DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendment filed on ----7/9/2026 for application 18/752, 955. Claim 1 – 20 are pending and have been examined. Claim 16 – 20 are new.
Response to Argument
Applicant's argument filed on 7/9/2026 has been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant stated in page 8 – 9 that “Long does not expressly or inherently describe: store information of a first set of data items stored in a first vehicle, the data items of the first set being each assigned a respective priority value, obtain, for the first vehicle, a first set of future connectivity opportunities, each future connectivity opportunity comprising a future time and a location that the future connectivity opportunity is predicted to occur at, and … a mapping module, in communication with the at least one processing core and at least one memory, configured to map the data items” because “application's specification at [0021]-[0024] describes priority values in detail”, “application's specification at [0025]-[0028] describes future connectivity opportunities derived from the vehicle's planned route, coverage maps, and schedule” and “application specification at [0029], [0030], [0050] and [0066] describes the mapping module as performing a planning/optimization function”. Examiner notes that “Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims.” (MPEP 2145.VI), See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The argued priority values in Fig. 2A and 0047 – 0049 are described as an “example”; the future connectivity described in 0025 – 0038 is described as “exemplary system”; and the mapping module performances described in 0029 – 0030 and 0050, 0066 are described as “may be …” which, again, are exemplary actions. 00152 of the instant application explicitly describes that “It is to be understood that the embodiments of the disclosure disclosed are not limited to the particular structures, process steps, or materials disclosed herein, but are extended to equivalents thereof as would be recognized by those ordinarily skilled in the relevant arts.”
Long teaches “in the real case, a plurality of different size of the file the current node transmission queue in general method uses the strategy of first in first out” (translation page 2), thus at least the queue provides/assigns each file/data item a “priority value” for the transmission. In addition, Long teaches “reorder the files in the list S according to the principle of increasing transmission time … searching file preparation is closest to the time of transmission” (translation page 6). In this case the priority value can be the file transmission time during the connection opportunity and the mapping/selection of the file is based on the transmission time.
Long further describes at least in translation page 5 “opportunistic network file scheduling and data transmission” that performs “vehicle node estimated link duration” that “estimated from the travel route”, thus fulfill the claimed limitation of: “the future connectivity opportunities … comprising a future time and a location that the future connectivity opportunity is predicted to occur”.
Long further describes at least in translation page 4 – 5 to “accurately estimate the duration of the link according to the vehicle … then reasonable arrangement of the file scheduling sequence … changes the transmission mechanism the traditional first-in first-out, so as to … quickly and reliably finish the transmission of data”. In other words, Long teaches a queue for sequential transmission of files/data with option/mechanism to rearrange the order sequence based on the future connection opportunity thus fulfill the claimed “mapping model … map data items to be transmitted to the at least one connectivity opportunity based at least in part on the priority values assigned to the data items”. Even with arguendo that “ordered queue is not the same as each data item having a separately assigned priority value” (remark page 8), Long teaches “calculating the transmission time of each file” and select/rearrange files based on “closest to the time of transmission” (translation page 6) also teaches the idea of mapping/arranging files/data to connectivity opportunity base on a value calculated/assigned to each file/data item. Thus, Long fulfills the claimed limitation.
Applicant further stated in page 11 that “Moore's interrupted-transfer resumption does not teach proactively planning to split a data item across two future predicted connectivity windows as part of a mapping/optimization operation” therefore, the combination of Long and Moore does not teach the limitations of claim 2. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Moore teaches file transfer with “numerous conditions, including connection quality, connection traffic, and other network conditions” and is analogous to the instant application. Moore’s data transfer segmentation strategy has at least two aspect: 1). “resuming data after a disruption event” … “at a later time” and 2). “Data transferred in segments may include a single file” … “provide more control over the transfer … if there is a specific limitation as to how much data may be transferred over any given network … client 102 may be programmed to segment the data so as to remain below the data transfer cap” (Moore 0031 – 0038). In either aspect, Moore’s system plans/instructs the data transfer of a file in more than one connection opportunities. Thus, the combination fulfill the claimed limitation.
For further detail, refer to the claim rejections under USC 102 and 103 sections.
