DETAILED ACTIONS
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/25/2026 has been entered in full.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The amendment for claim 1 changes the scope of claim because every limitation of claims 2 and 3 is not added to amend the claim.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: "product detection device", "a control device", "imaging devices", and "quality judgement module" in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11, 15-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al., (CN108956619A, published 12/07/2018, Espacenet translation provided by Examiner), hereinafter referred to as Liu, in view of Sundaram et al., (WO2018/051366 A1), hereinafter referred to as Sundaram.
Claim 1
Liu discloses a product detection system (Liu, [008], “the application provides a product appearance detecting device and a detecting method to better control the quality of the manufactured product”), comprising:
a cabinet including an upper cabinet and a lower cabinet (Liu, Fig. 1, shows a top cabinet and a lower cabinet);
a product detection device (Liu, [0011], “an imaging component and a processing module, wherein the imaging component is configured to acquire appearance information of a product to be detected, and the processing module is electrically connected to the imaging component for analyzing the appearance information”) installed in the upper cabinet (Liu, Fig. 2) and detecting a quality of a product (Liu, [0028], “Detecting each surface of the product for detection, the detecting device obtains the appearance information of the product to be detected, and performs quality inspection and analysis on the appearance information to obtain whether the product has a defect detection result, and transmits the detection result to the blanking conveying device”), the product detection device includes a product conveying device conveying a product (Liu, [0014], “a blank conveying device, the cutting conveying device is electrically connected to the detecting device, and classifies and outputs the product according to the detection result.”) and a plurality of imaging devices arranged at different positions in a conveying direction of the product (Liu, Fig. 2, [0015], “the product detecting device has a plurality of detecting stations, and each of the detecting stations is configured to perform parallel detection on a plurality of the products to be detected to obtain the appearance of a plurality of the products to be detected”, [0088], “each of the inspection stations is provided with an imaging assembly 226 or scanning device capable of performing photographing or scanning of all the to-be-detected portions 11 of a product to be inspected 10”, [0089], “the imaging assembly 226 includes a combined light source illumination member for imaging the appearance of the product 10 to be inspected, and a camera 2263 for obtaining appearance information for improving the imaging effect”), the imaging devices capturing images of the product from a plurality of different orientations (Liu, [0087], “The detecting portion (which may include four sides of the front, the back, the left side, and the right side) and the lower end detecting portion, as shown in FIG. 2, FIG. 3 and FIG. 8, the plurality of detecting stations of the above embodiment may be the first detecting station respectively. 221, a second detecting station 222 and a third detecting station 223, wherein the first detecting station 221 can be used for detecting the foregoing upper end detecting portion, and the second detecting station 222 can be used for detecting the side detecting portion. The third detecting station 223 can be used to detect the foregoing lower end detecting portion, and each product to be detected 10 can be sequentially passed through the first detecting station 221, the second detecting station 222 and the third detecting station 223”, [0087], “each product to be detected 10 can be sequentially passed through the first detecting station 221, the second detecting station 222 and the third detecting station 223”); and
a control device (Liu, Fig. 1, [0089], “. The to-be-detected portion 11 is photographed to form a picture containing appearance information, and the imaging unit 226 is electrically connected to the imaging processing module, and the imaging unit 226 transmits the picture containing the appearance information to the imaging processing module, the imaging processing module”) installed in the lower cabinet (Liu, Fig. 1 and Fig. 2, the detecting machine is on the top cabinet and the computing device is on the lower cabinet) and electrically connected to the product detection device (Liu, Fig 2, [0011], “a detecting device, comprising: an imaging component and a processing module, wherein the imaging component is configured to acquire appearance information of a product to be detected, and the processing module is electrically connected to the imaging component for analyzing the appearance information, To obtain test results”), the control device includes a quality judgment module determining whether a quality of the product is qualified based on the captured images (Liu, [0089], “The to-be-detected portion 11 is photographed to form a picture containing appearance information, and the imaging unit 226 is electrically connected to the imaging processing module, and the imaging unit 226 transmits the picture containing the appearance information to the imaging processing module, the imaging processing module The information is subjected to visual inspection analysis to determine whether the product is a test result of the qualified product, and the detection result is Transmitted to the feeder means 23. The picture can visually present the appearance information of the product. As shown in FIG. 2, the appearance information of the product to be detected 10 can be directly presented on the display screen of the display 24 in the form of a picture, so that the worker can intuitively obtain the appearance information. , directly understand whether the product's outer casing is defective and what kind of defects exist”).
Liu does not explicitly disclose a storage device storing a plurality of different quality judgement modules corresponding to a plurality of different products.
