Claims 2 – 22 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 USC 112 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amended claim language. The 35 USC 112 rejection of claims 2 – 21 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2 – 6, 8 – 10, 12 – 19 and 21 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amended claim language. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lampert modified by Round. See rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 – 6, 8 – 10, 12 – 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0279222 issued to Lampert (hereinafter Lampert) in view of U.S. Patent no. 7,831,548 issued to Round et al (hereinafter Round).
As to claim 2, Lampert discloses a method, comprising:
submitting, via a user device, a request comprising a link directed to a webpage wherein the content of the webpage includes a first product (user may drag a hyperlink to an item of interest into the plugin to add the associated item to shopping list, see Lampert: Para. 0054); and
receiving, via the user device, at least one piece of information related to one or more second products, wherein the one or more second products are related to the first product (prices alerts and sales for vendors for the item added to the shopping list (such as by the hyperlink of the item on a first vendors webpage) are provided to the user to either purchase in the plug-in or links to the vendors’ sites to purchase directly from the vendor, further the user may elect to have the system present other purchase options. Thus, the system may be programmed to recognize other purchase options that the customer has employed or requested in the past, and to employ the criteria used in connection with those purchase options for selecting and presenting alternative purchase options. Additionally, the system may utilize customer history as criteria for selecting and presenting alternative purchase options. For example, the system may provide greater weight towards vendors that the user has purchased from previously or repeatedly, based upon user weighting (described below) or for which the user has provided a favorable rating or has selected as a favorite vendor. In addition, the user may also edit the purchase options to select from other vendors systems, see Lampert: Para. 0054, see also Para. 0044 – 0053 and 0036 – 0042, alternative purchase options such as vendors from which the item (product) may be purchased are second products related to the first product of the current vendor page),
wherein a first piece of information and a second piece of information of the at least one piece of information are ranked relative to each other based on previous user behavior (the user may elect to have the system present other purchase options. Thus, the system may be programmed to recognize other purchase options that the customer has employed or requested in the past, and to employ the criteria used in connection with those purchase options for selecting and presenting alternative purchase options. Additionally, the system may utilize customer history as criteria for selecting and presenting alternative purchase options. For example, the system may provide greater weight towards vendors that the user has purchased from previously or repeatedly, based upon user weighting (described below) or for which the user has provided a favorable rating or has selected as a favorite vendor. In addition, the user may also edit the purchase options to select from other vendors systems, see Lampert: Para. 0041 – 0042, user’s history of employing or requesting of other purchases options and purchase from and/or favoriting certain vendors is previous user behavior, weighting certain vendors greater than others based on their previous purchase history is ranking vendors relative to each other, each vendor and/or purchase option being pieces of information),
wherein the at least one piece of information is from at least one other webpage different from the webpage and other than a version copy of the webpage (the user is provided with the option to purchase the item from various vendors directly through a checkout process by the plug-in or may access each vendor’s website directly to purchase the item, see Lampert: Para. 0041 - 0042 and 0054, see also Para. 0044 – 0053 and 0036 – 0041), and
wherein the at least one piece of information is retrieved using a database storing one or more links directed to one or more webpages, one or more products included within content of each of the one or more webpages, and one or more pieces of information related to each of the one or more products (the database is populated with items, prices, sales, coupons, quality, vendor rating, etc. for items at the various vendors, the population occurring via FTP data feeds, real-time HTTP requests, crawling systems, and/or directly from the systems, see Lampert: Para. 0031, see also Para. 0044 – 0054 and 0036 – 0042).
However, Lampert does not explicitly disclose receiving, via the user device, at least one piece of information related to one or more second products, wherein the one or more second products are related to, but different than, the first product.
Round teaches receiving, via the user device, at least one piece of information related to one or more second products, wherein the one or more second products are related to, but different than, the first product (providing similar items to a source item (identified based on user activity) and providing the top ranks similar items based on their SimStrength scores based on the list system, see Round: Col. 15 lines 33 to Col. 16 line 57, and the list system is a component of a service of the website that may be interacted with by users through browser plug-in, see Round: Col. 30 lines 45 – 67).