The remaining arguments are essentially the same as those addressed above and/or below and are unpersuasive for at least the same reasons. Therefore, Examiner is unpersuaded and maintains the corresponding rejections.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation is:
“mapping module … configured to” in Claim 1,
“event notification module … configured to” in Claim 3,
“compression determination module … configured to” in Claim 4,
“driving behaviour module … configured to” in Claim 5,
“routing module … configured to” in Claim 6,
“nominal data transmission need prediction module … configured to” in Claim 8,
“nominal data transmission need receiving module … configured to” in Claim 9,
“nominal data transmission need transmitting module … configured to” in Claim 10,
“event prediction module … configured to” in Claim 11
Structure for these limitation maybe found at least at [0059] of the instant application as “modules may comprise hardware, software or a combination of hardware and software”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 3, 10 – 11, and 14 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Long et al., (hereinafter Long), CN110650460.
Claim 1. Long discloses: An apparatus comprising: at least one processing core and at least one memory in communication therewith storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processing core (translation page 1, “a vehicle-mounted opportunistic network file scheduling and data transmission algorithm”; It is inherent that the algorithm of Long’s disclosure is executed by a computing apparatus having processing unit and memory), cause the apparatus at least to:
store information of a first set of data items stored in a first vehicle, the data items of the first set being each assigned a respective priority value (refer to the mapping above and translation page 1, “computing node in the sending queue transmission order file, and selecting a file (data item) to be sent”; the files/data items of the vehicle (first vehicle) are stored in an orderly (priority) queue. Examiner notes that the priority value is used for the mapping/selection of the file to be transmitted. The orderly queue serves the same purpose and thus are analogous to the priority value. In addition, Long teaches in translation page 6 to “calculating the transmission time of each file”, “reorder the files in the list S according to the principle of increasing transmission time”; the calculated transmission time and/or the order of each file in the list are used for the selecting/mapping the file for the transferring in the connection opportunity and thus are analogous to the priority value in the claim),
obtain, for the first vehicle, a first set of future connectivity opportunities, each future connectivity opportunity comprising a future time and a location that the future connectivity opportunity is predicted to occur at (translation page 1, “the vehicle node in the driving process of the driving route state information of the neighbour node periodically broadcast itself and in a future period of time, and calculating the link duration set”; fig. 5 & translation page 2, “vehicle A enters the base station covering area … the vehicle B entering the base station coverage area”; i.e., the system/algorithm of Long constantly receive and calculate the future connection opportunities at locations; translation page 5, “establishing meeting probability based data transmission model, selecting proper speed difference and the time interval of the communication distance between the vehicle and an intermediate node and providing effective theoretical analysis tool to finish the data transmission”, i.e., the system/algorithm predicts/estimate the probability of the connectivity), and
send instructions to a vehicle application of the first vehicle, the instructions instructing the first vehicle to transmit at least one from among the first set of data items during at least one from among the first set of future connectivity opportunities (refer to the mapping above & translation page 4, “Because the link duration by vehicle speed and travel direction and other factors of influence, it can accurately estimate the duration of the link according to the vehicle of the current state and history record, then reasonable arrangement of the file scheduling sequence, so that in the transmission process, may preferentially schedule duration can finish the transmission of the current link file, changes the transmission mechanism the traditional first-in first-out, so as to in the vehicle opportunistic network quickly and reliably finish the transmission of data between nodes”; the system select file (data item) in the ordered queue that the transmission can be completed during an opportunity at a base station covering area); and
a mapping module, in communication with the at least one processing core and at least one memory, configured to map the data items to be transmitted to the at least one connectivity opportunity based at least in part on the priority values assigned to the data items (refer to the mapping above, the system/algorithm arranges/maps files/data items to connection opportunities).
Claim 3. Long teaches all the limitation of Claim 1. Long further teach: an event notification module connected with the memory and the processor, configured to receive an event notification from the first vehicle, determine, based on the event notification, a data item from among the first set of data items that should be transmitted using a dynamically selected future connectivity opportunity from among the first set of future connectivity opportunities or a currently active connectivity opportunity, and to send instructions to the vehicle application of the first vehicle to transmit the determined data item during the selected future connectivity opportunity or the currently active connectivity opportunity (refer to the mapping above & translation page 5 – 6, “if the file closest to the link duration time, S to send the file list in the sequence Y, if the file transmission cut-off time greater than the link duration, then delaying the sending of the file, waiting for establishment of the next link,” i.e., if the data item/file can be transmitted during the currently identified connection, the algorithm instructs the system to send the file(s)/data items in the currently identified connection. Otherwise, the system waiting for future connection event/opportunity to send the file).
