DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first height being greater than the second height (claim 4) in combination with the perpendicular end surface of claim 1, the end surface of the substrate block perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (claim 31) in combination with the sleeve fluid passageway having a diameter that constantly increases with increasing distance from the central plane of claim 30, and the end surface of the seal ring perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (claim 33) in combination with the sleeve fluid passageway having a diameter that constantly increases with increasing distance from the central plane of claim 30 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 31, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the interior sleeve of the seal ring has a first height and the outer ring of the seal ring has a second height, the first height being greater than the second height”. This limitation in combination with the limitations of claim 1, on which this claim relies, that the conical portion includes an end surface perpendicular to the longitudinal axis is not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Though these limitations are individually described as they are only described with respect to different embodiments they cannot be said to have sufficient written description support as presently claimed. Appropriate correction is required. Examiner recommends canceling this claim.
Claim 31 recites the limitation “the conical portion of the substrate block terminates in an end surface, the end surface extending from the conical portion to the substrate fluid passageway and perpendicular to the longitudinal axis”. This limitation in combination with the limitations of claim 30, on which this claim relies, that the sleeve fluid passageway having a diameter that constantly increases with increasing distance from the central plane along a longitudinal axis is not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Though these limitations are individually described as they are only described with respect to different embodiments they cannot be said to have sufficient written description support as presently claimed. Appropriate correction is required. Examiner recommends canceling this claim.
Claim 33 recites the limitation “the upper and lower conical portions of the seal ring terminate in end surfaces that are perpendicular to the longitudinal axis”. This limitation in combination with the limitations of claim 30, on which this claim relies, that the sleeve fluid passageway having a diameter that constantly increases with increasing distance from the central plane along a longitudinal axis is not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Though these limitations are individually described as they are only described with respect to different embodiments they cannot be said to have sufficient written description support as presently claimed. Appropriate correction is required. Examiner recommends canceling this claim.
Claims 1-4, 8, and 10-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the end surface extending from the conical portion to the substrate fluid passageway” in lines 11-12. This limitation is indefinite as the end surface is previously claimed as part of the conical portion (i.e. “the conical portion terminating in an end surface” (emphasis added) of line 11 as opposed to “at” an end surface). Appropriate clarification and corrections is required. For examination purposes Examiner assumed Applicant intended to claim “the end surface extending to the substrate fluid passageway”.
Claims 2-4, 8, and 10-12 are indefinite at least by virtue of depending on indefinite claim 1 (see above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-***, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohmae (US 2022/0025996).
With regards to claim 1, Ohmae discloses fluid delivery system (as seen in Figs. 4-6, etc.) comprising: a substrate block (111) comprising: an upper surface (i.e. the surface receiving seal 120); a substrate port (i.e. the port sealed by seal 120) in the upper surface (as seen in Figs. 4-6); a substrate fluid passageway (i.e. the passageway therethrough as seen in Figs. 4-6) extending from the substrate port (as seen in Figs. 4-6); a substrate ring (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 4 below) defining the substrate port (as seen in Figs. 4-6); a substrate seal channel (113) formed in the upper surface and surrounding the substrate ring (as seen in Figs. 4-6), an outer surface of the substrate ring forming an inner surface of the substrate seal channel (as seen in Figs. 4-6); and a conical portion (115) extending from the substrate ring to the substrate fluid passageway (as seen in Figs. 4-6), the conical portion terminating in an end surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 4 below), the end surface extending from the conical portion to the substrate fluid passageway (as seen in Figs. 4-6); an active component (160) comprising: a lower surface (the surface receiving seal 120); a component port (i.e. the port sealed by seal 120) in the lower surface (as seen in Figs. 4-6); a component fluid passageway (i.e. the passageway therethrough as seen in Figs. 4-6) extending from the component port (as seen in Figs. 4-6); a component ring (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 4 below) defining the component port (as seen in Figs. 4-6); a component seal channel (164) formed in the lower surface and surrounding the component ring (as seen in Figs. 4-6), an outer surface of the component ring forming an inner surface of the component seal channel (as seen in Figs. 4-6); and a conical portion (165) extending from the component ring to the component fluid passageway (as seen in Figs. 4-6); a seal ring (120) comprising: an interior sleeve (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 4 below) comprising an upper conical portion (upper 125), a lower conical portion (lower 125), and a central portion (i.e. a portion in between such), the interior sleeve defining a sleeve fluid passageway (i.e. the passageway of 120 that aligns with the passageways of 111 and 160), the sleeve fluid passageway having a diameter that is substantially constant along a longitudinal axis (as seen in Figs. 4-6); and an outer ring (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 4 below) connected to the central portion of the interior sleeve and surrounding the interior sleeve (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 4 below) so that: (1) an annular upper sleeve groove (i.e. the groove in the seal ring receiving the component ring) is formed between an upper portion of the outer ring and an upper portion of the interior sleeve (as seen in Figs. 4-6); and (2) an annular lower sleeve groove (i.e. the groove in the seal ring receiving the substrate ring) is formed between a lower portion of the outer ring and a lower portion of the interior sleeve (as seen in Figs. 4-6); the active component mounted to the substrate block (as seen in Figs. 4-6) so that: (1) the substrate port and the component port are aligned (as seen in Figs. 4-6); and (2) the seal ring nests in each of the substrate seal channel and the component seal channel and the seal ring fluidly seals the substrate fluid passageway and the component fluid passageway (as seen in Figs. 4-6); and wherein the end surface of the conical portion of the substrate port is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (as seen in Figs. 4-6).
