DETAILED ACTION
This action is filed in response to the application filed on 6/25/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) form PTO-1149 filed on 6/25/2024 and 6/26/2026. These IDS have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-12, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aoki (US20150120022 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Aoki teaches an electronic device comprising at least one processor (e.g. see [0036] “The controlling unit 110 is provided with a micro-processor, which successively reads and runs a program (terminal program) stored in the storing unit 111 to communicate with the exercise form analyzing server 12 through the communication unit 113 and the IP network 13”) that identifies a cyclic change related to an arm swing of a user from a three-dimensional acceleration measured by a first measurer (e.g. see [0015] “a controlling unit which divides the acceleration components output from the measuring unit into acceleration components at least for one step on the basis of the acceleration components at the foot landing, compares waveforms of the divided acceleration components with waveforms of previously registered acceleration components, extracts acceleration components of arm swing at the time of foot landing from the acceleration components successively output from the measuring unit to analyze balance in timing between arm swing and foot landing while the user is walking or running, and outputs the analyzed balance in timing between arm swing and foot landing”),
wherein the at least one processor defines a two-dimensional plane containing a plane of the arm swing of the user from the three-dimensional acceleration measured at a wrist of the user (e.g. see [Fig. 4A] and [0061] “As shown in FIG. 4A and/or in FIG. 5, when the user wears the wrist terminal 11 on his/her left wrist, and when the user runs while looking at the wrist terminal 11 (YES at step S105), the acceleration component in the direction of X-axis will be little, and the acceleration components in the directions of Y-, and Z-axes will increase. Further, at shock of foot landing, the acceleration component in the direction of Y-axis will increase forward and the acceleration component in the directions of Z-axis will increase downward”),
detects the cyclic change as a motion on an arc centered at a shoulder of the user in the two-dimensional plane (e.g. see [Fig. 8A-8C]), and obtains an angle of the arm swing (e.g. see [0081] “Then, extracting a back and forward motion of the arm swing from the acceleration components in the directions of X-, Y- and Z-axes output from the tri-axial acceleration sensor (measuring unit 112), the controlling unit 110 calculates a cycle time of the arm swing (step S209) and estimates bending of the arm (arm-swing rate and arm bending angle) (step S210)”).
Regarding Claim 2, Aoki teaches the limitations of Claim 1. Aoki further discloses wherein the motion is a reciprocating motion (e.g. see [0064] “Then, extracting the back and forward movement of the arm swing from the acceleration components in the directions of X-, Y- and Z-axes output from the acceleration sensor (measuring unit 112) of the wrist terminal 11, the controlling unit 120 calculates a cycle time of the arm swing”).
Regarding Claim 3, Aoki teaches the limitations of Claim 2. Aoki further discloses wherein the at least one processor identifies a length of the arc (e.g. see [0064] “in this way, the amplitude of the arm swing (i.e. the length of the arc) can be calculated by analyzing the cycle time of the arm swing and the acceleration components of motion of the arm swing, whereby how much the arm is bent can be estimated”), and obtains the angle of the arm swing from the length (e.g. see [Fig. 8A-8C] and [0081] “Then, extracting a back and forward motion of the arm swing from the acceleration components in the directions of X-, Y- and Z-axes output from the tri-axial acceleration sensor (measuring unit 112), the controlling unit 110 calculates a cycle time of the arm swing (step S209) and estimates bending of the arm (arm-swing rate and arm bending angle) (step S210)”).
Regarding Claim 4, Aoki teaches the limitations of Claim 3. Aoki further discloses wherein the at least one processor accumulates an acceleration component along the arc to obtain the length of the arc (e.g. see [Fig. 8A-8C] and [0081] “Then, extracting a back and forward motion of the arm swing from the acceleration components in the directions of X-, Y- and Z-axes output from the tri-axial acceleration sensor (measuring unit 112), the controlling unit 110 calculates a cycle time of the arm swing (step S209) and estimates bending of the arm (arm-swing rate and arm bending angle) (step S210)”).
