2. Claims 1-20 are pending. Bolded claim language below regards newly amended subject matter with a corresponding new rejection citation. Newly amended subject matter that is not bolded does not comprise a new rejection citation (utilizes previous interpretation that is unchanged in view of the new language) or is a newly added claim.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Newly amended subject matter states to “actively monitor a presence, an absence, or a movement of the driver in the driver’s seat or the passenger in the passenger seat”.
Applicant’s remarks filed 1/8/2026 describes that there is no need for a driver/passenger to perform an operation on the display in order for the system to determine the presence of the passenger. This remarks implies that claiming “active monitoring for presence or absence” is capable of determining presence without physical display input.
“Actively monitoring” is a known term particular to networking which is not what the subject matter regards. Active sensors and passive sensors are a known terminology within the field regarding respectively sensors that add energy (for example radar) or remove energy (for example light sensors like CCD and non-infrared cameras in general). The current application’s originally filed specification does not utilize the terminology of active or passive in regards to sensing/monitoring or specifically describe the example of not requiring physical input. Paragraph [0049], of the current application, does state that a camera is utilized to determine the presence or absence of a passenger. However, as described above, a camera is a “passive sensor” or “passively monitors” and cannot be considered to actively monitor.
Therefore, since the term “actively sensor” comprises a known definition within the art and there are no disclosed active sensors by the specification, the subject matter of “actively monitoring” is seen as new matter. Applicant can overcome this rejection by claiming a camera or passively monitoring (as is supported by the specification). The below rejection will interpret the subject matter as a passive sensor such as a camera.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Saka et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0308501), herein after referred to as Saka.
Regarding independent claim 10, Saka discloses a method of controlling a cockpit system in a vehicle (Figure 1 reference display device 100 for a vehicle and figure 5 reference method of controlling.), the cockpit system including a front display including a first in-vehicle infotainment (IVI) display, and a second IVI display (Figures 1-2A reference first display unit 170 and second display unit 180 described in paragraph [0040] to respectively be disposed on a driver’s seat side and passenger seat side.), the method comprising:
determining whether a passenger is present in a passenger seat through a sensor that actively monitors the presence or absence of the passenger in the passenger seat (Paragraphs [0118]-[0120] describes to recognize if a person sits in a driver or passenger seat via camera (a passive sensor). See 112 regarding “actively” interpretation.);
in response to the determination that the passenger is present in the passenger seat, activating the second in-vehicle infotainment (IVI) display and controlling the second IVI display to receive a control signal independently of the first IVI display (Figures 3A-3C and paragraphs [0097]-[0100] describes accepting operation from 114 (passenger) and no content is displayed on the display 180. After accepting input from the passenger (114), the second display 180 displays content app1 while the first display continues to display app6, independently, or stops the display of the first display 170.); and
in response to a determination that the passenger is not present in the passenger seat, deactivating the second IVI display (Figure 2D and paragraph [0057] describes determining that a first/driver occupant is accepted in operation region 172. Please note, paragraphs [0118] and [0120] describes the determination by camera. Paragraph [0058] describes to stop display of content on the second display. Paragraph [0059] details stopping of display represents that a display image of content is not displayed on a display unit. This is found to be within a scope of interpretation of “deactivating the display”. It is noted there are other means of deactivating the display such as by powering off the display but the claims do not limit the scope to such.) or controlling the second IVI display and the first IVI display as one display in conjunction with each other,
wherein the first IVI display is optimized for viewing a driver and the second IVI is optimized for viewing by the passenger (It is noted the current application’s originally filed specification does not utilize the word optimized. While the specification is not required to use the exact wording, this opens the scope of interpretation in view of the specification. Paragraph [0038] of the originally filed specification of the current application describes the front display is preferably disposed across the front of the passenger and driver’s seat. This is the interpretation utilized by the office action for “optimized”. Prior art Saka paragraph [0040] describes the display 180 to be provided on a passenger’s seat side and display 170 to be provided on a driver’s seat side.).
