DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/22/2024, 10/30/2024, and 05/07/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 14 recite “an array of beam-customized optical components, wherein the array of beam-customized optical components comprises a plurality of beam-customized optical components.” However, it is unclear what constitutes a “beam-customized optical component.” Specifically, it is unclear whether the claim is referring to a process of making the optical component, such that it is customized by a beam, or that the optical component has some structure that makes it customized for a beam. In either case, it is unclear what structure is required for an optical component to be “beam-customized.” As such, the metes and bounds of the claimed “beam-customized optical components” are unclear. For the purposes of examination, any optical component will be interpreted as reading on the claimed “beam-customized optical component” as such a component will act on a beam and therefore customize it.
Additionally, claim 14 recites “a quantum object confinement apparatus defining an array of target locations.” However, it is unclear what constitutes a “quantum object confinement apparatus” and if any structure is required beyond simply the array of target locations. It is unclear how an array of target locations could structural provide a “quantum object confinement apparatus” and it is unclear what additional structure is required by the claims. For the purposes of examination, any array of target locations will read on the claimed “quantum object confinement apparatus.”
Claims 2-13 are rejected as being dependent upon claim 1 and failing to cure the deficiencies of the rejected base claim; and claims 15-20 are rejected as being dependent upon claim 14 and failing to cure the deficiencies of the rejected base claim.
Claims 4 and 17 recite “the respective incident location is one of an object location or a target apparatus-integrated optical element.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the respective incident location” in the claims. It is unclear if “the respective incident location” is intended to be the “respective target locations of an array of target locations” or a different location on which light is incident. Moreover, it is unclear if the “incident location” should be an incident surface of the optical component or some other feature. Further, it is unclear how an incident location can be “an object location or a target apparatus-integrated optical element.” Specifically, it is unclear how an “object location” further limits the “incident location” and how such a location would be any different from a “target apparatus-integrated optical element.” Further, it is unclear if the claim is actually intended to positively require a “target apparatus-integrated optical element” and what elements would be considered “target apparatus-integrated.” Additionally, claim 17 depends upon claim 14 which recites “a quantum object confinement apparatus defining an array of target locations” and it is unclear how the target location could be “an object location or a target apparatus-integrated optical element” when the target location is the quantum object confinement apparatus. For the purposes of examination, any object location or target location will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claims 8 and 14 recite “the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to correct any directing errors introduced by a respective beam source of the beam source array.” However, it is unclear how an optical component can be “configured to correct any directing errors introduced by a respective beam source of the beam source array.” Specifically, it is unclear that any “directing errors” should actually be included, and what constitutes a “directing error.” Moreover, it is unclear how an optical component can be configured to correct for “any directing errors,” as it is unclear what structure would provide the correction. For the purposes of examination, any optical element will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation, as an optical element would affect a light beam passing therethrough.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xia et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2022/0252761; hereinafter – “Xia”).
Regarding claim 1, Xia teaches an optical bench system comprising:
an array of beam-customized optical components (15), wherein the array of beam-customized optical components comprises a plurality of beam-customized optical components (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056); and
a relay component (16, 17) (Se See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056), wherein:
each beam-customized optical component of the plurality of beam-customized optical components is configured to control optical properties of a respective optical beam of a plurality of optical beams to provide a plurality of property-controlled optical beams (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056), and
the relay component is configured to relay the plurality of property-controlled optical beams to respective target locations (14) of an array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056).
Regarding claim 2, Xia teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Xia further teaches that each beam-customized optical component comprises a respective metasurface (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056).
Regarding claim 3, Xia teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Xia further teaches that each beam-customized optical component comprises at least one of a waveplate or a lens (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 00564).
Regarding claim 4, Xia teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Xia further teaches that the respective incident location is one of an object location or a target apparatus-integrated optical element (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056).
Regarding claim 5, Xia teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Xia further teaches a beam source array (100, 12) comprising a plurality of beam sources, wherein a respective beam source of the plurality of beam sources is configured to provide the respective optical beam to a respective beam-customized optical component (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056).
Regarding claim 6, Xia teaches the optical bench system of claim 5, as above.
Xia further teaches that the beam source array is one of a one-dimensional array of beam sources or a two-dimensional array of beam sources (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056).
Regarding claim 7, Xia teaches the optical bench system of claim 5, as above.
Xia further teaches that the array of target locations is one of a one-dimensional array of target locations or two-dimensional array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056).
Regarding claim 8, Xia teaches the optical bench system of claim 5, as above.
Xia further teaches that the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to correct any directing errors introduced by a respective beam source of the beam source array (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056).