Regarding Claim 8, Aoki teaches an electronic device comprising at least one processor (e.g. see [0045] “The controlling unit 120 is provided with a micro-processor, which successively reads and runs a program (server program) stored in the storing unit 121 to communicate with the wrist terminal 11 through the communication unit 122 and the IP network 13”) that identifies a cyclic change related to an arm swing of a user (e.g. see [0052] “A period within which the above motions of the arms and legs are executed is defined as one cycle. As shown in FIG. 4A, these motions are repeatedly executed (refer to (1) to (5)). A position where the wrist terminal 11 is held at the time when the right foot has landed and the left arm has been swung to the most front is indicated at a position (6) in FIG. 4A. A position where the wrist terminal 11 is held at the time when the left foot has landed and the left arm has been swung to the most rear side is indicated at a position (7) in FIG. 4A”) from a three-dimensional acceleration measured at a wrist of the user by a first measurer (e.g. see [0045] “Receiving from the wrist terminal 11 through the IP network 13 data of the acceleration components of motion of the fitting part (or the user's body where the wrist terminal 11 is worn on) in the three directions”),
wherein the at least one processor obtains an angle of the arm swing based on the measured three-dimensional acceleration without using data on an angular velocity (e.g. see [0064] “Then, extracting the back and forward movement of the arm swing from the acceleration components in the directions of X-, Y- and Z-axes output from the acceleration sensor (measuring unit 112) of the wrist terminal 11, the controlling unit 120 calculates a cycle time of the arm swing (step S110) and estimates bending of the arm (arm-swing rate and arm bending angle)”).
Regarding Claim 9, Aoki teaches the limitations of Claim 1. Aoki further discloses the first measurer that measures the three-dimensional acceleration (e.g. see [0015] “According to yet other aspect of the invention, there is provided a training supporting apparatus which comprises a measuring unit which is worn on the arm or the wrist of a user and measures acceleration components of motion of the user's body where said measuring unit is fitted on, at least in the three directions along X-, Y- and Z-axes”).
Regarding Claim 10, Aoki teaches the limitations of Claim 2. Aoki further discloses the first measurer that measures the three-dimensional acceleration (e.g. see [0015] “According to yet other aspect of the invention, there is provided a training supporting apparatus which comprises a measuring unit which is worn on the arm or the wrist of a user and measures acceleration components of motion of the user's body where said measuring unit is fitted on, at least in the three directions along X-, Y- and Z-axes”).
Regarding Claim 11, Aoki teaches the limitations of Claim 3. Aoki further discloses the first measurer that measures the three-dimensional acceleration (e.g. see [0015] “According to yet other aspect of the invention, there is provided a training supporting apparatus which comprises a measuring unit which is worn on the arm or the wrist of a user and measures acceleration components of motion of the user's body where said measuring unit is fitted on, at least in the three directions along X-, Y- and Z-axes”).
Regarding Claim 12, Aoki teaches the limitations of Claim 4. Aoki further discloses the first measurer that measures the three-dimensional acceleration (e.g. see [0015] “According to yet other aspect of the invention, there is provided a training supporting apparatus which comprises a measuring unit which is worn on the arm or the wrist of a user and measures acceleration components of motion of the user's body where said measuring unit is fitted on, at least in the three directions along X-, Y- and Z-axes”).
Regarding Claim 16, Aoki teaches the limitations of Claim 8. Aoki further discloses the first measurer that measures the three-dimensional acceleration (e.g. see [0015] “According to yet other aspect of the invention, there is provided a training supporting apparatus which comprises a measuring unit which is worn on the arm or the wrist of a user and measures acceleration components of motion of the user's body where said measuring unit is fitted on, at least in the three directions along X-, Y- and Z-axes”).
Regarding Claim 17, Aoki teaches an arm-swing-angle obtainment method (e.g. see [0081] “the amplitude of the arm swing can be calculated by analyzing the cycle time of the arm swing and the acceleration components of motion of the arm swing, whereby how much the arm is bent can be estimated”) that is performed by at least one processor (e.g. see [0036] “The controlling unit 110 is provided with a micro-processor, which successively reads and runs a program (terminal program) stored in the storing unit 111 to communicate with the exercise form analyzing server 12 through the communication unit 113 and the IP network 13”),
comprising identifying a cyclic change related to an arm swing of a user from a three-dimensional acceleration measured by a first measurer (e.g. see [0015] “a controlling unit which divides the acceleration components output from the measuring unit into acceleration components at least for one step on the basis of the acceleration components at the foot landing, compares waveforms of the divided acceleration components with waveforms of previously registered acceleration components, extracts acceleration components of arm swing at the time of foot landing from the acceleration components successively output from the measuring unit to analyze balance in timing between arm swing and foot landing while the user is walking or running, and outputs the analyzed balance in timing between arm swing and foot landing”),
wherein the identifying includes: defining a two-dimensional plane containing a plane of the arm swing of the user from the three-dimensional acceleration measured at a wrist of the user (e.g. see [Fig. 4A] and [0061] “As shown in FIG. 4A and/or in FIG. 5, when the user wears the wrist terminal 11 on his/her left wrist, and when the user runs while looking at the wrist terminal 11 (YES at step S105), the acceleration component in the direction of X-axis will be little, and the acceleration components in the directions of Y-, and Z-axes will increase. Further, at shock of foot landing, the acceleration component in the direction of Y-axis will increase forward and the acceleration component in the directions of Z-axis will increase downward”),
detecting the cyclic change as a motion on an arc centered at a shoulder of the user in the two-dimensional plane (e.g. see [Fig. 8A-8C]), and obtaining an angle of the arm swing (e.g. see [0081] “Then, extracting a back and forward motion of the arm swing from the acceleration components in the directions of X-, Y- and Z-axes output from the tri-axial acceleration sensor (measuring unit 112), the controlling unit 110 calculates a cycle time of the arm swing (step S209) and estimates bending of the arm (arm-swing rate and arm bending angle) (step S210)”).
