DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO 1449.These IDS has been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of Group I: claims 1-6 and 8-9, in the “Response to Election / Restriction Filed” filed on 12/30/2025 is acknowledged and entered by Examiner.
This office action considers claims 1-9 are thus pending for prosecution, of which, non-elected claim 7 is/are withdrawn, and elected claims 1-6 and 8-9 are examined on their merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Xi et al., (CN 106959080) (hereinafter Xi) (cited in the IDS).
As to claim 1, Xi discloses, a method for processing three-dimensional scanning data (abstract), comprising:
acquiring a first coordinate set sequence obtained by a target optical tracker measuring a first target ball group when the target optical tracker is at a plurality of different target positions, a position of the first target ball group remaining unchanged (Xi et al., discloses calibrating the hand eye relationship by measuring “a series of laser tracker target ball[s] of different locations” within the working space of the binocular structural light measurement equipment: “Before measuring system start-up operation, according to trick relationship calibration principle, in binocular structural light measurement equipment working space A series of laser tracker target ball of different locations measures, and calculates binocular structural light measurement equipment and six accordingly freely Spend the transformational relation of robot end…” (Detailed description / Step 1. The disclosure therefore teaches using the binocular optical measurement device (the “target optical tracker” in the claim) to measure a set of target balls at multiple positions of the optical device (the optical device is moved to different positions while the target ball group remains in known locations) — i.e., acquisition of a first coordinate set sequence by the optical device across multiple positions…page 8-9).
acquiring a second coordinate set sequence obtained by a laser tracker measuring a second target ball group when the target optical tracker is at the plurality of different target positions, a position of the laser tracker remaining unchanged, and a relative position of the second target ball group to the target optical tracker remaining unchanged (Xi et al., describes the point cloud spatial pose tracking cell and the use of a laser tracker target ball. The cell “including high-precision stepper motor (5), oscillating rod (6), target ball pedestal (7) and laser tracker target ball (8)… High-precision stepper motor drives oscillating rod to swing, and then drives the laser tracker target spherical pendulum being placed on target ball pedestal dynamic, laser tracker obtains the three-dimensional coordinate of laser tracker target ball after repeatedly swinging” (Fig. 3 / detailed description. The system measures the laser tracker target ball positions while other elements (e.g., the robot / binocular device) are controlled to particular measurement positions. The document teaches repeatedly measuring target balls with a laser tracker while the system operates and maintaining relative geometry as required to register point clouds: “the binocular structural light measurement equipment … obtains tested region point cloud, Described cloud spatial pose tracking cell obtains point Yun Weizi, and is transformed under laser tracker coordinate system to realize that point cloud is spelled It closes” (summary). Thus, the reference teaches the laser tracker measuring a set of target balls (a second coordinate set sequence) while the laser tracker is fixed and the relative geometry between that second target ball group and the scanning device is used for registration….pages 8-9)
determining a target transformation matrix between a coordinate system of the target optical tracker and a coordinate system of the laser tracker based on the first coordinate set sequence and the second coordinate set sequence. (Xi et al., expressly teaches computing a pose/coordinate transform between an “ending coordinates system” and the laser tracker coordinate system using the target ball coordinate sets and a singular-value decomposition (SVD) solution. The document explains: “Ending coordinates tie up to the solution of pose under laser tracker coordinate system: … The optimization problem first carries out centralization processing and eliminates translation item and convert problem for orthogonal forced consensus, the orthogonal forced consensus of Singular-value Decomposition Solution is recycled… To make |P -RC||2 F minimum … the optimal solution of R … R = VUT” and then the translation T is solved (Detailed description / 4.2. The disclosure therefore teaches determining a rigid transformation (rotation R and translation T) between coordinate frames from corresponding coordinate sets measured by the two devices, i.e., computing the claimed “target transformation matrix based on the first coordinate set sequence and the second coordinate set sequence.” …page 3-4).