Claim 10. Long teaches all the limitation of Claim 1. Long further teach: a nominal data transmission need transmitting module connected with the memory and the processor, configured to obtain a nominal data transmission need of the first vehicle at one or more of the times and locations corresponding to the first set of connectivity opportunities, and transmit information of the nominal data transmission need of the first vehicle to at least one other vehicle and/or at least one other vehicle planning apparatus (fig. 5 & translation page 4, “vehicle and intermediate node of the communication state”; e.g., other vehicle may act as an intermediate node for the planning and transmission of data (nominal data)).
Claim 11. Long teaches all the limitation of Claim 1. Long further teach: an event prediction module connected with the memory and the processor, configured to receive route information of the first vehicle, predict or obtain information of a predicted event of a future route segment of at least one connectivity opportunity, and determine and output a minimum data transmission capacity that should be available at the future route segment of the at least one connectivity opportunity, the size of the minimum data transmission capacity being based on the predicted event, wherein obtaining the first set of connectivity opportunities is based on the output from the event prediction module (refer to the mapping in Claim 1 & translation page 6, “The link duration to send the file. if the file closest to the link duration time, S to send the file list in the sequence Y, if the file transmission cut-off time greater than the link duration, then delaying the sending of the file, waiting for establishment of the next link”, “transmission time to calculate according to the ratio of size and transmission rate of the file”; i.e., each communication opportunities in the navigation route are predicted/calculated and the required file transmission duration (minimum data transmission capacity) is compared with the connection opportunity duration (available transmission capacity)).
Claim 14 and 15 are the corresponding method and non-transitory computer readable medium claim of Claim 1. Claim 14 and 15 are rejected with same reason. Long teaches the method/algorithm executed among “vehicle node”/”computing node”, one of ordinary skilled in the art would recognize that the claimed non-transitory computer readable medium and computer readable instruction are inherent in Long’s teaching.
Claim 16. Long teaches all the limitation of Claim 1. Long further teach: data items are mapped to be transmitted to the at least one connectivity opportunity further based on a predicted data transmission capacity of each of the at least one connectivity opportunities (translation page 4, “Because the link duration by vehicle speed and travel direction and other factors of influence … reasonable arrangement of the file scheduling sequence, so that in the transmission process, may preferentially schedule duration can finish the transmission of the current link file”, i.e., based on the transmission capacity of the upcoming connection opportunity, files/data items are arranged/mapped so their transmission can be finished.).
Claim 17 is the corresponding non-transitory computer readable medium claim of Claim 16 and thus are rejected with same reason. .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al., (hereinafter Long), CN110650460 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moore et al., (hereinafter Moore), US20100251007.
Claim 2. Long discloses all the limitation of Claim 1, Long does not explicitly teach: send instructions to the vehicle application of the first vehicle to transmit a specific data item from the first set of data items such that a first part of the specific data item is transmitted during one future connectivity opportunity and a second part of the specific data item is transmitted during another future connectivity opportunity.
Moore, in the same field of endeavor, explicitly teach:
send instructions to the vehicle application of the first vehicle to transmit a specific data item from the first set of data items such that a first part of the specific data item is transmitted during one future connectivity opportunity and a second part of the specific data item is transmitted during another future connectivity opportunity (Moore, 0015, “Systems and methods are disclosed herein that relate to an enhanced file transfer (EFT) method or process for exchanging data regardless of the physical structure and functionality of the network communications hardware and devices. This EFT enables the resumption of file transfers that have been interrupted for some reason. The EFT process, in some embodiments, couples information related to internal conditions and external conditions of a mobile device and allows for the dynamic adjustment of when and how data is transferred.”; 0031- 0038, “resuming data after a disruption event … at a later time”; “Data transferred in segments may include a single file … provide more control over the transfer … if there is a specific limitation as to how much data may be transferred over any given network … client 102 may be programmed to segment the data so as to remain below the data transfer cap”; i.e., Moore’s system plans/instructs the data transfer of a file in more than one connection opportunities. The combination of Long and Moore renders obviousness of planning/instructing different parts of a specific file to be transmitted at different connection opportunities).
