DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 23 recites the limitation "the sensor cover” in respective line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, the introduction of “a sensor cover” in the concluding clause of each claim seems redundant and is treated as being reflective of only a singular cover element. Perhaps the sensor cover should be introduced before it is referenced?
Claims 2-22 and 24-37 are rejected based on their dependency upon claims 1 or 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-17, 19-21, 23-32, 35 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Griessbaum et al. (US 2023/0024136 A1).
Considering claim 1, Griessbaum discloses a sensor device comprising:
- a sensor module housing 301 configured to contain a sensor module 301, the sensor module housing having threads configured to engage the sensor cover 501 (Figures 4-5; [0053-54]; [0040]);
- a sensor module 301 disposed in the sensor module housing (Figures 3 and 5; [0040]; [0043]; [0053-54];
- a communication module 402, 403, 405, 406, 407 operably coupled to the sensor module 301 (Figures 3-5; [0046-54]);
- a universal interface 304 configured to couple to an option module 401-407 to provide an additional function (Figures 1-4; [0041]; [0043-54]; [0057-59]); and
- a sensor cover 501 that is sized to accommodate the communication module and a plurality of option modules, and that has threads to engaged the sensor module housing (Figures 2, 3 and 5; [0053-54]).
Considering claim 2, Greissbaum discloses that the universal interface 304 is disposed on the communication module 402, 403, 405, 406, 407 (Figures 3-5; [0043-44]; [0053]).
Considering claim 3, Griessbaum discloses that the universal interface 304 includes a connector coupled to a circuit board of the communication module (Figures 4-6; [0009], explaining that customary electronics are contained within the housings and modules; [0053-55], Figures show connection being a board holding the circuit elements of the modules and the universal interface).
Considering claim 4, Greissbaum discloses that the connector is a right-angle connector (Figures 6 and 8).
Considering claim 5, Greissbaum discloses a first option module 401-407 coupled to the universal interface 304, the first option module providing an additional function that is not provided by either the sensor module 301 or the communication module ([0044-53], multiple modules can be added in addition to any of the other communication modules, that will provide additional functions).
Considering claim 6, Greissbaum discloses that the first option module is embodied as a circuit board having a connector coupled to the universal interface (Figures 4-6, each showing boards with connectors coupled to interface 304; [0043-53]).
Considering claim 7, Greissbaum discloses that the first option module 405 includes a display 417 (Figures 1 and 4; [0049]).
Considering claim 10, Greissbaum discloses that the first option module 405 includes a local operator interface 418 (Figures 1 and 4; [0049]).
Considering claim 11, Greissbaum discloses that the first option module includes a power source (Figure 4; [0018]; [0045]; [0048]).
Considering claim 12, Greissbaum discloses that the power source is configured to provide backup power ([0048]; [0051])
Considering claim 13, Greissbaum discloses that the power source is configured to provide supplemental power ([0015-17]; [0048]; [0051]).
Considering claim 14, Greissbaum discloses that the power source is a charger ([0015-17]; [0048]; [0047]).
Considering claim 15, Greissbaum discloses that the charger is a wireless charger ([0015-17]; [0048; [0047]).
Considering claim 16, Greissbaum discloses the first option module includes a radio-frequency component ([0047]).
Considering claim 17, Greissbaum discloses that the radio-frequency component is selected from the group consisting of: a passive antenna, an active antenna, a near-field communication module, and a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) module ([0047]).
Considering claim 19, Greissbaum discloses that the circuit board includes a connector on an opposite side of the circuit board than the connector coupled to the universal interface (Figure 6; [0011]).
Considering claim 20, Griessbaum discloses a second option module 603 operably coupled to the sensor device 601 through the connector on the opposite side of the circuit board of the first option module 602 (Figure 6; [0011]; [0055]).
Considering claim 21, Greissbaum discloses that the second option module provides an additional function that is not provided by either the sensor module, the communication module, or the first option module (Figures 4-6; [0044-55], wherein each combination of stacked expansion modules provides different features and functions).