Round and Lampert are analogous for their disclosure of providing alternative purchase options to a product of interest.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lampert’s use of providing alternative purchase options for an item of interest, such as from different vendors for different pricing, based on a user’s history with Round’s use of providing alternative product options similar to the current product based on SimStrength scores in order to in order to provide personal shopping environments in which users can make informed purchases online (see Round: Col. 2 lines 44 – 53).
As to claim 3, Lampert modified by Round discloses the method of claim 2 wherein submitting the request includes submitting the request via a browser plugin activated on the user device (user input and checkout process occurs via a plug-in, and the plug-in may also direct the user to vendors’ website for direct purchases, see Lampert: Para. 0053 – 0054).
As to claim 4, Lampert modified by Round discloses the method of claim 2 wherein receiving the at least one piece of information includes receiving the at least one piece of information presented in a document, a single webpage, or across multiple webpages (user may drag a hyperlink to an item of interest into the plugin to add to shopping list, such as for a TV being view on Amazon.com, see Lampert: Para. 0054).
As to claim 5, Lampert modified by Round discloses the method of claim 2 wherein receiving the at least one piece of information includes receiving a plurality of pieces of information presented in an aggregated view (the user is presented purchase options by various vendors for the candidate items, and the user may be presented with a checkout process within the plug-in to purchase or given the vendor sites to purchase from directly, see Lampert: Para. 0034, 0054 and Fig. 14 – 20).
As to claim 6, Lampert modified by Round discloses the method of claim 2 wherein the first product is a good or service, and wherein receiving the at least one piece of information includes receiving at least one of an availability, a pricing, a review, or a promotional offer related to the good or service (candidate items are returned to the user from various vendors, including prices, coupons, and may be presented with factors such as lower cost, lower combined cost for multiple items, vendor rating, etc. see Lampert: Para. 0034, 0037 – 0040, 0043, 0046 – 0054).
As to claim 8, Lampert modified by Round discloses the method of claim 2 wherein submitting the request includes submitting the link without specifying keywords or search terms (user may drag a hyperlink to an item of interest into the plugin to add the associated item to shopping list, see Lampert: Para. 0054).
As to claim 9, Lampert modified by Round discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the link is a first link, and where the method further comprises submitting, via the user device, information indicating selection of certain content from within the at least one piece of information, activation of a second link from within the at least one piece of information, time spent on a given webpage associated with the at least one piece of information, or a combination thereof (a user elects to have alternative purchase options and vendors provided, the vendors being weighted based on previous user requests and/or purchase history, see Lampert: Para. 0041 – 0042, and providing the user with links to vendors and rating the vendors based on determined best purchase options, see Lampert: Para. 0046 – 0048 and Fig. 17, providing an option for a user to selection alternative purchase options to be provided and then providing various vendors from which to purchase the item so that a user may click to visit the vendor and complete the purchase is providing of first and second links that may be activated to receive a vendor list and select a vendor therefrom, or select multiple vendors as first and second links).
As to claim 10, Lampert modified by Round discloses the method of claim 2 wherein the at least one piece of information is based at least in part on (a) an analysis of at least one other webpage to determine one or more parameters related to the first product included within the content of the webpage and (b) a search for the at least one piece of information based at least in part on the one or more parameters (a user elects to have alternative purchase options and vendors provided, the vendors being weighted based on previous user requests and/or purchase history, see Lampert: Para. 0041 – 0042, and providing the user with links to vendors and rating the vendors based on determined best purchase options, see Lampert: Para. 0046 – 0048 and Fig. 17, and an item is added to the list by the provided link, the item name of the web page when the “Add This Item” button is selected, images may be processed to determine items, QR codes, item descriptions, etc., see Lampert: Para. 0033 and 0054, see also 0030 – 0034, item details such as price from the various vendors are from an analysis of the at least one other webpage).
As to claim 12, Lampert modified by Round discloses the method of claim 2 wherein the at least one piece of information is obtained as part of a search conducted using a third-party search engine (the system may use third party systems such as dealcatcher.com, pricegrabber.com, nextag.com, google.com, bizrate.com, etc. to retrieve item data that is populated into the database, including the crawling of the third party systems or vendor and third party systems may be searched directly, see Lampert: Para. 0030 – 0032).