Regarding claim 9, Xia teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Xia further teaches that the optical properties of the respective optical beam include a polarization of the respective optical beam (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 10, Xia teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Xia further teaches that the optical properties of the respective optical beam include a wavelength, focusing, beam waist, phase, direction of propagation, beam profile, or intensity of the respective optical beam (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056).
Regarding claim 11, Xia teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Xia further teaches that a respective beam-customized optical component comprises an upstream surface and a downstream surface, the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to receive the respective optical beam incident on the upstream surface, control the optical properties of the optical beam, and provide a property-controlled optical beam via the downstream surface (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056).
Regarding claim 12, Xia teaches the optical bench system of claim 11, as above.
Xia further teaches that the respective optical beam incident on the upstream surface defines an incident beam axis, the property-controlled optical beam provided via the downstream surface defines a first order beam axis, and the incident beam axis is not parallel to the first order beam axis (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056).
Regarding claim 13, Xia teaches the optical bench system of claim 12, as above.
Xia further teaches that a difference in a direction defined by the incident beam axis and a direction defined by the first order beam axis is used to spatially filter the property-controlled optical beam provided to a respective target location of the array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056).
Regarding claim 14, Xia teaches a quantum computing system comprising:
one or more manipulation sources (12, 100) (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056);
an optical bench system (10) (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056); and
a quantum object confinement apparatus (18) defining an array of target locations (14) (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056),
wherein the optical bench system comprises:
a beam source array (12) comprising a plurality of beam sources (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056),
an array of beam-customized optical components (15), wherein the array of beam-customized optical components comprises a plurality of beam-customized optical components (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056); and
a relay component (16, 17) (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056),
wherein a respective beam source of the plurality of beam sources is configured to provide a respective optical beam to a respective beam-customized optical component of the array of beam-customized optical components, the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to control optical properties of the respective optical beam to provide a respective property-controlled optical beam, and the relay component is configured to relay the respective property-controlled optical beam to a respective target location of the array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056), and
wherein a respective manipulation source of the one or more manipulation sources is configured to provide the respective optical beam to the respective beam source (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056).
Regarding claim 15, Xia teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Xia further teaches that the respective beam-customized optical component comprises a respective metasurface (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056).
Regarding claim 16, Xia teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Xia further teaches that the respective beam-customized optical component comprises at least one of a waveplate or a lens (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056).
Regarding claim 17, Xia teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Xia further teaches that the respective incident location is one of an object location or a target apparatus-integrated optical element (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056).
Regarding claim 18, Xia teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Xia further teaches that the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to correct any directing errors introduced by a respective beam source of the beam source array (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056).
Regarding claim 19, Xia teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Xia further teaches that the optical properties of the respective optical beam include a polarization, wavelength, focusing, beam waist, phase, direction of propagation, beam profile, or intensity of the respective optical beam (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056).
Regarding claim 20, Xia teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Xia further teaches that a respective beam-customized optical component comprises an upstream surface and a downstream surface, the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to receive the respective optical beam incident on the upstream surface, control the optical properties of the optical beam, and provide a property-controlled optical beam via the downstream surface, the respective optical beam incident on the upstream surface defines an incident beam axis, the property-controlled optical beam provided via the downstream surface defines a first order beam axis, the incident beam axis is not parallel to the first order beam axis, and a difference in a direction defined by the incident beam axis and a direction defined by the first order beam axis is used to spatially filter the property-controlled optical beam provided to the respective target location of the array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 6 and 17; Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044, and 0056).
Claim(s) 1 and 3-13 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schiffer et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2025/2025/0138257; hereinafter – “Schiffer”).
Regarding claim 1, Schiffer teaches an optical bench system comprising:
an array of beam-customized optical components (910, 920, 930, 1100, 1200, 1300, 2200, 2300, 2500, 2600, 2900), wherein the array of beam-customized optical components comprises a plurality of beam-customized optical components (See e.g. Figs. 4, 6, 12, and 13; Paragraphs 0114-0126, 0146-0151, and 0160-0189); and
a relay component (2006, 2007) (See e.g. Fig. 13; Paragraphs 0171-0189), wherein:
each beam-customized optical component of the plurality of beam-customized optical components is configured to control optical properties of a respective optical beam of a plurality of optical beams to provide a plurality of property-controlled optical beams (See e.g. Figs. 4, 6, 12, and 13; Paragraphs 0114-0126, 0146-0151, and 0160-0189), and
the relay component is configured to relay the plurality of property-controlled optical beams to respective target locations of an array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 4, 6, 12, and 13; Paragraphs 0114-0126, 0146-0151, and 0160-0189).
Regarding claim 3, Schiffer teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Schiffer further teaches that each beam-customized optical component comprises at least one of a waveplate (2300) or a lens (411, 6110, 910, 1100, 2600) (See e.g. Figs. 4, 6, 12, and 13; Paragraphs 0114-0126, 0146-0151, and 0160-0189).