With regards to claim 2, Ohmae discloses that the seal ring is symmetrical about the longitudinal axis (as seen in Figs. 4-6).
Claims 1-2, 8, 10-11, 14, and 19, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stobbart (US 2001/0045709).
With regards to claim 1, Stobbart discloses fluid delivery system (as seen in Figs. 1-4) comprising: a substrate block (3) comprising: an upper surface (i.e. the surface receiving seal 5); a substrate port (i.e. the port sealed by seal 5) in the upper surface (as seen in Figs. 1-4); a substrate fluid passageway (i.e. the passageway therethrough as seen in Figs. 1-4) extending from the substrate port (as seen in Figs. 1-4); a substrate ring (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below) defining the substrate port (as seen in Figs. 1-4); a substrate seal channel (13) formed in the upper surface and surrounding the substrate ring (as seen in Figs. 1-4), an outer surface of the substrate ring forming an inner surface of the substrate seal channel (as seen in Figs. 1-4); and a conical portion (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below) extending from the substrate ring to the substrate fluid passageway (as seen in Figs. 1-4), the conical portion terminating in an end surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below), the end surface extending from the conical portion to the substrate fluid passageway (as seen in Figs. 1-4); an active component (2) comprising: a lower surface (the surface receiving seal 5); a component port (i.e. the port sealed by seal 5) in the lower surface (as seen in Figs. 1-4); a component fluid passageway (i.e. the passageway therethrough as seen in Figs. 1-4) extending from the component port (as seen in Figs. 1-4); a component ring (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below) defining the component port (as seen in Figs. 1-4); a component seal channel (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below) formed in the lower surface and surrounding the component ring (as seen in Figs. 1-4), an outer surface of the component ring forming an inner surface of the component seal channel (as seen in Figs. 1-4); and a conical portion (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below) extending from the component ring to the component fluid passageway (as seen in Figs. 1-4); a seal ring (5) comprising: an interior sleeve (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below) comprising an upper conical portion (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below), a lower conical portion (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below), and a central portion (i.e. a portion in between such), the interior sleeve defining a sleeve fluid passageway (i.e. the passageway of 5 that aligns with the passageways of 2 and 3), the sleeve fluid passageway having a diameter that is substantially constant along a longitudinal axis (as seen in Figs. 1-4); and an outer ring (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below) connected to the central portion of the interior sleeve and surrounding the interior sleeve (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below) so that: (1) an annular upper sleeve groove (i.e. the groove in the seal ring receiving the component ring) is formed between an upper portion of the outer ring and an upper portion of the interior sleeve (as seen in Figs. 1-4); and (2) an annular lower sleeve groove (i.e. the groove in the seal ring receiving the substrate ring) is formed between a lower portion of the outer ring and a lower portion of the interior sleeve (as seen in Figs. 1-4); the active component mounted to the substrate block (as seen in Figs. 1-4) so that: (1) the substrate port and the component port are aligned (as seen in Figs. 1-4); and (2) the seal ring nests in each of the substrate seal channel and the component seal channel and the seal ring fluidly seals the substrate fluid passageway and the component fluid passageway (as seen in Figs. 1-4); and wherein the end surface of the conical portion of the substrate port is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (as seen in Figs. 1-4).
