DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claim 133 is withdrawn; rejections follow.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's arguments with respect to the election by original presentation in the 7/11/2025 final action are persuasive and the election by original presentation is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 119-120 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 119 recites the limitation "the fiber-reinforced material" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim will be examined as if it read –a fiber-reinforced material--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 108-121, 126-131 & 135 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seguin et al. (US patent application publication 2005/0102872) (hereinafter Seguin) in view of Burgin (US patent application publication 2014/0360680) and McCarty et al. (US patent 9, 212,521) (hereinafter McCarty).
Regarding claim 108, Seguin discloses a gate for controlling oncoming traffic on a roadway, the gate being mountable to a traffic barrier (22) for the roadway, the gate comprising:- an arm (12 & 30) movable between an extended position (Fig. 7B) in which the arm extends into a given portion of the roadway to inform the oncoming traffic that the given portion of the roadway is closed and a retracted position (Fig. 7A) in which the arm does not extend into the given portion of the roadway, the arm comprising a beam (30) that extends along a longitudinal direction of the arm and a visible arrangement (12); and a control system (14) comprising an actuator (38) and configured to be disposed on top of the traffic barrier (Fig. 1), support the arm such that the arm is cantilevered at the control system in the extended position, and move the arm horizontally between the extended position and the retracted position ([0026]).
Seguin does not disclose a visible arrangement that extends below the beam and is less stiff than the beam.
Burgin teaches a visible arrangement (4) that extends below a beam (2) (Fig. 1). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Seguin wherein the visible arrangement extends below the beam in view of Burgin’s teaching, because this arrangement would have replaced one known configuration with another known configuration yielding a predictable result.
McCarty teaches a beam (216) that can be made from metal (Col. 10: 21-28). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Seguin wherein the beam is formed from metal, because this arrangement would have replaced one known material with another known material yielding a predictable result. Seguin, as modified, teaches an arm wherein the beam is made from metal and the visible arrangement is made from plastic ([0027]); thus, the visible arrangement is less stiff than the beam.
Regarding claim 109, Seguin, as modified, teaches a gate wherein the control system is dimensioned such that a footprint of the gate on the traffic barrier is contained within a width of the traffic barrier (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 110, Seguin, as modified, teaches a gate wherein the control system is dimensioned such that a footprint of the gate on the traffic barrier is contained within a top surface of the traffic barrier (Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 111 & 112 Seguin, as modified, teaches a gate wherein a ratio of a dimension of the control system in a longitudinal direction of the arm in the extended position over a length of the arm in the extended position is no more than 15%; or wherein a ratio of a dimension of the control system in a longitudinal direction of the arm in the extended position over a length of the arm in the extended position is no more than 10% ([0028] & Figs. 9A-9D teach the arm can be varying lengths, thus it teaches the claimed ratio).
Regarding claim 113, Seguin, as modified, teaches a gate wherein the traffic barrier is a median barrier between opposite traffic directions for the roadway (this is an intended use limitation which the traffic barrier is capable of performing).
Regarding claim 114, Seguin, as modified, teaches a gate wherein the visible arrangement comprises a plurality of transversal visible members (60).
Regarding claim 115, Seguin, as modified, teaches a gate wherein the visible members are disposed to point towards where the oncoming traffic is to be directed when the arm is in the extended position (Fig. 7B).
Regarding claim 116, Seguin, as modified, teaches a gate wherein respective ones of the visible members intersect one another (they intersect at connectors 66, see Fig. 9A).
Regarding claim 117, Seguin, as modified, teaches a gate wherein each of the visible members is less stiff than the beam (the plastic visible members are less stiff than the metal beam).
Regarding claim 118, Seguin, as modified, teaches a gate wherein a modulus of elasticity of a material of the beam is greater than a modulus of elasticity of a material of each of the visible members (metal has a greater modulus of elasticity than plastic).
Regarding claim 119, Seguin, as modified, teaches the gate as claimed. Seguin, as modified, does not teach a gate wherein the beam includes the fiber- reinforced material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to modify Seguin, as previously modified, wherein the beam includes the fiber- reinforced material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 120, Seguin, as modified, teaches the gate as claimed. Seguin, as modified, does not teach a gate wherein each of the visible members includes polymeric material different than the fiber-reinforced material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to modify Seguin, as previously modified, wherein each of the visible members includes polymeric material different than the fiber-reinforced material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 121, Seguin, as modified, teaches a gate wherein the beam includes metallic material (McCarty) and each of the visible members includes polymeric material ([0027] teaches plastic which is polymeric).