Regarding claim 4, Schiffer teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Schiffer further teaches that the respective incident location is one of an object location or a target apparatus-integrated optical element (See e.g. Figs. 4, 6, 12, and 13; Paragraphs 0114-0126, 0146-0151, and 0160-0189).
Regarding claim 5, Schiffer teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Schiffer further teaches a beam source array (401, 6001, 90, 91, 2003) comprising a plurality of beam sources, wherein a respective beam source of the plurality of beam sources is configured to provide the respective optical beam to a respective beam-customized optical component (See e.g. Figs. 4, 6, 12, and 13; Paragraphs 0114-0126, 0146-0151, and 0160-0189).
Regarding claim 6, Schiffer teaches the optical bench system of claim 5, as above.
Schiffer further teaches that the beam source array is one of a one-dimensional array of beam sources or a two-dimensional array of beam sources (See e.g. Figs. 4, 6, 12, and 13; Paragraphs 0114-0126, 0146-0151, and 0160-0189).
Regarding claim 7, Schiffer teaches the optical bench system of claim 5, as above.
Schiffer further teaches that the array of target locations is one of a one-dimensional array of target locations or two-dimensional array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 4, 6, 12, and 13; Paragraphs 0114-0126, 0146-0151, and 0160-0189).
Regarding claim 8, Schiffer teaches the optical bench system of claim 5, as above.
Schiffer further teaches that the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to correct any directing errors introduced by a respective beam source of the beam source array (See e.g. Figs. 4, 6, 12, and 13; Paragraphs 0114-0126, 0146-0151, and 0160-0189).
Regarding claim 9, Schiffer teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Schiffer further teaches that the optical properties of the respective optical beam include a polarization of the respective optical beam (See e.g. Figs. 4, 6, 12, and 13; Paragraphs 0114-0126, 0146-0151, and 0160-0189).
Regarding claim 10, Schiffer teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Schiffer further teaches that the optical properties of the respective optical beam include a wavelength, focusing, beam waist, phase, direction of propagation, beam profile, or intensity of the respective optical beam (See e.g. Figs. 4, 6, 12, and 13; Paragraphs 0114-0126, 0146-0151, and 0160-0189).
Regarding claim 11, Schiffer teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Schiffer further teaches that a respective beam-customized optical component comprises an upstream surface and a downstream surface, the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to receive the respective optical beam incident on the upstream surface, control the optical properties of the optical beam, and provide a property-controlled optical beam via the downstream surface (See e.g. Figs. 4, 6, 12, and 13; Paragraphs 0114-0126, 0146-0151, and 0160-0189).
Regarding claim 12, Schiffer teaches the optical bench system of claim 11, as above.
Schiffer further teaches that the respective optical beam incident on the upstream surface defines an incident beam axis, the property-controlled optical beam provided via the downstream surface defines a first order beam axis, and the incident beam axis is not parallel to the first order beam axis (See e.g. Figs. 4, 6, 12, and 13; Paragraphs 0114-0126, 0146-0151, and 0160-0189).
Regarding claim 13, Schiffer teaches the optical bench system of claim 12, as above.
Schiffer further teaches that a difference in a direction defined by the incident beam axis and a direction defined by the first order beam axis is used to spatially filter the property-controlled optical beam provided to a respective target location of the array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, 0042-0044, and 0051).
Claim(s) 1, 3-14, and 16-20 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robinson et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2018/0269648; hereinafter – “Robinson”).
Regarding claim 1, Robinson teaches an optical bench system comprising:
an array of beam-customized optical components (112, 114, 202, 204, 206, 314, 412, 414), wherein the array of beam-customized optical components comprises a plurality of beam-customized optical components (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044); and
a relay component (106, 316, 416) (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044), wherein:
each beam-customized optical component of the plurality of beam-customized optical components is configured to control optical properties of a respective optical beam of a plurality of optical beams to provide a plurality of property-controlled optical beams (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044), and
the relay component is configured to relay the plurality of property-controlled optical beams to respective target locations of an array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044).
Regarding claim 3, Robinson teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Robinson further teaches that each beam-customized optical component comprises at least one of a waveplate or a lens (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044).
Regarding claim 4, Robinson teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Robinson further teaches that the respective incident location is one of an object location or a target apparatus-integrated optical element (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, 0042-0044, and 0051).
Regarding claim 5, Robinson teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Robinson further teaches a beam source array (102, 312, 408, 410) comprising a plurality of beam sources (1, 2, …, N), wherein a respective beam source of the plurality of beam sources is configured to provide the respective optical beam to a respective beam-customized optical component (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, 0042-0044, and 0051).
Regarding claim 6, Robinson teaches the optical bench system of claim 5, as above.
