DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Ten sheets of drawings were filed on June 25, 2024 have been accepted by the examiner.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cabessa (US 2020/0174207-A1, herein “Cabessa”) in view of the Laninga (US 6,116,791 A, herein “Laninga”).
Regarding claim 1, Cabessa discloses an optical module (Fig. 1, 11a-b), comprising: a housing (Fig. 11b: housing of 10; Para [0063]); a substrate (Fig. 11b: at location of 30 and Fig. 1: 110), disposed in the housing (Fig. 11b: at location 30 wherein components on 30 are disposed inside housing 10; Fig. 1: that components of 30 are shown to be on 110); and an optical coupling configuration (Fig. 1: 100), comprising: an optical communication assembly (Fig. 1: all the components on 110), disposed on the substrate (Fig. 1: all components on 110), wherein the optical communication assembly (Fig. 1: all the components on 110) comprises an optical communication unit (Fig. 1: 120 or 130) and an electronic component (Fig. 1: 122 or 132), and the optical communication unit is electrically connected to the electronic component via a metal wire (Fig. 1: 132 to 133 via wire 112); wherein the fiber (Fig. 1; 200 coupled to 163) is spatially spaced apart from the optical communication unit and the metal wire (Fig. 1: 200 is spaced apart from 130 and 112).
Cabessa does not teach a bending fiber array, optically coupled to the optical communication unit.
Laninga does a bending fiber array (Fig. 12: fibers 54 in groove housing carrier 30), optically coupled to the optical communication unit (Fig. 13: 136 is the communication wherein Fig. 12: illustrate fibers 54 being coupled to base or communication unit via an interface layer 122) in order to couple horizontal fiber arrays (Fig. 12: within 50) orientation vertically onto a photonic circuit substrate (Fig. 12: 50 and ends of 123 of 54). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a fiber bend array connector such as one shown by Laninga Fig. 12 in order to couple fibers without the need of a turning mirror or an optical prism to turn the light transmission input/output 90 degrees for low profile devices.
As for Claim 2, Cabessa / Laninga teach the device of Claim 1, wherein Cabessa teaches wherein the optical communication unit comprises a photodiode (Fig. 1: 130), and the electronic component (Fig. 1: 132) comprises a transimpedance amplifier (Para [0077]).
As for Claim 3, Cabessa / Laninga teach the device of Claim 1, wherein Cabessa teaches wherein the substrate (Fig. 1: 110) has two protruding parts (top surface of 130 and 120).
Cabessa does not teach the bending fiber array comprises a carrier and an optical fiber, the optical fiber is disposed on the carrier and optically coupled to the optical communication unit, and the carrier rests on the two protruding parts.
Laninga teaches the bending fiber array (Fig. 12) comprises a carrier (Fig. 12: 30) and an optical fiber (Fig. 12: 54), the optical fiber is disposed on the carrier (Fig. 12: 54 is on top of 12 which is part of the carrier 30) and optically coupled to the optical communication unit (Fig. 12: 12 is placed on top of 122; Fig. 13: the carrier 30 having portion 12 is place over 136 for alignment, Col. 8, lines 20-45), and the carrier (Fig. 12: 30 mainly portion 12 of 30) rests on the two protruding parts (top surface of 122 or Fig. 13: on top of 136). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device to contain a fiber within a carrier wherein the carrier is disposed on top of the communication unit in order to ensure good alignment for optical coupling such as features 122 or 136 for the purpose of improving optical alignment (Laninga Column 8, lines 25-40).
As for claims 4-9, Cabessa / Laninga teach the device of Claim 1, wherein Cabessa teaches and the optical fiber (Fig. 1: 200) is spatially spaced apart from the optical communication unit and the metal wire (Fig. 1: 200 / 120 or 130 and 112); wherein the fiber coupling structure further comprises an optical lens 161) and at least a part of the optical lens is located between the optical fiber and the optical communication unit (Fig. 1: 161 and 120/130 and 200).
