DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10, 24-27 are pending.
Claims 11-23 are cancelled.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “A structure” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 1, claim 1 recites, “the structure” in line 9-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Moreover, claim 1 further introduces “a structure” subsequently in the claim. It is unclear if this structure is the same or different from that structure. It appears this language is intended to recite, “a building structure” and will be interpreted as such.
In addition, claim 1 recites, “the structure engaging portions” in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears this language is intended to recite, each structure engaging portion” and will be interpreted as such.
Claims 2-10 and 24-27 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, 24-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison et al (“Harrison”) (US 2005/0262782) in view of Burton et al (“Burton”) (US 2008/0110110) and O’rourke (US 2009/0090068).
Re claim 1, Harrison discloses a fenestration unit (100), comprising:
a frame (102) having an interior side (inner side of 102) and exterior side (exterior side of 102), and including a head (110), first (112) and second jambs (112), and a sill (113), wherein the head (110) and first jamb (112 on the left) define a first corner (top left corner of 102), the head (110) and second jamb (112 on the right) define a second corner (top right corner of 102), the sill (113) and first jamb (112 on the left) define a third corner (bottom left corner of 102), and the sill (113) and second jamb (112 on the right) define a fourth corner (bottom right corner of 102);
a pre-attached flashing member (108, [0031]) including a frame mounting portion (Fig. 3, at 300; see examiner comments) and a structure engaging portion (Fig. 3 above 300; see examiner comments) and being transitionable between ([0046]) a shipping configuration ([0046] disclosing folding against the frame for a “compact storage position”) and an installation configuration (Fig. 1), wherein the structure engaging portions (Fig. 3 above 300; see examiner comments) are configured to engage and be mounted (Fig. 5A-5C shows that there is a release sheet 504 on the entirety of the flashing members; Fig. 5C specifically shows adhesive 506 on the entire perimeter of the flashings, thus, the structure engaging portion of the examiner’s comments is engaged with and mounted to the wall structure via adhesive) to the structure (the wall to which that structure engaging portion from the examiner’s comments contacts);
wherein the frame mounting portion (Fig. 3, at 300; see examiner comments) is attached to ([0032] disclosing adhesive) the head (110) and to the first (112) and second jambs (112) on the exterior side (exterior side of 102) of the frame (102);
wherein the structure engaging portion (Fig. 3 above 300; see examiner comments) extends continuously around (Fig. 1) both of the first (top left corner of 102) and second corners (top right corner of 102) and includes a first corner portion (at the top left corner of 108, see [0027] disclosing overlapping of flashing segments) and a second corner portion (top right corner of 108, see [0027] disclosing overlapping of flashing segments), and a lengthwise portion (along the length of 108 between corners) extending between (Fig. 1) the first corner portion (at the top left corner of 108, see [0027] disclosing overlapping of flashing segments) and the second corner portion (top right corner of 108, see [0027] disclosing overlapping of flashing segments), and wherein each of the first corner portion (top left corner of 108) and the second corner portion (top right corner of 108) comprises elastomeric material ([0030]) to facilitate transitioning ([0030]) of the first corner portion (top left of 108) and the second corner portion (top right of 108) between the shipping configuration ([0046]) and the installation configuration (Fig. 1);
wherein in the installation configuration (Fig. 1) the structure engaging portion (Fig. 3 above 300; see examiner comments) of the pre-attached flashing member (108) extends radially from (Fig. 1) a perimeter (perimeter of 102) of the frame (102), and are configured to engage (Fig. 3 above 300; see examiner comments) an exterior of the structure (Fig. 3 above 300 showing engagement with an exterior of the structure)(,
one or more installation brackets (500) mounted to the frame (102),
but fails to disclose wherein each of the installation brackets is configured to allow for insertion of the fenestration unit from an interior of a building structure, and wherein each of the first corner portion and the second corner portion comprises a structure that is different than a structure of the lengthwise portion to enhance an ability of the first corner portion and the second corner portion to be transitionable between the shipping configuration and the installation configuration.
However, Burton discloses wherein each of the installation brackets (Fig. 1C 605) is configured to allow for insertion (Fig. 1C) of the fenestration unit (800) from an interior ([0059]) of a building structure (22).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fenestration unit of Harrison wherein each of the installation brackets is configured to allow for insertion of the fenestration unit from an interior of a building structure as disclosed by Burton in order to simplify installation on higher floors of a building, as inserted from the inside allows installation without the use of additional tools such as ladders.
In addition, O’rourke discloses wherein each of the at least one of the first corner portion (Harrison: top left 108) and the second corner portion (Harrison: top right 108) includes a structure (at 11a/b/c, [0020]) that is different than a structure (of 108, being flat) of the lengthwise portion (between the first and second corners of Harrison) to enhance an ability ([0020]) of the first corner portion (Harrison: top right 108) and the second corner portion (Harrison: top left 108) to be transitionable between ([0020]) the shipping configuration (Harrison: [0046]) and the installation configuration (Harrison: Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fenestration unit of Harrison wherein each of the first corner portion and the second corner portion comprises a structure that is different than a structure of the lengthwise portion to enhance an ability of the first corner portion and the second corner portion to be transitionable between the shipping configuration and the installation configuration as disclosed by O’rourke in order to make folding easier and more accurate and/or straight.