Long and Moore both teach data transfer on mobile/moving devices and are analogous. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable likelihood of success to further include the enhanced file transfer method of Moore’s teaching in the system/algorithm of Long to achieve the claimed teaching. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to make this modification to “enhance the ability of file transfers in wireless environments” (Moore 0003) and “reducing redundant data transfer as well as reducing the time and cost for file transfers” (Moore 0016).
Claim 18 is the corresponding non-transitory computer readable medium claim of Claim 2 and thus are rejected with same reason.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al., (hereinafter Long), CN110650460 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Altman, US20210116907.
Claim 4. Long discloses all the limitation of Claim 1, Long does not explicitly teach: a compression determination module connected with the memory and the processor, configured to determine a level of compression of a data item based on the priority value of the data item or on characteristics of the future connectivity modules, and to send instructions to the vehicle application of the first vehicle instructing the first vehicle to compress a data item before transmitting it.
Altman, in the same field of endeavor, explicitly teach:
a compression determination module connected with the memory and the processor, configured to determine a level of compression of a data item based on the priority value of the data item or on characteristics of the future connectivity modules, and to send instructions to the vehicle application of the first vehicle instructing the first vehicle to compress a data item before transmitting it (Altman, 0035 – 0037, “a vehicular Communications Properties Estimator 141 may operate to continuously or periodically estimate or re - calculate the current or momentary properties of communications channels that are available to the primary vehicle 110 ( e.g. , bandwidth , throughput , good put , error rate , packet error rate , rate of dropped or missing packets , rate of erroneous packets , latency , delay , lag time , or other data and performance related parameters or the like”, “a vehicular Dynamic Encoder / Modifier 143 may optionally operate to encode or transcode or re - encode or convert the data - segments or data - portions that are intended for transmission , from a first format or data structure to a second format or data - structure , and particularly to a reduced - size format or a compressed format”).
Long and Altman both teach data transfer on mobile/moving devices and are analogous. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable likelihood of success to further include the dynamic compression/encoding method of Altman’s teaching in the system/algorithm of Long to achieve the claimed teaching. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to make this modification to add “reliability and availability … in communications” (Altman 0040) and “to save time and / or to reduce latency” (Altman 0051).
Claim 5. Long discloses all the limitation of Claim 1, Long does not explicitly teach: a driving behaviour module connected with the memory and the processor, configured to determine modifications of a driving behaviour of the first vehicle based on the first set of future connectivity opportunities, and to send instructions on the modifications to the vehicle application of the first vehicle.
Altman, in the same field of endeavor, explicitly teach:
a driving behaviour module connected with the memory and the processor, configured to determine modifications of a driving behaviour of the first vehicle based on the first set of future connectivity opportunities, and to send instructions on the modifications to the vehicle application of the first vehicle (Altman, 0063 – 0073, “Each of these connections , or modems , may be experiencing different performance at any point in time , for example in terms of available uplink bandwidth , uplink latency , uplink error rate , jittery behavior of any of them , downlink performances , bandwidth , good put , throughput , general error late , or others”, “tele - operator may receive the data at a second ( e.g. , smaller ) latency and / or at a second ( e.g. , smaller ) error rate … a remote AI module may take over from the human tele - operator , or vice versa , or the two may interact wherein the remote AI advises the teleoperator about the alternatives or recommends options to it , or the human operator alleviates potential risks or limitations so that the remote or in - vehicle AI unit ( s ) can then continue with the route planning alternatives or recommendation or actual driving”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable likelihood of success to further include the dynamic compression/encoding method of Altman’s teaching in the system/algorithm of Long to achieve the claimed teaching. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to make this modification to control/achieve a level of confidence (Altman 0164).
Claim 12. Long discloses all the limitation of Claim 1, Long does not explicitly teach: the sending of the instructions to the vehicle application of the first vehicle comprises sending instructions configured to instruct a vehicle with autonomous capabilities, or sending instructions configured to be presented to a remote operator or driver of a vehicle.
Altman, in the same field of endeavor, explicitly teach:
the sending of the instructions to the vehicle application of the first vehicle comprises sending instructions configured to instruct a vehicle with autonomous capabilities, or sending instructions configured to be presented to a remote operator or driver of a vehicle (Altman, 0003, “embodiments of the present invention include devices, systems, and methods of autonomous driving and tele-operated vehicles”).
The reason for combination is same as Claim 4.