Cabessa does not teach wherein the bending fiber array comprises a base, a cover body, and an optical fiber, the optical fiber is disposed between the base and the cover body and optically coupled to the optical communication unit, the base has a groove accommodating the optical fiber, the optical fiber has a bending part, and each of the base; wherein the optical fiber has a bare fiber end part, and at least a part of the bare fiber end part protrudes out of the base toward the optical communication unit; and wherein a minimum distance between the base and the optical communication unit is less than a minimum distance between the cover body and the optical communication unit; wherein a minimum distance between the base and the optical communication unit is greater than a minimum distance between the cover body and the optical communication unit; and wherein the bending fiber array comprises a base and an optical fiber, the optical fiber is disposed on the base and optically coupled to the optical communication unit, the base has a groove accommodating the optical fiber, the optical fiber has a bending part, and each of the base and the optical fiber is spatially spaced apart from the optical communication unit and the metal wire.
Laninga does teach the bending fiber array (Fig. 12) comprises a base (Fig. 12: base portion 12), a cover body (Fig. 12: top portion of 30 shown at element 42), and an optical fiber (Fig. 12: 54), the optical fiber is disposed between the base (12) and the cover body (42) and optically coupled to the optical communication unit (at 122 or Fig. 13: 136), the base (12) has a groove accommodating the optical fiber (Fig. 8: 84), the optical fiber has a bending part (Fig. 12: 55), and each of the base; wherein the optical fiber (54) has a bare fiber end part (Fig. 12: fiber 54 has a bare portion on top of 65), and at least a part of the bare fiber end part protrudes out of the base toward the optical communication unit (Fig. 12: see bare fiber as shown below); and wherein a minimum distance between the base and the optical communication unit (Fig. 12: distant of 12 to 122 or top of 65) is less than a minimum distance between the cover body and the optical communication unit (Fig. 12: distant of topmost portion of 42 to 122 is greater than 12 located near fiber 54 to 122 since 12 is located between 42 and 122); wherein a minimum distance between the base (Fig. 12: 12 has a far right vertical sidewall, at this location 12 to 122 is greater than some portion of 42 to 122) and the optical communication unit is greater than a minimum distance between the cover body and the optical communication unit (Fig. 12: the horizontal top distant larger in dimension than the gap that separate 12 from 122 at the location 123). Further the resulting combination will have the optical lens is disposed on at least one of the base and the cover body, and at least a part of the optical lens is located between the optical fiber and the optical communication unit since the lens of Cabessa is part of the coupling unit 163/161. Combining the lens with the structure will include the lens being inserted into the bend fiber array above the element 65 of Laninga. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fiber coupling structure at 163 in order to couple fibers light output without the need of a turning mirror or an optical prism to turn the light transmission input/output 90 degrees for low profile devices. Further the elimination of the turning mirrors or other redirecting light structure will reduce the cost of the fiber array unit.
As for claim 10, Cabessa / Laninga teach the device of Claim 1, wherein Cabessa teaches the fiber orientation is at least located above the metal wiring (Fig. 1: 200 and 112).
Cabessa does not teach a bending fiber array.
Laninga does teach a bending fiber array (Fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fiber coupling structure at 163 in order to couple fibers light output without the need of a turning mirror or an optical prism to turn the light transmission input/output 90 degrees for low profile devices. Further the elimination of the turning mirrors or other redirecting light structure will reduce the cost of the fiber array unit. The resulting combination will yield a fiber bending array located above the metal wiring as shown by Cabessa (Fig. 1: 112 and 200).
In terms of Claim 11, Cabessa teaches an optical module (Fig. 1 and 11a-b), comprising: a housing (Fig. 11b: housing of 10 Para [0063]); a substrate (Fig. 1: PCB within 10 and at 30 is shown in Fig. 1: substrate 110), disposed in the housing (PCB within 10 Paras [0063]-[0064] and [0075]); and an optical coupling configuration (Fig. 1: 100), comprising: a first optical communication assembly (Fig. 1: 120/122) and a second optical communication assembly (Fig. 1: 130/132), disposed on the substrate (Fig. 1: 120/130 and 110), wherein the second optical communication assembly comprises an optical communication unit (130) and an electronic component (132), and the optical communication unit is electrically connected to the electronic component via a metal wire (Fig. 1: 130/132 and 112); wherein the fiber is spatially spaced apart from the optical communication unit and the metal wire (Fig. 1: 200/112 and 120/130).
Cabessa does not teach a bending fiber array, crossing the first optical communication assembly and optically coupled to the optical communication unit of the second optical communication assembly.