As of claim 6, Xi discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first target ball group is disposed on the ground, or on another optical tracker of which a position remains unchanged (Xi et al., discloses calibrating the hand eye relationship by measuring “a series of laser tracker target ball[s] of different locations” within the working space of the binocular structural light measurement equipment: “Before measuring system start-up operation, according to trick relationship calibration principle, in binocular structural light measurement equipment working space A series of laser tracker target ball of different locations measures, and calculates binocular structural light measurement equipment and six accordingly freely Spend the transformational relation of robot end…” (Detailed description / Step 1. The disclosure therefore teaches using the binocular optical measurement device (the “target optical tracker” in the claim) to measure a set of target balls at multiple positions of the optical device…page 4).
As of claim 8, Xi discloses a three-dimensional scanning system, comprising:
a laser tracker (8), a target optical tracker (7), a first target ball group (Xi., discloses calibrating the hand eye relationship by measuring “a series of laser tracker target ball[s] of different locations” within the working space of the binocular structural light measurement equipment: “Before measuring system startup operation, according to trick relationship calibration principle, in binocular structural light measurement equipment working space A series of laser tracker target ball of different locations measures, and calculates binocular structural light measurement equipment and six accordingly freely Spend the transformational relation of robot end…” (Detailed description / Step 1. The disclosure therefore teaches using the binocular optical measurement device (the “target optical tracker” in the claim) to measure a set of target balls at multiple positions of the optical device (the optical device is moved to different positions while the target ball group remains in known locations) — i.e., acquisition of a first coordinate set sequence by the optical device across multiple positions), and a second target ball group, a position of the first target ball group remaining unchanged, and a relative position of the second target ball group to the target optical tracker remaining unchanged (Xi describes the point cloud spatial pose tracking cell and the use of a laser tracker target ball. The cell “including high precision stepper motor (5), oscillating rod (6), target ball pedestal (7) and laser tracker target ball (8)… High precision stepper motor drives oscillating rod to swing, and then drives the laser tracker target spherical pendulum being placed on target ball pedestal dynamic, laser tracker obtains the three dimensional coordinate of laser tracker target ball after repeatedly swinging” (Fig. 3 / detailed description. The system measures the laser tracker target ball positions while other elements (e.g., the robot / binocular device) are controlled to particular measurement positions. The document teaches repeatedly measuring target balls with a laser tracker while the system operates and maintaining relative geometry as required to register point clouds: “the binocular structural light measurement equipment … obtains tested region point cloud, Described cloud spatial pose tracking cell obtains point Yun Weizi, and is transformed under laser tracker coordinate system to realize that point cloud is spelled It closes” (summary). Thus, the reference teaches the laser tracker measuring a set of target balls (a second coordinate set sequence) while the laser tracker is fixed and the relative geometry between that second target ball group and the scanning device is used for registration…page 8-9)
As of claim 9, Xi discloses the three-dimensional scanning system according to claim 8, further comprising a scanner (Development and calibration of an integrated 3D scanning system for high-accuracy large-scale metrology” (Measurement.2014.54:65-76) in a text, a monocular line laser measuring apparatus is fixed…page 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., (CN 114877802) (cited in the IDS) in view of Zheng et al., (CN 109000582) (cited in the IDS).
As of claim 1, As to claim 1, Wang et al., discloses a method for processing three-dimensional scanning data comprising:
acquiring a first coordinate set sequence obtained by a target optical tracker measuring a first target ball group when the target optical tracker is at a plurality of different target positions, a position of the first target ball group remaining unchanged
acquiring a second coordinate set sequence obtained by a laser tracker measuring a second target ball group when the target optical tracker is at the plurality of different target positions, a position of the laser tracker remaining unchanged, and a relative position of the second target ball group to the target optical tracker remaining unchanged
determining a target transformation matrix between a coordinate system of the target optical tracker and a coordinate system of the laser tracker based on the first coordinate set sequence and the second coordinate set sequence.
