DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because the claim recites “an ring”, it appears the term “an” should be replaced with the term “a”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites “at least one force sensor arranged on an inner surface of the ring, wherein each of the at least one force sensor”, however it is unclear how there are several force sensors when only one force sensor has been claimed. Therefore, the claim is rendered indefinite. For the purpose of examination, examiner will treat the claim as properly introducing a plurality of force sensors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wade US20120152037 in view of Akashi et al US20230243866 (hereinafter “Akashi”).
Regarding claim 1, Wade discloses a force sensor (force sensor-10), comprising: a bearing member (substratre-12) comprising a multi-sided recess (cavity-30 and chamber formed by inward protrusion body-45, paragraph 0026); a restraint member (housing-14) with a through hole (opening-36) and coupled to the bearing member (Paragraphs 0025-0028, Fig 1); a contact member (object-40) disposed in the multi-sided recess, wherein the contact member contacts a plurality of bearing surfaces of the multi-sided recess and has an exposed portion protruding from the through hole (See Fig 1, paragraphs 0022-0023, 0026-0027, 0029).
However, Wade fails to disclose a plurality of sensing members disposed on the plurality of bearing surfaces or disposed within the bearing member, wherein the plurality of sensing members correspond to the plurality of bearing surfaces, and each of the plurality of sensing members has a sensing direction perpendicular to a corresponding one of the plurality of bearing surfaces. Akashi discloses a plurality of sensing members (first and second sensors-104,105) disposed on the plurality of bearing surfaces (first and second blocks-102, 103) or disposed within the bearing member, wherein the plurality of sensing members correspond to the plurality of bearing surfaces (See Fig 1-4), and each of the plurality of sensing members has a sensing direction perpendicular to a corresponding one of the plurality of bearing surfaces (See Figs 1, 5-6 and 15, Paragraphs 0064-0067, 0071, 0075-0081; See also paragraphs 0054-0059).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Akashi into Wade for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for reduce oblique applied force measurement detection errors.
Regarding claim 2, Wade discloses the contact member (object-40) is a sphere, and a normal direction of a sensing surface (sensing diaphragm-22) of the sensing member (sensing die-20) passes through a centroid of the sphere. (See Fig 1 and 5, Paragraph 0016-0023)
However, Wade fails to disclose a plurality of sensing members. Akashi discloses a plurality of sensing members (first and second sensors-104,105). (See paragraphs 0054-0059)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Akashi into Wade for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for reduce oblique applied force measurement detection errors.
Regarding claim 3, Wade in view of Akashi teach the force sensor according to claim 1.
Wade further discloses the contact member (object-40) comprises a first contact portion and a second contact portion configured for point contact with or line contact with the plurality of bearing surfaces of the bearing member (substratre-12); and a force applying portion (extender-41) configured for point contact with or line contact with a measured object (button-44).
Regarding claim 4, Wade in view of Akashi teach the force sensor according to claim 2.
Wade further discloses a diameter of the through hole (opening-36) of the restraint member (housing-14) is smaller than a diameter of the sphere (object-40). (Paragraphs 0026-0027)
Regarding claim 5, Wade discloses the plurality of bearing surfaces comprise two bearing surfaces (cavity-30 and chamber formed by inward protrusion body-45, paragraph 0026) the first contact portion and the second contact portion (Paragraphs 0022-0023) respectively contact the two bearing surfaces of the groove. (See Fig 1, paragraphs 022-023, 026-027,029).
However, Wade fails to disclose the multi-sided recess is a V-shaped groove. Akashi discloses the multi-sided recess is a V-shaped groove. (Figs 21, 23 and 25 show the V-shaped groove). (Paragraphs 0114, 0117)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Akashi into Wade for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for reduce oblique applied force measurement detection errors.
Regarding claim 6, Wade discloses the contact member (object-40) further comprises a third contact portion; the first contact portion, the second contact portion, and the third contact portion respectively contact the three bearing surfaces of the recess. (Paragraphs 0022-0024)
However, Wade fails to disclose the plurality of bearing surfaces comprise three bearing surfaces, the multi-sided recess is a three-sided pyramidal recess. Akashi discloses the plurality of bearing surfaces (respective pedestals-128 of blocks) comprise three bearing surfaces, the multi-sided recess is a three-sided pyramidal recess. (Figs 23 and 25 show the V-shaped groove). (Paragraphs 0114, 0117)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Akashi into Wade for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for reduce oblique applied force measurement detection errors.