Considering claim 23, Griessbaum discloses an extended sensor system comprising:
- a sensor module housing 301 configured to contain a sensor module 301, the sensor module housing having threads configured to engage the sensor cover 501 (Figures 4-5; [0053-54]; [0040]);
- a sensor module 301 disposed in the sensor module housing (Figures 3 and 5; [0040]; [0043]; [0053-54];
- a communication module 402-403, 405-407 operably coupled to the sensor module 301 (Figures 3-5; [0046-54]);
- an option module 401-407 interposed between the sensor module 301 and a communication module 402-403, 405-407 ([0019-22], whereby the first module can be any option module 401-407 while at least one other communication module could still be above the option module; [0045-51]; [0053]), the option module providing an additional function that is not provided by either the sensor module or the communication module ([0045-53]); and
- a sensor cover that is sized to accommodate the communication module and a plurality of option modules, and that has threads to engage the sensor module housing (Figures 2, 3 and 5; [0053-54]).
Considering claim 24, Griessbaum discloses that the option module is configured to be at least partially disposed within the sensor module housing (Figure 1; [0041-42]).
Considering claim 25, Greissbaum discloses that the first option module includes a power source (Figure 4; [0018]; [0045]; [0048]).
Considering claim 26, Greissbaum discloses that the power source is configured to provide backup power ([0048]; [0051])
Considering claim 27, Greissbaum discloses that the power source is configured to provide supplemental power ([0015-17]; [0048]; [0051]).
Considering claim 28, Greissbaum discloses that the power source is a charger ([0015-17]; [0048]; [0047]).
Considering claim 29, Greissbaum discloses that the charger is a wireless charger ([0015-17]; [0048; [0047]).
Considering claim 30, Greissbaum discloses the first option module includes a radio-frequency component ([0047]).
Considering claim 31, Greissbaum discloses that the radio-frequency component is selected from the group consisting of: a passive antenna, an active antenna, a near-field communication module, and a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) module ([0047]).
Considering claim 32, Greissbaum discloses that the first option module 405 includes a display 417 (Figures 1 and 4; [0049]).
Considering claim 35, Greissbaum discloses that the first option module 405 includes a local operator interface 418 (Figures 1 and 4; [0049]).
Considering claim 37, Greissbaum, discloses a second option module interposed between the option module and the communication module, wherein the second option module provides an additional function not provided by sensor module, communication module, and first option module (Figures 4-6; [0044-55], wherein each combination of stacked expansion modules provides different features and functions, and a communication module can always be located at the top of the stack).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griessbaum et al. (US 2023/0024136 A1) in view of Field, III et al. (US 2022/0311273 A1), hereafter Field.
Considering claim 8, Griessbaum discloses the use of a generic display 417 (Figures 1 and 4; [0049]), and thus fails to disclose that the display is an LCD display.
However, Field teaches the use of an LCD display in an extension module of a modular system ([0048]; [0077]; [0092]).
The invention by Griessbaum suggests the use of a generic display being used in an extension module for on-site operator feedback and visual presentation of data/control. The invention by Field suggests at least the use of an LCD screen as a display in an extension module. One of ordinary skill in the art could have simply substituted the known equivalent LCD screen of Field for the generic display required by Griessbaum, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and repeatable. The function of a display is to provide visual output and feedback to an on-site operator, and it is understood that an LCD screen is fully capable of providing that function as well. Given the functional equivalence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute and utilize an LCD screen in the invention by Griessbaum, as taught by Field.
Considering claim 9, Griessbaum discloses the use of a generic display 417 (Figures 1 and 4; [0049]), and thus fails to disclose that the display includes at least one LED.
However, Field teaches the use of a display including at least one LED in an extension module of a modular system ([0048]; [0077]; [0092]).
The invention by Griessbaum suggests the use of a generic display being used in an extension module for on-site operator feedback and visual presentation of data/control. The invention by Field suggests at least the use of an LED-containing screen as a display in an extension module. One of ordinary skill in the art could have simply substituted the known equivalent LED-containing screen of Field for the generic display required by Griessbaum, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and repeatable. The function of a display is to provide visual output and feedback to an on-site operator, and it is understood that an LED-containing screen is fully capable of providing that function as well. Given the functional equivalence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute and utilize an LED-containing screen in the invention by Griessbaum, as taught by Field.
Considering claim 33, Griessbaum discloses the use of a generic display 417 (Figures 1 and 4; [0049]), and thus fails to disclose that the display is an LCD display.
However, Field teaches the use of an LCD display in an extension module of a modular system ([0048]; [0077]; [0092]).
