DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on March 23, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-15 are now pending in the application. Applicant's amendments have addressed all informalities as previously set forth in the non-final action mailed on December 23, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see page 7, filed March 23, 2026, with respect to the title objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The title objections have been removed based on the current claim amendments.
Applicant’s arguments see pages 8-10, filed March 23, 2026, with respect to previous claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In regards to independent claim 1, the Ono reference was previously cited as it discloses a method that includes creating information indicating a first content in response to an operation on a first client terminal, assigning a unique first address on a network to the first content, permitting access to the first address from a second client terminal, which is anonymous, and on which an authentication process with an ID is not performed, editing the first content assigned with the first address, in response to an operation on the second client terminal, storing, in a storage, information on a second content corresponding to the second client terminal as and obtained based on the edited first content, and creating a unique second address on the network to the second content (see abstract). The Kojo reference was previously cited as it discloses an electronic blackboard which communicates with a student terminal which executes a plurality of terminal functions including a blackboard function execution unit to execute any of a plurality of blackboard functions according to a user's operation, and a restriction target function deciding unit to decide types of a plurality of terminal functions in which functions thereof are to be restricted in the student terminal (see abstract).
In regards to the amended limitations, the Han reference has now cited as it discloses methods and systems relate to a method for providing concurrent sharing of screen elements by multiple users within a communication session (see abstract).
Han further details a diagram illustrating multiple screens viewed side-by-side on a single monitor, in accordance with some embodiments as the display of multiple screen illustrate the concept of multiple users with their corresponding display information specifying the members regarding their names. In addition, Han describes a scenario where at least one of the participants is a host or administrator for the communication session, the host or administrator can be granted permission by the system to configure sharing privileges of screen elements for the other participants. In some embodiments, the host or administrator can access a permissions interface by navigating the communications interface and interacting with one or more interface elements (interpreted as a case where a specific operation by a specific member among the plurality of members is detected, based on the detected specific operation, and restrict a display of information generated by the member other than the member operating the terminal on a display of the terminal operated by each member regarding screen interface elements and the control of permissions by the host to allow or prevent sharing). Furthermore, the reference details in various embodiments, the displayed screen elements can include one or more of an application, a whiteboard, a window, a desktop interface, a presentation, or any combination thereof…as any of these formats can be combined among multiple screens or screen elements (see Figs. 3A-3B, Column 9, lines 42-49 and Column 10, lines 28-33) as further detailed in the rejections of the office action below.
In regards to independent claims 6 and 11, these claims recite limitations similar in scope to that of claim 1, and thus remain rejected under the same rationale as provided above and further detailed in the rejections of the office action below.
In regards to dependent claims 3-5, 8-10, and 13-15, these claims depend from the rejected base claims 1, 6, and 11, and therefore remain rejected under the same rationale as provided above and further detailed in the rejections of the office action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Han (US 11,330,026 B1, hereinafter referenced “Han”).
In regards to claim 1 (Currently Amended). Han discloses a display control apparatus (Han, Abstract) comprising:
-a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: display, on a display of a terminal operated by each member (Han, Fig. 1a; One or more sending client devices 150, Receiving client devices 160 (i.e. terminal which possess processor and display)), display information of each of a plurality of members associated with information that specifies each member (Han, Fig. 5C and Fig. 6; Reference discloses at FIG. 5C a diagram illustrating multiple screens viewed side-by-side on a single monitor, in accordance with some embodiments. The multiple screen illustrate multiple users with their corresponding display information specifying the members regarding their names);
-and in a case where a specific operation by a specific member among the plurality of members is detected, based on the detected specific operation, restrict a display of information that specifies a member other than the member operating the terminal or information generated by the member other than the member operating the terminal on a display of the terminal operated by each member (Han, Figs 3A-3B and Column 9, lines 42-49 and Column 10, lines 28-33; Reference at Column 9 discloses where at least one of the participants is a host or administrator for the communication session, the host or administrator can be granted permission by the system to configure sharing privileges of screen elements for the other participants. In some embodiments, the host or administrator can access a permissions interface by navigating the communications interface and interacting with one or more interface elements (i.e. and in a case where a specific operation by a specific member among the plurality of members is detected, based on the detected specific operation, restrict a display of information generated by the member other than the member operating the terminal on a display of the terminal operated by each member regarding screen interface elements and the control of permissions by the host to allow or prevent sharing see Figs. 3A-3B). Column 10 discloses in various embodiments, the displayed screen elements can include one or more of an application, a whiteboard, a window, a desktop interface, a presentation, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, any of these formats can be combined among multiple screens or screen elements ).