Regarding Claim 18, Aoki teaches the limitations of Claim 17. Aoki further discloses wherein the motion is a reciprocating motion (e.g. see [0064] “Then, extracting the back and forward movement of the arm swing from the acceleration components in the directions of X-, Y- and Z-axes output from the acceleration sensor (measuring unit 112) of the wrist terminal 11, the controlling unit 120 calculates a cycle time of the arm swing”).
Regarding Claim 19, Aoki teaches the limitations of Claim 18. Aoki further discloses wherein the identifying includes: identifying a length of the arc (e.g. see [0064] “in this way, the amplitude of the arm swing (i.e. the length of the arc) can be calculated by analyzing the cycle time of the arm swing and the acceleration components of motion of the arm swing, whereby how much the arm is bent can be estimated”), and obtaining the angle of the arm swing from the length (e.g. see [Fig. 8A-8C] and [0081] “Then, extracting a back and forward motion of the arm swing from the acceleration components in the directions of X-, Y- and Z-axes output from the tri-axial acceleration sensor (measuring unit 112), the controlling unit 110 calculates a cycle time of the arm swing (step S209) and estimates bending of the arm (arm-swing rate and arm bending angle) (step S210)”).
Regarding Claim 20, Aoki teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program (e.g. see [0047] “The storing unit 121 is a semi-conductor storing device having DRAM and/or SDRAM as a storing element or a magnetic disk device such as a hard disk drive. In addition to a program area for storing a program (server program) of the procedure shown in FIG. 6, the storing unit 121 has an area for storing (1) exercise form analyzing data (including balance between arm swing and foot landing) generated while the controlling unit 120 is executing the program, (2) registered exercise forms representing normal exercise forms at normal running and required to be referred to when the exercise form analysis is made, and (3) measurement data sent from the wrist terminal 11”) that causes a computer to perform
identifying a cyclic change related to an arm swing of a user from a three-dimensional acceleration measured by a first measurer (e.g. see [0015] “a controlling unit which divides the acceleration components output from the measuring unit into acceleration components at least for one step on the basis of the acceleration components at the foot landing, compares waveforms of the divided acceleration components with waveforms of previously registered acceleration components, extracts acceleration components of arm swing at the time of foot landing from the acceleration components successively output from the measuring unit to analyze balance in timing between arm swing and foot landing while the user is walking or running, and outputs the analyzed balance in timing between arm swing and foot landing”),
wherein the identifying includes: defining a two-dimensional plane containing a plane of the arm swing of the user from the three-dimensional acceleration measured at a wrist of the user (e.g. see [Fig. 4A] and [0061] “As shown in FIG. 4A and/or in FIG. 5, when the user wears the wrist terminal 11 on his/her left wrist, and when the user runs while looking at the wrist terminal 11 (YES at step S105), the acceleration component in the direction of X-axis will be little, and the acceleration components in the directions of Y-, and Z-axes will increase. Further, at shock of foot landing, the acceleration component in the direction of Y-axis will increase forward and the acceleration component in the directions of Z-axis will increase downward”),
detecting the cyclic change as a motion on an arc centered at a shoulder of the user in the two-dimensional plane (e.g. see [Fig. 8A-8C]), and obtaining an angle of the arm swing (e.g. see [0081] “Then, extracting a back and forward motion of the arm swing from the acceleration components in the directions of X-, Y- and Z-axes output from the tri-axial acceleration sensor (measuring unit 112), the controlling unit 110 calculates a cycle time of the arm swing (step S209) and estimates bending of the arm (arm-swing rate and arm bending angle) (step S210)”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki (US20150120022 A1) in view of Ura (US 9656119 B2).
