DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. The Amendment filed on January 6th 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 6, 9 and 10 have been amended, claims 1 - 10 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. §112(f)
4 Applicant's arguments, see Remarks pp. 7 - 8, filed January 6th 2026 with
respect to the rejections of grouped claims 1, 9, 10; 1 – 3, 5, 9 and 10; 8; 1, 3, 9 and 6 respectively reciting “generic domain module”, “custom domain module”, “undetermined domain module”, “cache module” and “cache mechanism” under 35 U.S.C. §112 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that, the terms cited relate to specific structure when read in light of the specification and that a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the terms as reciting structure.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. A reading of applicant’s specification does not render descriptive structures to cover the claimed terms, for example, paragraph [0043] states, “The generic domain module GDM is only able to deserialize data of a generic message, i.e. a message with a generic schema predefined before the deployment of the generic domain module and the generic database. The generic domain module GDM is linked to a generic buffer layer GBL that forms a buffer storage between the router RT and the generic domain module GDM.” From the foregoing the description shows an ability of and a linked location of the generic domain module. Applicant in his response did not provide any paragraph from the specification that buttresses his point indicative of structure that will enable of ordinary skill to decipher the structure envisioned.
The statutory rejection will be maintained.
35 U.S.C. §103
5. Applicant's arguments, see Remarks pp. 8 -10, filed January 6th 2026 with
respect to the rejections of claims 1 – 10 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully
considered but they are persuasive.
Applicant argues that there is no disclosure in the Maksumov reference of its gateway extracting identifiers of any schema based on a message type. Maksumov also does not disclose that its gateway routes messages to specific database locations based on the identifier of a database. There is no disclosure regarding directing messages to specific databases based on the schema of the message as amended in independent clam 1.
Examiner respectfully agrees
Secondly, the office action interprets there is no interrogation of a “cache module” that stores both generic and custom schema to extract the schema for subsequent routing.
Examiner respectfully agrees
Upon further consideration new grounds of rejection have been necessitated due
to Applicant's amendments and are made in view of Shah et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 20220027369) hereinafter Shah et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 20220027369) hereinafter Shah and Fowler et al., (United States Patent Number 9,973,455) hereinafter Fowler
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
obviousness or nonobviousness
Claims 1 – 4, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 20220027369) hereinafter Shah, in view of Fowler et al., (United States Patent Number 9,973,455) hereinafter Fowler
Regarding claim 1 Shah teaches an apparatus acting as an entry point (apparatus [0010]) to a cloud provider network (cloud-based computing and/or storage resources [0027]) connected to (connected to [0031]) a generic database (any one of system 204, 206 and 208. Each may store different data than one or more other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. Each may store data in the same or a different format and/or data structures as other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. [0034]) such as “generic database” able to store generic messages (query with determined attributes of query structure and type [0046]) such as “generic messages” and to a custom database (any one of system 204, 206 and 208. Each may store different data than one or more other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. Each may store data in the same or a different format and/or data structures as other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. [0034]) such as “custom database” able to store custom messages, (query with determined attributes of query structure and type [0046]) such as “custom messages” the apparatus comprising: a router (Fig. 3B query router [0009], [0042], [0043], [0059], [0074] and [0075]) configured to receive (configured to receive [0022]) generic messages (query with determined attributes of query structure and type [0046]) such as “generic messages” from a generic data source (any one of source database 308 1 through m [0068]) such as “generic data source” and custom messages (query with determined attributes of query structure and type [0046]) such as “custom messages” from a custom data source, (any one of source database 308 1 through m [0068]) such as “custom data source” each of the generic message (query with determined attributes of query structure and type [0046]) such as “generic messages” and the custom message (query with determined attributes of query structure and type [0046]) such as “custom messages” containing a message-type (type [0046]) and a payload, (data that has been selected, transformed, indexed, and/or stored in a manner associated with optimal access in connection with the query [0046]) such as “payload” a cache module (optimized plan cache [0020]) such as “cache module” storing at least an identifier of a generic schema (one or more versions or instances of optimized data as stored at various access nodes. [0055]) such as “identifier of the generic schema” associated with an identifier (application instance identifier [0033]) of the generic database(any one of system 204, 206 and 208. Each may store different data than one or more other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. Each may store data in the same or a different format and/or data structures as other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. [0034]) such as “generic database” and an identifier