Claim 19 is the corresponding non-transitory computer readable medium claim of Claim 5 and thus are rejected with same reason.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al., (hereinafter Long), CN110650460 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rakshit et al., (hereinafter Rakshit), US20200168086.
Claim 6. Long discloses all the limitation of Claim 1, Long does not explicitly teach: a routing module connected with the memory and the processor, configured to determine modifications of a route of the first vehicle based on the first set of future connectivity opportunities, and to send instructions on the modifications to the vehicle application of the first vehicle or to a route planning module.
Rakshit, in the same field of endeavor, explicitly teach:
a routing module connected with the memory and the processor, configured to determine modifications of a route of the first vehicle based on the first set of future connectivity opportunities, and to send instructions on the modifications to the vehicle application of the first vehicle or to a route planning module (Rakshit, Fig. 5 & 0058 – 0064, “Computing system 560 may select a different route in response to determining that route 540A has … a predicted network outage area, and/or not enough other vehicles on road 530B to create a V2V network to communicate with vehicle 500. Computing system 560 may instruct vehicle 500 to switch to a different route when vehicle 500 is already in area 520”; The combination of Long and Rakshit renders obviousness of the cited limitation.).
Long and Rakshit both teach data communication on mobile devices and are analogous. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable likelihood of success to further include rerouting technique of Rakshit’s teaching in the system/algorithm of Long to achieve the claimed teaching. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to make this modification to maintain the “monitor and control the operation of an autonomous vehicle” (Rakshit, 0017).
Claim 7. Long discloses all the limitation of Claim 1, Long does not explicitly teach: a characteristic prediction module connected with the memory and the processor, wherein the first set of connectivity opportunities is based on output options from the characteristic prediction module determined for a route and/or in the area of the first vehicle.
Rakshit, in the same field of endeavor, explicitly teach:
a characteristic prediction module connected with the memory and the processor, wherein the first set of connectivity opportunities is based on output options from the characteristic prediction module determined for a route and/or in the area of the first vehicle (refer to the mapping in Claim 6 & Rakshit, fig. 5, different routes are options having different connectivity characteristic. The connectivity opportunities are based on these options).
The reason for combination is same as Claim 6.
Claim 13. Long discloses all the limitation of Claim 1, Long does not explicitly teach: store information of a second set of data items stored in a second vehicle, the data items of the second set being each assigned a respective priority value, to obtain, for the second vehicle, a second set of future connectivity opportunities and to send instructions to a vehicle application of the second vehicle to transmit at least one from among the second set of data items during at least one from among the second set of future connectivity opportunities.
Rakshit, in the same field of endeavor, explicitly teach:
store information of a second set of data items stored in a second vehicle, the data items of the second set being each assigned a respective priority value, to obtain, for the second vehicle, a second set of future connectivity opportunities and to send instructions to a vehicle application of the second vehicle to transmit at least one from among the second set of data items during at least one from among the second set of future connectivity opportunities (Rakshit, 0015, “when a cellular communication network (e.g., a first communication network) is not available to a first vehicle”, “central management system can transmit instructions to a second vehicle that still has cellular service and that is approaching the first vehicle”; 0054, “central management system 150 may be able to predict or determine the existence and location of area 320”; Rakshit discloses a central computing system that predicts the network conditions during the traveling of a first vehicles and the connection opportunities between the first vehicle and a second vehicle; store data on secondary vehicles and instruct second vehicle to transmit the data at the predicted opportunity to the first vehicle. The combination of Long and Rakshit renders obviousness of the cited limitation).
Long and Rakshit both teach data communication on mobile devices and are analogous. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable likelihood of success to further include centrally managed data transmission technique of Rakshit’s teaching in the system/algorithm of Long to achieve the claimed teaching. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to make this modification as “a fallback option when a cellular communication network (e.g., a first communication network) is not available to a first vehicle” (Rakshit 0015).
Claim 20 is the corresponding non-transitory computer readable medium claim of Claim 13 and thus are rejected with same reason.
Claim(s) 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al., (hereinafter Long), CN110650460 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lerner et al., (hereinafter Lerner), US20230096556.