Wang et al., shows In Figs. 1-7 and discloses (paragraphs 0055-0138), a method for detecting object surface data and specifically discloses the following technical features; obtaining a first transformed relationship between each detection aid and a positioning apparatus; the first transformation relationship described above may be established by a calibration process prior to object surface data detection. The first transformation relationship, which indicates the coordinate transformation relationship between the respective coordinate systems of each of the detection assisting devices (equivalent to the target optical tracker) and the localization device (equivalent to the laser tracker), may be expressed by an expression such as a rigid transformation matrix or a coordinate transformation formula. Obtaining the first transformed relationship based on a first identifier and a second identifier on the calibration; wherein said first identifier is for use with said locating device and said second identifier is for use with said detection assisting device. The first identifier and the second identifier are used to represent symbols for different properties of the mark, i.e. The location of the first identifier is tracked by the locating device and the location of the second identifier is tracked by each detection assisting device. As an example of the calibration object being a rigid calibration plate, Fig. 2 is a schematic illustration of a calibration object according to an embodiment of the present application, the rigid calibration plate having two types of attribute marking points as shown in Fig. 2; the first identifier may be a target ball and the second identifier may be a reflective marker.
Thus, Wang et al. discloses the claimed limitation except that the second identifier is also the target ball and the position of the target optical tracker remains unchanged. Based on the distinguishing features described above, the technical problem actually solved by claim 1 is how to achieve the localization of the optical trackers of interest.
For the above distinguishing features, Zheng et al., discloses a scanning method for a tracked three-dimensional scanning device (see paragraph 0075-0149 of the specification, Figures 1-8): a first target feature 1 1 fixed to the surface of the three-dimensional sensor 1, which can be captured, with three or more marked points; a calibration reference 2, which is a calibration plate containing a second target feature 21 of the calibration plate that can be captured, wherein the second target feature 21 of the calibration plate comprises two different and known positions of a second target feature 21 1 of a first type and a second target feature 212 of a second type; a first target feature 11 and a second target feature 21 1 of the first type, the second target feature 212 of the second type being for capture by this tracker 3; in the calculation unit 4, a two-dimensional image feature calculator is connected to the three-dimensional sensor 1 and to the tracker 3, for transforming the two-dimensional image of the second target feature of the first type 211 captured by the three-dimensional sensor 1 and the two dimensional image of the second target feature of the second type 212 and the first target feature 11 captured by the tracker 3 into two-dimensional coordinates of the respective target features in the respective images, the coordinate matcher is configured to match the object coordinates of the second target feature 211 of the first type captured by the tridimensional sensor 1 with the obtained two-dimensional coordinates of the second target feature 211 of the first type in the tridimensional sensor image, and matching the object coordinates of the second target feature 212 of the second type and of the first target feature 11 captured by the tracker 3 with the obtained two-dimensional coordinates of the second target feature 212 of the second type and of the first target feature 11, respectively, in the tracker image, and based on the matching relationship, the positional relationship of the second target feature 212 of the second type with respect to the tridimensional sensor 1 and the positional relationship of the first target feature 11 and the second target feature 212 of the second type with respect to the tracker 3 is obtained and used by the calibration calculator to calculate the positional relationship of the first target feature 11 on the tridimensional sensor 1 with the tridimensional sensor 1 and complete the calibration. Thus, Zheng et al., presents the technical implication that the target feature remains unchanged from the target optical tracker position to enable the positioning of the transfer station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang et al., based on the teachings of Zheng et al, and conventional technical means in the field so that the second identifier is also the target ball and the position of the target optical tracker remains unchanged to obtain predictable result.
