DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naqvi et al. (US 2018/0312788 A1).
Regarding claims 1-6 and 14-15, Naqvi teaches a water soluble unit dose article made from a water soluble film of polyvinyl alcohol (instant claims 14-15) and polyvinyl alcohol copolymer(s); [17-18, 31,102], noting that the polyvinyl alcohol polymer is construed as polyvinyl alcohol homopolymer as well, which renders their blended form obvious. Naqvi’s article (i.e. system) comprises detergents of non-soap anionic surfactants such as alkylbenzene sulfonate (instant claim 2) in the amounts of 5-50 wt.%; [14, 43-44, 47, 66], non-soap nonionic surfactant (instant claim 3) such as alkoxylated fatty alcohol(s) in amounts of 15-30 wt.%; [17, 52-53, 66], organic solvent (instant 5) such as glycerol in the amount of 7.5 wt.% or 10-40 wt.%; [Example 1, 70], noting that glycerol is used and named under humectants which provides the same function as well. The amount of water taught by Naqvi is 15-35 wt.%; [Abstract, claim 1]. The detergent article is usually utilized (instant 4) in the fields of cleaning substrate such as dishware and cloth washing (i.e. laundry) as indicated by Naqvi; [2]. It should be noted that all of the components of Naqvi are actually a common detersive detergent chemicals which are used in variety of laundry detergent compositions, which makes it obvious for the instantly claimed composition to be utilized in the laundry washing as well.
Regarding claims 1 and 16, and the amended amount of water to less than wt.% (i.e. 14.99 wt.%), it should be noted that; I)- “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected [the claimed product and a product disclosed in the prior art] to have the same properties.” Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). [MPEP 2131.03, R6]. II)- Alternatively, it is noted that prior art of Naqvi, on page 8 Examples 1-6 tables, shows two types of water. First DI water (deionized) on column “% W/W” (left column) and second the “% Water from Material” (right column). Note that the amount of DI on “% W/W” column (left column) is identically present on the “% Water from Material” column (right column), wherein the “% Water from Material” additionally shows the original DI water (left column) plus the amount of all water which have been added to the composition through accompanying each ingredient or component of the composition. At the bottom of “% Water from Material” column it shows the final amount of water present in the composition which is, expectedly, higher than the amount of DI water (on left column) for each table on page 8. The specification of instant application, on the other hand, does not show its own “% Water from Material” but rather states the total water amount. As is construed for Naqvi, a similar consideration and calculation for instantly claimed composition (by adding the total Wt.% amounts of “water from material” to DI water on “% W/W” column would result in an amount of more than 15 wt% and more than 11.3 wt.% which would naturally and obviously render the instantly claimed amounts obvious (when compared to Naqvi). According to page 8 tables, the “% Water from Material” is quite significant when amount of DI water on left column is subtracted from. As result, the % water from material for example 1 is 15.5-5.11= 10.49, and for example 2 is 18.9-11.3=7.6 wt.%.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, according to Naqvi above, the total amounts of anionic and nonionic surfactants are (5-50 %) and (15-30 %) respectively. Calculation of their ratios (5-50 /15-30) and its range results in 4 values (0.33, 0.17, 3.3 and 1.7) with considerable overlap with the instantly claimed values, thus rendering this limitations obvious. It is noted that; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of (before the effective filing date) the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claims 7-12, Naqvi teaches fatty acids (instant claim 7-8) such as coconut oil in the amount of 5 wt.%; [examples 1, 3], enzymes (instant 9) such as cellulase, amylase and lipase; [78-79], thickener (instant 10) such as glycerol; [70], soil release polymer (i.e. construed as performance polymer; instant claim 11) of polyethyleneimine ethoxylate; [12, 99], and chelating agent (instant 12) ethylenediamine -tetraacetate; [99, 77].
Regarding claim 13, Naqvi teaches use of pH adjusting agents (buffers) for adjusting the solution pH; [99], without teaching its range. The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties, namely pH of 6-10 at 10 % by weight water solution at 25 deg C, are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, in the claimed ranges, was prepared under similar conditions, and that the original specification specifies that the properties arise from a combination of specific ingredients or process step and that it is rendered obvious by the applied art. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. pH, would Expectedly, be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants’ position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients.
“Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
Regarding claim 17, It is noted that all limitations of this claim is identical to that of claim 1 which, for the sake of brevity, will not be addressed again. The only exception is the claimed amount of water which is from 5 to about 11.3 wt.%. This limitation is construed as being rendered obvious because; ; I)- “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected [the claimed product and a product disclosed in the prior art] to have the same properties.” Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). [MPEP 2131.03, R6]. II)- Alternatively, it is noted that prior art of Naqvi, on page 8 Examples 1-6 tables, shows two types of water. First DI water (deionized) on column “% W/W” (left column) and second the “% Water from Material” (right column). Note that the amount of DI on “% W/W” column (left column) is identically present on the “% Water from Material” column (right column), wherein the “% Water from Material” additionally shows the original DI water (left column) plus the amount of all water which have been added to the composition through accompanying each ingredient or component of the composition. At the bottom of “% Water from Material” column it shows the final amount of water present in the composition which is, expectedly, higher than the amount of DI water (on left column) for each table on page 8. The specification of instant application, on the other hand, does not show its own “% Water from Material” but rather states the total water amount. As is construed for Naqvi, a similar consideration and calculation for instantly claimed composition (by adding the total Wt.% amounts of “water from material” to DI water on “% W/W” column would result in an amount of more than 15 wt% and more than 11.3 wt.% which would naturally and obviously render the instantly claimed amounts obvious (when compared to Naqvi). According to page 8 tables, the “% Water from Material” is quite significant when amount of DI water on left column is subtracted from. As result, the % water from material for example 1 is 15.5 - 5.11= 10.49, and for example 2 is 18.9 -11.3=7.6 wt.%.
