DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/753290 filed on 06/25/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herath et al. (US 20240146408, May 2, 2024) in view of Yan et al. (US 20220077886, Mat. 10, 2022).
Regarding Claim 1, Herath discloses a method for data transmission, applicable to a communication device, the method comprising determining a first time-frequency domain resource used for first data (page 18, par (0258-0259), line 1-20, TUs for control information transmission Information such as resource grid parameters are obtained by devices by receiving these TUs, information includes frequency domain and time domain resource grid information, backscatter devices find their corresponding receivers by searching for dedicated TUs, dedicated TUs used to transmit a specific sequence that devices search to locate receivers and obtain the backscatter communication information (determining time-frequency domain resources for data)).
Herath discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except determining, based on the first time-frequency domain resource, at least one code unit length used for the first data and/or at least one coding mode used for the first data.
Yan is the same field of invention teaches determining, based on the first time-frequency domain resource (page 7, par (0083), line 1-10, a time-frequency structure of a first signal that the time-frequency structure of the first signal includes N resource elements (REs), RE is the smallest resource unit in physical resources, and the RE occupies one OFDM symbol in time domain and one subcarrier in frequency domain),
at least one code unit length used for the first data and/or at least one coding mode used for the first data (page 6, par (0073), line 1-10, The Gold sequence is obtained by adding a preferred pair of two m sequences that have a same code length and a same code clock rate and performing modulo, where indicates that an order of a generator polynomial of sequence and a corresponding sequence length).
Herath and Yan are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify prior to at least one code unit length used for the first data and/or at least one coding mode used for the first data the teaching of Herath to include the where indicates that an order of a generator polynomial of sequence and a corresponding sequence length of Yan because it providing backscatter communication excitation device, a backscatter device, and a receiving device, to improve an anti-interference capability of backscatter device data, reduce persistent interference in a backscatter communication process, and improve an anti-interference capability and network performance of a backscatter communication network.
Regarding Claim 2, Herath discloses determining, based on the first time-frequency domain resource, the at least one code unit length used for the first data and/or the at least one coding mode used for the first data comprises determining a first length of the first time-frequency domain resource in time domain(page 18, par (0258-0259), line 1-20, TUs for control information transmission Information such as resource grid parameters are obtained by devices by receiving these TUs, information includes frequency domain and time domain resource grid information, backscatter devices find their corresponding receivers by searching for dedicated TUs, dedicated TUs used to transmit a specific sequence that devices search to locate receivers and obtain the backscatter communication information (determining time-frequency domain resources for data));
determining a first length group to which the first length belongs (page 16, par (0206-0207), line 1-10, A burst set group comprises R burst sets for R=3 and burst length pattern, the burst sets in a burst set group have equal burst set length, the burst set length is the same in time for consecutive burst sets);
and determining, based on a first mapping relationship, at least one code unit length corresponding to the first length group as the at least one code unit length, and/or at least one coding mode corresponding to the first length group as the at least one coding mode, wherein the first mapping relationship comprises a correspondence between each length group in at least one length group and at least one code unit length and/or at least one coding mode corresponding to the length group, and the at least one length group comprises the first length group(page 10, par (0110-0111), line 1-20, the signaling information is used to convey transmission mode selection, where there are two transmission modes, a first inter burst gap pattern is used to convey a first transmission mode selection, specifying a first associated behavior and a second inter burst gap pattern is used to convey a second transmission mode selection, signaling information is used to convey carrier usage, a first inter burst gap pattern is used to instruct less capable devices to use the carrier with no frequency shift and to instruct more capable devices use the carrier with some frequency shift. A second inter burst gap pattern is used to instruct all devices to use the carrier without a frequency shift).
Regarding Claim 3, Herath discloses different length groups in the at least one length group correspond to different coding modes and/or different code unit lengths, or part of the at least one length group correspond to a same coding mode and/or a same code unit length(page 16, par (0206-0207), line 1-10, A burst set group comprises R burst sets for R=3 and burst length pattern, the burst sets in a burst set group have equal burst set length, the burst set length is the same in time for consecutive burst sets).