Regarding claim 126, Seguin, as modified, teaches a gate wherein: the roadway includes a plurality of lanes; and the arm is configured to span the lanes ([0028]).
Regarding claim 127, Seguin, as modified, teaches a gate wherein a length of the arm is at least 20 ft ([0028]).
Regarding claim 128, Seguin, as modified, teaches a gate wherein: the arm comprises a longitudinal member (62) extending in the longitudinal direction of the arm and spaced from the beam in a widthwise direction of the arm; and the visible members extend between the beam and the longitudinal member (Fig. 9A).
Regarding claim 129, Seguin, as modified, teaches a gate wherein the longitudinal member is disposed in the widthwise direction of the arm where respective ones of the visible members intersect (Fig. 9A).
Regarding claim 130, Seguin, as modified, teaches the gate as claimed. Seguin, as modified, does not teach a gate wherein: the arm has a thickness- wise direction that is normal to the longitudinal direction of the arm and the widthwise direction of the arm; and the longitudinal member is offset from the beam in the thickness-wise direction of the arm. The examiner is taking OFFICIAL NOTICE that arms with a thickness- wise direction that is normal to the longitudinal direction of the arm and the widthwise direction of the arm; and the longitudinal member is offset from the beam in the thickness-wise direction of the arm are common and well known in the art. As such, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arm wherein the arm has a thickness- wise direction that is normal to the longitudinal direction of the arm and the widthwise direction of the arm; and the longitudinal member is offset from the beam in the thickness-wise direction of the arm, because this arrangement would have replaced one known configuration with another known configuration yielding a predictable result.
Regarding claim 131, Seguin, as modified, teaches a gate wherein: the arm has a thickness- wise direction that is normal to the longitudinal direction of the arm and a widthwise direction of the arm (Fig. 9A). Seguin, as modified, does not teach a dimension of each of the visible members in the thickness- wise direction of the arm is less than a dimension of the beam in the thickness-wise direction of the arm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify a dimension of each of the visible members in the thickness- wise direction of the arm to be less than a dimension of the beam in the thickness-wise direction of the arm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change is size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237, (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 135, Seguin, as modified, teaches a gate wherein the plurality of transversal visible members extend obliquely to the beam (Fig. 9A).
Claim(s) 122-125 & 134 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seguin in view of Burgin, McCarty and Miracle (US patent application publication 2010/0098486).
Regarding claim 122, Seguin, as modified, teaches the gate as claimed. Seguin, as modified, does not teach a gate wherein the gate is MASH crash- tested. Miracle teaches wherein a gate is crash tested ([0111]). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to modify Seguin, as previously modified, wherein the gate is MASH crash- tested in view of Miracle’s teaching, because this arrangement would have allowed the gate to meet a safety standard.
Regarding claim 123, Seguin, as modified, teaches the gate as claimed. Seguin, as modified, does not teach a gate wherein the gate is compliant with at least one of (i) MASH evaluation criteria of Test Level 3 Support Structures test matrices and (ii) MASH evaluation criteria of Test Level 3 Work Zone Traffic Control Devices test matrices. Miracle teaches wherein a gate satisfies MASH criteria ([0111]). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to modify Seguin, as previously modified, wherein the gate is compliant with at least one of (i) MASH evaluation criteria of Test Level 3 Support Structures test matrices and (ii) MASH evaluation criteria of Test Level 3 Work Zone Traffic Control Devices test matrices in view of Miracle’s teaching, because this arrangement would have allowed the gate to meet a safety standard.
Regarding claim 124, Seguin, as modified, teaches the gate as claimed. Seguin, as modified, does not teach a gate wherein a height of the beam from a surface of the roadway when the arm is in the extended position is greater than a height of a passenger car complying with MASH crash-testing. Miracle teaches wherein a gate satisfies MASH criteria ([0111]). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to modify Seguin, as previously modified, wherein a height of the beam from a surface of the roadway when the arm is in the extended position is greater than a height of a passenger car complying with MASH crash-testing in view of Miracle’s teaching, because this arrangement would have allowed the gate to meet a safety standard.