Claim 2 (Cancelled).
In regards to claim 3 (Original). Han discloses the display control apparatus according to claim 1.
Han further discloses
-wherein each member is set to belong to a common group (Han, para [0078]; Reference discloses one common use case for such communication platforms is to enable remote teams (of, e.g., employees or students) to work together and collaborate. This is often enabled by the ability within a communication session for a participant to “screen share”. (i.e. common groups)).
In regards to claim 5 (Currently Amended). Han discloses the display control apparatus according to claim 1.
Han further discloses
-wherein the processor displays on a display of a terminal of a viewing member the display information of the viewing member, and restricts display of the display information of a member other than the viewing member on the display (Han, Fig. 4C and Column 12, lines 66-67 and Column 13, lines 1-10; Reference discloses in the illustrated example, the user from FIG. 4B is viewing the “View Options” drop-down menu. The user wishes to switch from the currently displayed shared screen of Zak Peirce to the shared screen of Brad Whitlock. If the user wishes to switch from Zak Peirce's screen to Brad Whitlock's screen with only a single screen displayed, then the user would first click Zak Peirce's name to uncheck the name and disable viewing of his shared screen, then click Brad Whitlock's name to view Brad Whitlock's shared screen. As shown in the example, a different shared screen is now displayed, representing Brad Whitlock's shared screen. Disabling of the sharing of Zak’s screen by a current user interpreted as restricts display of the display information of a member other than the viewing member on the display).
In regards to claim 6 (Currently Amended). Han discloses a display control method executed by a display control apparatus (Han, Abstract), the display control method comprising:
-displaying, on a display of a terminal operated by each member (Han, Fig. 1a; One or more sending client devices 150, Receiving client devices 160 (i.e. terminal which possesses display)), display information of each of a plurality of members associated with information that specifies each member (Han, Fig. 5C and Fig. 6; Reference discloses at FIG. 5C a diagram illustrating multiple screens viewed side-by-side on a single monitor, in accordance with some embodiments. The multiple screen illustrate multiple users with their corresponding display information specifying the members regarding their names);
-and in a case where a specific operation by a specific member among the plurality of members is detected, based on the detected specific operation, restrict a display of information that specifies a member other than the member operating the terminal or information generated by the member other than the member operating the terminal on a display of the terminal operated by each member (Han, Figs 3A-3B and Column 9, lines 42-49 and Column 10, lines 28-33; Reference at Column 9 discloses where at least one of the participants is a host or administrator for the communication session, the host or administrator can be granted permission by the system to configure sharing privileges of screen elements for the other participants. In some embodiments, the host or administrator can access a permissions interface by navigating the communications interface and interacting with one or more interface elements (i.e. and in a case where a specific operation by a specific member among the plurality of members is detected, based on the detected specific operation, restrict a display of information generated by the member other than the member operating the terminal on a display of the terminal operated by each member regarding screen interface elements and the control of permissions by the host to allow or prevent sharing see Figs. 3A-3B). Column 10 discloses in various embodiments, the displayed screen elements can include one or more of an application, a whiteboard, a window, a desktop interface, a presentation, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, any of these formats can be combined among multiple screens or screen elements ).
Claim 7 (Cancelled).
In regards to claim 8 (Original). Han discloses the display control method according to claim 6.
Han further discloses
-wherein each member is set to belong to a common group (Han, para [0078]; Reference discloses one common use case for such communication platforms is to enable remote teams (of, e.g., employees or students) to work together and collaborate. This is often enabled by the ability within a communication session for a participant to “screen share”. (i.e. common groups)).
In regards to claim 10 (Currently Amended). Han discloses the display control method according to claim 6.