Claim 8. Long teaches all the limitation of Claim 1. Long discloses all the limitation of Claim 1, Long further teach: receive route information of at least one additional vehicle (translation page 3, “the vehicle node in the driving process of the driving route state information of the neighbour node periodically broadcast itself and in a future period of time according to the E1, E2, E3 and E4 for different conditions, vehicle node estimated link duration between the neighbour node of itself”; E1 – E4 are different route information of another vehicle)
Long does not explicitly teach:
a nominal data transmission need prediction module connected with the memory and the processor, configured to … predict and output a nominal data transmission need of the at least one additional vehicle at one or more of the times and locations corresponding to the first set of connectivity opportunities, wherein obtaining the first set of connectivity opportunities is based on the output from the nominal data transmission need prediction module.
Lerner, in the same field of endeavor, explicitly teach:
a nominal data transmission need prediction module connected with the memory and the processor, configured to … predict and output a nominal data transmission need of the at least one additional vehicle at one or more of the times and locations corresponding to the first set of connectivity opportunities, wherein obtaining the first set of connectivity opportunities is based on the output from the nominal data transmission need prediction module (Lerner, 0069 – 0072, “vehicle 100 has data that needs to be uploaded, but is not traveling a route projected to bring it within range of an access point within a certain period of time. At the same time, vehicle 100 may encounter vehicle 120, which … may be projected to be near to an access point within less than the period of time. That is, regardless of how close or far vehicle 100 is from an access point, vehicle 120 may be able to complete the upload sooner. Even if vehicle 120 has its own data to transfer, vehicle 100 may have higher priority data or may simply not be expected to contact an access point for a long time”, “Under the predicate of the vehicle 120 being projected to complete the transfer faster, in this example, vehicle 100 will transfer relevant information to vehicle 120”; i.e., vehicle 120 may receive data of vehicle 100 for storing and transmit to later connectivity opportunities while vehicle 120 has its own data for transmission. 0047, “vehicle … determining the bandwidth available and adjusting any transfer plans accordingly.”; i.e., the calculation/prediction of bandwidth of the connectivity opportunities of the data of vehicle 120 is also based on the consideration of the bandwidth (nominal data transmission need) for the data of vehicle 100
Long and Lerner both teach data transmission/communication in moving vehicles and are analogous. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable likelihood of success to further include the bandwidth consideration of Lerner’s teaching in the system/algorithm of Long to achieve the claimed teaching. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to make this modification to better planning/prioritizing of file transfer (Lerner, 0056,)
Claim 9. Long teaches all the limitation of Claim 1. Long further teach: a nominal data transmission need receiving module connected with the memory and the processor, configured to receive route information of at least one additional vehicle and receive and output a nominal data transmission need of the at least one additional vehicle at one or more of the times and locations corresponding to the first set of connectivity opportunities (Fig. 5 & translation page 4, “vehicle and intermediate node of the communication state”; translation page 5, “vehicle node in the driving process of the driving route state information of the neighbour node periodically broadcast itself and in a future period of time, so that each node can be estimated from the travel route of the same neighbor node, according to E1, E2. E3 and E4 four different kinds of condition”; i.e., vehicle may receive the broadcasted route information of other vehicle and act as intermediate node for the transmission of data (data transmission need of the at least one additional vehicle)
Long does not explicitly teach:
wherein obtaining the first set of connectivity opportunities is based on the output from the nominal data transmission need receiving module.
Lerner, in the same field of endeavor, explicitly teach:
wherein obtaining the first set of connectivity opportunities is based on the output from the nominal data transmission need receiving module (Lerner, Fig. 5 & 0069 – 0072, “vehicle 100 has data that needs to be uploaded, but is not traveling a route projected to bring it within range of an access point within a certain period of time. At the same time, vehicle 100 may encounter vehicle 120, which … may be projected to be near to an access point within less than the period of time. That is, regardless of how close or far vehicle 100 is from an access point, vehicle 120 may be able to complete the upload sooner. Even if vehicle 120 has its own data to transfer, vehicle 100 may have higher priority data or may simply not be expected to contact an access point for a long time”; i.e., vehicle 120 may receive request from vehicle 100 for storing and transmitting data of vehicle 100 while vehicle 120 has its own data for transmission. 0047, “vehicle … determining the bandwidth available and adjusting any transfer plans accordingly.”; i.e., the calculation of bandwidth of the connectivity opportunities of vehicle 120 for its own data including the consideration of the bandwidth used/needed for the data of vehicle 100).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: Chen, EP3135019, which teaches data transmission in limited and fluctuating communication network.
/SHIEN MING CHOU/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/ANSHUL SOOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667