Regarding claim 7, Wade discloses the contact member (object-40) further comprises a third contact portion and a fourth contact portion; the first contact portion, the second contact portion, the third contact portion, and the fourth contact portion respectively contact the four bearing surfaces of the recess. (Paragraphs 0022-0024)
However, Wade fails to disclose the plurality of bearing surfaces comprise four bearing surfaces, the multi-sided recess is a four-sided pyramidal recess. Akashi discloses the plurality of bearing surfaces comprise four bearing surfaces, the multi-sided recess is a four-sided pyramidal recess. (Figs 23 and 25 show the V-shaped groove). (Paragraphs 0114, 0117)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Akashi into Wade for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for reduce oblique applied force measurement detection errors.
Regarding claim 8, Wade in view of Akashi teach the force sensor according to claim 1.
Wade further discloses the contact member (object-40) is a cylinder or has a plurality of protrusions on the exposed portion of the contact member. (Paragraphs 0022-0024)
Regarding claim 9, Wade discloses the force sensor according to claim 1.
However, Wade fails to disclose each of the sensing members comprises a housing and a piezoelectric unit, and the piezoelectric unit is arranged within the housing, and the housing is disposed within the bearing member. Akashi discloses each of the sensing members (Sensors-104 and 105) comprises a housing (blocks-102, 103, 129-130) and a piezoelectric unit (Fig 7), and the piezoelectric unit is arranged within the housing, and the housing is disposed within the bearing member (See Fig 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Akashi into Wade for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for reduce oblique applied force measurement detection errors.
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wade US20120152037 in view of Akashi et al US20230243866 (hereinafter “Akashi”) in further view of Sentoku US7497131.
Regarding claim 10, Wade discloses an annular force sensing device (force sensor-10), comprising: and at least one force sensor, wherein each of the at least one force sensor comprises: a bearing member (substrate-12) comprising a multi-sided recess (cavity-30 and chamber formed by inward protrusion body-45, paragraph 0026); a restraint member (housing-14) with a through hole (opening-36) and coupled to the bearing member (Paragraph 0025-0028, Fig 1); a contact member (object-40) disposed in the multi-sided recess, wherein the contact member contacts a plurality of bearing surfaces of the multi-sided recess and has an exposed portion protruding from the through hole; (See Fig 1, paragraphs 0022-0023, 0026-0027, 0029).
However, Wade fails to disclose a plurality of sensing members disposed on the plurality of bearing surfaces or disposed within the bearing member, wherein the plurality of sensing members correspond to the plurality of bearing surfaces, and each of the plurality of sensing members has a sensing direction perpendicular to a corresponding one of the plurality of bearing surfaces. Akashi discloses a plurality of sensing members (first and second senesors-104, 105) disposed on the plurality of bearing surfaces (first and second blocks-102, 103) or disposed within the bearing member, wherein the plurality of sensing members correspond to the plurality of bearing surfaces (See Fig 1-4), and each of the plurality of sensing members has a sensing direction perpendicular to a corresponding one of the plurality of bearing surfaces (See Figs 1, 5-6 and 15, Paragraphs 0064-0067, 0071, 0075-0081). (See also paragraphs 0054-0059)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Akashi into Wade for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for reduce oblique applied force measurement detection errors.
However, the combination of wade and Akashi fails to disclose an ring; and at least one force sensor arranged on an inner surface of the ring. Sentoku discloses an ring (outer ring-3); and at least one force sensor (piezoelectric elements-13a-c, 14a-c) arranged on an inner surface of the ring. (Col 4 line 5-Col 6 line 42, See Fig 1-2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Sentoku into the combination of Wade and Akashi for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for monitoring force in multiple directions. Regarding claim 11, Wade in view of Akashi discloses the sensing device according to claim 10.
However, the combination fails to disclose the annular force sensing device comprises a plurality of force sensors equidistantly arranged on the inner surface of the ring. Sentoku discloses the annular force sensing device (sensing apparatus-S) comprises a plurality of force sensors (elements-13a-c and 14a-c) equidistantly arranged on the inner surface of the ring. (Col 4 line 5-Col 6 line 42, See Fig 1-2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Sentoku into the combination of Wade and Akashi for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for monitoring force in multiple directions.
Regarding claim 12, Wade in view of Akashi discloses the sensing device according to claim 10.
However, the combination fails to disclose the ring comprises a plurality of arches, each of the plurality of arches comprises a fastening portion at both ends, and the fastening portions of the plurality of arches are adjacently connected to form the ring. Sentoku discloses the ring (ring-3) comprises a plurality of arches (flange-3c), each of the plurality of arches comprises a fastening portion (bolts-21) at both ends, and the fastening portions of the plurality of arches are adjacently connected to form the ring. (Col 4 line 5-Col 6 line 42, See Fig 1-2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Sentoku into the combination of Wade and Akashi for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for monitoring force in multiple directions.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Wade in view of Akashi further in view of Sentoku disclose the device according to claim 10.