Han further discloses
-further comprising displaying on a display of a terminal of a viewing member, the display information of the viewing member, and restricting display of the display information of a member other than the viewing member on the display (Han, Fig. 4C and Column 12, lines 66-67 and Column 13, lines 1-10; Reference discloses in the illustrated example, the user from FIG. 4B is viewing the “View Options” drop-down menu. The user wishes to switch from the currently displayed shared screen of Zak Peirce to the shared screen of Brad Whitlock. If the user wishes to switch from Zak Peirce's screen to Brad Whitlock's screen with only a single screen displayed, then the user would first click Zak Peirce's name to uncheck the name and disable viewing of his shared screen, then click Brad Whitlock's name to view Brad Whitlock's shared screen. As shown in the example, a different shared screen is now displayed, representing Brad Whitlock's shared screen. Disabling of the sharing of Zak’s screen by a current user interpreted as restricts display of the display information of a member other than the viewing member on the display).
In regards to claim 11 (Currently Amended). Han discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program executed by a computer to control the computer to perform (Han, Column 15, lines 34-46) processes comprising:
-displaying, on a display of a terminal operated by each member (Han, Fig. 1a; One or more sending client devices 150, Receiving client devices 160 (i.e. terminal which possesses display)), display information of each of a plurality of members associated with information that specifies each member (Han, Fig. 5C and Fig. 6; Reference discloses at FIG. 5C a diagram illustrating multiple screens viewed side-by-side on a single monitor, in accordance with some embodiments. The multiple screen illustrate multiple users with their corresponding display information specifying the members regarding their names));
-and in a case where a specific operation by a specific member among the plurality of members is detected, based on the detected specific operation, restrict a display of information that specifies a member other than the member operating the terminal or information generated by the member other than the member operating the terminal on a display of the terminal operated by each member (Han, Figs 3A-3B and Column 9, lines 42-49 and Column 10, lines 28-33; Reference at Column 9 discloses where at least one of the participants is a host or administrator for the communication session, the host or administrator can be granted permission by the system to configure sharing privileges of screen elements for the other participants. In some embodiments, the host or administrator can access a permissions interface by navigating the communications interface and interacting with one or more interface elements (i.e. and in a case where a specific operation by a specific member among the plurality of members is detected, based on the detected specific operation, restrict a display of information generated by the member other than the member operating the terminal on a display of the terminal operated by each member regarding screen interface elements and the control of permissions by the host to allow or prevent sharing see Figs. 3A-3B). Column 10 discloses in various embodiments, the displayed screen elements can include one or more of an application, a whiteboard, a window, a desktop interface, a presentation, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, any of these formats can be combined among multiple screens or screen elements ).
Claim 12 (Cancelled).
In regards to claim 13 (Original). Han discloses the storage medium according to claim 11.
Han further discloses
-wherein each member is set to belong to a common group (Han, para [0078]; Reference discloses one common use case for such communication platforms is to enable remote teams (of, e.g., employees or students) to work together and collaborate. This is often enabled by the ability within a communication session for a participant to “screen share”. (i.e. common groups)).
In regards to claim 15 (Currently Amended). Han discloses the storage medium according to claim 11.
Han further discloses
-wherein the processor further comprise displaying, on a display of a terminal of a viewing member, the display information of the viewing member, and restricting display of the display information of a member other than the viewing member on the display (Han, Fig. 4C and Column 12, lines 66-67 and Column 13, lines 1-10; Reference discloses in the illustrated example, the user from FIG. 4B is viewing the “View Options” drop-down menu. The user wishes to switch from the currently displayed shared screen of Zak Peirce to the shared screen of Brad Whitlock. If the user wishes to switch from Zak Peirce's screen to Brad Whitlock's screen with only a single screen displayed, then the user would first click Zak Peirce's name to uncheck the name and disable viewing of his shared screen, then click Brad Whitlock's name to view Brad Whitlock's shared screen. As shown in the example, a different shared screen is now displayed, representing Brad Whitlock's shared screen. Disabling of the sharing of Zak’s screen by a current user interpreted as restricts display of the display information of a member other than the viewing member on the display).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 11,330,026 B1) in view of Coleman (US 2012/0036452 A1, hereinafter referenced “Coleman”).
In regards to claim 4 (Currently Amended). Han discloses the display control apparatus according to claim 1.