As to claim 13, Lampert modified by Round discloses the method of claim 2 wherein the at least one piece of information is based at least in part on (a) a search of the database using the link and (b) an identification, based at least in part on the link, of the first product within the one or more web pages stored within the database (the database contains item information, links, etc., see Lampert: Para. 0030 – 0031, and when a user provides a link to the system, the database is searched and candidate items are presented as results, see Lampert: Para. 0032 – 0034, 0054).
Claims 14 and 21 are rejected using similar rationale to the rejection of claim 2 above.
Claim 15 is rejected using similar rationale to the rejection of claim 3 above.
Claim 16 is rejected using similar rationale to the rejection of claim 4 above.
Claim 17 is rejected using similar rationale to the rejection of claim 8 above.
Claim 18 is rejected using similar rationale to the rejection of claim 9 above.
Claim 19 is rejected using similar rationale to the rejection of claim 6 above.
As to claim 22, Lampert modified by Round discloses the method of claim 2 wherein the first product is an image (user can input an image of an item of interest or a link to an item of interest, see Lampert: Para. 0032 – 0033), and wherein receiving the at least one piece of information includes receiving a related image (information about candidate items can include each item image, see Lampert: Para. 0043, and further see: receiving similar items based on the source item, see Round: Col. 15 lines 33 to Col. 16 line 57).
Claim(s) 7 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lampert in view of Round, and in further view of U.S. Patent No. 9,589,292 issued to Harcar (hereinafter Harcar).
As to claim 7, Lampert modified by Round discloses the method of claim 2; however, Lampert modified by Round does not explicitly disclose wherein the first product is an article or news story, and wherein receiving the at least one piece of information includes receiving a related article or news story regarding a same event or item.
Harcar teaches wherein the first product is an article or news story, and wherein receiving the at least one piece of information includes receiving a related article or news story regarding a same event or item (the disclosed processes can also be used in other types of systems, and can be used to access information regarding digital items, such as but not limited to search results, news, real estate, social networking content, images, blogs, videos, music, movies, etc., as well as physical items, see Harcar: Col. 2 lines 33 – 55, news/blogs related to digital or physical items may be searched and retrieved/presented).
Harcar, Round and Lampert are analogous due to their disclosure of searching for items, including those for purchase, from various electronic catalogs/vendors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lampert and Round’s use of determining candidate items from multiple vendors for an item of interest to a user with Harcar’s use of the system for other uses such as for searching for news and blogs related to a digital item in order to provide users with access to an alternative version of an item for free or at reduced cost without requiring the users to manually cross providers' platform boundaries (see Harcar: Col. 2 lines 13 – 32).
Claim 20 is rejected using similar rationale to the rejection of claim 7 above.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lampert in view of Round, and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0294643 issued to Moss et al (hereinafter Moss).
As to claim 11, Lampert modified by Round discloses the method of claim 2 including the database storing information about items (information concerning items, item specifications, discounts, prices or cost, quality, vendor rating, user reviews, item reviews, item ratings, sales tax information, coupon information, rebate information, etc. is stored in the database 120, see Lampert: Para. 0031); however, Lampert modified by Round does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one piece of information is based at least in part on (a) a topic vector constructed using the webpage and (b) a comparison of the topic vector to topic vectors of other webpages.
Moss teaches wherein the at least one piece of information is based at least in part on (a) a topic vector constructed using the webpage and (b) a comparison of the topic vector to topic vectors of other webpages (feature vectors for webpages are created and compared to vectors of other web pages, see Moss: Para. 0008, 0010 – 0013, 0027, 0058, 0061, and vectors of web pages may be for product of a seller’s webpage and be used to compare with other sellers’ page for a product and can be ordered by price for a user to browse and select, via a hyperlink, to make a purchase, see Moss: Para. 0034 – 0035, 0058 and 0061).
Moss, Round and Lampert are analogous due to their disclosure of searching for items, including those for purchase, from various seller webpages.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lampert and Round’s use of determining candidate items from multiple vendors for an item of interest to a user with Moss’ use of feature vectors for items for purchase on multiple seller webpages to use in comparison for prices, etc. in order to provide a method of automatically adjusting the content of a web page to include relevant information extracted automatically from other relevant web pages (Moss: Para. 0006).
Conclusion
/MARK E HERSHLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2164