Note that there is no additional 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection for claim 8 which is a computer program product because the Specification states that this does not include signals per se.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Based upon consideration of all of the relevant factors with respect to the claims as a whole, claims 1-20 are held to claim an unpatentable abstract idea, and are therefore rejected as ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
The limitations of the independent claims of generating a vehicle profile associated with a vehicle based on a first received image of the vehicle; wherein generating the vehicle profile comprises generating a micro-pattern associated with the vehicle based on the at least one analysis of the first received image; detecting one or more modifications of the vehicle based on an analysis of a second received image of the vehicle; and transmitting an alert based on the one or more modifications indicating an anomaly associated with the micro-pattern covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting the application of the steps by a generic computing device, nothing is being recited that could not be performed mentally.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the ‘Mental Processes’ grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites the element of a computing device to perform the listed steps. The computing device in all steps is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computing device to perform the listed steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Turning to the dependent claims, claims 2, 3, 5, 6, and 7 (and the mirror claims for the other dependent claims) either define data or further specify the mental steps addressed above. Claim 4 does introduce the technical feature of “computer visioning system,” but as above, it is claimed so broadly that it might simply be a generic sensor. It is also not claimed how the computer visioning system is specifically used to track the vehicle, and filtering data can be done mentally.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “anomaly” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “anomaly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, claim 3 attempts to define this modification, but does so in another relative term “abnormal vehicle activity.” This is completely unbounded. If, however, claim 3 was amended to remove this term, then anomaly would be appropriately defined and not subject to this rejection.
All claims are rejected because of this.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen “Car Damage Detection and Patch-to-Patch Self-supervised Image Alignment”, 2021, hereinafter “Chen”.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a computer-implemented method for managing dynamic digital vehicle identity (Abstract discloses Most computer vision applications aim to identify pixels in a scene and use them for diverse purposes. One intriguing application is car damage detection for insurance carriers which tends to detect all car damages by comparing both pre-trip and post-trip images, even requiring two components: (i) car damage detection; (ii) image alignment. Firstly, we implemented a Mask R-CNN model to detect car damages on custom images. Whereas for the image alignment section, we especially propose a novel self-supervised Patch-to-Patch SimCLR inspired alignment approach to find perspective transformations between custom pre/post car rental images except for traditional computer vision method) comprising:
generating, by a computing device, a vehicle profile associated with a vehicle based on a first received image of the vehicle (Page 1, Col. 1, P2-3 disclose that in general, car damages can be classified into three primary categories as metal damage, glass damage and miscellaneous damage based on which component they impact. Also, the most general strategy to detect car damages is training an object detection network (e.g., Faster-RCNN [4], Retinanet, YOLO) on a large number of labeled images. Image alignment refers to the process of minimizing the differences between the aligned image and the reference image, typically by finding a transformation that maps the pixels of the aligned image to the corresponding pixels in the reference image. This is a first received image and a second received image);
wherein generating the vehicle profile comprises generating, by the computing device, a mircro-pattern associated with the vehicle based on at least one analysis of the first received image (Col. 1, last paragraph, Col. 2, P1-P2, and Fig. 1 disclose a portion of a vehicle based on an image. This is a micro-pattern based on analysis);
detecting, by the computing device, one or more modifications of the vehicle based on an analysis of a second received image of the vehicle (As discussed in the first limitation, the reference deals with identifying damage based on pixel differences);
transmitting, by the computing device, an alert based on the one or more modifications indicating an anomaly associated with the micro-pattern (See Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches wherein the micro-pattern is a unique immutable fingerprint of internal and external parameters of the vehicle (As above, the micro-pattern is unique to the vehicle because it is a picture of that vehicle); and wherein a first vehicle fingerprint derived from the first image is compared to a second vehicle fingerprint derived from the second received image (this is addressed above and in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses wherein the one or more modifications comprise at least one crack, blip, scratch, color change, license plate change, or abnormal vehicle activity associated with the vehicle (Col. 2, P1 discloses car damages includes at least scratches).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses tracking, by the computing device, the vehicle via computer visioning system (Col. 1, P1 discloses the paper relates to computer vision); and filtering, by the computing device, a plurality of images associated with the vehicle based on the comparison indicating a lack of anomaly (Page 2, Col. 1, Fig. 4 and last paragraph disclose comparison of pictures and specifically by comparing 32*32 patches on individual pictures. Also, the abstract specifically states that the custom images are pre and post car rental images, so this means there is a comparison before and after the damage).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses wherein the one or more modifications indicating the anomaly is based on the one or more modifications exceeding a threshold associated with the micro-pattern (Page 2, Col. 2 discloses at least a threshold based on pixels, and loss optimization).
Regarding claims 7, the 32*32 patches are two dimensional codes.
Claims 8-11, 13-18, and 20 are duplicate claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 12, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen “Car Damage Detection and Patch-to-Patch Self-supervised Image Alignment”, 2021, hereinafter “Chen,” in view of Singh, “Accelerate Car Damage Annotation With Labellerr's Auto Labeling Using SAM”, https://www.labellerr.com/blog/accelerate-car-damage-annotation-with-labellerr-auto-labeling/, 2024, hereinafter “Singh.”
Regarding claims 5, Chen discloses wherein a first vehicle fingerprint derived from the first received image is compared to a second vehicle fingerprint derived from the second received image (See claim 4). However, while Chen discloses both image generation and logical decision making as discussed above, it uses a Mask R-CNN learning system, not specifically generative artificial intelligence.
However, Singh, which is directed to exactly the same problem as Chen, namely assessing vehicle damage after accidents for insurance claim processing, does teach on Page 5 that using GANs and other generative create realistic and diversified automotive damage images to add with real-world data. Page 6 provides the motivation to do so as being able to annotate data with increased speed and accuracy, thereby doubling their release velocity for developing AI-powered image analysis software. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use GANs for image generation to supplement the image creation and analysis process of Chen.
Claims 12 and 19 are duplicate claims.
Prior Art Cited but Not Relied on
Mohamad, CAR DAMAGE SEVERITY ASSESSMENT USING SUPERVISED DEEP LEARNING 2024, teaches the assessment of car damage severity is a critical task in the automotive industry, particularly in insurance claims processing, repairs, and traffic safety analysis. Traditionally, car damage assessment has heavily relied on manual inspections by experts. However, this approach suffers from several limitations, including subjectivity, time consumption, and potential errors, which can lead to inaccurate assessments, delayed insurance claims, and compromised repair processes. This study aims to addresses challenges in accurately assessing car damage severity using deep learning techniques, aiming to overcome limitations associated with manual inspection, such as subjectivity, time consumption, and potential errors. A robust data preprocessing pipeline is implemented using TensorFlow's ImageDataGenerator to prepare and augment the car damage severity assessment dataset, enhancing the model's ability to generalize across diverse data. Once preprocessed, the study continues with 4 supervised deep learning model which are Roboflow, ResNet, EfficientNetV2L and VGG19, with the best performing is EfficientNetV2L with an accuracy of 81%. when trained on 400x400 pixel images for 10 epochs.
Conclusion
ARYAN E. WEISENFELD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3689
/ARYAN E WEISENFELD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667