With regards to claim 2, Stobbart discloses that the seal ring is symmetrical about the longitudinal axis (as seen in Figs. 1-4).
With regards to claim 8, Stobbart discloses that the interior sleeve of the seal ring has a first height and the outer ring of the seal ring has a second height (as seen in Figs. 1-4), the first and second heights being equal (as seen in Figs. 1-4).
With regards to claim 10, Stobbart discloses that the upper and lower conical portions of the seal ring terminate in end surfaces (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 above) that are perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (as seen in Figs. 1-4).
With regards to claim 11, Stobbart discloses that the lower conical portion of the seal ring extends a first distance from a central plane and the conical portion of the substrate block port extends a second distance from the central plane (as seen in Figs. 1-4), the second distance being equal to the first distance (as seen in Figs. 1-4 as the seal ring is symmetric about such central plane).
With regards to claim 14, Stobbart discloses a seal ring (5), the seal ring comprising: an interior sleeve (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 above) comprising an upper conical portion (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 above), a lower conical portion (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 above), and a central portion (i.e. a portion therebetween as seen in Figs. 1-4), the interior sleeve defining a sleeve fluid passageway (as seen in Figs. 1-4), the sleeve fluid passageway having a diameter that is substantially constant along a longitudinal axis (as seen in Figs. 1-4); and an outer ring (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 above) connected to the central portion of the interior sleeve and surrounding the interior sleeve (as seen in Figs. 1-4) so that: (1) an annular upper sleeve groove (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 above) is formed between an upper portion of the outer ring and an upper portion of the interior sleeve (as seen in Figs. 1-4); and (2) an annular lower sleeve groove (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 above) is formed between a lower portion of the outer ring and a lower portion of the interior sleeves (as seen in Figs. 1-4) wherein the upper and lower conical portions terminate in end surfaces (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 above) that are perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (as seen in Figs. 1-4), the end surfaces extending from the sleeve fluid passageway (as seen in Figs. 1-4).
With regards to claim 19, Stobbart discloses that outer surfaces of the upper conical portion and the lower conical portion have a constant slope (as seen in Figs. 1-4).
Claims 30 and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shirani et al. (US 2018/0231158).
With regard to claim 30, Shirani discloses a fluid delivery system (as seen in Fig. 1) comprising: a substrate block (11) comprising: an upper surface (the upper surface seen in Fig. 1 seen receiving the seal ring 7); a substrate port (i.e. the port as seen in Fig. 1) in the upper surface (as seen in Fig. 1); a substrate fluid passageway (i.e. inside sealing bore at 42) extending from the substrate port (as seen in Fig. 1); a substrate ring (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below) defining the substrate port (as seen in Fig. 1); a substrate seal channel (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below) formed in the upper surface and surrounding the substrate ring (as seen in Fig. 1), an outer surface of the substrate ring forming an inner surface of the substrate seal channel (as seen in Fig. 1); and a conical portion (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below) extending from the substrate ring to the substrate fluid passageway (as seen in Fig. 1); an active component (9) comprising: a lower surface (i.e. the surface seen in Fig. 1 receiving seal ring 7); a component port (as seen in Fig. 1) in the lower surface (as seen in Fig. 1); a component fluid passageway (i.e. the passageway at 42) extending from the component port (as seen in Fig. 1); a component ring (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below) defining the component port (as seen in Fig. 1); a component seal channel (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below) formed in the lower surface and surrounding the component ring (as seen in Fig. 1), an outer surface of the component ring forming an inner surface of the component seal channel (as seen in Fig. 1); and a conical portion (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below) extending from the component ring to the component fluid passageway (as seen in Fig. 1); a seal ring (7) comprising: an interior sleeve (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below) comprising an upper conical portion (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below), a lower conical portion (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below), and a central portion (i.e. the portion therebetween), the interior sleeve defining a sleeve fluid passageway (as seen in Fig. 1 at 42); and an outer ring (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below) connected to the central portion of the interior sleeve and surrounding the interior sleeve (as seen in Fig. 1) so that: (1) an annular upper sleeve groove (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below) is formed between an upper portion of the outer ring and an upper portion of the interior sleeve (as seen in Fig. 1); and (2) an annular lower sleeve groove (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 below) is formed between a lower portion of the outer ring and a lower portion of the interior sleeve (as seen in Fig. 1); the active component mounted to the substrate block (as seen in Fig. 1) so that: (1) the substrate port and the component port are aligned (as seen in Fig. 1); and (2) the seal ring nests in each of the substrate seal channel and the component seal channel (as seen in Fig. 1) and the seal ring fluidly seals the substrate fluid passageway and the component fluid passageway (as seen in Fig. 1); and wherein the seal ring is symmetric about a central plane (2, as seen in Fig. 1), the sleeve fluid passageway having a diameter that constantly increases with increasing distance from the central plane along a longitudinal axis (as seen in Fig. 1, and with the disclosure of para. [0029] that element 12 can be in other locations such as the outer seal ring instead, which would render the diameter constantly increasing with distance from the central plane).