of a custom schema (one or more versions or instances of optimized data as stored at various access nodes. [0055]) such as “identifier of the custom schema” associated with an identifier (application instance identifier [0033])of the custom database, (any one of system 204, 206 and 208. Each may store different data than one or more other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. Each may store data in the same or a different format and/or data structures as other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. [0034]) such as “custom database” a generic domain module (one or more other data ingestion and transformation modules. [0039]) such as “generic domain module” able to deserialize (performs optimization processing to determine the optimal data structure(s) [0024]) such as “deserialize” the payload (data that has been selected, transformed, indexed, and/or stored in a manner associated with optimal access in connection with the query [0046]) such as “payload” of a generic message (query with determined attributes of query structure and type [0046]) such as “generic messages” according to the generic schema (a first system may store a set of data in one set of one or more data structures, [0034]) such as “generic schema” and to transfer (route [0042]) the generic message(query with determined attributes of query structure and type [0046]) such as “generic messages” in an expected format (data in the same or a different format and/or data structures as other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. [0034]) to the generic database (any one of system 204, 206 and 208. Each may store different data than one or more other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. Each may store data in the same or a different format and/or data structures as other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. [0034]) such as “generic database” using generic transformation rules, (performs the transformation according to a set of transformations determined by data optimizer 112 [0019]) such as “generic transformation rules” wherein the generic transformation rules (performs the transformation according to a set of transformations determined by data optimizer 112 [0019]) such as “generic transformation rules” are predefined before deployment of the generic domain module (one or more other data ingestion and transformation modules. [0039]) such as “generic domain module” and the generic database, (any one of system 204, 206 and 208. Each may store different data than one or more other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. Each may store data in the same or a different format and/or data structures as other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. [0034]) such as “generic database” a custom domain module (one or more other data ingestion and transformation modules. [0039]) such as “custom domain module” able to deserialize(performs optimization processing to determine the optimal data structure(s) [0024]) such as “deserialize” the payload (data that has been selected, transformed, indexed, and/or stored in a manner associated with optimal access in connection with the query [0046]) such as “payload” of a custom message (query with determined attributes of query structure and type [0046]) such as “custom messages” according to the custom schema (while a second system may store the same data in a different set of one or more data structures [0034]) such as “custom schema” and to transfer (route [0042])the custom message (query with determined attributes of query structure and type [0046]) such as “custom messages” in an expected format(data in the same or a different format and/or data structures as other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. [0034]) to the custom database (any one of system 204, 206 and 208. Each may store different data than one or more other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. Each may store data in the same or a different format and/or data structures as other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. [0034]) such as “custom database” using custom transformation rules, (performs the transformation according to a set of transformations determined by data optimizer 112 [0019]) such as “custom transformation rules” wherein the custom transformation rules (performs the transformation according to a set of transformations determined by data optimizer 112 [0019]) such as “custom transformation rules” are defined after the deployment of the generic domain module (one or more other data ingestion and transformation modules. [0039]) such as “generic domain module” and the generic database, (any one of system 204, 206 and 208. Each may store different data than one or more other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. Each may store data in the same or a different format and/or data structures as other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. [0034]) such as “generic database” wherein, upon reception of a generic message, (query with determined attributes of query structure and type [0046]) such as “generic messages” the router(Fig. 3B query router [0009], [0042], [0043], [0059], [0074] and [0075])) is configured to read (configured to determine [0043]) the message-type(type [0046]) to extract (ABS., extract one or more data elements associated with the request) (identifier [0046]) the identifier of the generic schema, (one or more versions or instances of optimized data as stored at various access nodes. [0055]) such as “identifier of the generic schema” to interrogate the cache module(optimized plan cache [0020]) such as “cache module” with the identifier of the generic schema (one or more versions or instances of optimized data as stored at various access nodes. [0055]) such as “identifier of the generic schema” to determine the identifier of the generic database (any one of the identifiers of corresponding data access nodes 204, 206 and 208 [0033]) such as “identifier of generic database” associated with the extracted (ABS., extract one or more data elements associated with the request) (identifier [0046]) identifier