However, Sundaram teaches a storage device (Sundaram, [0003], “The known method of inspection involves pre feeding of ideal product details such as length, breadth, height, surface, texture, material and the like into a computer system which is in communication with the apparatus meant to inspect. According to the received information from the computer system, the apparatus compares the details of the product with that of pre-fed ideal details and thus identifies the defective products”, computer has a storage device) storing a plurality of different quality judgement modules (Sundaram, [0021], “the apparatus is in communication with a central processing unit, configured with a self learning module. Initially, the inspection apparatus is fed with a set of exemplary products, which is a set taken from manufactured products, through which the inspection module captures the product specific details such as product specifications, dimensions and the surface details. The captured data is sent to the central processing unit, where the self learning module automatically determines reference data for the product based on the most common characteristics of the exemplary product set. The reference data may be defined as an ideal or reference dimension, size, surface design, weight, user specific settings and other parameters of the manufactured products detected using exemplary products. Also, there may be a provision to pre-set the level of defect acceptance by the user.”, [0022], “different components of the inspection apparatus self calibrate based on the received reference data and examine the manufactured products. As a part of the examination or inspection, the apparatus rejects the products which do not the match with the reference data.”, the learning module changes or self calibrate based on the product that is being inspected which means there is not only one module but rather different versions of one module which is analogous to different quality judgement modules) corresponding to a plurality of different products (Sundaram, [0026], “ A set of exemplary products are fed to the inspection apparatus 112, where the inspection module captures product specific details such as product specifications, dimensions and the surface details. Captured data is sent to the central processing unit 110 configured with a self learning module (not shown in the fig), via network 114, where the captured data is analyzed and processed to obtain reference data based on the most common characteristics of the exemplary product set. The reference data is sent to the inspection apparatus 112, where the inspections of similar products are carried out.”).
Liu and Sundaram are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of product detection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as taught by Liu to incorporate the teachings of Sundaram a storage device storing a plurality of quality judgment modules corresponding to different products. Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to readily modify and/or adapt for various applications such specific embodiments without departing from the generic concept (Sundaram, [0050])
Claim 2
The combination of Liu in view of Sundaram discloses the product detection system according to claim 1 (Liu, [008], “the application provides a product appearance detecting device and a detecting method to better control the quality of the manufactured product”), wherein the imaging devices (Liu, Fig. 2, [0015], “the product detecting device has a plurality of detecting stations, and each of the detecting stations is configured to perform parallel detection on a plurality of the products to be detected to obtain the appearance of a plurality of the products to be detected”, [0088], “each of the inspection stations is provided with an imaging assembly 226 or scanning device capable of performing photographing or scanning of all the to-be-detected portions 11 of a product to be inspected 10”, [0089], “the imaging assembly 226 includes a combined light source illumination member for imaging the appearance of the product 10 to be inspected, and a camera 2263 for obtaining appearance information for improving the imaging effect”) include a first imaging device capturing a first image of the product from a first orientation (Liu, [0087], “The detecting portion (which may include four sides of the front, the back, the left side, and the right side) and the lower end detecting portion, as shown in FIG. 2, FIG. 3 and FIG. 8, the plurality of detecting stations of the above embodiment may be the first detecting station respectively. 221, a second detecting station 222 and a third detecting station 223”), the quality judgment module judges whether the quality of the product is qualified based on the first image of the product (Liu, [0087], “wherein the first detecting station 221 can be used for detecting the foregoing upper end detecting portion, and the second detecting station 222 can be used for detecting the side detecting portion. The third detecting station 223 can be used to detect the foregoing lower end detecting portion”, [0078], “the detecting device 22 is configured to obtain appearance information of the product to be inspected 10, and perform quality inspection and analysis on the appearance information to determine whether the product has a defect detection result”, [0085], “the detecting device 22 may have multiple detecting stations, and each detecting station may perform appearance quality inspection on the product 10 to be tested”, [0089], “The information is subjected to visual inspection analysis to determine whether the product is a test result of the qualified product, and the detection result is Transmitted to the feeder means 23”).
Claim 3
The combination of Liu in view of Sundaram discloses the product detection system according to claim 2 (Liu, [008], “the application provides a product appearance detecting device and a detecting method to better control the quality of the manufactured product”), wherein the control device (Liu, Fig. 1, [0089], “. The to-be-detected portion 11 is photographed to form a picture containing appearance information, and the imaging unit 226 is electrically connected to the imaging processing module, and the imaging unit 226 transmits the picture containing the appearance information to the imaging processing module, the imaging processing module”) includes: an identification device identifying one of the quality judgment modules corresponding to the product based on the first image (Liu, [0083], The control product 10 to be tested is moved to a corresponding detection station, which can more accurately identify the part of the product to be tested that needs to be detected, so as to improve the accuracy of the detection result”, the detecting station can be selected based on identifying the part of the product that needs to be detected, each detecting station has its own ability to detect the quality of the product), and after identifying the quality judgment module (Liu, [0087], “The product appearance detecting device 20 can specifically set the number of the detecting station and the part responsible for detecting the detecting station according to the structure of the product that the user needs to detect, so that the product appearance detecting device 20 is more flexible and can also win”), the control device uses the one of the quality judgment modules to determine whether the quality of the product is qualified (Liu, [0089], “The to-be-detected portion 11 is photographed to form a picture containing appearance information, and the imaging unit 226 is electrically connected to the imaging processing module, and the imaging unit 226 transmits the picture containing the appearance information to the imaging processing module, the imaging processing module The information is subjected to visual inspection analysis to determine whether the product is a test result of the qualified product, and the detection result is Transmitted to the feeder means 23. The picture can visually present the appearance information of the product. As shown in FIG. 2, the appearance information of the product to be detected 10 can be directly presented on the display screen of the display 24 in the form of a picture, so that the worker can intuitively obtain the appearance information. , directly understand whether the product's outer casing is defective and what kind of defects exist”).
