DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of amendments/arguments filed on 06/08/2026.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
This application is a CON of 17/968,132 filed on 10/18/2022 now PAT 12,050,952 which is a CON of 17/390,047 filed on 07/30/2021 now PAT 11,551,050.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-15 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kato et al. (US 2013/0050035).
Re Claim 14 and 19-20: Kato et al. teaches communication terminal and card antenna module, which includes an antenna {herein card antenna module 101} for coupling with an external reader {herein communication terminal 201} (see ¶ 23+) , and at least one passive component for storing electrical energy, comprising: a chip capacitor disposed within a perimeter of the antenna (¶ 30+).
Re Claim 19: Kato et al. teaches a wireless tag {the card antenna module 101 communicates with an RFID tag attached to an article} (33+).
Re Claim 20: Kato et al. teaches a SIM card {a SIM card is a type of smart card specifically designed for mobile telecommunications} (see fig.# 7; 50+).
Re Claim 15:Kato et al. teaches a device, further comprising a chip module coupling antenna {herein the card module antenna 101 includes a semiconductor IC chip} for coupling with a chip module antenna of the electronically readable article (30+).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (US 2013/0050035) in view of Waumans et al. (CN 102656021 A).
The teachings of Kato et al. have been discussed above. Kato et al. also teaches a card antenna module that is used for, for example, an RFID system, and is useful as an article management system or the like (33+, 52+).
Kato et al. fails to specifically teach a plurality of plastic sheets, wherein the inlay is arranged between the plastic sheets.
Waumans et al. (CN 102656021 A) teaches security document having a security feature in edge, which includes a plurality of plastic sheets, wherein the inlay is arranged between the plastic sheets (see paragraph 32+).
In view of Waumans et al.’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill before the filing date of the claimed invention to employ into the teachings of Kato et al. a plurality of plastic sheets, wherein the inlay is arranged between the plastic sheets so as to attach said chip module to one of a passport sheet for wireless transmission of secure information.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13 are allowed.
Claims 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to specifically teach a metal layer having an opening, and an inlay arranged in the opening, the inlay comprising: an antenna, and a chip capacitor disposed within a perimeter of the antenna. These limitations in conjunction with other limitations in the claimed invention were not shown by the prior art of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pueschner et al. (US 2014/0042230) teaches chip card module with separate antenna and chip card inlay using same.
/EDWYN LABAZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876