Regarding Claim 5, Aoki teaches the limitations of Claim 4. Aoki further discloses wherein the at least one processor obtains, from the three-dimensional acceleration, a direction of a line segment connecting the wrist and the shoulder in a coordinate system fixed to the wrist to obtain a bending angle of an elbow of the user (e.g. see [0081] “Then, extracting a back and forward motion of the arm swing from the acceleration components in the directions of X-, Y- and Z-axes (i.e. the direction of the line segment) output from the tri-axial acceleration sensor (measuring unit 112), the controlling unit 110 calculates a cycle time of the arm swing (step S209) and estimates bending of the arm (arm-swing rate and arm bending angle) (step S210)… the amplitude of the arm swing can be calculated by analyzing the cycle time of the arm swing and the acceleration components of motion of the arm swing, whereby how much the arm is bent can be estimated”).
Aoki does not explicitly disclose wherein a radius of the arc is a distance between the shoulder and the wrist of the user, and wherein the at least one processor obtains the radius from a length of an arm of the user and the bending angle.
In the same field of endeavor, Ura teaches wherein a radius of the arc is a distance between the shoulder and the wrist of the user, and wherein the at least one processor obtains the radius from a length of an arm of the user and the bending angle (e.g., see [Fig, 12 element r] and [Col 17 line 64 – Col 18 line 6] “In the analysis of an arm swing during running, based on the data of acceleration and angular velocities in triaxial directions obtained by the wrist device 100, the angle of the arm swing is measured. In the present embodiment, as the parameters of an arm swing, for example, an angle φ of an arm formed by fully swinging the arm (for example, the left arm) wearing the wrist device 100 forward and then fully pulling the arm back, and a length r from the supporting point of the arm swing to the tip of the arm are measured, as depicted in FIG. 12”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the arm swing of Aoki with the radius of Ura for the purpose of obtaining the bending angle of the arm with the advantage of implementing a uniform calculation method to ensure the angle measurement is accurate.
Regarding Claim 6, Aoki teaches the limitations of Claim 2. Aoki further discloses wherein the at least one processor identifies an acceleration in the two-dimensional plane based on the measured three-dimensional acceleration,
extracts a direct-current component from the acceleration in the two-dimensional plane to obtain an acceleration direction of a component perpendicular to the arc (e.g. see [0063] “when the user's arm is swung sideways not back and forward, some change will be detected in the waveform of either one of the acceleration rates in the directions of X-, Y- and Z-axes output from the built-in acceleration sensor (measuring unit 112) of the wrist terminal 11, and therefore, it can easily be determined that the arm swing has changed. In the present embodiment, since the direction perpendicular to the glass surface 21 and the rear cover 22 of the wrist terminal 11 worn on the user's wrist is defined as Z-axis, if it is assumed that the wrist terminal 11 is worn on the back of the wrist and that the arm is straightly swung back and forward, the acceleration components will be generated substantially in the directions of X-, and Y-axes but the acceleration component will be detected little in the direction of Z-axis. If the arm is swung sideways, the acceleration component will increase in the direction of Z-axis”).
While Aoki teaches determining turning points (e.g. see [0052]), Aoki does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor obtains, based on the acceleration direction of the component perpendicular to the arc and a gravitational acceleration, (i) a first turn point angle formed by a direction perpendicular to the arc at one end of the reciprocating motion and a direction of the gravitational acceleration and (ii) a second turn point angle formed by the direction perpendicular to the arc at other end of the reciprocating motion and the direction of the gravitational acceleration, and sums the first turn point angle and the second turn point angle to obtain the angle of the arm swing.