Robinson further teaches that the beam source array is one of a one-dimensional array of beam sources or a two-dimensional array of beam sources (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, 0042-0044, and 0051).
Regarding claim 7, Robinson teaches the optical bench system of claim 5, as above.
Robinson further teaches that the array of target locations is one of a one-dimensional array of target locations or two-dimensional array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, 0042-0044, and 0051).
Regarding claim 8, Robinson teaches the optical bench system of claim 5, as above.
Robinson further teaches that the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to correct any directing errors introduced by a respective beam source of the beam source array (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, 0042-0044, and 0051).
Regarding claim 9, Robinson teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Robinson further teaches that the optical properties of the respective optical beam include a polarization of the respective optical beam (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, 0042-0044, and 0051).
Regarding claim 10, Robinson teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Robinson further teaches that the optical properties of the respective optical beam include a wavelength, focusing, beam waist, phase, direction of propagation, beam profile, or intensity of the respective optical beam (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, 0042-0044, and 0051).
Regarding claim 11, Robinson teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Robinson further teaches that a respective beam-customized optical component comprises an upstream surface and a downstream surface, the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to receive the respective optical beam incident on the upstream surface, control the optical properties of the optical beam, and provide a property-controlled optical beam via the downstream surface (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, 0042-0044, and 0051).
Regarding claim 12, Robinson teaches the optical bench system of claim 11, as above.
Robinson further teaches that the respective optical beam incident on the upstream surface defines an incident beam axis, the property-controlled optical beam provided via the downstream surface defines a first order beam axis, and the incident beam axis is not parallel to the first order beam axis (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, 0042-0044, and 0051).
Regarding claim 13, Robinson teaches the optical bench system of claim 12, as above.
Robinson further teaches that a difference in a direction defined by the incident beam axis and a direction defined by the first order beam axis is used to spatially filter the property-controlled optical beam provided to a respective target location of the array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, 0042-0044, and 0051).
Regarding claim 14, Robinson teaches a quantum computing system comprising:
one or more manipulation sources (102, 312, 408, 410) (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, 0042-0044, and 0051);
an optical bench system (104) (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044); and
a quantum object confinement apparatus (108, 110, 316, 318, 416) defining an array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, 0042-0044, and 0051),
wherein the optical bench system comprises:
a beam source array (102) comprising a plurality of beam sources (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, 0042-0044, and 0051),
an array of beam-customized optical components (112, 114, 202, 204, 206, 314, 412, 414), wherein the array of beam-customized optical components comprises a plurality of beam-customized optical components (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044); and
a relay component (106, 316, 416) (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044),
wherein a respective beam source of the plurality of beam sources is configured to provide a respective optical beam to a respective beam-customized optical component of the array of beam-customized optical components, the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to control optical properties of the respective optical beam to provide a respective property-controlled optical beam, and the relay component is configured to relay the respective property-controlled optical beam to a respective target location of the array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044), and
wherein a respective manipulation source of the one or more manipulation sources is configured to provide the respective optical beam to the respective beam source (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044).
Regarding claim 16, Robinson teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Robinson further teaches that the respective beam-customized optical component comprises at least one of a waveplate or a lens (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044).
Regarding claim 17, Robinson teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Robinson further teaches that the respective incident location is one of an object location or a target apparatus-integrated optical element (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044).
Regarding claim 18, Robinson teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Robinson further teaches that the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to correct any directing errors introduced by a respective beam source of the beam source array (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044).
Regarding claim 19, Robinson teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Robinson further teaches that the optical properties of the respective optical beam include a polarization, wavelength, focusing, beam waist, phase, direction of propagation, beam profile, or intensity of the respective optical beam (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044).
Regarding claim 20, Robinson teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Robinson further teaches that a respective beam-customized optical component comprises an upstream surface and a downstream surface, the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to receive the respective optical beam incident on the upstream surface, control the optical properties of the optical beam, and provide a property-controlled optical beam via the downstream surface, the respective optical beam incident on the upstream surface defines an incident beam axis, the property-controlled optical beam provided via the downstream surface defines a first order beam axis, the incident beam axis is not parallel to the first order beam axis, and a difference in a direction defined by the incident beam axis and a direction defined by the first order beam axis is used to spatially filter the property-controlled optical beam provided to the respective target location of the array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044).
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 10-14, and 17-20 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ichimura et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,106,717; hereinafter – “Ichimura”).
Regarding claim 1, Ichimura teaches an optical bench system (102) comprising:
an array of beam-customized optical components (710, 711, 714, 715, 716), wherein the array of beam-customized optical components comprises a plurality of beam-customized optical components (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51); and
a relay component (712) (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51), wherein:
each beam-customized optical component of the plurality of beam-customized optical components is configured to control optical properties of a respective optical beam of a plurality of optical beams to provide a plurality of property-controlled optical beams (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51), and
the relay component is configured to relay the plurality of property-controlled optical beams to respective target locations of an array of target locations (103) (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51).