Claim 4
The combination of Liu in view of Sundaram discloses the product detection system according to claim 3 (Liu, [008], “the application provides a product appearance detecting device and a detecting method to better control the quality of the manufactured product”), further comprising a first waste recycling device downstream of the first imaging device, and when the quality judgment module determines that the quality of the product is unqualified based on first image, the control device controls the first waste recycling device to recycle the unqualified product from the product conveying device (Liu, [0090], “The above-mentioned blank conveying device 23 may further include a plurality of product passages 232, specifically, the qualified product passages 2321, the unqualified product passages 2322, and the rejected product passages, and the blanking conveying device 23 may move the detected products according to the detection results. Go to the corresponding product channel 232 and output, which can help the product to be classified, so that the staff can deal with it in time, the qualified products are delivered and shipped in time, the unqualified products are timely adjusted or disposed of, and the products rejected are promptly found to be rejected”).
Claim 7
The combination of Liu and Sundaram discloses the product detection system according to claim 3 (Liu, [008], “the application provides a product appearance detecting device and a detecting method to better control the quality of the manufactured product”), wherein the imaging devices further include a second imaging device downstream of the first waste recycling device (Liu, Fig. 2, [0015], “the product detecting device has a plurality of detecting stations, and each of the detecting stations is configured to perform parallel detection on a plurality of the products to be detected to obtain the appearance of a plurality of the products to be detected”, [0088], “each of the inspection stations is provided with an imaging assembly 226 or scanning device capable of performing photographing or scanning of all the to-be-detected portions 11 of a product to be inspected 10”, [0089], “the imaging assembly 226 includes a combined light source illumination member for imaging the appearance of the product 10 to be inspected, and a camera 2263 for obtaining appearance information for improving the imaging effect”), the second imaging device captures a second image of the product from a second orientation different from the first orientation (Liu, [0087], “The detecting portion (which may include four sides of the front, the back, the left side, and the right side) and the lower end detecting portion, as shown in FIG. 2, FIG. 3 and FIG. 8, the plurality of detecting stations of the above embodiment may be the first detecting station respectively. 221, a second detecting station 222 and a third detecting station 223”),, the quality judgment module judges whether the quality of the product is qualified based on the second image (Liu, [0087], “wherein the first detecting station 221 can be used for detecting the foregoing upper end detecting portion, and the second detecting station 222 can be used for detecting the side detecting portion. The third detecting station 223 can be used to detect the foregoing lower end detecting portion”, [0078], “the detecting device 22 is configured to obtain appearance information of the product to be inspected 10, and perform quality inspection and analysis on the appearance information to determine whether the product has a defect detection result”, [0085], “the detecting device 22 may have multiple detecting stations, and each detecting station may perform appearance quality inspection on the product 10 to be tested”, [0089], “The information is subjected to visual inspection analysis to determine whether the product is a test result of the qualified product, and the detection result is Transmitted to the feeder means 23”).
Claim 8
The combination of Liu and Sundaram discloses the product detection system according to claim 7 (Liu, [008], “the application provides a product appearance detecting device and a detecting method to better control the quality of the manufactured product”), further comprising a second waste recycling device downstream of the second imaging device for recycling unqualified products, wherein when the quality judgment module determines that the quality of the detected product is unqualified based on the captured second image, the control device controls the second waste recycling device to recycle the unqualified product from the product conveying device (Liu, [0090], “The above-mentioned blank conveying device 23 may further include a plurality of product passages 232, specifically, the qualified product passages 2321, the unqualified product passages 2322, and the rejected product passages, and the blanking conveying device 23 may move the detected products according to the detection results. Go to the corresponding product channel 232 and output, which can help the product to be classified, so that the staff can deal with it in time, the qualified products are delivered and shipped in time, the unqualified products are timely adjusted or disposed of, and the products rejected are promptly found to be rejected”).
Claim 11
The combination of Liu in view of Sundaram discloses the product detection system according to claim 1 (Liu, [008], “the application provides a product appearance detecting device and a detecting method to better control the quality of the manufactured product”), further comprising a qualified product recycling device downstream of the product conveying device for recycling qualified products, and when the quality judgment module determines the quality of the product based on the captured images, the control device controls the qualified product recycling device to recycle the qualified product from the product conveying device (Liu, [0090], “The above-mentioned blank conveying device 23 may further include a plurality of product passages 232, specifically, the qualified product passages 2321, the unqualified product passages 2322, and the rejected product passages, and the blanking conveying device 23 may move the detected products according to the detection results. Go to the corresponding product channel 232 and output, which can help the product to be classified, so that the staff can deal with it in time, the qualified products are delivered and shipped in time, the unqualified products are timely adjusted or disposed of, and the products rejected are promptly found to be rejected”).
Claim 15
The combination of Liu in view of Sundaram discloses the product detection system according to claim 1 (Liu, [008], “the application provides a product appearance detecting device and a detecting method to better control the quality of the manufactured product”), further comprising a product supply device supplying the products to the product conveying device (Liu, [0078], “The product appearance detecting device 20 includes an upper feeding device 21, a detecting device 22 and a blanking conveying device 23, wherein the feeding device 21 and the feeding device 23 are both for conveying products, so both can be specifically transported. a machine, for example, a belt conveyor, a roller conveyor, etc.; the detecting device 22 is configured to obtain appearance information of the product to be inspected 10”).
