DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The term “first axial retention means” (Claim 1) is interpreted under 112(f) as using the term “means”, modified by the function of mounting and is not further modified by structure.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second rolling bearing is mounted with clearance” (Claim 10) and “the intermediate shaft is positioned in the same radial footprint as that of the electric machine” (Claims 13 and 18) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Regarding Claim 10, no clearance appears to be shown in the drawings.
Regarding Claims 13 and 18, the outer curved portions of shaft 5 appear to be outside of the radial footprint of 2/’d’ (i.e. not having the same radial footprint).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8-11, 13, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2017/145812.
Regarding Claim 1, ‘812 discloses
an electric machine (31),
a casing comprising a first shell (38) and a second shell (34/35/37/39), the second shell being situated between the electric machine and the first shell,
a main shaft (51) which is housed in a space delimited by the first shell and the second shell and is able to be set in rotation by the electric machine,
the main shaft being mounted on the second shell by way of a first rolling bearing (53),
wherein the first rolling bearing is mounted without clearance (see Fig. 5) on the second shell by way of first axial retention means (clip 56 or abutting feature 57).
Regarding Claim 2, ‘812 discloses
the first axial retention means (57) are located between the first rolling bearing and the second shell.
Regarding Claims 8 and 16, ‘812 discloses a second rolling bearing (54)
mounted on the first shell (38) and disposed between the main shaft and the first shell
(see Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 9, ‘812 discloses
the second rolling bearing is a roller bearing (see Abstract).
Regarding Claim 10, ‘812 discloses
the second rolling bearing is mounted with clearance on the first shell (i.e. a clearance/gap exists horizontally, between 54 and the far right side wall of 38 that is opposite the end of the shaft).
Regarding Claims 11 and 17, ‘812 discloses
an intermediate shaft (i.e. the hollow shaft portion of 47 that extends axially to the right end of right bearing 93) which cooperates by meshing with the main shaft (i.e. at least indirectly), the intermediate shaft being mounted on the second shell by way of a third rolling bearing (i.e. the left 93), the third rolling bearing is mounted without clearance on the second shell by way of second axial retention means (i.e. 93 is seen to be directly against the second shell and has the axial lip feature, see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 13, ‘812 discloses
the intermediate shaft is positioned in the same radial footprint as that of the electric machine (i.e. the hollow shaft portion of 47 is within the radial footprint/vertical height of 31 in Fig. 2, at least at its lower circumferential end).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2017/145812 in view of JP 60-189616.
Regarding Claim 3, ‘812 does not explicitly disclose a circlip or screw.
‘616 discloses a first axial retention means to be a screw (21/22 in Fig. 2, 23 in Fig. 3) for the purpose of securing bearing 15.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of ‘812 by including the screw as disclosed by ‘616, for
the purpose of securing bearing 15.
Regarding Claim 6, ‘812 discloses the first rolling bearing has an outer ring able to be mounted on the second shell (i.e. the outer race that abuts 57a) and an inner ring able to be mounted on the main shaft (i.e. the inner race on 51a) but does not disclose the rod and screw configuration claimed.
‘616 discloses the screw being formed by a rod (i.e. shaft of 21) and by a screw head (i.e. to which 21 points in Fig. 2), the rod being screwed into the second shell such that the outer ring bears against the screw head (Fig. 2), for the purpose of securing bearing 15.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of ‘812 by including the rod and screw head
configuration as disclosed by ‘616, for the purpose of securing bearing 15.
Regarding Claim 7, ‘812 does not disclose a washer.
‘616 discloses at least one elastic washer (22, wherein it is noted that all materials have some inherent elasticity) is mounted between the second shell and the outer ring and/or between the outer ring and the screw head, for the purpose of securing bearing 15.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of ‘812 by including the elastic washer as disclosed by ‘
616, for the purpose of securing bearing 15.
Claim(s) 3-5, 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2017/145812 in view of CN 104343827.
Regarding Claims 3, 4 and 15, ‘812 discloses the first rolling bearing has an outer ring able to be mounted on the second shell (i.e. the outer race that abuts 57a) and an inner ring able to be mounted on the main shaft (i.e. the inner race on 51a) but does not disclose grooves and a circlip as claimed.
‘827 discloses a first axial retention means being a circlip (1), wherein an outer ring (2) has a first peripheral groove (Fig. 5) and the second shell (11) has a second peripheral groove (13), the outer ring and the second shell being positioned with respect to one another in such a way that the circlip (1) is housed inside the first groove and the second groove (Fig. 5), for the purpose of securing the bearing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of ‘812 by including the circlip as disclosed by ‘827, for
the purpose of securing the bearing.
Regarding Claim 5, ‘812 discloses the first rolling bearing (53) has an outer ring
(i.e. the outer race that abuts 57a) able to be mounted on the second shell and an
inner ring (i.e. the inner race on 51a) able to be mounted on the main shaft, the second
shell having a stop (i.e. the recessed wall of 57/57a). It is noted that by the modification
of Claim 4 above, the circlip (1) would be positioned bearing against the stop and
against the outer ring (i.e. directly against the outer ring and indirectly against the stop
as per Fig. 5 of ‘827).
Regarding Claim 20, ‘812 discloses a second rolling bearing (54) mounted on
the first shell (38) and disposed between the main shaft and the first shell (see Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over WO 2017/145812.
Regarding Claim 12, ‘812 discloses the intermediate shaft is mounted on the
first shell by way of a fifth rolling bearing (i.e. the right 93) but does not disclose the fifth
rolling bearing to be a roller bearing.
However, ‘812 disclose 53 and 54 to be roller bearings, therefore it would have
been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify
the invention of ‘812 by including a roller bearing as disclosed by ‘812, since it is known
to exist, taught by the reference in a different location and therefore obvious to try, for
the purpose of securing the shaft while allowing for rotation.
Regarding Claim 18, ‘812 discloses
the intermediate shaft is positioned in the same radial footprint as that of the electric machine (i.e. the hollow shaft portion of 47 is within the radial footprint/vertical height of 31 in Fig. 2, at least at its lower circumferential end).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art of record shows a differential to mesh with the intermediate shaft and to be mounted on the second shell as claimed (Claims 14 and 19).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PRASAD V GOKHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 June 4, 2026