Regarding claim 4, Ichimura teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Ichimura further teaches that the respective incident location is one of an object location or a target apparatus-integrated optical element (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51).
Regarding claim 5, Ichimura teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Ichimura further teaches a beam source array (101) comprising a plurality of beam sources (701, 702, 703, 704, 705, 706, 707, 708, 709), wherein a respective beam source of the plurality of beam sources is configured to provide the respective optical beam to a respective beam-customized optical component (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51).
Regarding claim 6, Ichimura teaches the optical bench system of claim 5, as above.
Ichimura further teaches that the beam source array is one of a one-dimensional array of beam sources or a two-dimensional array of beam sources (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51).
Regarding claim 7, Ichimura teaches the optical bench system of claim 5, as above.
Ichimura further teaches that the array of target locations is one of a one-dimensional array of target locations or two-dimensional array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51).
Regarding claim 8, Ichimura teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Ichimura further teaches that the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to correct any directing errors introduced by a respective beam source of the beam source array (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 7, L. 60 – C. 8, L. 24; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51).
Regarding claim 10, Ichimura teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Ichimura further teaches that the optical properties of the respective optical beam include a wavelength, focusing, beam waist, phase, direction of propagation, beam profile, or intensity of the respective optical beam (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51).
Regarding claim 11, Ichimura teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Ichimura further teaches that a respective beam-customized optical component comprises an upstream surface and a downstream surface, the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to receive the respective optical beam incident on the upstream surface, control the optical properties of the optical beam, and provide a property-controlled optical beam via the downstream surface (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51).
Regarding claim 12, Ichimura teaches the optical bench system of claim 11, as above.
Ichimura further teaches that the respective optical beam incident on the upstream surface defines an incident beam axis, the property-controlled optical beam provided via the downstream surface defines a first order beam axis, and the incident beam axis is not parallel to the first order beam axis (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51).
Regarding claim 13, Ichimura teaches the optical bench system of claim 12, as above.
Ichimura further teaches that a difference in a direction defined by the incident beam axis and a direction defined by the first order beam axis is used to spatially filter the property-controlled optical beam provided to a respective target location of the array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51).
Regarding claim 14, Ichimura teaches a quantum computing system comprising:
one or more manipulation sources (101) (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51);
an optical bench system (102) (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51); and
a quantum object confinement apparatus (103, 104) defining an array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51),
wherein the optical bench system comprises:
a beam source array (701, 702, 703, 074, 705, 706, 707, 708, 709, 712, 713, 714) comprising a plurality of beam sources (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51),
an array of beam-customized optical components (710, 711, 714, 715, 716), wherein the array of beam-customized optical components comprises a plurality of beam-customized optical components (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51); and
a relay component (712) (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51),
wherein a respective beam source of the plurality of beam sources is configured to provide a respective optical beam to a respective beam-customized optical component of the array of beam-customized optical components, the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to control optical properties of the respective optical beam to provide a respective property-controlled optical beam, and the relay component is configured to relay the respective property-controlled optical beam to a respective target location of the array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51), and
wherein a respective manipulation source of the one or more manipulation sources is configured to provide the respective optical beam to the respective beam source (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51).
Regarding claim 17, Ichimura teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Ichimura further teaches that the respective incident location is one of an object location or a target apparatus-integrated optical element (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51).
Regarding claim 18, Ichimura teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Ichimura further teaches that the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to correct any directing errors introduced by a respective beam source of the beam source array (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 7, L. 60 – C. 8, L. 24; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51).
Regarding claim 19, Ichimura teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Ichimura further teaches that the optical properties of the respective optical beam include a polarization, wavelength, focusing, beam waist, phase, direction of propagation, beam profile, or intensity of the respective optical beam (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51).
Regarding claim 20, Ichimura teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Ichimura further teaches that a respective beam-customized optical component comprises an upstream surface and a downstream surface, the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to receive the respective optical beam incident on the upstream surface, control the optical properties of the optical beam, and provide a property-controlled optical beam via the downstream surface, the respective optical beam incident on the upstream surface defines an incident beam axis, the property-controlled optical beam provided via the downstream surface defines a first order beam axis, the incident beam axis is not parallel to the first order beam axis, and a difference in a direction defined by the incident beam axis and a direction defined by the first order beam axis is used to spatially filter the property-controlled optical beam provided to the respective target location of the array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 1 and 7; C. 4, L. 3-16; C. 8, L. 59 – C. 9, L. 51).
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-14, and 16-20 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Menon et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,193,782; hereinafter – “Menon”).