Claim 16
The combination of Liu in view of Sundaram discloses the product detection system according to claim 15 (Liu, [008], “the application provides a product appearance detecting device and a detecting method to better control the quality of the manufactured product”), wherein the product supply device includes: a supply hopper having an inlet portion outside the upper cabinet and an outlet portion inside the upper cabinet (Liu, Fig. 2, Feeding device 21, [0079], “[0079] The loading conveyance device 21 in the above embodiment may include a product placement portion 211 and a loading drive portion 212. The product placement unit 211 is configured to place the product to be inspected 10. Specifically, the product to be inspected 10 can be manually placed on the product placement portion 211. Another preferred manner is that the product to be inspected 10 can be placed by a robot. The product placement portion 211 can save labor. Further, as shown in FIG. 8, the product placement portion 211 can also directly interface with the product outlet of the injection molding machine 30 for producing products to receive the product 10 to be inspected.”); and a vibrating tray receiving products output from the outlet portion of the supply hopper and transporting the received products to the product conveying device through vibration (Liu, [0081], “the product to be inspected 10 is placed on the product placing portion 211, and the loading driving portion 212 is moved by the driving product placing portion 211 to drive the aforementioned product 10 to be detected to move; wherein the device further includes rotation Mechanism and product moving structure, the product to be tested moves to the detecting station under the action of the product moving mechanism, and the rotating structure rotates the product to be detected at the detecting station, and the detecting device can treat the product to be detected during the rotating process”, the rotation mechanism creates vibration that moves the product).
Claim 17
The combination of Liu in view of Sundaram discloses the product detection system according to claim 16 (Liu, [008], “the application provides a product appearance detecting device and a detecting method to better control the quality of the manufactured product”), wherein the product conveying device has a product conveying channel that extends along a straight line, an inlet of the product conveying channel is docked with an outlet of the vibrating tray, the vibrating tray transports the products to the inlet of the product conveying channel of the product conveying device through vibration (Liu, [0081], “the product to be inspected 10 is placed on the product placing portion 211, and the loading driving portion 212 is moved by the driving product placing portion 211 to drive the aforementioned product 10 to be detected to move; wherein the device further includes rotation Mechanism and product moving structure, the product to be tested moves to the detecting station under the action of the product moving mechanism, and the rotating structure rotates the product to be detected at the detecting station, and the detecting device can treat the product to be detected during the rotating process”, the rotation mechanism creates vibration that moves the product, Fig. 2 shows that the conveying channel is in a straight line).
Claim 20
The combination of Liu in view of Sundaram discloses the product detection system according to claim 16 (Liu, [008], “the application provides a product appearance detecting device and a detecting method to better control the quality of the manufactured product”), wherein a plurality of retractable supporting legs and a plurality of wheels are installed at a bottom of the cabinet, and when the supporting legs are extended, the cabinet is supported by the supporting legs, and when the supporting legs are retracted, the cabinet is supported by the wheels and movable by the wheels (Liu, Fig. 1, 26 and 27, [0095], “. The pulley 26 can be disposed at the bottom of the product appearance detecting device 20 for moving the product appearance detecting device 20, making the product appearance detecting device 20 move more labor-saving and more flexible; the fixing frame 27 can be moved or fixedly set.”).
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Sundaram in view of Chen et al., (CN111389765A, published 07/10/2020, Espacenet translation provided by Examiner), hereinafter referred to as Chen.
Claim 5
The combination of Liu in view of Sundaram discloses the product detection system according to claim 4 (Liu, [008], “the application provides a product appearance detecting device and a detecting method to better control the quality of the manufactured product”).
The combination of Liu in view of Sundaram does not explicitly disclose comprising a first sensor installed on the product conveying device to detect whether the product has been conveyed to a first detection station corresponding to the first imaging device, and when the first sensor detects that the product has been transported to the first detection station, the first sensor sends a first trigger signal to the control device, the control device sends a first control signal to capture the first image of the product to the first imaging device when the control device receives the first trigger signal.
However, Chen teaches comprising a first sensor installed on the product conveying device to detect whether the product has been conveyed to a first detection station corresponding to the first imaging device (Chen, [0092], “And the height of the top surface of the first conveyor belt 31 is lower than the height of the bottom surface of the second conveyor belt 32, and the tail end of the first conveyor belt 31 is arranged opposite to the head end of the second conveyor belt 32, and a Hall is arranged above the head end of the first conveyor belt 31 For the sensor 11, a line scan camera 51 is provided above the middle of the first conveyor belt 31, and a Hall sensor 12 and a line scan camera 52 are provided below the head end of the second conveyor belt 32. The line scan camera 52 is located downstream of the Hall sensor 12, and Along the conveying direction of the second conveyor belt 32, a qualified frame 41 and a reject frame 42 are sequentially placed below the line scan camera 52 of the second conveyor belt 32”), and when the first sensor detects that the product has been transported to the first detection station, the first sensor sends a first trigger signal to the control device, the control device sends a first control signal to capture the first image of the product to the first imaging device when the control device receives the first trigger signal (Chen, [0092], “After the head end of the product 20 is detected by the Hall sensor 11, the signal is transmitted to the processing unit. The processing unit controls the line scan camera 51 to start taking pictures of the top surface of the product 20”).