Regarding claim 11, Saka discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the front display further comprises:
a first shy button for providing a function that may be used by the driver (Support for “shy” is found in applicant’s originally filed paragraph [0040] to “refer to buttons configured to be recognized in a user’s field of view, only when needed…providing a function that the driver/passenger may use. This describes the label “shy” does not comprise patentable weight. Claiming a “shy” button is interpreted that same as claiming simply a button.) (Figures 1-2A reference first operation unit 112 described in paragraph [0042] to regard a GUI switch such as an image of a selection button and dial.); and
a second shy button. for providing a function that may be used by the passenger (Figures 1-2A reference first operation unit 114 described in paragraph [0044] to regard a GUI switch such as an image of a selection button and dial.).
Regarding claim 20, Saka discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the sensor comprises a camera (paragraphs [0118] and [0120] describes the determination by camera).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 13-16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saka, in view of Jeon et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0130449), herein after referred to as Jeon.
Regarding independent claim 1, Saka discloses a cockpit system provided in a vehicle (Figure 1 reference display device 100 for a vehicle.), comprising:
a front display disposed in front of a driver's seat and a passenger seat of the vehicle, the front display including a plurality of display areas (Figures 1-2A reference first display unit 170 and second display unit 180 described in paragraph [0040] to respectively be disposed on a driver’s seat side and passenger seat side. Paragraph [0048] describes the display 170 to be disposed at the driver’s seat side or in the center of the dashboard. Paragraph [0049] describes display 180 to be provided in parallel to the first display 170 at approximately the same plane in the depth direction. This describes both displays to be respectively in front of the driver and passenger seats.);
an operating system configured to receive an operation signal from a driver in the driver’s seat or a passenger in the passenger seat (Figure 1 reference operation unit 110 described in paragraph [0042] to accept an operation of selecting content on one or both of the displays 170 and 180.);
a sensor configured to actively monitor a presence, an absence, or a movement of the driver in the driver’s seat or the passenger in the passenger seat (Paragraphs [0118]-[0120] describes to recognize if a person sits in a driver or passenger seat via camera (a passive sensor). See 112 regarding “actively” interpretation.); and
a controller configured to control at least one display among the plurality of display areas of the front display (Figure 1 reference display control unit 130 described in paragraph [0046] to control both displays 170 and 180.), or control the operating system based on the monitoring by the sensor (Paragraph [0120] describes 130 to use the camera in determining content selection.),
wherein the plurality of display areas includes a first region optimized for viewing by the driver and a second region optimized for viewing by the passenger (It is noted the current application’s originally filed specification does not utilize the word optimized. While the specification is not required to use the exact wording, this opens the scope of interpretation in view of the specification. Paragraph [0038] of the originally filed specification of the current application describes the front display is preferably disposed across the front of the passenger and driver’s seat. This is the interpretation utilized by the office action for “optimized”. Prior art Saka paragraph [0040] describes the display 180 to be provided on a passenger’s seat side and display 170 to be provided on a driver’s seat side.), and
wherein the controller is further configured to expand the first region into the second region (Figure 4B and paragraph [0102] describes displaying single content across both displays 170+180.) [ ].
Saka does not specifically disclose wherein the controller is further configured to expand the first region into the second region upon a determination that the passenger is not present in the passenger seat.
Jeon discloses wherein the controller is further configured to expand the first region into the second region upon a determination that the passenger is not present in the passenger seat (Figures 7a-7d and paragraph [0154] describes detecting if a passenger, besides the driver exists, to display figures 7a or 7b with a passenger area 3. Otherwise, if a passenger does not exist in the vehicle, figures 7c or 7d are displayed without a passenger area 3 expanding the first/driver’s area 1.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Saka’s first/driver and second/passenger display area with the known technique of wherein the controller is further configured to expand the first region into the second region upon a determination that the passenger is not present in the passenger seat yielding the predictable results of only displaying driver and driving assist data as disclosed by Jeon (paragraph [0154]).