Regarding Claim 4, Herath discloses determining, based on the first time-frequency domain resource, the at least one code unit length used for the first data and/or the at least one coding mode used for the first data comprises: determining a first time-domain position of the first time-frequency domain resource in time domain; and determining, based on at least one time domain resource subset corresponding to the first time-domain position, the at least one code unit length and/or the at least one coding mode (page 18, par (0258-0259), line 1-20, TUs for control information transmission Information such as resource grid parameters are obtained by devices by receiving these TUs, information includes frequency domain and time domain resource grid information, backscatter devices find their corresponding receivers by searching for dedicated TUs, dedicated TUs used to transmit a specific sequence that devices search to locate receivers and obtain the backscatter communication information (determining time-frequency domain resources for data)).
Regarding Claim 5, Herath discloses determining a first width group to which the first width belongs(page 16, par (0206-0207), line 1-10, A burst set group comprises R burst sets for R=3 and burst length pattern, the burst sets in a burst set group have equal burst set length, the burst set length is the same in time for consecutive burst sets); and determining, based on a fourth mapping relationship, at least one first code unit length corresponding to the first width group as the at least one code unit length and/or at least one first coding mode corresponding to the first width group as the at least one coding mode, wherein the fourth mapping relationship comprises a correspondence between each width group in at least one width group and at least one code unit length and/or at least one coding mode corresponding to the width group, and the at least one width group comprises the first width group(page 10, par (0110-0111), line 1-20, the signaling information is used to convey transmission mode selection, where there are two transmission modes, a first inter burst gap pattern is used to convey a first transmission mode selection, specifying a first associated behavior and a second inter burst gap pattern is used to convey a second transmission mode selection, signaling information is used to convey carrier usage, a first inter burst gap pattern is used to instruct less capable devices to use the carrier with no frequency shift and to instruct more capable devices use the carrier with some frequency shift. A second inter burst gap pattern is used to instruct all devices to use the carrier without a frequency shift).
Herath discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except determining, based on the first time-frequency domain resource, the at least one code unit length used for the first data and/or the at least one coding mode used for the first data comprises: determining a first width of the first time-frequency domain resource in frequency domain.
Yan is the same field of invention teaches determining, based on the first time-frequency domain resource, the at least one code unit length used for the first data and/or the at least one coding mode used for the first data comprises: determining a first width of the first time-frequency domain resource in frequency domain (page 7, par (0083), line 1-10, a time-frequency structure of a first signal that the time-frequency structure of the first signal includes N resource elements (REs), RE is the smallest resource unit in physical resources, and the RE occupies one OFDM symbol in time domain and one subcarrier in frequency domain).
Regarding Claim 6, Herath discloses determining, based on the first time-frequency domain resource, the at least one code unit length used for the first data the at least one coding mode used for the first data comprises determining a first frequency-domain position of the first time-frequency domain resource in frequency domain; and determining the at least one code unit length and/or the at least one coding mode based on at least one frequency domain resource subset corresponding to the first frequency-domain position(page 18, par (0258-0259), line 1-20, TUs for control information transmission Information such as resource grid parameters are obtained by devices by receiving these TUs, information includes frequency domain and time domain resource grid information, backscatter devices find their corresponding receivers by searching for dedicated TUs, dedicated TUs used to transmit a specific sequence that devices search to locate receivers and obtain the backscatter communication information (determining time-frequency domain resources for data)).
Regarding Claim 7, Herath discloses determining, based on the first time-frequency domain resource, the at least one code unit length used for the first data and/or the at least one coding mode used for the first data comprises: determining a first number of resource units comprised in the first time-frequency domain resource(page 18, par (0258-0259), line 1-20, TUs for control information transmission Information such as resource grid parameters are obtained by devices by receiving these TUs, information includes frequency domain and time domain resource grid information, backscatter devices find their corresponding receivers by searching for dedicated TUs, dedicated TUs used to transmit a specific sequence that devices search to locate receivers and obtain the backscatter communication information (determining time-frequency domain resources for data));
determining a first quantity group to which the first number belongs(page 16, par (0206-0207), line 1-10, A burst set group comprises R burst sets for R=3 and burst length pattern, the burst sets in a burst set group have equal burst set length, the burst set length is the same in time for consecutive burst sets).
Herath discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except determining, based on a seventh mapping relationship, at least one code unit length corresponding to the first quantity group as the at least one code unit length and/or at least one coding mode corresponding to the first quantity group as the at least one coding mode, wherein the seventh mapping relationship comprises a correspondence between each quantity group in at least one quantity group and at least one code unit length and/or at least one coding mode corresponding to the quantity group, and the at least one quantity group comprises the first quantity group.