Wade discloses the contact member (object-40) of the at least one force sensor is a sphere, and a normal direction of a sensing surface (sensing diaphragm-22) of the sensing member (sensing die-20) passes through a centroid of the sphere. (See Fig 1 and 5, Paragraph 0016-0023)
However, Wade fails to disclose a plurality of sensing members. Akashi discloses a plurality of sensing members (first and second sensors-104, 105). (See paragraphs 0054-0059)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Akashi into Wade for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for reduce oblique applied force measurement detection errors.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Wade in view of Akashi further in view of Sentoku disclose the device according to claim 13.
Wade further discloses a diameter of the through hole (opening-36) of the restraint member (housing-14) is smaller than a diameter of the sphere (object-40). (Paragraphs 026-027)
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Wade in view of Akashi further in view of Sentoku disclose the device according to claim 13.
Wade discloses the contact member (object-40) of the at least one force sensor comprises a first contact portion and a second contact portion configured for point contact with or line contact with the plurality of bearing surfaces of the bearing member (substrate-12); and a force applying portion (extender-41) configured for point contact with or line contact with a measured object (button-44). (Paragraph 0022-0024)
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Wade in view of Akashi further in view of Sentoku disclose the device according to claim 15.
Wade discloses the plurality of bearing surfaces comprise two bearing surfaces (cavity-30 and chamber formed by inward protrusion body-45, paragraph 0026) the first contact portion and the second contact portion (Paragraphs 0022-0023) respectively contact the two bearing surfaces of the groove. (See Fig 1, paragraphs 0022-0023, 0026-0027, 0029).
However, Wade fails to disclose the multi-sided recess is a V-shaped groove. Akashi discloses the multi-sided recess is a V-shaped groove. (Figs 21, 23 and 25 show the V-shaped groove). (Paragraphs 0114, 0117)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Akashi into Wade for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for reduce oblique applied force measurement detection errors.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Wade in view of Akashi further in view of Sentoku disclose the device according to claim 15.
Wade discloses the contact member (object-40) further comprises a third contact portion; the first contact portion, the second contact portion, and the third contact portion respectively contact the three bearing surfaces of the recess. (Paragraphs 0022-0024)
However, Wade fails to disclose the plurality of bearing surfaces comprise three bearing surfaces, the multi-sided recess is a three-sided pyramidal recess. Akashi discloses the plurality of bearing surfaces (respective pedestals-128 of blocks) comprise three bearing surfaces, the multi-sided recess is a three-sided pyramidal recess. (Figs 23 and 25 show the V-shaped groove). (Paragraphs 0114, 0117)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Akashi into Wade for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for reduce oblique applied force measurement detection errors.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Wade in view of Akashi further in view of Sentoku disclose the device according to claim 15.
Wade discloses the contact member (object-40) further comprises a third contact portion and a fourth contact portion; the first contact portion, the second contact portion, the third contact portion, and the fourth contact portion respectively contact the four bearing surfaces of the recess. (Paragraphs 0022-0024)
However, Wade fails to disclose the plurality of bearing surfaces comprise four bearing surfaces, the multi-sided recess is a four-sided pyramidal recess. Akashi discloses the plurality of bearing surfaces comprise four bearing surfaces, the multi-sided recess is a four-sided pyramidal recess. (Figs 23 and 25 show the V-shaped groove). (Paragraphs 0114, 0117)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Akashi into Wade for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for reduce oblique applied force measurement detection errors.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Wade in view of Akashi further in view of Sentoku disclose the device according to claim 10.
Wade further discloses the contact member (object-40) is a cylinder or has a plurality of protrusions on the exposed portion of the contact member. (Paragraphs 0022-0024)
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Wade in view of Akashi further in view of Sentoku disclose the device according to claim 10.
However, Wade fails to disclose each of the sensing members comprises a housing and a piezoelectric unit, and the piezoelectric unit is arranged within the housing, and the housing is disposed within the bearing member. Akashi discloses each of the sensing members (Sensors-104 and 105) comprises a housing (blocks-102, 103, 129-130) and a piezoelectric unit (Fig 7), and the piezoelectric unit is arranged within the housing, and the housing is disposed within the bearing member (See Fig 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Akashi into Wade for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for reduce oblique applied force measurement detection errors.
Claims 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akashi et al US20230243866 (hereinafter “Akashi”) in view of Wade US20120152037.