Regarding claim 2, Saka discloses the cockpit system of claim 1, wherein the first region includes a first shy button (Support for “shy” is found in applicant’s originally filed paragraph [0040] to “refer to buttons configured to be recognized in a user’s field of view, only when needed…providing a function that the driver/passenger may use. This describes the label “shy” does not comprise patentable weight. Claiming a “shy” button is interpreted that same as claiming simply a button.) (Figures 1-2A reference first operation unit 112 described in paragraph [0042] to regard a GUI switch such as an image of a selection button and dial.), and a first in-vehicle infotainment (IVI) display (Figures 1-2A reference image display region 174 of first display unit 170 as described in paragraph [0055] to display content such as apps.), and
wherein the second region includes a second IVI display (Figures 1-2A reference image display region 184 of second display unit 180 as described in paragraph [0056] to display content such as apps.), and a second shy button (Figures 1-2A reference first operation unit 114 described in paragraph [0044] to regard a GUI switch such as an image of a selection button and dial.).
Regarding claim 3, Saka discloses the cockpit system of claim 2, wherein the controller is further configured to:
determine whether the passenger is present in the passenger seat through the sensor (Paragraphs [0118]-[0120] describes to recognize if a person sits in a driver or passenger seat.); and
in response to a determination that the passenger is not present in the passenger seat, deactivate the second IVI display (Figure 2D and paragraph [0057] describes determining that a first/driver occupant is accepted in operation region 172. Please note, paragraphs [0118] and [0120] describes the determination by camera. Paragraph [0058] describes to stop display of content on the second display. Paragraph [0059] details stopping of display represents that a display image of content is not displayed on a display unit. This is found to be within a scope of interpretation of “deactivating the display”. It is noted there are other means of deactivating the display such as by powering off the display but the claims do not limit the scope to such.) or control the second IVI display and the first IVI display to be displayed as one display in conjunction with each other (Figure 4b and paragraph [0074] describes accepting driver input (172) and display app5 across both displays as one display.).
Regarding claim 4, Saka discloses the cockpit system of claim 2, wherein the controller is further configured to:
determine whether the passenger is present in the passenger seat through the sensor (Paragraphs [0118]-[0120] describes to recognize if a person sits in a driver or passenger seat.); and
in response to a determination that the passenger is present in the passenger seat, activate the second IVI display and enable the second IVI display to receive a control signal independently of the first IVI display (Figures 3A-3C and paragraphs [0097]-[0100] describes accepting operation from 114 (passenger) and no content is displayed on the display 180. After accepting input from the passenger (114), the second display 180 displays content app1 while the first display continues to display app6, independently, or stops the display of the first display 170.).
Regarding claim 5, Saka discloses the cockpit system of claim 4, wherein in response to the determination through the sensor that the passenger has operated the first IVI display (Paragraphs [0118]-[0120] describes to recognize if a person sits in a driver or passenger seat.), the controller is further configured not to input a signal of the operation to the first IVI display (Paragraph [0083] describes operation of an occupant in the passenger seat do not change the content of the displays, describing a scope of interpretation regarding “not to input a signal”.).
Regarding claim 6, Saka discloses the cockpit system of claim 4, wherein in response to the determination through the sensor and the front display that the driver has applied a same input as a preset touch input on the first IVI display, the controller is further configured to:
control a first area of the first IVI display to receive operations of the driver and the passenger; and
control; a second area of the first IVI display to receive only an operation signal of the driver (Paragraph [0121] describes preventing a passenger operation from changing the content of the driver’s display, describing the driver’s display to only receive a driver’s input (Such as shown in figures 3A-3C). Paragraphs [0055]-[0058] describes accepting a driver’s input for display of content on the passenger’s display 184 as shown in figures 2A-2F. Said passenger’s display 184, described in paragraphs [0065]-[0072] and figures 3A-3C, to also accept passenger input. This describes the second display 180 to accept both driver and passenger input to display content but the first display 170 to only accept driver input.).
Regarding claim 7, Saka discloses the cockpit system of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to:
determine whether a passenger is present in the passenger seat through the sensor (Paragraphs [0118]-[0120] describes to recognize if a person sits in a driver or passenger seat.);
deactivate a passenger operating system area of the operating system (Paragraph [0059] details stopping of display represents that a display image of content is not displayed on a display unit. This is found to be within a scope of interpretation of “deactivating a passenger operating system area of the operating system”.) in response to a determination that the passenger is not present in the passenger seat (Paragraph [0058] describes driver and not passenger input/presence (paragraph [0118]).); and
activate a passenger operating system area of the operating system in response to a determination that the passenger is present in the passenger seat (Figure 3A and paragraphs [0065]-[0067] describes to display content, app1, in response to input/presence (paragraph [0118]) from a passenger. Displaying content from a stopped state is within the scope of “activating an area of the operating system”.).