of the generic schema , (one or more versions or instances of optimized data as stored at various access nodes. [0055]) such as “identifier of the generic schema” and to transfer(client requests are received first at a central node, such as query router 240, and the central node determines for each query a data access node to which to route the query for processing [0043]) the generic message (query with determined attributes of query structure and type [0046]) such as “generic messages” to the generic domain module, wherein, upon reception of a custom message, (query with determined attributes of query structure and type [0046]) such as “custom messages” the router (Fig. 3B query router [0009], [0042], [0043], [0059], [0074] and [0075])is configured to read (configured to determine [0043]) the message-type (type [0046])to extract (ABS., extract one or more data elements associated with the request) (identifier [0046])the identifier of the custom schema, (one or more versions or instances of optimized data as stored at various access nodes. [0055]) such as “identifier of the custom schema” to interrogate the cache module (optimized plan cache [0020]) such as “cache module” the identifier of the custom schema (one or more versions or instances of optimized data as stored at various access nodes. [0055]) such as “identifier of the custom schema” to determine the identifier(application instance identifier [0033]) of the custom database (any one of system 204, 206 and 208. Each may store different data than one or more other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. Each may store data in the same or a different format and/or data structures as other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. [0034]) such as “custom database” associated with the extracted(ABS., extract one or more data elements associated with the request) (identifier [0046]) identifier of the custom schema (one or more versions or instances of optimized data as stored at various access nodes. [0055]) such as “identifier of the custom schema” and to transfer (client requests are received first at a central node, such as query router 240, and the central node determines for each query a data access node to which to route the query for processing [0043])the custom message (query with determined attributes of query structure and type [0046]) such as “custom messages” to the custom domain module, (one or more other data ingestion and transformation modules. [0039]) such as “custom domain module” wherein the cache module (optimized plan cache [0020]) such as “cache module” is updated (the continuous optimization processing determines a more highly optimized plan for the query. A subsequent query that is associated with the query for which a highly optimized plan exists in the query-optimized plan cache ( or other data store) is responded to, [0104])to store (to store [0020]) the identifier of the custom schema (one or more versions or instances of optimized data as stored at various access nodes. [0055]) such as “identifier of the custom schema” associated with the identifier (application instance identifier [0033]) of the custom database (any one of system 204, 206 and 208. Each may store different data than one or more other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. Each may store data in the same or a different format and/or data structures as other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. [0034]) such as “custom database”
Shah does not fully disclose the generic schema defining how to read/write data in the generic database, and the custom schema defining how to read/write data in the custom database, after deployment of the custom domain module.
Fowler teaches the generic schema (non-relational database format … schema-agnostic Col 16 ln 60 – 66) such as “generic schema” defining how to read/write data (table access Col 16 ln 54) in the generic database, (entity-based data store 524 Coll 16 ln 60) such as “generic database” and the custom schema (relational database format Col 16 ln 44) such as “custom schema” defining how to read/write data(table access Col 16 ln 47) in the custom database, (general data store 520 Col 16 ln 45) such as “custom database” after deployment of the custom domain module.(record management modules Col 29 ln 2 – 3) such as “custom domain module”
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shah to incorporate the teachings of Fowler whereby the generic schema defining how to read/write data in the generic database, and the custom schema defining how to read/write data in the custom database, after deployment of the custom domain module. By doing so the unique identifier and the routing of the message to its destination may be stored in a table that also includes: a geolocation of each node, a network from which the message originated, a type of node, the unique node identifier, and a time associated with the message leaving the origination node. Fowler Col 14 ln 24 - 29
Claims 9 and 10 correspond to claim 1 and are rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 2 Shah in view of Fowler teaches the apparatus (apparatus [0010])according to claim 1,
Shah as modified further teaches wherein the custom domain module(one or more other data ingestion and transformation modules. [0039]) such as “custom domain module” is deployed with custom transformation rules (performs the transformation according to a set of transformations determined by data optimizer 112 [0019]) such as “custom transformation rules” allowing deserialization (performs optimization processing to determine the optimal data structure(s) [0024]) such as “deserialization” of the custom message having the custom schema (while a second system may store the same data in a different set of one or more data structures [0034]) such as “custom schema” and allowing storage (storing [0021]) of the custom message(query with determined attributes of query structure and type [0046]) such as “custom messages” in the custom database (any one of system 204, 206 and 208. Each may store different data than one or more other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. Each may store data in the same or a different format and/or data structures as other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. [0034]) such as “custom database