Yan is the same field of invention teaches determining, based on a seventh mapping relationship, at least one code unit length corresponding to the first quantity group as the at least one code unit length and/or at least one coding mode corresponding to the first quantity group as the at least one coding mode, wherein the seventh mapping relationship comprises a correspondence between each quantity group in at least one quantity group and at least one code unit length and/or at least one coding mode corresponding to the quantity group, and the at least one quantity group comprises the first quantity group (page 8, par (0093), line 1-10, to facilitate scheduling and resource management by a backscatter communication network on communication of the backscatter device, a time resource of the backscatter communication allocated in a plurality of resource allocation manners. The following resource allocation manners refer to configuration manners of a quantity of OFDM symbol used by the backscatter device to perform backscatter communication).
Regarding Claim 8, Herath discloses determining, based on the first time-frequency domain resource, the at least one code unit length used for the first data and/or the at least one coding mode used for the first data comprises determining a first time-frequency domain position of the first time-frequency domain resource; and determining the at least one code unit length and/or the at least one coding mode based on at least one time-frequency domain resource subset corresponding to the first time-frequency domain position(page 18, par (0258-0259), line 1-20, TUs for control information transmission Information such as resource grid parameters are obtained by devices by receiving these TUs, information includes frequency domain and time domain resource grid information, backscatter devices find their corresponding receivers by searching for dedicated TUs, dedicated TUs used to transmit a specific sequence that devices search to locate receivers and obtain the backscatter communication information (determining time-frequency domain resources for data)).
Regarding Claim 9, Herath discloses a communication device, comprising: a processor and a memory for storing a computer program, wherein the processor is configured to call and execute the computer program stored in the memory to perform a method for data transmission, comprising: determining a first time-frequency domain resource used for first data(page 18, par (0258-0259), line 1-20, TUs for control information transmission Information such as resource grid parameters are obtained by devices by receiving these TUs, information includes frequency domain and time domain resource grid information, backscatter devices find their corresponding receivers by searching for dedicated TUs, dedicated TUs used to transmit a specific sequence that devices search to locate receivers and obtain the backscatter communication information (determining time-frequency domain resources for data)).
Herath discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except determining, based on the first time-frequency domain resource, at least one code unit length used for the first data and/or at least one coding mode used for the first data.
Yan is the same field of invention teaches determining, based on the first time-frequency domain resource, at least one code unit length used for the first data and/or at least one coding mode used for the first data (page 6, par (0073), line 1-10, The Gold sequence is obtained by adding a preferred pair of two m sequences that have a same code length and a same code clock rate and performing modulo, where indicates that an order of a generator polynomial of sequence and a corresponding sequence length).
Herath and Yan are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify prior to at least one code unit length used for the first data and/or at least one coding mode used for the first data the teaching of Herath to include the where indicates that an order of a generator polynomial of sequence and a corresponding sequence length of Yan because it providing backscatter communication excitation device, a backscatter device, and a receiving device, to improve an anti-interference capability of backscatter device data, reduce persistent interference in a backscatter communication process, and improve an anti-interference capability and network performance of a backscatter communication network.
Regarding Claim 10, Herath discloses the processor is configured to: determine a first length of the first time-frequency domain resource in time domain (page 18, par (0258-0259), line 1-20, TUs for control information transmission Information such as resource grid parameters are obtained by devices by receiving these TUs, information includes frequency domain and time domain resource grid information, backscatter devices find their corresponding receivers by searching for dedicated TUs, dedicated TUs used to transmit a specific sequence that devices search to locate receivers and obtain the backscatter communication information (determining time-frequency domain resources for data));
determine a first length group to which the first length belongs (page 16, par (0206-0207), line 1-10, A burst set group comprises R burst sets for R=3 and burst length pattern, the burst sets in a burst set group have equal burst set length, the burst set length is the same in time for consecutive burst sets); and determine, based on a first mapping relationship, at least one code unit length corresponding to the first length group as the at least one code unit length, and/or at least one coding mode corresponding to the first length group as the at least one coding mode, wherein the first mapping relationship comprises a correspondence between each length group in at least one length group and at least one code unit length and/or at least one coding mode corresponding to the length group, and the at least one length group comprises the first length group(page 10, par (0110-0111), line 1-20, the signaling information is used to convey transmission mode selection, where there are two transmission modes, a first inter burst gap pattern is used to convey a first transmission mode selection, specifying a first associated behavior and a second inter burst gap pattern is used to convey a second transmission mode selection, signaling information is used to convey carrier usage, a first inter burst gap pattern is used to instruct less capable devices to use the carrier with no frequency shift and to instruct more capable devices use the carrier with some frequency shift. A second inter burst gap pattern is used to instruct all devices to use the carrier without a frequency shift).