Liu, Sundaram, and Chen are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of product detection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as taught by Liu and Sundaram to incorporate the teachings of Chen of a first sensor installed on the product conveying device to detect whether the product has been conveyed to a first detection station corresponding to the first imaging device and when the first sensor detects that the product has been transported to the first detection station, the first sensor sends a first trigger signal to the control device, the control device sends a first control signal to capture the first image of the product to the first imaging device when the control device receives the first trigger signal. Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to improve the efficiency of product surface quality detection (Chen, [007]).
Claim 9
The combination of Liu in view of Sundaram discloses the product detection system according to claim 7 (Liu, [008], “the application provides a product appearance detecting device and a detecting method to better control the quality of the manufactured product”).
The combination of Liu in view of Sundaram does not explicitly disclose further comprising a second sensor on the product conveying device that detects whether the product has been conveyed to a second detection station corresponding to the second imaging device, and when the second sensor detects that the product has been transported to the second detection station, the second sensor sends a second trigger signal to the control device, the control device sends a second control signal to capture a second image of the product to the second imaging device when the control device receives the second trigger signal.
However, Chen teaches comprising a second sensor on the product conveying device that detects whether the product has been conveyed to a second detection station corresponding to the second imaging device (Chen, [0092], “And the height of the top surface of the first conveyor belt 31 is lower than the height of the bottom surface of the second conveyor belt 32, and the tail end of the first conveyor belt 31 is arranged opposite to the head end of the second conveyor belt 32, and a Hall is arranged above the head end of the first conveyor belt 31 For the sensor 11, a line scan camera 51 is provided above the middle of the first conveyor belt 31, and a Hall sensor 12 and a line scan camera 52 are provided below the head end of the second conveyor belt 32. The line scan camera 52 is located downstream of the Hall sensor 12, and Along the conveying direction of the second conveyor belt 32, a qualified frame 41 and a reject frame 42 are sequentially placed below the line scan camera 52 of the second conveyor belt 32”, Liu teaches different imaging devices at different detection stations, Chen teaches having a sensor at the detecting station to trigger if the product is there or not), and when the second sensor detects that the product has been transported to the second detection station, the second sensor sends a second trigger signal to the control device, the control device sends a second control signal to capture a second image of the product to the second imaging device when the control device receives the second trigger signal (Chen, [0092], “After the head end of the product 20 is detected by the Hall sensor 11, the signal is transmitted to the processing unit. The processing unit controls the line scan camera 51 to start taking pictures of the top surface of the product 20”, Liu teaches different imaging devices at different detection stations, Chen teaches having a sensor at the detecting station to trigger if the product is there or not).
Liu, Sundaram, and Chen are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of product detection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as taught by Liu and Sundaram to incorporate the teachings of Chen of a second sensor on the product conveying device that detects whether the product has been conveyed to a second detection station corresponding to the second imaging device, and when the second sensor detects that the product has been transported to the second detection station, the second sensor sends a second trigger signal to the control device, the control device sends a second control signal to capture a second image of the product to the second imaging device when the control device receives the second trigger signal. Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to improve the efficiency of product surface quality detection (Chen, [007]).
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Sundaram in view of Zhu et al., (CN115382794A, published 11/25/2022, Espacenet translation provided by Examiner), hereinafter referred to as Zhu.
Claim 6
The combination of Liu in view of Sundaram discloses the product detection system according to claim 4 (Liu, [008], “the application provides a product appearance detecting device and a detecting method to better control the quality of the manufactured product”), wherein the first waste recycling device (Liu, [0090], “The above-mentioned blank conveying device 23 may further include a plurality of product passages 232, specifically, the qualified product passages 2321, the unqualified product passages 2322, and the rejected product passages, and the blanking conveying device 23 may move the detected products according to the detection results. Go to the corresponding product channel 232 and output, which can help the product to be classified, so that the staff can deal with it in time, the qualified products are delivered and shipped in time, the unqualified products are timely adjusted or disposed of, and the products rejected are promptly found to be rejected”) includes: a first discharge channel fixed to the product conveying device and communicated with a product conveying channel of the product conveying device; a first guiding device guiding unqualified products from the product conveying channel to the first discharge channel (Liu, [0090], “The above-mentioned blank conveying device 23 may further include a plurality of product passages 232, specifically, the qualified product passages 2321, the unqualified product passages 2322, and the rejected product passages, and the blanking conveying device 23 may move the detected products according to the detection results. Go to the corresponding product channel 232 and output, which can help the product to be classified, so that the staff can deal with it in time, the qualified products are delivered and shipped in time, the unqualified products are timely adjusted or disposed of, and the products rejected are promptly found to be rejected”).
The combination of Liu in view of Sundaram does not explicitly disclose a first waste recycling bin below an outlet of the first discharge channel and receiving unqualified products output from the first discharge channel.
