DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-10 are pending. Claims 1, and 9-10 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The newly added/amended limitation is disclosed in Matsumura (US 20080184153 A1) reference. For further details see the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAMIR et al. (US 2021/0304495; hereinafter Tamir) in view of Matsumura et al. (US 20080184153 A1; hereinafter Matsumura).
Regarding claim 1, Tamir discloses an information processing apparatus (830, fig. 9) comprising:
at least one memory (920, fig. 9) storing instructions, and at least one processor (910, fig. 9) configured to execute the instructions (¶0082, ¶0086, ¶0016) to:
identify a shape of an object included in point cloud data (steps s210-s220, fig. 2, At S220, volumes within the cloud of points, acquired at S210, are labeled. In the example embodiment, the cloud of points may contain representations of one or more human bodies. In the embodiment, possible labels may include, and are not limited to, ears, eyes, face, legs, and other, like labels. The labeling of volumes within the cloud of points may include those methods, processes, and features described with respect to step S120 in FIG. 1, above, ¶0035);
generate first mesh data of a first object whose shape is identified, and generate second mesh data of a second object whose shape is identified, by using a mesh resolution different from a mesh resolution used in generating the first mesh data (steps s230-s250, fig. 2, ¶0035-0038);
generate three-dimensional data acquired by combining the first mesh data and the second mesh data (steps s250, fig. 2), and
wherein the first mesh data and the second mesh data are generated using different mesh resolutions (¶0002, ¶0085).
Tamir is not found disclosing expressly the limitation of, display the first mesh data and the second mesh data in different colors.
However, Matsumura discloses different chroma colors are rendered on different regions depending on meshing density [¶0064].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to display the first mesh data and the second mesh data in different colors in Tamir’s display according to the teaching of Matsumura, because, combining prior art elements ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results is obvious. Furthermore, such combination would enhance the discernability of mesh density variability using an additional dimension.
Regarding claim 2, Tamir in view of Matsumura discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to generate mesh data of each object by using a mesh resolution associated with each object included in the point cloud data (In the embodiment, possible labels may include, and are not limited to, ears, eyes, face, legs, and other, like labels, ¶0035,
At S240, the mesh density is set based on a determination that the labeled volume is a face at S230. In an embodiment, where, at S230, a given volume is determined to be a face, the mesh density may be adjusted to specify a high mesh density. Alternatively, where, at S230, the given volume is determined not to be a face, the mesh density may be adjusted to specify a low mesh density. In adjusting parameters to set the mesh density, reference may be made to step S130 of FIG. 1 which describes, as above, a generic process of adjusting algorithm parameters based on data labels, ¶0037).
Regarding claim 3, Tamir in view of Matsumura discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to generate mesh data by using a predetermined resolution when a mesh resolution is not associated with an object whose shape is identified (Alternatively, where, at S230, the given volume is determined not to be a face, the mesh density may be adjusted to specify a low mesh density, ¶0037).
Regarding claim 4, Tamir in view of Matsumura discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to manage a parameter defining a mesh resolution used for each of the objects (In adjusting parameters to set the mesh density, reference may be made to step S130 of FIG. 1 which describes, as above, a generic process of adjusting algorithm parameters based on data labels, ¶0037).
Regarding claim 5, Tamir in view of Matsumura discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the mesh resolution defines a distance between two points at a plurality of points used for mesh data (this is understood as inherent, higher the resolution, distance between two points are smaller).
Regarding claim 6, Tamir in view of Matsumura discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the mesh resolution defines an upper limit number of points used in generating mesh data in a specific region (…given volume is determined to be a face, the mesh density may be adjusted to specify a high mesh density. Alternatively, where, at S230, the given volume is determined not to be a face, the mesh density may be adjusted to specify a low mesh density, ¶0037).
Regarding claim 7, Tamir in view of Matsumura discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to display the three-dimensional data indicating that a resolution used for the first mesh data and a resolution used for the second mesh data are different from each other (¶0002, … sending FVV renders for display, and the like, ¶0085).
Regarding claim 8, Tamir in view of Matsumura discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to determine, from the point cloud data, a shape of the object included in the point cloud data by using a learning model in which a shape of the object has been learned (¶0030).
Regarding claim 9, Tamir in view of Matsumura discloses a data generation method comprising:
identifying a shape of an object included in point cloud data;
generating first mesh data of a first object whose shape is identified;
generating second mesh data of a second object whose shape is identified, by using a mesh resolution different from a mesh resolution used in generating the first mesh data; and generating three-dimensional data acquired by combining the first mesh data and the second mesh data (see substantially similar claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 10, Tamir in view of Matsumura discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program causing a computer to execute a set of method steps (¶0082-¶0086):
identifying a shape of an object included in point cloud data; generating first mesh data of a first object whose shape is identified; generating second mesh data of a second object whose shape is identified, by using a mesh resolution different from a mesh resolution used in generating the first mesh data; and generating three-dimensional data acquired by combining the first mesh data and the second mesh data (for this portion see substantially similar claim 1 rejection above).
----
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NURUN FLORA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619