Regarding claim 3 Shah in view of Fowler teaches the apparatus ((apparatus [0010]) according to claim 2,
Shah as modified further teaches wherein after deployment of the custom domain module, (one or more other data ingestion and transformation modules. [0039]) such as “custom domain module” the cache module (optimized plan cache [0020]) such as “cache module” is updated to store a key (updated optimal set and type of data structures and/or indexes to be used to store and provide access to data received [0025]) comprising an identifier of said custom schema (one or more versions or instances of optimized data as stored at various access nodes. [0055]) such as “identifier of the custom schema” and an identifier (application instance identifier [0033]) of the custom database. (any one of system 204, 206 and 208. Each may store different data than one or more other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. Each may store data in the same or a different format and/or data structures as other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. [0034]) such as “custom database”
Regarding claim 4 Shah in view of Fowler teaches the apparatus (apparatus [0010])according to claim 1,
Shah as modified further wherein the generic transformation rules (performs the transformation according to a set of transformations determined by data optimizer 112 [0019]) such as “generic transformation rules” provide a query for storage(a query provided for processing in a data access node [0014])in the generic database (any one of system 204, 206 and 208. Each may store different data than one or more other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. Each may store data in the same or a different format and/or data structures as other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. [0034]) such as “generic database” and the custom transformation rules (performs the transformation according to a set of transformations determined by data optimizer 112 [0019]) such as “custom transformation rules” provide a query for storage(a query provided for processing in a data access node [0014]) in the custom database (any one of system 204, 206 and 208. Each may store different data than one or more other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. Each may store data in the same or a different format and/or data structures as other of the systems 204, 206, and 208. [0034]) such as “custom database
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 20220027369) hereinafter Shah, in view of Fowler et al., (United States Patent Number 9,973,455) hereinafter Fowler and in further view of Maksumov et al. (United States Patent Publication Number 2016/0127514 ), hereinafter Maksumov
Regarding claim 5 Shah in view of Fowler teaches the apparatus (apparatus [0010]) according to claim 1,
Shah as modified does not fully disclose wherein the custom domain module is linked to a custom buffer layer that forms a buffer storage between the router and the custom domain module.
Maksumov teaches wherein the custom domain module(any one of the a plurality of data adapter modules 110, configured for incoming and outgoing data [0025]) such as “generic domain module” is linked to (connected [0029]) such as “linked to” a custom buffer layer (network layer [0031]) that forms a buffer storage between (storage in memory structures [0094]) such as “buffer storge” the router ( e.g. switches, routers, multiplexers [0057]) and the custom domain module (any one of the a plurality of data adapter modules 110, configured for incoming and outgoing data [0025]) such as “generic domain module”
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shah in view of Fowler to incorporate the teachings of Maksumov wherein the custom domain module is linked to a custom buffer layer that forms a buffer storage between the router and the custom domain module. By doing so although data residing on remote devices may be in a different data format, and communications may use different communications protocols, a single application module 102 can be used to process the data 152, 154, 156 following conversion of the data 152, 154, 156 to the common data format 151. Maksumov [0020]
Regarding claim 6 Shah in view of Fowler and Maksumov teaches the apparatus (apparatus [0010]) according to claim 5,
Shah as modified does not fully disclose wherein the custom buffer layer implements a queue or cache mechanism adapted for live data or a persistent storage adapted for batch data
Maksumov as modified further teaches wherein the custom buffer layer (network layer [0031]) implements a queue or cache mechanism (associated caches [0088]) adapted for (adapted to [0083]) live data (real-time data [0081]) or a persistent storage adapted for batch data.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shah in view of Fowler to incorporate the teachings of Maksumov wherein the custom buffer layer implements a queue or cache mechanism adapted for live data or a persistent storage adapted for batch data. By doing so data in various different formats, and communicated using various different protocols, can be stored in a common data format 151 and processed by various application module(s) 102. Maksumov [0027]
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 20220027369) hereinafter Shah, in view of Fowler et al., (United States Patent Number 9,973,455) hereinafter Fowler and in further view of Shubhanjali et al., (United States Patent Number 11,909,608) hereinafter Shubhanjali
Regarding claim 7 Shah in view of Fowler teaches the apparatus (apparatus [0010]) according to claim 1,
Shah as modified further teaches wherein the generic message (query with determined attributes of query structure and type [0046]) such as “generic messages” and the custom message (query with determined attributes of query structure and type [0046]) such as “custom messages”
Shah as modified does not fully disclose contain industrial telemetry data.