However, Zhu teaches a first waste recycling bin below an outlet of the first discharge channel and receiving unqualified products output from the first discharge channel (Zhu, [0014], “the collection channel is set above the turntable collection box; the turntable collection box is divided into multiple storage spaces to store different types of unqualified products”, [0013], “; The rejecting controller is connected to classify and remove the unqualified products to be inspected into different collection boxes when the unqualified products to be inspected need to be removed”).
Liu, Sundaram, and Zhu are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of product detection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as taught by Liu and Sundaram to incorporate the teachings of Zhu of a first waste recycling bin below an outlet of the first discharge channel and receiving unqualified products output from the first discharge channel. Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to greatly reducing the workload of production personnel and reducing production costs (Zhu, [0023]).
Claim 10
The combination of Liu and Sundaram discloses the product detection system according to claim 7 (Liu, [008], “the application provides a product appearance detecting device and a detecting method to better control the quality of the manufactured product”), wherein the second waste recycling device (Liu, [0090], “The above-mentioned blank conveying device 23 may further include a plurality of product passages 232, specifically, the qualified product passages 2321, the unqualified product passages 2322, and the rejected product passages, and the blanking conveying device 23 may move the detected products according to the detection results. Go to the corresponding product channel 232 and output, which can help the product to be classified, so that the staff can deal with it in time, the qualified products are delivered and shipped in time, the unqualified products are timely adjusted or disposed of, and the products rejected are promptly found to be rejected”) includes: a second discharge channel fixed to the product conveying device and communicated with a product conveying channel of the product conveying device; a second guiding device guiding unqualified products from the product conveying channel to the second discharge channel (Liu, [0090], “The above-mentioned blank conveying device 23 may further include a plurality of product passages 232, specifically, the qualified product passages 2321, the unqualified product passages 2322, and the rejected product passages, and the blanking conveying device 23 may move the detected products according to the detection results. Go to the corresponding product channel 232 and output, which can help the product to be classified, so that the staff can deal with it in time, the qualified products are delivered and shipped in time, the unqualified products are timely adjusted or disposed of, and the products rejected are promptly found to be rejected”); and a second waste recycling bin below an outlet of the second discharge channel that receives unqualified products output from the second discharge channel.
The combination of Liu and Sundaram does not explicitly disclose a second waste recycling bin below an outlet of the second discharge channel that receives unqualified products output from the second discharge channel.
However, Zhu teaches a second waste recycling bin below an outlet of the second discharge channel that receives unqualified products output from the second discharge channel (Zhu, [0014], “the collection channel is set above the turntable collection box; the turntable collection box is divided into multiple storage spaces to store different types of unqualified products”, [0013], “; The rejecting controller is connected to classify and remove the unqualified products to be inspected into different collection boxes when the unqualified products to be inspected need to be removed”, Liu teaches having different detection stations and Zhu teaches having a collection box to collect unqualified products).
Liu, Sundaram, and Zhu are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of product detection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as taught by Liu and Sundaram to incorporate the teachings of Zhu of a second waste recycling bin below an outlet of the second discharge channel that receives unqualified products output from the second discharge channel. Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to greatly reducing the workload of production personnel and reducing production costs (Zhu, [0023]).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Sundaram in further view of Zhao et al., (CN108971009A, published 12/11/2018, Espacenet translation provided by Examiner), hereinafter referred to as Zhao.
Claim 12
The combination of Liu in view of Sundaram discloses the product detection system according to claim 1 (Liu, [008], “the application provides a product appearance detecting device and a detecting method to better control the quality of the manufactured product”), wherein the qualified product recycling device (Liu, [0090], “The above-mentioned blank conveying device 23 may further include a plurality of product passages 232, specifically, the qualified product passages 2321, the unqualified product passages 2322, and the rejected product passages, and the blanking conveying device 23 may move the detected products according to the detection results. Go to the corresponding product channel 232 and output, which can help the product to be classified, so that the staff can deal with it in time, the qualified products are delivered and shipped in time, the unqualified products are timely adjusted or disposed of, and the products rejected are promptly found to be rejected”) includes: a conical guide device movably installed on the product conveying device and having an inlet connected to an outlet of the product conveying device ([Liu, [0020], “the blank conveying device includes an acceptable product passage, a defective product passage, and a reject product passage, and the blank conveying device outputs the product from one of the foregoing three”); a plurality of discharge channels arranged side by side for receiving products output from an outlet of the conical guide device (Liu, [0090], “The above-mentioned blank conveying device 23 may further include a plurality of product passages 232, specifically, the qualified product passages 2321, the unqualified product passages 2322, and the rejected product passages, and the blanking conveying device 23 may move the detected products according to the detection results”, Fig. 2, there are 3 channels connected to the conveying device which include the qualified product passage, the blanking conveying device is used as the guide device to direct where the product would go to).
The combination of Liu in view of Sundaram does not explicitly disclose a plurality of qualified product recycling bins arranged side by side and located below a plurality of outlets of the discharge channels, respectively, for receiving qualified products output from the outlets of the discharge channels, the outlet of the conical guide device can be moved to any one of a plurality of different positions that are respectively docked with a plurality of inlets of the discharge channels to guide the qualified products sequentially into the discharge channels.