Regarding claim 1, Menon teaches an optical bench system comprising:
an array of beam-customized optical components (10), wherein the array of beam-customized optical components comprises a plurality of beam-customized optical components (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64); and
a relay component (12, 14) (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64), wherein:
each beam-customized optical component of the plurality of beam-customized optical components is configured to control optical properties of a respective optical beam of a plurality of optical beams to provide a plurality of property-controlled optical beams (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64), and
the relay component is configured to relay the plurality of property-controlled optical beams to respective target locations of an array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64).
Regarding claim 3, Menon teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Menon further teaches that each beam-customized optical component comprises at least one of a waveplate or a lens (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64).
Regarding claim 4, Menon teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Menon further teaches that the respective incident location is one of an object location or a target apparatus-integrated optical element (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64).
Regarding claim 5, Menon teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Menon further teaches a beam source array (16, 42, 52) comprising a plurality of beam sources, wherein a respective beam source of the plurality of beam sources is configured to provide the respective optical beam to a respective beam-customized optical component (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64).
Regarding claim 6, Menon teaches the optical bench system of claim 5, as above.
Menon further teaches that the beam source array is one of a one-dimensional array of beam sources or a two-dimensional array of beam sources (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64).
Regarding claim 7, Menon teaches the optical bench system of claim 5, as above.
Menon further teaches that the array of target locations is one of a one-dimensional array of target locations or two-dimensional array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64).
Regarding claim 8, Menon teaches the optical bench system of claim 5, as above.
Menon further teaches that the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to correct any directing errors introduced by a respective beam source of the beam source array (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64).
Regarding claim 10, Menon teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Menon further teaches that the optical properties of the respective optical beam include a wavelength, focusing, beam waist, phase, direction of propagation, beam profile, or intensity of the respective optical beam (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, 0042-0044, and 0051).
Regarding claim 11, Menon teaches the optical bench system of claim 1, as above.
Menon further teaches that a respective beam-customized optical component comprises an upstream surface and a downstream surface, the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to receive the respective optical beam incident on the upstream surface, control the optical properties of the optical beam, and provide a property-controlled optical beam via the downstream surface (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64).
Regarding claim 12, Menon teaches the optical bench system of claim 11, as above.
Menon further teaches that the respective optical beam incident on the upstream surface defines an incident beam axis, the property-controlled optical beam provided via the downstream surface defines a first order beam axis, and the incident beam axis is not parallel to the first order beam axis (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64).
Regarding claim 13, Menon teaches the optical bench system of claim 12, as above.
Menon further teaches that a difference in a direction defined by the incident beam axis and a direction defined by the first order beam axis is used to spatially filter the property-controlled optical beam provided to a respective target location of the array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64).
Regarding claim 14, Menon teaches a quantum computing system comprising:
one or more manipulation sources (16, 42, 52) (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64);
an optical bench system (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64); and
a quantum object confinement apparatus (26) defining an array of target locations (32) (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64),
wherein the optical bench system comprises:
a beam source array (16, 42, 52) comprising a plurality of beam sources (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64),
an array of beam-customized optical components (10), wherein the array of beam-customized optical components comprises a plurality of beam-customized optical components (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64); and
a relay component (12, 14) (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64),
wherein a respective beam source of the plurality of beam sources is configured to provide a respective optical beam to a respective beam-customized optical component of the array of beam-customized optical components, the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to control optical properties of the respective optical beam to provide a respective property-controlled optical beam, and the relay component is configured to relay the respective property-controlled optical beam to a respective target location of the array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64), and
wherein a respective manipulation source of the one or more manipulation sources is configured to provide the respective optical beam to the respective beam source (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64).
Regarding claim 16, Menon teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Menon further teaches that the respective beam-customized optical component comprises at least one of a waveplate or a lens (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64).
Regarding claim 17, Menon teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Menon further teaches that the respective incident location is one of an object location or a target apparatus-integrated optical element (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64).
Regarding claim 18, Menon teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Menon further teaches that the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to correct any directing errors introduced by a respective beam source of the beam source array (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64).
Regarding claim 19, Menon teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Menon further teaches that the optical properties of the respective optical beam include a polarization, wavelength, focusing, beam waist, phase, direction of propagation, beam profile, or intensity of the respective optical beam (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64).