Regarding Claim 11, Herath discloses different length groups in the at least one length group correspond to different coding modes and/or different code unit lengths, or part of the at least one length group correspond to a same coding mode and/or a same code unit length(page 16, par (0206-0207), line 1-10, A burst set group comprises R burst sets for R=3 and burst length pattern, the burst sets in a burst set group have equal burst set length, the burst set length is the same in time for consecutive burst sets).
Regarding Claim 12, Herath discloses the processor is configured to: determine a first time-domain position of the first time-frequency domain resource in time domain; and determine, based on at least one time domain resource subset corresponding to the first time-domain position, the at least one code unit length and/or the at least one coding mode(page 18, par (0258-0259), line 1-20, TUs for control information transmission Information such as resource grid parameters are obtained by devices by receiving these TUs, information includes frequency domain and time domain resource grid information, backscatter devices find their corresponding receivers by searching for dedicated TUs, dedicated TUs used to transmit a specific sequence that devices search to locate receivers and obtain the backscatter communication information (determining time-frequency domain resources for data)).
Regarding Claim 13, Herath discloses determine a first width group to which the first width belongs(page 16, par (0206-0207), line 1-10, A burst set group comprises R burst sets for R=3 and burst length pattern, the burst sets in a burst set group have equal burst set length, the burst set length is the same in time for consecutive burst sets); and determine, based on a fourth mapping relationship, at least one first code unit length corresponding to the first width group as the at least one code unit length and/or at least one first coding mode corresponding to the first width group as the at least one coding mode, wherein the fourth mapping relationship comprises a correspondence between each width group in at least one width group and at least one code unit length and/or at least one coding mode corresponding to the width group, and the at least one width group comprises the first width group(page 10, par (0110-0111), line 1-20, the signaling information is used to convey transmission mode selection, where there are two transmission modes, a first inter burst gap pattern is used to convey a first transmission mode selection, specifying a first associated behavior and a second inter burst gap pattern is used to convey a second transmission mode selection, signaling information is used to convey carrier usage, a first inter burst gap pattern is used to instruct less capable devices to use the carrier with no frequency shift and to instruct more capable devices use the carrier with some frequency shift. A second inter burst gap pattern is used to instruct all devices to use the carrier without a frequency shift).
Herath discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the processor is configured to: determine a first width of the first time-frequency domain resource in frequency domain.
Yan is the same field of invention teaches the processor is configured to: determine a first width of the first time-frequency domain resource in frequency domain (page 7, par (0083), line 1-10, a time-frequency structure of a first signal that the time-frequency structure of the first signal includes N resource elements (REs), RE is the smallest resource unit in physical resources, and the RE occupies one OFDM symbol in time domain and one subcarrier in frequency domain).
Regarding Claim 14, Herath discloses the processor is configured to: determine a first frequency-domain position of the first time-frequency domain resource in frequency domain; and determine the at least one code unit length and/or the at least one coding mode based on at least one frequency domain resource subset corresponding to the first frequency-domain position(page 18, par (0258-0259), line 1-20, TUs for control information transmission Information such as resource grid parameters are obtained by devices by receiving these TUs, information includes frequency domain and time domain resource grid information, backscatter devices find their corresponding receivers by searching for dedicated TUs, dedicated TUs used to transmit a specific sequence that devices search to locate receivers and obtain the backscatter communication information (determining time-frequency domain resources for data)).
Regarding Claim 15, Herath discloses the processor is configured to: determine a first number of resource units comprised in the first time-frequency domain resource(page 18, par (0258-0259), line 1-20, TUs for control information transmission Information such as resource grid parameters are obtained by devices by receiving these TUs, information includes frequency domain and time domain resource grid information, backscatter devices find their corresponding receivers by searching for dedicated TUs, dedicated TUs used to transmit a specific sequence that devices search to locate receivers and obtain the backscatter communication information (determining time-frequency domain resources for data)); determine a first quantity group to which the first number belongs (page 16, par (0206-0207), line 1-10, A burst set group comprises R burst sets for R=3 and burst length pattern, the burst sets in a burst set group have equal burst set length, the burst set length is the same in time for consecutive burst sets).