With regard to claim 32, Shirani discloses that the interior sleeve of the seal ring has a first height and the outer ring of the seal ring has a second height, the first and second heights being equal (as seen in Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 33, Shirani discloses that the upper and lower conical portions of the seal ring terminate in end surfaces that are perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (as seen in Figs. 1, etc.).
With regard to claim 34, Shirani discloses that the lower conical portion of the seal ring extends a first distance from the central plane and the conical portion of the substrate block extends a second distance from the central plane, the second distance being equal to the first distance (as seen in Fig. 1 as the conical portion of the substrate block is larger than the conical portion of the seal ring such that the conical portion of the substrate block has a plurality of distances, one of which is exactly equal as claimed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stobbart (US 2001/0045709) alone.
With regards to claim 3, Stobbart discloses that the substrate fluid passageway has a diameter (as seen in Figs. 1-4), but fails to disclose the diameter of the substrate fluid passageway being less than the diameter of the sleeve fluid passageway. However it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to have modified the device of Stobbart such that the diameter of the substrate fluid passageway being at least a small amount less than the diameter of the sleeve fluid passageway as a change in the proportion of the prior art is generally recognized as an obvious matter of design choice/routine skill in the art. See MPEP §21440.05 and Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."), etc.. Such a modification would provide the expected result of allowing for slight manufacturing tolerances and thereby reducing costs.
With regards to claim 4, Stobbart discloses that the interior sleeve of the seal ring has a first height and the outer ring of the seal ring has a second height (as seen in Figs. 1-4), but fails to disclose that the first height being greater than the second height. However it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to have modified the device of Stobbart such that the first height is at least a small amount greater than the second height as a change in the proportion of the prior art is generally recognized as an obvious matter of design choice/routine skill in the art. See MPEP §21440.05 and Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."), etc.. Such a modification would provide the expected result of allowing for slight manufacturing tolerances and thereby reducing costs.
Claim 12, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stobbart (US 2001/0045709) in view of Takeda et al. (US 2019/0301608).
With regards to claim 12, Stobbart fails to disclose that the outer ring comprises castellations formed into upper and lower terminal surfaces of the outer ring.
Takeda discloses a similar fluid delivery system (30, as seen in Figs. 1-4, etc.) with a seal ring (30) having castellations (i.e. formed by 33a/b) formed into upper and lower terminal surfaces of the outer ring (as seen in Figs. 1-4, etc.)
It would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to have modified the device of Stobbart such that the outer ring comprises castellations formed into upper and lower terminal surfaces of the outer ring as taught by Takeda. Such a modification would provide the expected benefit of providing locking to the seal ring (see Takeda para. [0071], etc.).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirani et al. (US 2018/0231158) in view of Stobbart (US 2001/0045709)
With regard to claim 31, Shirani fails to disclose that the conical portion of the substrate block terminates in an end surface, the end surface extending from the conical portion to the substrate fluid passageway and perpendicular to the longitudinal axis.
Stobbart discloses a similar fluid delivery system (as seen in Fig. 1) wherein a conical portion (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 above) of a substrate block (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 above) terminates in an end surface (as labeled in Examiner annotated Fig. 1 above), the end surface extending from the conical portion to the substrate fluid passageway and perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (as seen in Fig. 1).
It would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to have modified the device of Shirani such that the conical portion of the substrate block terminates in an end surface, the end surface extending from the conical portion to the substrate fluid passageway and perpendicular to the longitudinal axis as taught by Stobbart. Such a modification would provide the expected benefit of better protecting the conical portions and/or providing for better flow through the passageways
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS L FOSTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675