The invention by Griessbaum suggests the use of a generic display being used in an extension module for on-site operator feedback and visual presentation of data/control. The invention by Field suggests at least the use of an LCD screen as a display in an extension module. One of ordinary skill in the art could have simply substituted the known equivalent LCD screen of Field for the generic display required by Griessbaum, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and repeatable. The function of a display is to provide visual output and feedback to an on-site operator, and it is understood that an LCD screen is fully capable of providing that function as well. Given the functional equivalence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute and utilize an LCD screen in the invention by Griessbaum, as taught by Field.
Considering claim 34, Griessbaum discloses the use of a generic display 417 (Figures 1 and 4; [0049]), and thus fails to disclose that the display includes at least one LED.
However, Field teaches the use of a display including at least one LED in an extension module of a modular system ([0048]; [0077]; [0092]).
The invention by Griessbaum suggests the use of a generic display being used in an extension module for on-site operator feedback and visual presentation of data/control. The invention by Field suggests at least the use of an LED-containing screen as a display in an extension module. One of ordinary skill in the art could have simply substituted the known equivalent LED-containing screen of Field for the generic display required by Griessbaum, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and repeatable. The function of a display is to provide visual output and feedback to an on-site operator, and it is understood that an LED-containing screen is fully capable of providing that function as well. Given the functional equivalence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute and utilize an LED-containing screen in the invention by Griessbaum, as taught by Field.
Claims 18 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griessbaum et al. (US 2023/0024136 A1) in view of Brown et al. (US 2006/0252387 A1).
Considering claim 18, Greissbaum discloses a wireless communication module that utilize any of a number of protocols, but fails to explicitly disclose that it includes a component selected from the group consisting of: a low noise amplifier, an active filter, and a power amplifier.
However, Brown teaches providing, in a modularized housing 70 (Figure 3; [0045]) with electrical connectivity thereto, at least one of a low noise amplifier, an active filter and a power amplifier 16 (Figures 1; [0029]; [0037]), and further suggests incorporating plural modules or “building blocks” into a single housing ([0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed into to utilize a wireless communication module, according to the teachings of Greissbaum, with the benefits provided by adding a power amplifier, as taught by Brown. The motivation for doing so is to provide a scalable output power, as suggested by Brown ([0037-39]).
Considering claim 36, Greissbaum discloses a wireless communication module that utilize any of a number of protocols, but fails to explicitly disclose that it includes a component selected from the group consisting of: a low noise amplifier, an active filter, and a power amplifier.
However, Brown teaches providing, in a modularized housing 70 (Figure 3; [0045]) with electrical connectivity thereto, at least one of a low noise amplifier, an active filter and a power amplifier 16 (Figures 1; [0029]; [0037]), and further suggests incorporating plural modules or “building blocks” into a single housing ([0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed into to utilize a wireless communication module, according to the teachings of Greissbaum, with the benefits provided by adding a power amplifier, as taught by Brown. The motivation for doing so is to provide a scalable output power, as suggested by Brown ([0037-39]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griessbaum et al. (US 2023/0024136 A1) in view of Pietrasik et al. (US 2017/0316683 A1).
Considering claim 22, Griessbaum discloses that the universal interface includes power lines ([0015-16]), digital communication ([0010]) and hardware control lines ([0005]; [0010]; [0059]), but fails to disclose that the universal interface further includes radio-frequency.
However, it is known from Piertrasik, to utilize a universal interface 144 (Figure 3C; [0092-93]) that includes digital communication lines (SPI, I2C, USB; [0074-75]; [0081]), power lines ([0071]; [0075]; [0081]; [0092-93]), and radio-frequency ([0074]; [0169-170]) and hardware control lines ([0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize radio-frequency as part of the universal interface, as taught by Piertrasik, in the invention by Griessbaum. The motivation for doing so is, as suggested by Piertrasik, is to provide a degree of modularity to the invention, which allows customization of and support of multiple expansion modules with simultaneous or concurrent communication ([0169]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are based on Figure 6 of Greissbaum, which is not used in the rejection of claims 1 or 23. Accordingly, the arguments are wholly unpersuasive. It is clear from Figure 5 that cover 501 covers all the modules and uses threads, as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN M DUNLAP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 August 6, 2026