As of claim 8, Wang et al., discloses a three-dimensional scanning system, comprising: a laser tracker, a target optical tracker (Wang shows In Figs. 1-7 and discloses paragraphs 0055-0138 a method for detecting object surface data and specifically discloses the following technical features; obtaining a first transformed relationship between each detection aid and a positioning apparatus; the first transformation relationship described above may be established by a calibration process prior to object surface data detection. The first transformation relationship, which indicates the coordinate transformation relationship between the respective coordinate systems of each of the detection assisting devices (equivalent to the target optical tracker) and the localization device (equivalent to the laser tracker)),
a first target ball group, and a second target ball group (Obtaining the first transformed relationship based on a first identifier and a second identifier on the calibration; wherein said first identifier is for use with said locating device and said second identifier is for use with said detection assisting device. The first identifier and the second identifier are used to represent symbols for different properties of the mark, i.e. The location of the first identifier is tracked by the locating device and the location of the second identifier is tracked by each detection assisting device. As an example of the calibration object being a rigid calibration plate, Fig. 2 is a schematic illustration of a calibration object according to an embodiment of the present application, the rigid calibration plate having two types of attribute marking points as shown in Fig. 2; the first identifier may be a target ball and the second identifier may be a reflective marker)
Thus, Wang et al. discloses the claimed limitation except that the second identifier is also the target ball and the position of the target optical tracker remains unchanged. Based on the distinguishing features described above, the technical problem actually solved by claim 1 is how to achieve the localization of the optical trackers of interest.
For the above distinguishing features, Zheng et al., discloses a scanning method for a tracked three-dimensional scanning device (see paragraph 0075-0149 of the specification, Figures 1-8): a first target feature 1 1 fixed to the surface of the three-dimensional sensor 1, which can be captured, with three or more marked points; a calibration reference 2, which is a calibration plate containing a second target feature 21 of the calibration plate that can be captured, wherein the second target feature 21 of the calibration plate comprises two different and known positions of a second target feature 21 1 of a first type and a second target feature 212 of a second type; a first target feature 11 and a second target feature 21 1 of the first type, the second target feature 212 of the second type being for capture by this tracker 3; in the calculation unit 4, a two-dimensional image feature calculator is connected to the three-dimensional sensor 1 and to the tracker 3, for transforming the two-dimensional image of the second target feature of the first type 211 captured by the three-dimensional sensor 1 and the two dimensional image of the second target feature of the second type 212 and the first target feature 11 captured by the tracker 3 into two-dimensional coordinates of the respective target features in the respective images, the coordinate matcher is configured to match the object coordinates of the second target feature 211 of the first type captured by the tridimensional sensor 1 with the obtained two-dimensional coordinates of the second target feature 211 of the first type in the tridimensional sensor image, and matching the object coordinates of the second target feature 212 of the second type and of the first target feature 11 captured by the tracker 3 with the obtained two-dimensional coordinates of the second target feature 212 of the second type and of the first target feature 11, respectively, in the tracker image, and based on the matching relationship, the positional relationship of the second target feature 212 of the second type with respect to the tridimensional sensor 1 and the positional relationship of the first target feature 11 and the second target feature 212 of the second type with respect to the tracker 3 is obtained and used by the calibration calculator to calculate the positional relationship of the first target feature 11 on the tridimensional sensor 1 with the tridimensional sensor 1 and complete the calibration.
Thus, Zheng et al., presents the technical implication that the target feature remains unchanged from the target optical tracker position to enable the positioning of the transfer station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang et al., based on the teachings of Zheng et al, and conventional technical means in the field so that the second identifier is also the target ball and the position of the target optical tracker remains unchanged to obtain predictable result.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 2, the prior arts alone or in combination fails to disclose the claimed limitations such as “for two first coordinate sets corresponding to two adjacent target positions in the first coordinate set sequence, determining a first transformation matrix corresponding to the two adjacent target positions based on the two first coordinate sets; for two second coordinate sets corresponding to two adjacent target positions in the second coordinate set sequence, determining a second transformation matrix corresponding to the two adjacent target positions based on the two second coordinate sets; determining the target transformation matrix based on the first transformation matrix and the second transformation matrix” along with all other limitations of the claim.
As to claim 3, the prior arts alone or in combination fails to disclose the claimed limitations such as “acquiring a fourth coordinate set obtained by the laser tracker measuring the second target ball group when the target optical tracker is at a position after repositioning; determining a third transformation matrix corresponding to the position before repositioning and the position after repositioning based on the third coordinate set, the fourth coordinate set and the target transformation matrix” along with all other limitations of the claim.
Claims 4-5 are allowable due to their dependencies.
Conclusion
MD M. RAHMAN
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2886
/MD M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877