Laninga teaches a bending fiber array (Fig. 15: 153/152), crossing the first optical communication assembly (Fig. 15: 153/152 crosses over 141) and optically coupled to the optical communication unit (Fig. 15: within 130 as shown by Fig. 14: 132 and 133) in order to couple horizontal fiber arrays (Fig. 15: 152/153) orientation vertically onto a photonic circuit substrate (Fig. 12: 50 and ends of 123 of 54). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a fiber bend array connector such as one shown by Laninga Fig. 12 in order to couple fibers without the need of a turning mirror or an optical prism to turn the light transmission input/output 90 degrees for low profile devices.
As for claim 12, Cabessa / Laninga teach the device of claim 1, wherein Cabessa further discloses the first optical communication assembly comprises a laser diode (Fig. 1: 120 is VCSEL lasers wherein VCSEL lasers are a type of laser diodes), the optical communication unit (130) of the second optical communication assembly comprises a photodiode (130), and the electronic component (132) of the second optical communication assembly comprises a transimpedance amplifier (Para [0077]).
As for claim 13, Cabessa / Laninga teach the device of claim 11, wherein Cabessa teaches wherein the substrate (Fig. 1: 110) has two protruding parts (top surface of 130 and 120).
Cabessa does not teach the bending fiber array comprises a carrier and an optical fiber, the optical fiber is disposed on the carrier and optically coupled to the optical communication unit, and the carrier rests on the two protruding parts.
Laninga teaches the bending fiber array (Fig. 12) comprises a carrier (Fig. 12: 30) and an optical fiber (Fig. 12: 54), the optical fiber is disposed on the carrier (Fig. 12: 54 is on top of 12 which is part of the carrier 30) and optically coupled to the optical communication unit (Fig. 12: 12 is placed on top of 122; Fig. 13: the carrier 30 having portion 12 is place over 136 for alignment, (Col. 8, lines 20-45)), and the carrier (Fig. 12: 30 mainly portion 12 of 30) rests on the two protruding parts (top surface of 122 or Fig. 13: on top of 136). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device to contain a fiber within a carrier wherein the carrier is disposed on top of the communication unit in order to ensure good alignment for optical coupling such as features 122 or 136 for the purpose of improving optical alignment (Laninga: Col. 8, lines 25-40).
As for claim 14, Cabessa / Laninga teach the device of claim 11.
Cabessa does not teach further comprising an upper cover disposed above the first optical communication assembly, wherein an optical fiber of the bending fiber array is optically coupled to the optical communication unit of the second optical communication assembly, and the optical fiber crosses the upper cover.
Laninga does teach an upper cover (Fig. 12: see portion of 42) disposed above the first optical communication assembly (Fig. 13: over 136 or Fig. 12 over 65), wherein an optical fiber (Fig. 12: 54) of the bending fiber array is optically coupled to the optical communication unit (Fig. 12: 54 near 65) of the second optical communication assembly, and the optical fiber (54) crosses the upper cover (Fig. 12: fiber 54 cross underneath the cover 42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the array to include an upper cover that covers the fiber and wherein the fiber cross underneath the fiber to ensure the fiber is properly aligned and to provide overheat protection for the fiber.
As for claim 15, Cabessa / Laninga teach the device of claim 11, wherein Cabessa teaches the fiber orientation is at least located above the metal wiring (Fig. 1: 200 and 112).
Cabessa does not teach a bending fiber array.
Laninga does teach a bending fiber array (Fig. 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fiber coupling structure at 163 in order to couple fibers light output without the need of a turning mirror or an optical prism to turn the light transmission input/output 90 degrees for low profile devices. Further the elimination of the turning mirrors or other redirecting light structure will reduce the cost of the fiber array unit. The resulting combination will yield a fiber bending array located above the metal wiring as shown by Cabessa (Fig. 1: 112 and 200).
In terms of claim 16, Cabessa teaches an optical coupling (Fig. 1, 11a-b) configuration in an optical module, comprising: an optical communication assembly (Fig. 1: 100), comprising an optical communication unit (Fig. 1: 120/130) and an electronic component (Fig. 1: 122/132), and the optical communication unit is electrically connected to the electronic component via a metal wire (Fig. 1: 130/132 and 112); wherein the fiber is spatially spaced apart from the optical communication unit and the metal wire (Fig. 1: 112/130 and 200).