Re claim 2, Harrison as modified discloses the fenestration unit of claim 1, wherein the structure engaging portion (Fig. 3 above 300; see examiner comments) extends around (Fig. 1) both of the first and second corners (top left and top right corners of 102).
Re claim 3, Harrison as modified discloses the fenestration unit of claim 2, wherein the structure engaging portion (Fig. 3 above 300; see examiner comments) extends around (Fig. 1) both of the third and fourth corners (bottom left and bottom right corners of 102).
Re claim 4, Harrison as modified discloses the fenestration unit of claim 1, wherein at least portions of the pre-attached flashing member (108) is bent and/or folded ([0046]) when in the shipping configuration ([0046] disclosing folding against the frame for a “compact storage position”).
Re claim 5, Harrison as modified discloses the fenestration unit of claim 4, wherein the first and second corner portions (top right/left of 108) of the pre-attached flashing member (108) are bent and/or folded ([0046]) when in the shipping configuration ([0046] disclosing folding against the frame for a “compact storage position”). In the event the Examiner overbroadly construed [0046], see alternative rejection below.
Re claim 6, Harrison as modified discloses the fenestration unit of claim 5, O’rourke discloses wherein the first corner portion (Harrison: top left 108) and the second corner portion (Harrison: top right 108) include structures (at 11a/b/c, [0020]) configured to facilitate the bending and/or folding ([0020]).
Re claim 7, Harrison as modified discloses the fenestration unit of claim 6, O’rourke discloses wherein first and second corner portions (Harrison: top left/right corners of 108) include one or more of (1) one or more perforated lines (at 11a/b/c, [0020]), (2) a plurality of holes, (3) slit cross-hatching, or (4) a series of slits (as this is an “or” clause).
Re claim 10, Harrison discloses a method (Fig. 9) for installing the fenestration unit (100) of claim 1 (see above), comprising:
receiving (Fig. 1 showing 100 received) the fenestration unit (100) with the pre-attached flashing member (108) in the shipping configuration ([0046]);
inserting ([0010]) the fenestration unit (100) into a rough opening ([0010]) of a structure ([0010]) from a side (exterior side thereof) of the structure ([0010]), with the exterior side (exterior side of 102) of the frame (102) facing the exterior side (exterior side of the structure) of the structure (Fig. 3);
attaching the installation brackets (500) to the structure ([0033]);
transitioning the pre-attached flashing member (108) from the shipping configuration ([0046]) to the installation configuration (Fig. 1); and
attaching (Fig. 3, [0032] disclosing adhering) the structure engaging portion (Fig. 3 above 300; see examiner comments) of the pre-attached flashing member (108) to the exterior side (Fig. 3, showing above 300 attached to the exterior of the structure) structure (Fig. 3),
but fails to disclose the side as the interior side of the structure.
However, Burton discloses the side (of 22) as the interior side ([0059]) of the structure (22).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Harrison with the side as the interior side of the structure as disclosed by Burton in order to simplify installation on higher floors of a building, as inserted from the inside allows installation without the use of additional tools such as ladders.
Re claim 24, Harrison as modified discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising anchoring ([0033]) each of the one or more installation brackets (500) after inserting ([0033] discloses inserting into the rough opening, and then bending the brackets 500 for anchoring) the fenestration unit (100) into a rough opening ([0033]) of a structure ([0033]) from the interior side of the structure (Burton: [0059]).
Re claim 25, Harrison as modified discloses the method of claim 10, wherein transitioning (Fig. 5A-5B, [0046]) each of the pre-attached flashing members (108) from the shipping configuration ([0046]) to the installation configuration (Fig. 1) includes transitioning ([0046]) each of the pre-attached flashing members (108), but fails to disclose after inserting the fenestration unit into the rough opening of the structure from the interior side of the structure.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Harrison with the transitioning after inserting the fenestration unit into the rough opening of the structure from the interior side of the structure in order to ensure a proper window fit into the rough opening prior to installing flashing, thus ensuring a proper flashing seal. In addition, selection of the order of performing process steps has been held as within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent new or unexpected results. In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975.
Re claim 26, Harrison as modified discloses the method of claim 10, wherein: each of the one or more installation brackets (500) includes a base ([0033], the portion coupled to the frame) mounted to the fame (102), and an anchoring bracket (the portion of 500 shown in Fig. 5A-5B) moveably coupled ([0033] disclosing bending) to the base ([0033], the portion coupled to the frame); and the method further comprises moving ([0033]) the anchoring bracket (the portion of 500 shown in Fig. 5A) with respect to the base ([0033], the portion coupled to the frame) for each of the one or more installation brackets (500).
Re claim 27, Harrison as modified discloses the fenestration unit of claim 1, wherein each of the one or more installation brackets (500) includes a base ([0033], the portion coupled to the frame) mounted to the frame (100) and an anchoring bracket ([0033], the portion of 500 shown in Fig. 5A-5B) moveably coupled ([0033] disclosing bending) to the base ([0033], the portion coupled to the frame).
