations with respect to the soft keys K and the display tags Tg in such regions are not effective and execution of the functions are prohibited. Moreover, in this example of operation, execution of the audio output function and the recitation function are prohibited in the student terminal 4 at the time shown in FIG. 7A. The shading of regions for restricted functionality interpreted as is interpreted as wherein a restriction of the display of the display information of the member or the information other than the information that specifies the member is performed by changing a display layout or by displaying obscured characters).
Ono and Kojo are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding teacher/student collaboration tools. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the web service system of Ono to include the electronic blackboard features of Kojo in order to provide the user with a system for creating information indicating a first content in response to an operation on a first client terminal, assigning a unique first address on a network to the first content, and permitting access to the first address from a second client terminal for editing the first content as taught by Ono while incorporating the electronic blackboard features of Kojo to allow for use of an electronic blackboard which communicates with a student terminal that executes a plurality of terminal functions where restrict target functions are used to decide what functions are made unavailable to the student terminal from the functions of a teacher commands to reduce distractions and increase learning focus and efficiency, applicable to the teacher/student display terminal systems as taught in Ono.
In regards to claim 10. Ono in view of Kojo teach the display control method according to claim 6.
Ono further discloses
-further comprising displaying on a display of a terminal of a viewing member the display information of the viewing member, and restricting the display of the display information of the member other than the viewing member on the display (Ono, para [0101]; Reference discloses the student memorizes the URL and the password displayed on the student's terminal in a desired manner, e.g., by making a note of it. Through the web application of the present embodiment, a student can access the data edited by the himself or herself any time by accessing the URL. That is, when the student's terminal has accessed the URL, the authentication screen as shown in FIG. 10 is displayed in step S301. When the student's terminal has transmitted the password corresponding to the URL to the server 10, access to the homework data in the server 10 is permitted. The data corresponding to the submission ID managed by the homework submission management table 140 is read from the material data table 120 in step S303, and is displayed on the student's terminal in step S304. Through the steps S305 to S309, the student can edit an answer to the homework assignment….Accordingly, the URL and the password will not be known to other people, thus preventing unauthorized access to the answer data from a third party. Preventing unauthorized access to answer data created by the specified student using the URL and password is interpreted as restricting the display of the display information of the member other than the viewing member on the display).
In regards to claim 11. Ono discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program executed by a computer to perform (Ono, para [0007]),
-displaying on a display of a terminal operated by each member, display information of each of a plurality of members associated with information that specifies each member (Ono, para [0108]-[0110]; Reference at para [0108] discloses a process of checking, by a teacher, an answer to a homework assignment submitted by a student will be described. Para [0109] discloses In step S401, the processor 11 causes the teacher's terminal to display details of the submission status (i.e. display on a display of a terminal operated by each member with regards to the teacher’s display of the students homework submissions). FIG. 15 shows an example of a submission status detail screen 380 displayed on the teacher's terminal. Para [0110] discloses the submission status list 383 includes a submitter name list 384 indicating the names of students who have submitted answers to the homework assignment, and a URL field 385 (i.e. display information of each of a plurality of members associated with information that specifies each member regarding students). That is, the submission status list 383 shows a list of students' names who have submitted answers to the homework assignment and URLs of the respective answers);
Ono does not explicitly disclose but Kojo teaches
-and in a case where a specific operation by a specific member among the plurality of members is detected, based on the detected specific operation, restricting a display of the display information of the member operating the terminal or information other than the information that specifies the member on a display of the terminal operated by each member (Kojo, para [0149]-[0150]; Reference at para [0149] discloses next, when a user (teacher) performs switching operation with respect to the text display tag Tg1 in the electronic blackboard 3 (step S42; Yes), a notice indicating that switching to the text display tag Tg1 is performed and the page number “82” of the page displayed at the moment are transmitted to the student terminal 4 (step S43) and thereafter, the display mode of the display 310 in the electronic blackboard 3 is set to the text mode (i.e. the switching operation performed by the teacher interpreted as and in a case where a specific operation by a specific member among the plurality of members is detected). Para [0150] discloses in the student terminal 4, after a notice indicating that switching operation is performed with respect to the text display tag Tg1 in the electronic blackboard 3 and the page number “82” of the page being displayed in the electronic blackboard 3 are received (step T6; Yes), the types of restriction target functions corresponding to the text display tag Tg1 after switching (here, functions other than the handwriting input function and the marker function, see the second row in FIG. 4B) are read out from the blackboard display tag-wise function restriction table 443 and execution of the restriction target functions is prohibited in the student terminal (step T7). The restriction of functions for the student terminal in response to the teacher page switching operation is interpreted as restricting a display of information other than the information that specifies the member on a display of the terminal operated by each member).