However, Zhao teaches a plurality of qualified product recycling bins arranged side by side and located below a plurality of outlets of the discharge channels, respectively, for receiving qualified products output from the outlets of the discharge channels, the outlet of the conical guide device can be moved to any one of a plurality of different positions that are respectively docked with a plurality of inlets of the discharge channels to guide the qualified products sequentially into the discharge channels (Zhao, [0077], “If the first detecting module 24 detects that each face of the product is qualified, the product is placed in the first receiving tray 261; if the first detecting module 24 detects that at least one of the faces of the product is unqualified, the product is placed In the second receiving tray 262; if the second detecting module 23 detects that each side of the product is qualified, the product is left in the first tray 261; if the second detecting module 23 detects that at least one surface of the product is unqualified The product is transferred from the first receiving tray 261 to the third receiving tray 263.”, [0091], “The receiving tray management module 27 is disposed in the cabinet 10, wherein a plurality of empty receiving trays are stored in the feeding tray management module 27, and the receiving tray management module 27 is configured to transfer the empty receiving trays to the receiving materials. Module 26, thereby replenishing the receiving tray 26 with the first receiving tray 261 and the third receiving tray 263.”, Zhao teaches that the cabinet can hold a plurality of first receiving trays, [0097], “if the receiving module 26 can store up to 10 first receiving trays 261, if the number of the first receiving trays 261 in the receiving module 26 has reached 10, the receiving module 26 can be output to the output module.”).
Liu and Zhao are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of product detection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as taught by Liu to incorporate the teachings of Zhao of a plurality of qualified product recycling bins arranged side by side and located below a plurality of outlets of the discharge channels, respectively, for receiving qualified products output from the outlets of the discharge channels, the outlet of the conical guide device can be moved to any one of a plurality of different positions that are respectively docked with a plurality of inlets of the discharge channels to guide the qualified products sequentially into the discharge channels. Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to reduce cost (Zhao, [007]).
Claim 13
The combination of Liu in view of Sundaram in view of Zhao discloses the product detection system according to claim 12 (Liu, [008], “the application provides a product appearance detecting device and a detecting method to better control the quality of the manufactured product”), wherein, when the conical guide device is docked with one discharge channel and the qualified product recycling bin (Zhao, [0047], “for receiving the location information, and picking up the product based on the location information, and moving the product into a detection range of the detection module; the detection module, setting In the cabinet, for detecting a plurality of surfaces of the product; the robot is further configured to put the product into a corresponding receiving tray based on the obtained detection result”, [0055], “The robot 22 is further configured to place the product into a corresponding receiving tray (ie, the first receiving tray 261, or the first receiving tray 262, or the first receiving tray 263) based on the obtained detection result”, Zhao teaches a plurality of receiving trays or bins, [0077], “If the first detecting module 24 detects that each face of the product is qualified, the product is placed in the first receiving tray 261; if the first detecting module 24 detects that at least one of the faces of the product is unqualified, the product is placed In the second receiving tray 262; if the second detecting module 23 detects that each side of the product is qualified, the product is left in the first tray 261; if the second detecting module 23 detects that at least one surface of the product is unqualified The product is transferred from the first receiving tray 261 to the third receiving tray 263.”) corresponding to the one discharge channel is already filled with the qualified products, the control device controls the conical guide device to move to a position docked with another discharge channel to input the qualified products into another qualified product recycling bin corresponding to another discharge channel (Zhao, [0031], “a receiving module disposed in the cabinet for storing the first receiving tray, the second receiving tray and the third receiving tray, and in each of the first receiving trays When the product is filled, the first receiving tray is controlled to move downward, and when each of the third receiving trays is filled with the product, the third receiving tray is controlled to move downward”, [0087], “the first receiving tray 261, the third receiving tray 263 and the second receiving tray 262 are placed side by side on the receiving module 26, and are filled up in the currently used first receiving tray 261. In the product, the first receiving tray 261 can be controlled to move downward by a certain distance, in order to leave the upper space to accommodate the empty first receiving tray 261 supplemented by the receiving tray management module 27, and similarly When the third receiving tray 263 currently used is full of products, the third receiving tray 263 can be controlled to move downward by a certain distance, in order to leave the upper space to accommodate the empty space supplemented by the receiving tray management module 27”, when the bin or tray is full, it moves downward and get replaced by an empty receiving tray, [0092], “the receiving tray management module 27 includes a tray mechanism and a conveying mechanism, wherein the tray mechanism stores a plurality of empty receiving trays, and the feeding trays are stacked from top to bottom, thereby saving space. When the first receiving tray 261 (or the third receiving tray 263) in the receiving module 26 is full of products, the receiving tray management module 27 can extract an empty receiving tray from the bottom layer through the disc dividing mechanism. The empty take-up tray is transferred to the working position of the first take-up tray 261 (or the third take-up tray 263) of the take-up module 26 by the transport mechanism (and with the cooperation of the second detection module 23).).
