DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/25/24 was acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
In the instant application, claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Step 1:
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are drawn to at least one of the four statutory categories of invention (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition).
Step 2A:
However, claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
For instance, regarding independent claim(s) 1, 10, 12,
Prong 1 analysis:
The limitations of “responsive to an occurrence of a progressive award growth retention event associated with a first player: determine an amount of a progressive award based on a prior gaming session of the first player, and communicate data that results of at least the determined amount of the progressive award as available to be won by the first player responsive to the first player initiating another gaming session, wherein the determined amount of the progressive award is independent of a current amount of the progressive award” (claims 1, 12), “maintain a progressive award, and responsive to an occurrence of a progressive award growth retention event associated with a first player not engaging in any current gaming session, associate with the first player at least part of an incremented amount of a progressive award previously available to be won from a prior gaming session of the first player, wherein the association guarantees, for a period of retention, a minimum amount of the progressive award for the first player responsive to the first player engaging in another gaming session” (claim 10), are considered to fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping (managing personal behavior, rules). The mere nominal recitation of generic computer elements does not take the claim out of the methods of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claim(s) recites an abstract idea.
Furthermore, dependent claims 2-9, 11, 13-20 merely include limitations that either further define the abstract idea (and thus don’t make the abstract idea any less abstract) or amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they are merely incidental or token additions to the claims that do not alter or affect how the process steps are performed. Thus, the claim(s) recites an abstract idea.
Prong 2 analysis:
The above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG because the additional elements “a processor; and a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions, a display device”, are generically recited computer elements that do not improve the functioning of a computer, or any other technology or technical field. Nor do these additional elements serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine, effect a transformation or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Furthermore, the above-identified generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. For at least these reasons, the abstract idea identified above is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG.
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer. The claimed elements are recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering and data transmission, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Each of the additional limitations are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. As such, the claim is directed to the abstract idea.
Step 2B:
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Furthermore, in view of Berkheimer, the recited additional elements are considered as conventional activity. For instance, Patton et al. (2024/0062624) teaches the recited additional elements (Fig 1-4, ¶¶0073-0075, 0091-0097).
In addition, with regards to the present claims, the courts have recognized the computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional activities when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
For instance, regarding claims 1-20, each claim describes physical or software elements that provide a generic environment in which to carry out the abstract idea, which is similar to the conventional activity or as insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting information, based on types of information, for collection, analysis and display in EPG, gathering, receiving and transmitting data in Symantec, TLI, OIP Techs., buySAFE, and rules in In re Smith.
Therefore, claim(s) 1-20 is/are therefore not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iddings et al. (2007/0218975) in view of De Waal et al. (2020/0402362).
Re Claim 1,
Iddings discloses a system comprising: a processor; and a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
determine an amount of a progressive award based on a prior gaming session of the first player (¶¶0210-0213; a personal progressive amount is determined based on a player’s gameplay contributions), and
communicate data that results in a display, by a display device, of at least the determined amount of the progressive award as available to be won by the first player responsive to the first player initiating another gaming session, wherein the determined amount of the progressive award is independent of a current amount of the progressive award (Fig 9-10, ¶¶0178, 0210-0213, 0215, 0231-0235; the signage displays different progressive that can be won by the player, further, the personal progressive is independent of the group progressive).
Iddings does not explicitly disclose responsive to an occurrence of a progressive award growth retention event associated with a first player.
However, Waal teaches responsive to an occurrence of a progressive award growth retention event associated with a first player (¶¶0153-0155; if the triggering event which provides a player an opportunity to play for one of the personal progressive awards maintained for that player occurs, the gaming system enables the player to defer or delay their participation in such an opportunity). Waal further teaches such a configuration motivates a player to continue playing the game (¶¶0009-0010). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Waal into the progressive game of Iddings in order to motivate a player to continue playing the game.
Re Claims 2, 13,
Iddings discloses the determined amount of the progressive award comprises an amount of the progressive award at a conclusion of a final play of a game of the prior gaming session of the first player (¶¶0204-0215).
Re Claims 3, 14,
Iddings discloses the determined amount of the progressive award is based on a status of the first player and an amount of the progressive award during the prior gaming session of the first player (¶¶0204-0215).
Re Claims 4, 15,
Iddings discloses the determined amount of the progressive award is based on an amount of wagers placed by the first player during the prior gaming session and an amount of the progressive award during the prior gaming session of the first player (¶¶0204-0215).
Re Claims 5, 16,
Iddings discloses the determined amount of the progressive award is based on an amount of time of the prior gaming session and an amount of the progressive award during the prior gaming session of the first player (¶¶0204-0215).
Re Claims 6, 17,
Iddings discloses the current amount of the progressive award is greater than the determined amount of the progressive award, the current amount of the progressive award is available to be won by the first player (¶¶0204-0215).
Re Claims 7, 18,
Iddings discloses the determined amount of the progressive award is based on an amount of a supplemental award pool and an amount of the progressive award during the prior gaming session of the first player (¶¶0204-0215).
Re Claims 9, 20,
Iddings discloses the determined amount of the progressive award is available to be won by the first player for a period of retention comprising part of the other gaming session (¶¶0204-0215).
Re Claim 10,
Claim is substantially similar to claim 1 and further adds responsive to an occurrence of a progressive award growth retention event associated with a first player not engaging in any current gaming session, associate with the first player at least part of an incremented amount of a progressive award previously available to be won from a prior gaming session of the first player, wherein the association guarantees, for a period of retention, a minimum amount of the progressive award for the first player responsive to the first player engaging in another gaming session. However, Waal teaches responsive to an occurrence of a progressive award growth retention event associated with a first player not engaging in any current gaming session, associate with the first player at least part of an incremented amount of a progressive award previously available to be won from a prior gaming session of the first player, wherein the association guarantees, for a period of retention, a minimum amount of the progressive award for the first player responsive to the first player engaging in another gaming session (¶¶0153-0157; the opportunity to win the personal progressive may be associated with a time of day, certain day(s) of week, a month and/or a year which they can be used). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claim 11,
Iddings discloses the minimum amount of the progressive award is based on at least one of a status of the first player, an amount of wagers placed by the first player during the prior gaming session, and an amount of time of the prior gaming session (¶¶0204-0215).
Re Claim 12,
Claim is substantially similar to claim 1. See claim 1 for rejection and motivation.
Conclusion
/JASON T YEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715