Regarding independent claim 13, Saka discloses a cockpit system provided in a vehicle (Figure 1 reference display device 100 for a vehicle.), comprising:
a front display disposed in front of a driver's seat and a passenger seat of the vehicle, the front display including a plurality of display areas (Figures 1-2A reference first display unit 170 and second display unit 180 described in paragraph [0040] to respectively be disposed on a driver’s seat side and passenger seat side. Paragraph [0048] describes the display 170 to be disposed at the driver’s seat side or in the center of the dashboard. Paragraph [0049] describes display 180 to be provided in parallel t the first display 170 at approximately the same plane in the depth direction. This describes both displays to be respectively in front of the driver and passenger seats.);
an operating system configured to receive an operation signal from a driver in the driver’s seat or a passenger in the passenger seat (Figure 1 reference operation unit 110 described in paragraph [0042] to accept an operation of selecting content on one or both of the displays 170 and 180.);
a camera configured to actively monitor at least one of the driver is in the driver’s seat, the passenger in the passenger seat, or a combination thereof (Paragraphs [0118]-[0120] describes to recognize if a person sits in a driver or passenger seat via camera (a passive sensor). See 112 regarding “actively” interpretation.); and
a controller configured to:
determine a presence, an absence, or a movement of at least one of the driver in the driver’s seat, the passenger in the passenger seat, or a combination thereof based on the monitoring by the camera (Figure 1 reference display control unit 130 described in paragraph [0046] to control both displays 170 and 180. Paragraph [0120] describes 130 to use the camera in determining content selection.); and
at least one of, control at least one display among the plurality of displays of the front display, control the operating system in conjunction with the camera, or a combination thereof (Paragraph [0120] describes 130 to use the camera in determining content selection.).
wherein the plurality of display areas includes a first region optimized for viewing by the driver and a second region optimized for viewing by the passenger (It is noted the current application’s originally filed specification does not utilize the word optimized. While the specification is not required to use the exact wording, this opens the scope of interpretation in view of the specification. Paragraph [0038] of the originally filed specification of the current application describes the front display is preferably disposed across the front of the passenger and driver’s seat. This is the interpretation utilized by the office action for “optimized”. Prior art Saka paragraph [0040] describes the display 180 to be provided on a passenger’s seat side and display 170 to be provided on a driver’s seat side.), and
wherein the controller is further configured to expand the first region into the second region (Figure 4B and paragraph [0102] describes displaying single content across both displays 170+180.) [ ].
Saka does not specifically disclose wherein the controller is further configured to expand the first region into the second region upon a determination that the passenger is not present in the passenger seat.
Jeon discloses wherein the controller is further configured to expand the first region into the second region upon a determination that the passenger is not present in the passenger seat (Figures 7a-7d and paragraph [0154] describes detecting if a passenger, besides the driver exists, to display figures 7a or 7b with a passenger area 3. Otherwise, if a passenger does not exist in the vehicle, figures 7c or 7d are displayed without a passenger area 3 expanding the first/driver’s area 1.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Saka’s first/driver and second/passenger display area with the known technique of wherein the controller is further configured to expand the first region into the second region upon a determination that the passenger is not present in the passenger seat yielding the predictable results of only displaying driver and driving assist data as disclosed by Jeon (paragraph [0154]).
Regarding claim 14, Saka discloses the cockpit system of claim 13, wherein front display further includes a first in-vehicle infotainment (IVI) display included in the first region (Figures 1-2A reference 170), and a second IVI display included in the second region (180).