Claim 14
The combination of Liu in view of Sundaram in view of Zhao discloses the product detection system according to claim 12 (Liu, [008], “the application provides a product appearance detecting device and a detecting method to better control the quality of the manufactured product”), wherein the qualified product recycling device (Liu, [0090], “The above-mentioned blank conveying device 23 may further include a plurality of product passages 232, specifically, the qualified product passages 2321, the unqualified product passages 2322, and the rejected product passages, and the blanking conveying device 23 may move the detected products according to the detection results. Go to the corresponding product channel 232 and output, which can help the product to be classified, so that the staff can deal with it in time, the qualified products are delivered and shipped in time, the unqualified products are timely adjusted or disposed of, and the products rejected are promptly found to be rejected”) includes a bracket on which a plurality of discharge channels are fixed side by side (Zhao, [0087], “the first receiving tray 261, the third receiving tray 263 and the second receiving tray 262 are placed side by side on the receiving module 26, and are filled up in the currently used first receiving tray 261. In the product, the first receiving tray 261 can be controlled to move downward by a certain distance, in order to leave the upper space to accommodate the empty first receiving tray 261 supplemented by the receiving tray management module 27, and similarly When the third receiving tray 263 currently used is full of products, the third receiving tray 263 can be controlled to move downward by a certain distance, in order to leave the upper space to accommodate the empty space supplemented by the receiving tray management module 27. The third receiving tray 263.”).
Claim 18
The combination of Liu in view of Sundaram discloses the product detection system according to claim 16 (Liu, [008], “the application provides a product appearance detecting device and a detecting method to better control the quality of the manufactured product”).
The combination of Liu in view of Sundaram does not explicitly disclose further comprising a control panel located on the upper cabinet, the control panel has a human-machine interaction interface and a plurality of control buttons, the human-machine interaction interface is used to input information to the product detection system, the control buttons are used to control a start and stop of the product detection system.
However, Zhao teaches a control panel located on the upper cabinet (Zhao, Fig. 1, output module 40), the control panel has a human-machine interaction interface and a plurality of control buttons (Zhao, Fig. 2, the output module 40 has a keyboard and mouse for human input), the human-machine interaction interface is used to input information to the product detection system, the control buttons are used to control a start and stop of the product detection system (Zhao, Fig. 2, the output module 40 has a keyboard and mouse for human input, it is inherent that a computer with a keyboard and mouse is able to receive input from the human/worker as well as control the start and stopping of the system).
Liu and Zhao are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of product detection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as taught by Liu to incorporate the teachings of Zhao of a control panel located on the upper cabinet, the control panel has a human-machine interaction interface and a plurality of control buttons, the human-machine interaction interface is used to input information to the product detection system, the control buttons are used to control a start and stop of the product detection system. Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to reduce cost (Zhao, [007]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Sundaram in further view of Cherry et al., (US 2020/0047218 A1), hereinafter referred to as Cherry.
Claim 19
The combination of Liu in view of Sundaram discloses the product detection system according to claim 16 (Liu, [008], “the application provides a product appearance detecting device and a detecting method to better control the quality of the manufactured product”).
The combination of Liu in view of Sundaram does not explicitly disclose wherein the control device has a storage device in which a plurality of different product codes corresponding to different products and a plurality of quality judgment modules corresponding to different products are stored, and when the product code input through the human-computer interaction interface is a product code of a new product that is not stored in the storage device, a sample image of the new product and a quality judgment module corresponding to the new product is input through the human-computer interaction interface.
However, Cherry teaches wherein the control device has a storage device (Cherry, [0157], “embodiments of the present invention may take the form of a computer program product on a computer-usable or computer-readable storage medium having computer-usable or computer-readable program code embodied in the medium for use by or in connection with an instruction execution system”) in which a plurality of different product codes corresponding to different products (Cherry, [0067], “he induction station 602 may include a scanning station that scans for a product code, such as a bar code. Once the product code is determined, the system retrieves information regarding the product from a central database.”) and a plurality of quality judgment modules corresponding to different products are stored (Liu discloses on choosing the appropriate judgement module or detecting station depending on the part that is being analyzed, , [0087], “The product appearance detecting device 20 can specifically set the number of the detecting station and the part responsible for detecting the detecting station according to the structure of the product that the user needs to detect, so that the product appearance detecting device 20 is more flexible and can also win”), and when the product code input through the human-computer interaction interface is a product code of a new product that is not stored in the storage device, a sample image of the new product and a quality judgment module corresponding to the new product is input through the human-computer interaction interface (Cherry, [0074], “. This is normally done by determining the unique product code for the item. Therefore, the system may electronically tag an item as being qualified for sorting if the system is able to identify the item using a product marking or other indicator. For example, the operator may read a product identification code on an item and enter the product code into the system using an input mechanism, such as a keyboard. If the product code entered by the operator corresponds to a proper product code, then the item may be qualified for sorting. Alternatively, if the operator enters the product code incorrectly or if the product code does not correspond to a recognized item, the system may electronically tag the item as unqualified.”, if the system doesn’t recognize the item which is analogous to it being a new product, it is tagged as unqualified, by scanning the image of the bar code means a sample image is being saved to the system).
Liu and Cherry are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of product detection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as taught by Liu to incorporate the teachings of Cherry of a control device has a storage device in which a plurality of different product codes corresponding to different products and a plurality of quality judgment modules corresponding to different products are stored, and when the product code input through the human-computer interaction interface is a product code of a new product that is not stored in the storage device, a sample image of the new product and a quality judgment module corresponding to the new product is input through the human-computer interaction interface. Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been for more efficiency.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENISE G ALFONSO/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662