Claim(s) 5 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison et al (“Harrison”) (US 2005/0262782) in view of Burton et al (“Burton”) (US 2008/0110110) and O’rourke (US 2009/0090068).
Re claim 5 in the alternative, Harrison as modified discloses the fenestration unit of claim 4, wherein the portions of the pre-attached flashing members (108) are bent and/or folded ([0046]) when in the low profile configuration ([0046] disclosing folding against the frame for a “compact storage position”), but fails to disclose the portions being around the first and second corners.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fenestration unit of Harrison such that the bent/folded portions are around the first and second corners (in addition to any other location thereof) in order to provide a more compact storage position, making shipping/transportation less expensive and easier.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison et al (“Harrison”) (US 2005/0262782) in view of Burton et al (“Burton”) (US 2008/0110110), O’rourke (US 2009/0090068) and Pufahl (US 2012/0085063).
Re claim 8, Harrison as modified discloses the fenestration unit of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein: the frame mounting portion and the structure engaging portion of the pre-attached flashing member includes a backing layer (optionally aluminum foil), a carrier layer, and an adhesive layer; and the structure engaging portion of the pre-attached flashing member includes a release liner over the adhesive layer when the pre-attached flashing member is in the shipping configuration.
However, Pufahl discloses wherein: the frame mounting portion (Harrison: Fig. 3 below 300; see examiner comments) and the structure engaging portion (Harrison: Fig. 3 above 300; see examiner comments) of the pre-attached flashing member (100) includes a backing layer (120) (optionally aluminum foil), a carrier layer (110), and an adhesive layer (150); and the structure engaging portion (Harrison: Fig. 3 above 300; see examiner comments) of the pre-attached flashing member (100) includes a release liner (140, 151) over the adhesive layer (150) when the pre-attached flashing member (100) is in the shipping configuration (Harrison: [0046] disclosing folding against the frame for a “compact storage position”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the wherein: the frame mounting portion and the structure engaging portion of the pre-attached flashing member includes a backing layer (optionally aluminum foil), a carrier layer, and an adhesive layer; and the structure engaging portion of the pre-attached flashing member includes a release liner over the adhesive layer when the pre-attached flashing member is in the shipping configuration as disclosed by Pufahl in order to provide a flashing which is a moisture barrier material providing water impermeability, drainage of moisture and air flow on its external surface, pliability, conformance to structural surface variations, sealant compatibility, and excellent immediate and long term adhesion to common building substrates ([0010]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison et al (“Harrison”) (US 2005/0262782) in view of Burton et al (“Burton”) (US 2008/0110110), O’rourke (US 2009/0090068) and Tait et al (“Tait”) (US 5,119,609).
Re claim 9, Harrison as modified discloses the fenestration unit of claim 1, but fails to disclose further comprising shipping material on the fenestration unit when the pre-attached flashing member is in the shipping configuration.
However, Tait discloses further comprising shipping material (48) on the fenestration unit (10) when the pre-attached flashing members (50) is in the shipping configuration (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fenestration unit of Harrison further comprising shipping material on the fenestration unit when the pre-attached flashing member is in the shipping configuration as disclosed by Tait in order to prevent dislodging during shipping (Col 5 lines 21-35).
Examiner Comments
Response to Arguments
Claim Interpretation: Applicant’s argument with respect to the claims interpreted under 35 USC 112 have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the claims do not use the term, “means” and thus, 112(f) is not invoked. However, no reasoning therefore is provided. Interpretation of the claims under 35 USC 112(f) is maintained.
Claim Rejections 35 USC 103: Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are not persuasive.
First, upon further consideration of the Harrison reference, it appears as though Harrison discloses the structure engaging portion engaging and mounted to the building structure, as interpreted under 35 USC 112 above, and as outlined in the rejection above.
Applicant first argues that O’rourke discloses perforations, but a release sheet is removed prior to installation, and thus, O’rourke fails to disclose the structure engaging portion configured to engage and be mounted to the structure. O’rourke is not relied upon in the above disclosing this feature. Harrison instead is relied upon disclosing this feature.
Further, Applicant argues that O’rourke discloses a flashing member attached to interior surfaces of a window, and that it would not have been obvious to combine exterior flashings of Harrison with interior flashings of O’rourke. The location of the flashings of O’rourke is not relevant to the claims as presented or the above rejection. O’rourke is not relied upon disclosing any location, and is instead relied upon as disclosing, “wherein each of the first corner portion and the second corner portion comprises a structure that is different than a structure of the lengthwise portion to enhance an ability of the first corner portion and the second corner portion to be transitionable between the shipping configuration and the installation configuration.” Moreover, both Harrison and O’rourke are directed to fenestration units, and are well within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would look to O’rourke to modify Harrison for those reasons outlined in the above.
Applicant’s arguments concerning the dependent claims are addressed by the above.
Conclusion
KYLE WALRAED-SULLIVAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635