Regarding claim 125, Seguin, as modified, teaches the gate as claimed. Seguin, as modified, does not teach a gate wherein a height of the beam from a surface of the roadway when the arm is in the extended position is no less than a height of a pickup truck complying with MASH crash-testing. Miracle teaches wherein a gate satisfies MASH criteria ([0111]). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to modify Seguin, as previously modified, wherein a height of the beam from a surface of the roadway when the arm is in the extended position is no less than a height of a pickup truck complying with MASH crash-testing in view of Miracle’s teaching, because this arrangement would have allowed the gate to meet a safety standard.
Regarding claim 134, Seguin discloses a gate for controlling oncoming traffic on a roadway, the gate being mountable to a traffic barrier for the roadway, and comprising:- an arm (22) movable between an extended position (Fig. 7B) in which the arm extends into a given portion of the roadway to inform the oncoming traffic that the given portion of the roadway is closed and a retracted position (Fig. 7A) in which the arm does not extend into the given portion of the roadway, the arm comprising a beam (30) that extends along a longitudinal direction of the arm and a visible arrangement (12); and- a control system (14) comprising an actuator (38) and configured to be disposed on top of the traffic barrier, support the arm such that the arm is cantilevered at the control system in the extended position, and move the arm horizontally between the extended position and the retracted position, the control system being dimensioned such that a footprint of the gate on the traffic barrier is contained within a width of the traffic barrier (Fig. 1).
Seguin does not disclose the gate being MASH crash-tested and the visible arrangement that extends below the beam and is less stiff than the beam.
Burgin teaches a visible arrangement (4) that extends below a beam (2) (Fig. 1). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Seguin wherein the visible arrangement extends below the beam in view of Burgin’s teaching, because this arrangement would have replaced one known configuration with another known configuration yielding a predictable result.
McCarty teaches a beam (216) that can be made from metal (Col. 10: 21-28). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Seguin wherein the beam is formed from metal, because this arrangement would have replaced one known material with another known material yielding a predictable result. Seguin, as modified, teaches an arm wherein the beam is made from metal and the visible arrangement is made from plastic ([0027]); thus, the visible arrangement is less stiff than the beam.
Miracle teaches wherein a gate is crash tested ([0111]). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to modify Seguin, as previously modified, wherein the gate is MASH crash- tested in view of Miracle’s teaching, because this arrangement would have allowed the gate to meet a safety standard.
Claim(s) 132 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seguin in view of Burgin, McCarty and McCord et al. (US patent 6,370,821) (hereinafter McCord).
Regarding claim 132, Seguin, as modified, teaches the gate as claimed. Seguin, as modified, does not teach a gate wherein the beam comprises segments extending in a longitudinal direction of the arm and interconnected by connectors. McCord teaches a gate wherein a beam (100) comprises segments (110) extending in a longitudinal direction and interconnected by connectors (116). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to modify the gate wherein the beam comprises segments extending in a longitudinal direction of the arm and interconnected by connectors in view of McCord’s teaching, because this arrangement would have allowed the gate to flex as taught by McCord.
Claim(s) 133 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seguin in view of McCarty.
Regarding claim 133, Seguin discloses a gate for controlling oncoming traffic on a roadway, the gate being mountable to a traffic barrier (22) for the roadway, the gate comprising:- an arm (12 & 30) movable between an extended position (Fig. 7B) in which the arm extends into a given portion of the roadway to inform the oncoming traffic that the given portion of the roadway is closed and a retracted position (Fig. 7A) in which the arm does not extend into the given portion of the roadway, the arm comprising a beam (30) extending along a longitudinal direction of the arm and a plurality of visible members (60) that extend obliquely to the beam; and- a control system (14) comprising an actuator (38) and configured to be disposed on top of the traffic barrier, support the arm such that the arm is cantilevered at the control system in the extended position, and move the arm horizontally between the extended position and the retracted position, the control system being dimensioned such that a footprint of the gate on the traffic barrier is contained within a width of the traffic barrier (Fig. 1).
Seguin does not disclose the visible members are less stiff than the beam. McCarty teaches a beam (216) that can be made from metal (Col. 10: 21-28). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Seguin wherein the beam is formed from metal, because this arrangement would have replaced one known material with another known material yielding a predictable result. Seguin, as modified, teaches an arm wherein the beam is made from metal and the visible arrangement is made from plastic ([0027]); thus, the visible arrangement is less stiff than the beam.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/14/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 108 & 134 under 102(a)(1) in view of Yun have been fully considered and are persuasive because You does not move the gate horizontally. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Seguin, McCarty & Burgin.
Conclusion
/DANIEL J ROHRHOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637