Double Patenting
I)- Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending application 18/752,860 (reference application) in view of Naqvi et al. (US 2018/ 0312788 A1).
Claim 1 corresponds to claim 1 of copending 18/752,860. The claims are identical except that “860” does not teach the amount of more than 25 % by weight of anionic surfactant. However, the analogous art of Naqvi teaches a unit dose article comprising a water-soluble film and a detergent composition with non-soap anionic surfactant(s) in amounts of 5-50 wt.%; [14]. At the time, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to choose a higher amounts of anionic surfactant with the motivation of enhancing detergent’s stain removing effects, as taught by Naqvi above.
Claims 2-13 and 15 corresponds to claims 2-13 and 15 of copending “860” which are identical.
. Claim 14 corresponds to claim 14 of copending “860” which have overlap over water-soluble film comprising polyvinyl alcohol polymer.
Claims 16-17 correspond to claims 16-17 of copending “860” which are identical.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
II)- Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending application 18/752,887 (reference application) in view of Naqvi et al. (US 2018/ 0312788 A1).
Claim 1 corresponds to claim 1 of copending 18/752,887. The claims share the same limitations except that “887” does not teach the amount of more than 25 % by weight of anionic surfactant. However, the analogous art of Naqvi teaches a unit dose article comprising a water-soluble film and a detergent composition with non-soap anionic surfactant(s) in amounts of 5-50 wt.%; [14]. At the time, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to choose a higher amounts of anionic surfactant with the motivation of enhancing detergent’s stain removing effects, as taught by Naqvi above.
Claim 2 corresponds to claim 2 of copending “887” which have overlap over anionic non-soap surfactant of alkyl ether sulfate.
Claims 3-13 and 15 corresponds to claims 3-13 and 15 of copending “887” which are identical.
Claim 14 corresponds to claim 14 of copending “887” which have overlap over water-soluble film comprising polyvinyl alcohol polymer.
Claims 16-17 correspond to claims 16-17 of copending “887” which are identical.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
III)- Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending application 18/752,914 (reference application) in view of Naqvi et al. (US 2018/ 0312788 A1).
Claim 1 corresponds to claim 1 of copending 18/752,914. The claims share the same limitations except that “887” does not teach the amount of more than 25 % by weight of anionic surfactant. However, the analogous art of Naqvi teaches a unit dose article comprising a water-soluble film and a detergent composition with non-soap anionic surfactant(s) in amounts of 5-50 wt.%; [14]. At the time, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to choose a higher amounts of anionic surfactant with the motivation of enhancing detergent’s stain removing effects, as taught by Naqvi above.
Claim 2 corresponds to claim 1 of copending “914” which have overlap over non-soap anionic surfactant of alkyl benzene sulfonate.
Claims 3-5 correspond to claims 2-4 of copending “914” which are identical.
Claim 6 correspond to claim 5 of copending “914” which have overlap of the anionic to nonionic surfactant ratio of equal to 1:1.
Claims 9-10 correspond to claims 6-7 of copending “914” which are identical.
Claims 12-15 correspond to claims 9-12 of copending “914” which are identical.
Claims 16-17 correspond to claims 15-16 of copending “914” which are identical.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2026/07/21 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Because,
Please note that the main argument of applicant is about newly amended amount of water which allegedly is not rendered obvious by prior art of Naqvi. This argument is responded to on the above rejections of claims 1,16 and 17. However , the other additional remarks will be addressed briefly.
In response to applicant’s argument (page 6) that; “The proposed modification would also undermine Naqvi's stated purpose. Where a proposed modification would render the prior-art composition unsatisfactory for its intended purpose, the modification is not supported by a proper obviousness rationale. In re Gordon, 733 F.2d 900, 902, 221 USPQ 1125, 1127 (Fed. Cir. 1984); see MPEP § 2143.0l(V). Likewise, a modification that changes the principle of operation of the reference does not support a conclusion of obviousness. In re Ratti, 270 F.2d 810, 813, 123 USPQ 349, 352 (CCPA 1959); see MPEP § 2143.0l(VI). Because Naqvi's inventive concept is premised on relatively high water content reducing Naqvi's water content to below 15 wt% would be contrary to Naqvi's stated teaching and purpose.”, it should be noted that the argument is acknowledged but it’s emphasis and focus is about a part of Naqvi which has no water amount overlap with the instantly amended amounts of water namely being less than 15 Wt.%. The overlapping amount)s) of water between Naqvi and instantly claimed composition (as disclosed and explained in specification) would be more evident when different types of water in Naqvi’s composition is recognized and analyzed. Present disclosure ignores the amount of water added intentionally to the composition during manufacturing it, and the other type of water which has entered (or added) into the composition’s chemical system unintentionally but surely. .Naqvi has recognized and separated them in two categories of “% W/W” Water and “% Water from Material”. When a combination of these two were considered and compared to applicant’s disclosure the overlapping range of water amount becomes more evident.
As construed, there is no clear chemical reason to assume that applicant’s composition with water amounts of more than 15 % would behave or function differently (i.e. unexpected results) than the same composition with amount of water less than 16 or 11.3 %.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/M.R.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
2026/09/18
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767