Regarding claim 21, Akashi discloses a force sensor (force sensor-100), comprising: a bearing member (blocks-102,103) comprising a plurality of bearing surfaces (respective pedestals-128); a plurality of sensing members (sensors-104, 105) respectively disposed on the plurality of bearing surfaces or disposed within the bearing member, wherein the plurality of sensing members correspond to the plurality of bearing surfaces (See Figs 1, 5-6 and 15), and each of the plurality of sensing members has a sensing direction perpendicular to a corresponding one of the plurality of bearing surfaces (See Figs 1, 5-6 and 15, Paragraphs 0064-0067, 0071, 0075-0081. (See also paragraphs 0054-0059)
However, Akashi fails to disclose a contact member comprising a plurality of contact portions configured for point or line contact with the plurality of bearing surfaces of the bearing member; and a force applying portion configured for contacting with a measured object. Wade discloses a contact member (object-40) comprising a plurality of contact portions (paragraph 0022-0024) configured for point or line contact with the plurality of bearing surfaces of the bearing member; and a force applying portion (extender-41) configured for contacting with a measured object (button-44). (See Fig 1, paragraphs 0022-0023, 0026-0027, 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Wade into Akashi for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for reduce oblique applied force measurement detection errors.
Regarding claim 22, Akashi discloses contact positions between the plurality of contact portions (contacts of sensors-104, 105) and the plurality of bearing surfaces (pedestals-128) remain unchanged. (See Figs 1, 5-6 and 15, Paragraphs 0064-0067, 0071, 0075-0081. (See also paragraphs 0054-0059)
However, Akashi fails to disclose an applied force on the force applying portion. Wade discloses an applied force (pressing of button-44) on the force applying portion (extender-41). (See Fig 1, paragraphs 0022-0023, 0026-0027, 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Wade into Akashi for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for reduce oblique applied force measurement detection errors.
Regarding claim 23, Akashi discloses the plurality of sensing members (sensors-104 and 105) are respectively configured to measure a plurality of component forces of the applied force, and the plurality of component forces are respectively perpendicular to the bearing surfaces corresponding to the plurality of sensing members (See Figs 1, 5-6 and 15, Paragraphs 0064-0067, 0071, 0075-0081). (See also paragraphs 0054-0059)
However, Akashi fails to disclose in response to an applied force being applied to the force applying portion. Wade discloses in response to an applied force (pressing of button-44) being applied to the force applying portion (extender-41). (See Fig 1, paragraphs 0022-0023, 0026-0027, 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Wade into Akashi for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for reduce oblique applied force measurement detection errors.
Regarding claim 24, Akashi in view of Wade disclose the force sensor according to claim 23.
Akashi further discloses a resultant force of the plurality of component forces is equal to the applied force. (See Figs 1, 5-6 and 15, Paragraphs 0064-0067, 0071, 0075-0081). (See also paragraphs 0054-0059)
Regarding claim 25, Akashi in view of Wade disclose the force sensor according to claim 21.
Akashi further discloses an included angle is formed between each of the plurality of bearing surfaces and an adjacent one of the plurality of bearing surfaces. (Figs 23 and 25 show the V-shaped groove). (Paragraphs 0114, 0117)
Regarding claim 26, Akashi discloses a number of the plurality of bearing surfaces comprise two bearing surfaces forming a V-shaped groove (Figs 21, 23 and 25 show the V-shaped groove). (Paragraphs 0114, 0117)
However, Akashi fails to disclose the contact portions comprise a first contact portion and a second contact portion contacting the two bearing surfaces of the groove. Wade discloses the contact portions (Paragraphs 0022-0024) comprise a first contact portion and a second contact portion contacting the two bearing surfaces (cavity-30 and chamber formed by inward protrusion body-45, paragraph 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Wade into Akashi for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for reduce oblique applied force measurement detection errors.
Regarding claim 27, Akashi in view of Wade disclose the force sensor according to claim 25.
Akashi further disclose the included angle is ninety degrees. (Paragraph 0058, 104, 0172-0173)
Regarding claim 28, Akashi discloses the force sensor according to claim 21.
However, Akashi fails to disclose the contact member is a sphere, and a normal direction of a sensing surface of each of the plurality of sensing members passes through a centroid of the sphere. Wade discloses the contact member (object-40) is a sphere, and a normal direction of a sensing surface (diaphragm-22) of each of the plurality of sensing members passes through a centroid of the sphere. (See Fig 1 and 5, Paragraph 0016-0023)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Wade into Akashi for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for reduce oblique applied force measurement detection errors.
Conclusion
The prior art as cited on the PTO-892 is made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NIGEL H PLUMB/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/Eric S. McCall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855