Ono and Kojo are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding teacher/student collaboration tools. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the web service system of Ono to include the electronic blackboard features of Kojo in order to provide the user with a system for creating information indicating a first content in response to an operation on a first client terminal, assigning a unique first address on a network to the first content, and permitting access to the first address from a second client terminal for editing the first content as taught by Ono while incorporating the electronic blackboard features of Kojo to allow for use of an electronic blackboard which communicates with a student terminal that executes a plurality of terminal functions where restrict target functions are used to decide what functions are made unavailable to the student terminal from the functions of a teacher commands to reduce distractions and increase learning focus and efficiency, applicable to the teacher/student display terminal systems as taught in Ono.
In regards to claim 12. Ono in view of Kojo teach the storage medium according to claim 11.
Ono further discloses
-wherein information other than information that specifies the member is information generated by each member (Ono, para [0058]; Reference discloses the data ID is an ID uniquely assigned to each item of material data. The teacher ID is an ID assigned to a teacher who has created the material data. As an example, FIG. 5A shows three items of material data created by the teacher assigned with the ID “T0001”. The material ID is an ID assigned to each material. The material ID may be an ID associated with the teacher ID, as in the example shown in FIG. 5A. The material ID interpreted as teacher and student information other than the ID information which identifies the teacher and student i.e. information other than information that specifies the member is information generated by each member).
In regards to claim 13. Ono in view of Kojo teach the storage medium according to claim 11.
Ono further discloses
-wherein each member is set to belong to a common group (Ono, para [0078]; Reference discloses managing of deadlines for homework submissions as it details the setting may be configured to prohibit students from creating an answer to a homework assignment for which the deadline has passed. Moreover, the setting may be configured to prohibit students from viewing a homework assignment for which the deadline has passed. Furthermore, the setting may be configured to prohibit teachers from editing a homework assignment for which the deadline has passed (i.e. students interpreted as members set to belong to a common group)).
In regards to claim 14. Ono in view of Kojo teach the storage medium according to claim 11.
Ono does not explicitly disclose but Kojo teaches
-wherein the restricting of the display of the display information of the member or the information other than the information that specifies the member is performed by changing a display layout or position of restricted information, or by displaying obscured characters (Kojo, para [0150]; Reference discloses in the student terminal 4…the types of restriction target functions corresponding to the text display tag Tg1 after switching (here, functions other than the handwriting input function and the marker function, see the second row in FIG. 4B) are read out from the blackboard display tag-wise function restriction table 443 and execution of the restriction target functions is prohibited in the student terminal (step T7). Here, in the drawing, the shaded regions show that operations with respect to the soft keys K and the display tags Tg in such regions are not effective and execution of the functions are prohibited. Moreover, in this example of operation, execution of the audio output function and the recitation function are prohibited in the student terminal 4 at the time shown in FIG. 7A. The shading of regions for restricted functionality interpreted as is interpreted as wherein a restriction of the display of the display information of the member or the information other than the information that specifies the member is performed by changing a display layout or by displaying obscured characters).
Ono and Kojo are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding teacher/student collaboration tools. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the web service system of Ono to include the electronic blackboard features of Kojo in order to provide the user with a system for creating information indicating a first content in response to an operation on a first client terminal, assigning a unique first address on a network to the first content, and permitting access to the first address from a second client terminal for editing the first content as taught by Ono while incorporating the electronic blackboard features of Kojo to allow for use of an electronic blackboard which communicates with a student terminal that executes a plurality of terminal functions where restrict target functions are used to decide what functions are made unavailable to the student terminal from the functions of a teacher commands to reduce distractions and increase learning focus and efficiency, applicable to the teacher/student display terminal systems as taught in Ono.
In regards to claim 15. Ono in view of Kojo teach the storage medium according to claim 11.
Ono further discloses
-wherein the computer displays on a display of a terminal of a viewing member the display information of the viewing member, and restricts the display of the display information of the member other than the viewing member on the display (Ono, para [0101]; Reference discloses the student memorizes the URL and the password displayed on the student's terminal in a desired manner, e.g., by making a note of it. Through the web application of the present embodiment, a student can access the data edited by the himself or herself any time by accessing the URL. That is, when the student's terminal has accessed the URL, the authentication screen as shown in FIG. 10 is displayed in step S301. When the student's terminal has transmitted the password corresponding to the URL to the server 10, access to the homework data in the server 10 is permitted. The data corresponding to the submission ID managed by the homework submission management table 140 is read from the material data table 120 in step S303, and is displayed on the student's terminal in step S304. Through the steps S305 to S309, the student can edit an answer to the homework assignment….Accordingly, the URL and the password will not be known to other people, thus preventing unauthorized access to the answer data from a third party. Preventing unauthorized access to answer data created by the specified student using the URL and password is interpreted as restricting the display of the display information of the member other than the viewing member on the display).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892)
/TERRELL M ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614