In the same field of endeavor, Ura teaches wherein the at least one processor obtains, based on the acceleration direction of the component perpendicular to the arc and a gravitational acceleration, (i) a first turn point angle formed by a direction perpendicular to the arc at one end of the reciprocating motion and a direction of the gravitational acceleration and (ii) a second turn point angle formed by the direction perpendicular to the arc at other end of the reciprocating motion and the direction of the gravitational acceleration sums the first turn point angle and the second turn point angle to obtain the angle of the arm swing (e.g. see [Col 17 line 64- Col 18 line 6] “In the analysis of an arm swing during running, based on the data of acceleration and angular velocities in triaxial directions obtained by the wrist device 100, the angle of the arm swing is measured. In the present embodiment, as the parameters of an arm swing, for example, an angle φ of an arm formed by fully swinging the arm (for example, the left arm) wearing the wrist device 100 forward (i.e. first turn point angle)and then fully pulling the arm back (i.e. second turn point angle), and a length r from the supporting point of the arm swing to the tip of the arm are measured, as depicted in FIG. 12,” Examiner notes while the prior art does not explicitly disclose summing the two angles, the art teaches the two angles as being parameters of the arm swing and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to sum the two angles to obtain the overall arm swing angle See MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to combine the arm swing angle of Aoki with the turn point angles of Ura for the purpose of identifying arm swing cycles with the advantage of calculating the intermediate angles in order to evaluate the swing at each stage of motion.
Regarding Claim 13, Aoki and Ura teach the limitations of Claim 5. Aoki further discloses the first measurer that measures the three-dimensional acceleration (e.g. see [0015] “According to yet other aspect of the invention, there is provided a training supporting apparatus which comprises a measuring unit which is worn on the arm or the wrist of a user and measures acceleration components of motion of the user's body where said measuring unit is fitted on, at least in the three directions along X-, Y- and Z-axes”).
Regarding Claim 14, Aoki and Ura teach the limitations of Claim 6. Aoki further discloses the first measurer that measures the three-dimensional acceleration (e.g. see [0015] “According to yet other aspect of the invention, there is provided a training supporting apparatus which comprises a measuring unit which is worn on the arm or the wrist of a user and measures acceleration components of motion of the user's body where said measuring unit is fitted on, at least in the three directions along X-, Y- and Z-axes”).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki (US20150120022 A1) in view of Demiralp (US 10182746 B1).
Regarding Claim 7, Aoki teaches the limitations of Claim 1. Aoki does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor obtains a movement acceleration related to a movement of the user based on measurement by a second measurer that measures a three-dimensional acceleration and an angular velocity at a position where no acceleration related to the arm swing of the user is detected, and subtracts the movement acceleration from, of an acceleration obtained by the measurement by the first measurer, an acceleration of a component along a direction of the arm swing to obtain a value to obtain the angle of the arm swing.
In the same field of endeavor, Demiralp teaches wherein the at least one processor
obtains a movement acceleration related to a movement of the user based on measurement by a second measurer (e.g. see [Col 9 lines 12-18] “Once the body part is identified, specific rules associated with movement data from that body part can be used to provide additional insight, detection, or other actions. For example, a sensor used according to certain aspects and features of the present disclosure can provide a signal or alert when a user falls. Fall detection can normally rely primarily on vertical acceleration within the global frame.”) that measures a three-dimensional acceleration and an angular velocity (e.g. see [Col 10 lines 57-61] “The sensor 102 can be any suitable sensor capable of detecting the desired movements. For example, sensor 102 can include at least an accelerometer for detecting acceleration data (e.g., specific force) and a gyroscope for detecting gyroscopic data (e.g., angular velocity)”) at a position where no acceleration related to the arm swing of the user is detected (e.g. see [Col11 lines 2-4 and lines 14-17] “The sensor data represents movement of the sensor 102 within the sensor reference frame 112 (e.g., sensor frame)… Thus, sensor 102 may have a different sensor reference frame 112 than the respective sensor reference frames of chest strap sensor 104, ankle-worn sensor 106, and pocketable sensor 108”), and
subtracts the movement acceleration from, of an acceleration obtained by the measurement by the first measurer, an acceleration of a component along a direction of the arm swing to obtain a value to obtain the angle of the arm swing (e.g. see [Col 21 lines 4-12] “To isolate the arm swing movement from the body movement, first a high pass filter can be applied to remove low frequency signals from the acceleration data in the global frame, as such signals are mainly contributed to by upper body movement during walking. Next, arm swing direction can be determined by calculating the principal component of the X-Y components of the resulting acceleration within short time intervals (e.g., at or approximately every 2 seconds)”).
Regarding Claim 15, Aoki and Ura teach the limitations of Claim 7. Aoki further discloses the first measurer that measures the three-dimensional acceleration (e.g. see [0015] “According to yet other aspect of the invention, there is provided a training supporting apparatus which comprises a measuring unit which is worn on the arm or the wrist of a user and measures acceleration components of motion of the user's body where said measuring unit is fitted on, at least in the three directions along X-, Y- and Z-axes”).
Conclusion
/NYLA GAVIA/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/YOSHIHISA ISHIZUKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857