Han does not explicitly disclose but Coleman teaches
-wherein restriction of the display of information that specifies the member other than the member operating the terminal or the information generated by the member other than the member operating the terminal is performed by changing a display layout or position of restricted information, or by displaying obscured characters (Coleman, para [0150]; Reference discloses similar to the illustrated embodiment of FIG. 2, component 320 displays name data, employee identity data, address data, and phone data, and thus, component 320 includes data that can be visible during the screen sharing session. Also similar to the illustrated embodiment of FIG. 2, component 330 displays social security data (represented by “XXX-XX-XXXX”), which can be identified as confidential data, and thus, component 330 includes data that can be masked during a screen sharing session. The masking of the social security data in the shared screen session interpreted as a restriction of the display of the display information of the member or the information other than the information that specifies the member is performed by displaying obscured characters).
Han and Coleman are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding screen sharing tools. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the concurrent screen sharing features of Han to include the masking sensitive information features of Coleman in order to provide the user with a system for using functions that relate to a method for providing concurrent sharing of screen elements by multiple users within a communication session where host and participant tools can be provided for enhanced control of content to be displayed individually or simultaneously via the group as taught by Han while incorporating the masking sensitive information features of Coleman allows for use of functions that can mask specific components of an application during a screen sharing session for enhanced security of certain private information, applicable to the collaborative display systems as taught in Han.
In regards to claim 9 (Currently Amended). Han discloses the display control method according to claim 6.
Han does not explicitly disclose but Coleman teaches
-wherein the restricting of the display of the information that specifies the member other than the member operating the terminal or the information generated by the member other than the member operating the terminal is performed by changing a display layout or position of restricted information, or by displaying obscured characters (Coleman, para [0150]; Reference discloses similar to the illustrated embodiment of FIG. 2, component 320 displays name data, employee identity data, address data, and phone data, and thus, component 320 includes data that can be visible during the screen sharing session. Also similar to the illustrated embodiment of FIG. 2, component 330 displays social security data (represented by “XXX-XX-XXXX”), which can be identified as confidential data, and thus, component 330 includes data that can be masked during a screen sharing session. The masking of the social security data in the shared screen session interpreted as a restriction of the display of the display information of the member or the information other than the information that specifies the member is performed by displaying obscured characters).
Han and Coleman are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding screen sharing tools. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the concurrent screen sharing features of Han to include the masking sensitive information features of Coleman in order to provide the user with a system for using functions that relate to a method for providing concurrent sharing of screen elements by multiple users within a communication session where host and participant tools can be provided for enhanced control of content to be displayed individually or simultaneously via the group as taught by Han while incorporating the masking sensitive information features of Coleman allows for use of functions that can mask specific components of an application during a screen sharing session for enhanced security of certain private information, applicable to the collaborative display systems as taught in Han.
In regards to claim 14 (Currently Amended). Han discloses the storage medium according to claim 11.
Han does not explicitly disclose but Coleman teaches
-wherein restricting of the display of information that specifies the member other than the member operating the terminal or the information generated by the member other than the member operating the terminal is performed by changing a display layout or position of restricted information, or by displaying obscured characters (Coleman, para [0150]; Reference discloses similar to the illustrated embodiment of FIG. 2, component 320 displays name data, employee identity data, address data, and phone data, and thus, component 320 includes data that can be visible during the screen sharing session. Also similar to the illustrated embodiment of FIG. 2, component 330 displays social security data (represented by “XXX-XX-XXXX”), which can be identified as confidential data, and thus, component 330 includes data that can be masked during a screen sharing session. The masking of the social security data in the shared screen session interpreted as a restriction of the display of the display information of the member or the information other than the information that specifies the member is performed by displaying obscured characters).
Han and Coleman are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding screen sharing tools. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the concurrent screen sharing features of Han to include the masking sensitive information features of Coleman in order to provide the user with a system for using functions that relate to a method for providing concurrent sharing of screen elements by multiple users within a communication session where host and participant tools can be provided for enhanced control of content to be displayed individually or simultaneously via the group as taught by Han while incorporating the masking sensitive information features of Coleman allows for use of functions that can mask specific components of an application during a screen sharing session for enhanced security of certain private information, applicable to the collaborative display systems as taught in Han.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERRELL M ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614