Shubhanjali teaches contain industrial telemetry data (context of Industrial Internet of things (IIoT) applications where telemetry data from warehouses, distribution centers, manufacturing facilities or other industrial facilities is uploaded from remote sites to a cloud-based platform service capable of supporting analytics, reporting and other analysis across multiple different tenants or sites. Col3 ln 46 - 54)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shah in view of Fowler to incorporate the teachings of Shubhanjali wherein contain industrial telemetry data. By doing so the cloud-based computing system includes a data storage element and a server coupled to the data storage element and a network to provide a platform service for obtaining telemetry data uploaded to the cloud-based computing system over the network from a gateway device at a site. Shubhanjali Col 2 ln 51 – 58
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 20220027369) hereinafter Shah, in view of Fowler et al., (United States Patent Number 9,973,455) hereinafter Fowler, in view of Eisner et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 20070171924) hereinafter Eisner and in further view of White et al, (United States Patent Publication 2023/0385259) hereinafter White
Regarding claim 8 Shah in view of Fowler teaches the apparatus (apparatus [0010]) according to claim 1,
Shah as modified further teaches wherein the router (Fig. 3B query router [0009], [0042], [0043], [0059], [0074] and [0075]) is configured to (configured to determine [0043]) transfer (route [0042]) a custom message (query with determined attributes of query structure and type [0046]) such as “custom messages”
Shah as modified does not fully disclose to an undetermined domain module to be processed by a service managing errors, when no identifier of the custom database has been determined.
Eisner teaches to an undetermined domain module (information queue module 205 [0034], [0035]) such as “undetermined domain module” to be processed by a service managing errors,( an abstract queue with associated error queue on which are placed messages that are not able to be processed for some reason, along with an error message ( e.g., in a fixed format) describing the error. [0035])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shah in view of Fowler to incorporate the teachings of Eisner wherein to an undetermined domain module to be processed by a service managing errors. By doing so if the delivery mechanism is a JMS message broker, and the message cannot reach the intended message broker queue, then the message will be placed in the message broker's error queue. Eisner [0035]
White teaches when no identifier (UUID index [0030]) such as “identifier” of the custom database (database 510 [0030]) such as “custom database” has been determined (The server 140 can also determine that the database 510 does not have the local UUID index [0030])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shah in view of Fowler and Eisner to incorporate the teachings of White wherein when no identifier of the custom database has been determined. By doing so the server 140 can send a response 560 including an indication that the database 510 does not have a local UUID index, and also including the local ID 550 of the equivalent record in the database 510. Upon receiving the response 560, the database 500 can send a request 570 including the local ID 550 to the database 510. The database 510 can respond with the record having the local ID 550. White [0031]
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure.
Ho et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 2017/0270316) teaches “ Persistent storage 113 may take various forms depending on the particular implementation. For example, persistent storage 113 may be disk storage 111, a flash memory, optical disk, magnetic tape, cloud storage devices, or some combination
of the above. [0018]”
examiner should be directed to Kweku Halm whose telephone number is (469) 295-
9144. The examiner can normally be reached on 7:30AM - 5:30PM Mon - Thur. If
attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's
supervisor, Sanjiv Shah can be reached on (571) 272-4098. The fax phone
number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-
8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published
applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information
for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more
information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have
questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/KWEKU WILLIAM HALM/Examiner, Art Unit 2166
/SANJIV SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2166