Cabessa does not teach a bending fiber array, optically coupled to the optical communication unit.
Laninga does a bending fiber array (Fig. 12: fibers 54 in groove housing carrier 30), optically coupled to the optical communication unit (Fig. 13: 136 is the communication wherein Fig. 12: illustrate fibers 54 being coupled to base or communication unit via an interface layer 122) in order to couple horizontal fiber arrays (Fig. 12: within 50) orientation vertically onto a photonic circuit substrate (Fig. 12: 50 and ends of 123 of 54). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a fiber bend array connector such as one shown by Laninga Fig. 12 in order to couple fibers without the need of a turning mirror or an optical prism to turn the light transmission input/output 90 degrees for low profile devices.
As for Claim 17, Cabessa / Laninga teach the device of Claim 16, wherein Cabessa teaches wherein the optical communication unit comprises a photodiode (Fig. 1: 130), and the electronic component (Fig. 1: 132) comprises a transimpedance amplifier ([0077]).
As for claims 18 and 19, Cabessa / Laninga teach the device of Claim 16, .
Cabessa does not teach wherein the bending fiber array comprises a base, a cover body, and an optical fiber, the optical fiber is disposed between the base and the cover body and optically coupled to the optical communication unit, the base has a groove accommodating the optical fiber, the optical fiber has a bending part, and each of the base, the cover body, and the optical fiber is spatially spaced apart from the optical communication unit and the metal wire; wherein the fiber is spatially spaced apart from the optical communication unit and the metal wire (Fig. 1: 112/130 and 200).
Cabessa does not teach wherein the bending fiber array comprises a base and an optical fiber, the optical fiber is disposed on the base and optically coupled to the optical communication unit, the base has a groove accommodating the optical fiber, the optical fiber has a bending part, and each of the base and the optical fiber is spatially spaced apart from the optical communication unit.
Laninga does teach the bending fiber array (Fig. 12) comprises a base (Fig. 12: base portion 12), a cover body (Fig. 12: top portion of 30 shown at element 42), and an optical fiber (Fig. 12: 54), the optical fiber is disposed between the base (12) and the cover body (42) and optically coupled to the optical communication unit (at 122 or Fig. 13: 136), the base (12) has a groove accommodating the optical fiber (Fig. 8: 84), the optical fiber has a bending part (Fig. 12: 55), and each of the base; each of the base and the optical fiber is spatially spaced apart from the optical communication unit (Fig. 12 and 13: wherein structures of Fig. 12 are place over 136 of Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a bending fiber array to comprise a base, a groove with a bending portion to accommodate the bend part of the optical fiber, and a cover to provide protection to the fiber via the cover, the groove with the bending portion to control the bending radius to limit loss. One motivation would be to protect the fiber array from the environment while improving alignment and bending loss via the groove.
As for claim 20, Cabessa / Laninga teach the device of Claim 16, wherein Cabessa teaches the fiber orientation is at least located above the metal wiring (Fig. 1: 200 and 112).
Cabessa does not teach a bending fiber array.
Laninga does teach a bending fiber array (Fig. 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fiber coupling structure at 163 in order to couple fibers light output without the need of a turning mirror or an optical prism to turn the light transmission input/output 90 degrees for low profile devices. Further the elimination of the turning mirrors or other redirecting light structure will reduce the cost of the fiber array unit. The resulting combination will yield a fiber bending array located above the metal wiring as shown by Cabessa (Fig. 1: 112 and 200).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. PTO-892:C-E cites the relevant arts.
Kuang et al. (US 10,012,804 B2) teaches a fiber array bend assembly that separates the bend forming function from the fiber bend support surface. Kuang’s bend assembly simplifies the manufacturing process to precisely manufacture stable bend in fiber array without structural complexity.
Huang et al (US 9,500,820 B2) teaches a fiber array bend assembly for preserving low loss and high reliability by employing optical fiber with nanostructures that is resistant to coupling loss at tight bends.
Benjamin et al. (US 7,802,927 B2) teaches a fiber array bend assembly utilizing nanostructures fibers that allows for strong bends having tight radii of curvature while preserving low attenuation. Benjamin further teaches laser annealing the fiber, thus reducing fiber stress to ensure high reliability over the life of the coupler.`
/ERIN D CHIEM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874