Herath discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except determine, based on a seventh mapping relationship, at least one code unit length corresponding to the first quantity group as the at least one code unit length and/or at least one coding mode corresponding to the first quantity group as the at least one coding mode, wherein the seventh mapping relationship comprises a correspondence between each quantity group in at least one quantity group and at least one code unit length and/or at least one coding mode corresponding to the quantity group, and the at least one quantity group comprises the first quantity group.
Yan is the same field of invention teaches determine, based on a seventh mapping relationship, at least one code unit length corresponding to the first quantity group as the at least one code unit length and/or at least one coding mode corresponding to the first quantity group as the at least one coding mode, wherein the seventh mapping relationship comprises a correspondence between each quantity group in at least one quantity group and at least one code unit length and/or at least one coding mode corresponding to the quantity group, and the at least one quantity group comprises the first quantity group (page 8, par (0093), line 1-10, to facilitate scheduling and resource management by a backscatter communication network on communication of the backscatter device, a time resource of the backscatter communication allocated in a plurality of resource allocation manners. The following resource allocation manners refer to configuration manners of a quantity of OFDM symbol used by the backscatter device to perform backscatter communication).
Regarding Claim 16, Herath discloses the processor is configured to: determine a first time-frequency domain position of the first time-frequency domain resource; and determine the at least one code unit length and/or the at least one coding mode based on at least one time-frequency domain resource subset corresponding to the first time-frequency domain position(page 18, par (0258-0259), line 1-20, TUs for control information transmission Information such as resource grid parameters are obtained by devices by receiving these TUs, information includes frequency domain and time domain resource grid information, backscatter devices find their corresponding receivers by searching for dedicated TUs, dedicated TUs used to transmit a specific sequence that devices search to locate receivers and obtain the backscatter communication information (determining time-frequency domain resources for data)).
Regarding Claim 17, Herath discloses a computer-readable storage medium for storing a computer program that causes a computer to perform a method for data transmission, comprising determining a first time-frequency domain resource used for first data (page 18, par (0258-0259), line 1-20, TUs for control information transmission Information such as resource grid parameters are obtained by devices by receiving these TUs, information includes frequency domain and time domain resource grid
information, backscatter devices find their corresponding receivers by searching for dedicated TUs, dedicated TUs used to transmit a specific sequence that devices search
to locate receivers and obtain the backscatter communication information (determining time-frequency domain resources for data)).
Herath discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except determining, based on the first time-frequency domain resource, at least one code unit length used for the first data and/or at least one coding mode used for the first data.
Yan is the same field of invention teaches determining, based on the first time-frequency domain resource(page 7, par (0083), line 1-10, a time-frequency structure of a first signal that the time-frequency structure of the first signal includes N resource elements (REs), RE is the smallest resource unit in physical resources, and the RE occupies one OFDM symbol in time domain and one subcarrier in frequency domain), at least one code unit length used for the first data and/or at least one coding mode used for the first data(page 6, par (0073), line 1-10, The Gold sequence is obtained by adding a preferred pair of two m sequences that have a same code length and a same code clock rate and performing modulo, where indicates that an order of a generator polynomial of sequence and a corresponding sequence length).
Herath and Yan are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify prior to at least one code unit length used for the first data and/or at least one coding mode used for the first data the teaching of Herath to include the where indicates that an order of a generator polynomial of sequence and a corresponding sequence length of Yan because it providing backscatter communication excitation device, a backscatter device, and a receiving device, to improve an anti-interference capability of backscatter device data, reduce persistent interference in a backscatter communication process, and improve an anti-interference capability and network performance of a backscatter communication network.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
In claims 8, applicant has claimed “computer-readable storage medium” When applying the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims they covers a software operation system per.
Therefore, claim 17 is directed to non-statutory subject matter as computer program, per se.
Examiner Notice
The claims 1-17 have the limitation “and/or at least one coding mode” and “and/or different code unit lengths” and “and/or a same code unit length” and “and/or at least one first coding mode”, please clarify the language features from the limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent
to applicant's disclosure are:
Kim et al. (US 20200107324, Apr. 2, 2020) teaches Sparse-Coded Ambient Backscatter Communication Method and System.
from the examiner should be directed to IQBAL ZAIDI whose telephone number
is 571-270-3943. The examiner can normally be reached on 7:30a.m to 5:00p.m.
examiner’s supervisor, NGO RICKY can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax
phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is
assigned is 571-273-8300.
the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information
for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public
PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through
Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see
http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the
Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-
9197 (toll-free).
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464