Regarding claim 15, Saka discloses the cockpit system of claim 14, the controller is further configured to:
in response to a determination that the passenger is present in the passenger seat, activate the second in-vehicle infotainment (IVI) display and control the second IVI display to receive a control signal independently of the first IVI display (Figures 3A-3C and paragraphs [0097]-[0100] describes accepting operation from 114 (passenger) and no content is displayed on the display 180. After accepting input from the passenger (114), the second display 180 displays content app1 while the first display continues to display app6, independently, or stops the display of the first display 170.); and
in response to a determination that the passenger is not present in the passenger seat, deactivate the second IVI display (Figure 2D and paragraph [0057] describes determining that a first/driver occupant is accepted in operation region 172. Pleas note, paragraphs [0118] and [0120] describes the determination by camera. Paragraph [0058] describes to stop display of content on the second display. Paragraph [0059] details stopping of display represents that a display image of content is not displayed on a display unit. This is found to be within a scope of interpretation of “deactivating the display”. It is noted there are other means of deactivating the display such as by powering off the display but the claims do not limit the scope to such.) or control the second IVI display and the first IVI display as one display in conjunction with each other (Figure 4b and paragraph [0074] describes accepting driver input (172) and display app5 across both displays as one display.).
Regarding claim 16, Saka discloses the cockpit system of claim 13, wherein the front display further includes a first shy button near the driver’s seat (Support for “shy” is found in applicant’s originally filed paragraph [0040] to “refer to buttons configured to be recognized in a user’s field of view, only when needed…providing a function that the driver/passenger may use. This describes the label “shy” does not comprise patentable weight. Claiming a “shy” button is interpreted that same as claiming simply a button.) (Figures 1-2A reference first operation unit 112 described in paragraph [0042] to regard a GUI switch such as an image of a selection button and dial.) and a second shy button near the passenger seat (Figures 1-2A reference first operation unit 114 described in paragraph [0044] to regard a GUI switch such as an image of a selection button and dial.).
Regarding claim 18, Saka discloses the cockpit system of claim 13, wherein the vehicle comprise at least one of an automobile, a mobile device, a mobility device, or any combination thereof (Paragraph [0004] describes the invention in regards to a vehicle with a driver and passenger inherent to an automobile. In view of the current application’s specification a mobile device and mobility device are within the same scope of interpretation regarding an automobile and/or vehicle.).
Regarding claim 19, Saka discloses the cockpit system of claim 1, wherein the sensor comprises a camera (paragraphs [0118] and [0120] describes the determination by camera).
7. Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saka-Jeon in view of Gireddy (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0284020).
Regarding claim 8, Saka discloses the cockpit system of claim 2, wherein the controller is further configured to:
determine whether the passenger is present in the passenger seat through the sensor (Paragraphs [0118]-[0120] describes to recognize if a person sits in a driver or passenger seat.);
[ ].
Saka does not specifically disclose deactivate the second shy button, upon a determination that the passenger is not present in the passenger seat; and activate the second shy button, upon a determination that the passenger is present in the passenger seat.
Gireddy discloses to deactivate a button, upon a determination that the passenger is not present [ ] (Figure 4 and paragraph [0051] describes to disable/turn off a display operating panel 314, comprising virtual buttons 402, when there are no passengers.); and
activate the button, upon a determination that the passenger is present [ ] (Paragraph [0052] describes to activate the virtual element button 402 when a passenger’s hand is near to the element (present).).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Saka’s driver presence in a driver seat and passenger’s presence in a passenger seat via a sensor with the known technique of disabling by turning off the display/virtual button yielding the predicable results of power savings when no passenger is present as disclosed by Gireddy (paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 17, Saka discloses the cockpit system of claim 16, wherein the controller is further configured to:
Saka does not specifically disclose deactivate the second shy button, upon a determination that the passenger is not present in the passenger seat; and activate the second shy button, upon a determination that the passenger is present in the passenger seat.
Gireddy discloses to deactivate a button, upon a determination that the passenger is not present [ ] (Figure 4 and paragraph [0051] describes to disable/turn off a display operating panel 314, comprising virtual buttons 402, when there are no passengers.); and
activate the button, upon a determination that the passenger is present [ ] (Paragraph [0052] describes to activate the virtual element button 402 when a passenger’s hand is near to the element (present).).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Saka’s driver presence in a driver seat and passenger’s presence in a passenger seat via a camera with the known technique of disabling by turning off the display/virtual button yielding the predicable results of power savings when no passenger is present as disclosed by Gireddy (paragraph [0051]).
8. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saka in view of Gireddy (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0284020).
Regarding claim 12, Saka discloses the method of claim 11.
Saka does not specifically disclose wherein the method further comprises: deactivating the second shy button in response to a determination that the passenger is not present in the passenger seat; and activating the second shy button in response to a determination that the passenger is present in the passenger seat.
Gireddy discloses to deactivate a button, upon a determination that the passenger is not present [ ] (Figure 4 and paragraph [0051] describes to disable/turn off a display operating panel 314, comprising virtual buttons 402, when there are no passengers.); and
activate the button, upon a determination that the passenger is present [ ] (Paragraph [0052] describes to activate the virtual element button 402 when a passenger’s hand is near to the element (present).).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Saka’s driver presence in a driver seat and passenger’s presence in a passenger seat via a camera with the known technique of disabling by turning off the display/virtual button yielding the predicable results of power savings when no passenger is present as disclosed by Gireddy (paragraph [0051]).
9. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saka-Jeon in view of Amano et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0193644), herein after referred to as Amano.
Regarding claim 9, Saka discloses the cockpit system of claim 1.
Saka does not specifically disclose wherein the controller is further configured to move the front display downward based on a low signal among operation signals, and wherein the cockpit system further comprises a see-through panel configured to provide information to the driver and the passenger by transmitting light from a lower area of the front display after the front display is moved downward
Amano discloses wherein the controller is further configured to move the front display downward based on a low signal among operation signals (Figure 7 reference S5 and S7 to move the display downward. Paragraph [0058] describes figure 7 as a flow of process executed by the control device 26, describe the flow to regard signals.), and
wherein the cockpit system further comprises a see-through panel configured to provide information to the driver and the passenger by transmitting light from a lower area of the front display after the front display is moved downward (Paragraph [0054] describes the display to comprise a touch panel to display soft keys to move the display up and down.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Saka’s display with the known technique wherein the controller is further configured to move the front display downward based on a low signal among operation signals, and wherein the cockpit system further comprises a see-through panel configured to provide information to the driver and the passenger by transmitting light from a lower area of the front display after the front display is moved downward yielding the predictable results of enabling different positions of the display to make is easier for the driver, front passenger, and rear passenger(s) to view the display as disclosed by Amano (paragraph [0016]).
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant's arguments filed 1/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In addition to the 112 new matter rejections, applicant implies the terminology of “actively monitoring” to exclude physical input by the passenger to a display (a very specific situation). No such situations are described by the specification. The current application’s originally filed specification examples the use of a camera that monitors the seats of the passenger and driver.
It is inherent that a person must enter the vehicle and physical sit in the seat for a determination, via camera monitoring, that a person is in the seat or not. Therefore, the person may be said to be performing a physical input in order for the monitoring and determination to be performed. The prior art discloser of physical input on a display screen and the current application implied discloser of physical input via body movement into the monitoring range of the camera are two different types of physical input not differentiated by the current state of the claims.
Further, the newly amended claim language is written as an “or” statement to monitor presence, absence, or a movement of the driver/passenger in respective seats. Prior art Saka, as previously cited, paragraph [0118] specifically cites the use of a camera and determination unit 120 to estimate a sitting position of a person who operates the operation unit 110. The temporal order, as implied by applicant’s argument, is to first determine physical input and in response thereto determine the person who operates the display via the camera. While the temporal order comprises an additional step it does not negate the discloser of the camera still utilized to determine the presence and absence of the particular passenger.
For example, paraph [0119], “a person who sites in the driver’s seat may be determined to be the person who operates the display” is a discloser of determine presence of the driver in the driver seat and absence of the passenger in terms of who provided input to the display. Further, paragraph [0120], the operation unit 110 selects an operation and display content on the basis of the selection result is a discloser of controlling the display based on the monitoring by the camera sensor. The rejection is upheld unmodified in view of the newly amended subject matter.
It is suggested in order to overcome the current rejection to claim the temporal order. For example, if determination of a person in a respective seat is done before an input is received and reflected by the display such should be claimed. However, in the current state of the claims moot of any temporal order and the “or” statement the rejection is upheld and non-final.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER E LEIBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621