Regarding claim 20, Menon teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Menon further teaches that a respective beam-customized optical component comprises an upstream surface and a downstream surface, the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to receive the respective optical beam incident on the upstream surface, control the optical properties of the optical beam, and provide a property-controlled optical beam via the downstream surface, the respective optical beam incident on the upstream surface defines an incident beam axis, the property-controlled optical beam provided via the downstream surface defines a first order beam axis, the incident beam axis is not parallel to the first order beam axis, and a difference in a direction defined by the incident beam axis and a direction defined by the first order beam axis is used to spatially filter the property-controlled optical beam provided to the respective target location of the array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; C. 2, L. 28 – C. 3, L. 48; C. 4, L. 31-64).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 15 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson, Ichimura, or Menon in view of Hu et al. (NPL titled: “Design of scalable metalens array for optical addressing”; hereinafter – “Hu”).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Robinson, Ichimura, and Menon each teaches the optical bench system of claim 1 and the quantum computing system of claim 14, respectively, as above.
Robinson, Ichimura, and Menon fail to explicitly disclose that each beam-customized optical component comprises a respective metasurface.
However, Hu teaches a scalable metalens array for optical addressing comprising an array of beam-customized optical components, wherein the array of beam-customized optical components comprises a plurality of beam-customized optical components and each beam-customized optical component comprises a respective metasurface (See e.g. Fig. 1; 2. Design of scalable metalens array (SMA)).
Hu teaches this metasurface for “scalability” and “obtaining good focusing properties, such as diffraction-limited focusing spot size, small focusing spot spacing, low crosstalk, and high efficiency” (1. Introduction, P. 1) in order “to promote the development of integrated trapped-ion quantum computers and increase the number of trapped-ion qubits” (1. Introduction, P. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical bench system and quantum computing system of Robinson, Ichimura, or Menon with the metasurface of Hu for “scalability” and “obtaining good focusing properties, such as diffraction-limited focusing spot size, small focusing spot spacing, low crosstalk, and high efficiency” in order “to promote the development of integrated trapped-ion quantum computers and increase the number of trapped-ion qubits,” as taught by Hu (1. Introduction, P. 1-2).
Claim(s) 14 and 16-20 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson in view of Nakamura et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,068,182; hereinafter – “Nakamura”).
Regarding claim 14, Robinson teaches a quantum computing system comprising:
one or more manipulation sources (102, 312, 408, 410) (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, 0042-0044, and 0051);
an optical bench system (104) (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044); and
a quantum object confinement apparatus (108, 110, 316, 318, 416) defining an array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, 0042-0044, and 0051),
wherein the optical bench system comprises:
a beam source array (102) comprising a plurality of beam sources (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, 0042-0044, and 0051),
an array of beam-customized optical components (112, 114, 202, 204, 206, 314, 412, 414), wherein the array of beam-customized optical components comprises a plurality of beam-customized optical components (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044); and
a relay component (106, 316, 416) (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044),
wherein a respective beam source of the plurality of beam sources is configured to provide a respective optical beam to a respective beam-customized optical component of the array of beam-customized optical components, the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to control optical properties of the respective optical beam to provide a respective property-controlled optical beam, and the relay component is configured to relay the respective property-controlled optical beam to a respective target location of the array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044), and
wherein a respective manipulation source of the one or more manipulation sources is configured to provide the respective optical beam to the respective beam source (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044).
While Robinson teaches a structure reading on the claimed quantum computing system and including an array of target locations reading on the claimed quantum object confinement apparatus and explicitly teaches the use of such a system for optical tweezers and trapping (Paragraph 0010), in the interest of compact prosecution, Examiner further submits reference Nakamura.
Nakamura teaches a quantum computer and quantum computing method comprising one or more manipulation sources (301, 302, 801, 802, 803); an optical bench system (320, 820, 920); and a quantum object confinement apparatus (316) defining an array of target locations, wherein the optical bench system comprises: a beam source array (301, 302, 303, 304, 305, 801, 802, 803) comprising a plurality of beam sources, an array of beam-customized optical components (306, 307, 308), wherein the array of beam-customized optical components comprises a plurality of beam-customized optical components; and a relay component (310, 311, 312, 313, 314), wherein a respective beam source of the plurality of beam sources is configured to provide a respective optical beam to a respective beam-customized optical component of the array of beam-customized optical components, the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to control optical properties of the respective optical beam to provide a respective property-controlled optical beam, and the relay component is configured to relay the respective property-controlled optical beam to a respective target location of the array of target locations, and wherein a respective manipulation source of the one or more manipulation sources is configured to provide the respective optical beam to the respective beam source (See e.g. Figs. 8-9; C. 8, L. 10-36; C. 9, L. 43 – C. 10, L. 20).
Nakamura teaches this quantum computer with the quantum object confinement apparatus to provide “a quantum gate operation method and configuration, which control the resonance condition so as to eliminate the effects of the undesired interaction” (C. 2, L. 31-49) in order to provide “a computer based on the frequency domain quantum computation capable of performing a quantum gate while suppressing the effects caused by the undesired interaction” (C. 1, L. 21-41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Robinson to be in a quantum computing system with a quantum object confinement apparatus as in Nakamura to provide “a quantum gate operation method and configuration, which control the resonance condition so as to eliminate the effects of the undesired interaction” in order to provide “a computer based on the frequency domain quantum computation capable of performing a quantum gate while suppressing the effects caused by the undesired interaction,” as taught by Nakamura (C. 1, L. 21-41; C. 2, L. 31-49).
Regarding claim 16, Robinson in view of Nakamura teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Robinson further teaches that the respective beam-customized optical component comprises at least one of a waveplate or a lens (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044).
Regarding claim 17, Robinson teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Robinson further teaches that the respective incident location is one of an object location or a target apparatus-integrated optical element (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044).
Regarding claim 18, Robinson in view of Nakamura teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Robinson further teaches that the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to correct any directing errors introduced by a respective beam source of the beam source array (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044).
Regarding claim 19, Robinson in view of Nakamura teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Robinson further teaches that the optical properties of the respective optical beam include a polarization, wavelength, focusing, beam waist, phase, direction of propagation, beam profile, or intensity of the respective optical beam (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044).
Regarding claim 20, Robinson in view of Nakamura teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Robinson further teaches that a respective beam-customized optical component comprises an upstream surface and a downstream surface, the respective beam-customized optical component is configured to receive the respective optical beam incident on the upstream surface, control the optical properties of the optical beam, and provide a property-controlled optical beam via the downstream surface, the respective optical beam incident on the upstream surface defines an incident beam axis, the property-controlled optical beam provided via the downstream surface defines a first order beam axis, the incident beam axis is not parallel to the first order beam axis, and a difference in a direction defined by the incident beam axis and a direction defined by the first order beam axis is used to spatially filter the property-controlled optical beam provided to the respective target location of the array of target locations (See e.g. Figs. 1-4 and 8; Paragraphs 0029-0030, 0034-0035, 0038-0040, and 0042-0044).
Claim(s) 15 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson in view of Nakamura, as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Hu.
Regarding claim 15, Robinson in view of Nakamura teaches the quantum computing system of claim 14, as above.
Robinson and Nakamura fail to explicitly disclose that each beam-customized optical component comprises a respective metasurface.
However, Hu teaches a scalable metalens array for optical addressing comprising an array of beam-customized optical components, wherein the array of beam-customized optical components comprises a plurality of beam-customized optical components and each beam-customized optical component comprises a respective metasurface (See e.g. Fig. 1; 2. Design of scalable metalens array (SMA)).
Hu teaches this metasurface for “scalability” and “obtaining good focusing properties, such as diffraction-limited focusing spot size, small focusing spot spacing, low crosstalk, and high efficiency” (1. Introduction, P. 1) in order “to promote the development of integrated trapped-ion quantum computers and increase the number of trapped-ion qubits” (1. Introduction, P. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical bench system and quantum computing system of Robinson with the metasurface of Hu for “scalability” and “obtaining good focusing properties, such as diffraction-limited focusing spot size, small focusing spot spacing, low crosstalk, and high efficiency” in order “to promote the development of integrated trapped-ion quantum computers and increase the number of trapped-ion qubits,” as taught by Hu (1. Introduction, P. 1-2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Gurses et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2025/0165827) teaches quantum phased arrays including a plurality of optical components in an array.
Kao (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2023/0021930) teaches a meta-optical device for collimating and deflecting a light beam.
Bohn et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2022/0327414) teaches quantum computing using metamaterial arrays having a similar structure.
Mizrahi et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2021/0057872) teaches fast intensity stabilization of multiple controller beams with a continuous integrating filter having a similar optical bench.
Kurokawa et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2015/0098127) teaches an optical module outputting a polarization combined beam having a similar array of optical elements.
Mitra et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2011/0157706) teaches a device and method for beam forming with a similar optical bench including an array of optical elements.
Ichimura et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,466,725) teaches a quantum computer apparatus having a similar array of optical elements.
Altewischer et al. (NPL titled: Plasmon-assisted transmission of entangled photons”) teaches an array of optical elements including metasurfaces.
Bekenstein et al. (NPL titled: “Quantum metasurfaces with atom arrays”) teaches a similar array of metasurfaces in an optical bench.
Hsu et al. (NPL titled: “Single-Atom Trapping in a Metasurface-Lens Optical Tweezer”) teaches a similar optical bench with an array of metasurfaces.
Huang et al. (NPL titled: “Metasurface Holographic Optical Traps for Ultracold Atoms”) teaches a similar configuration of a metasurface array for an optical trap.
Li et al. (NPL titled: “Metalens-array–based high-dimensional and multiphoton quantum source”) teaches a similar array of metalenses in an optical bench.
Nicholas R. Pasko
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/Nicholas R. Pasko/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896