DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8 and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Lan et al. (US 20190356349 A1; hereinafter “LAN”).
Regarding claim 1, LAN teaches a method for controlling operation of a wireless communication device including a plurality of antennas configured to spatially radiate in separate areas (see LAN, fig. 9, antennas 101, 102, para. [0151-152,171]), said method comprising:
alternating selecting of said antennas to transmit a communication signal (see LAN, fig. 5A, S113, S121, switch antennas, para. [0212,223]), said selecting being performed so that an average specific absorption rate generated by each antenna over a given time period is less than a determined threshold (see LAN, fig. 5A, S101, para. [0200], SAR limit), considering a given control distance between the communication device and a human body (see LAN, fig. 5A, S103, para. [0201], detection distance).
Regarding claim 3, LAN teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein an emissive power used by a selected antenna is a maximum emissive power of the wireless communication device (see LAN, fig. 3, 4, para. [0182]).
Regarding claim 4, LAN teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, said method including evaluating a distance between the communication device and the human body, wherein execution of the selecting is consequent on said evaluated distance being less than a given threshold (see LAN, fig. 5A, S103, para. [0201], detection distance).
Regarding claim 5, LAN teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, said method including evaluating an emissive power used by an antenna of the plurality of antennas in use to transmit said communication signal, wherein execution of the selecting is consequent on said evaluated emissive power being greater than a given threshold (see LAN, fig. 5A, S101, para. [0200], SAR limit).
Regarding claim 6, LAN teaches the method as claimed in claim 5, wherein the evaluating the emissive power includes a set of evaluations of the emissive power by respectively considering a set of control distance values, said evaluated emissive power being equivalent to a maximum emissive power obtained from said set of evaluations of the emissive power (see LAN, para. [0229-231], table 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, LAN teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the alternating selecting of the antennas is performed with a fixed periodicity (see LAN, fig. 5a, para. [0228], T1, T2, fixed value).
Regarding claim 8, LAN teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the alternating selecting of the antennas is performed with a dynamic periodicity (see LAN, para. [0190]).
Regarding claim 10, LAN teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein said time period is equal to six minutes (see LAN, para. [0180]).
Regarding claim 11, LAN teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the determined threshold of said average specific absorption rate is equal to 2 W/kg (see LAN, para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 12, LAN teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein a maximum emissive power of the communication device is greater than or equal to 20 mW (see LAN, para. [0187], 22dB, mathematically greater than 20 mW).
Regarding claim 13, LAN teaches a non-transitory computer readable recording medium on which is recorded a computer program which when executed by a processor of a control device configures the control device to method for controlling operation of a wireless communication device including a plurality of antennas configured to spatially radiate in separate areas (see LAN, fig. 9, antennas 101, 102, para. [0151-152,171]), said method comprising:
alternating selecting of said antennas to transmit a communication signal (see LAN, fig. 5A, S113, S121, switch antennas, para. [0212,223]), said selecting being performed so that an average specific absorption rate generated by each antenna over a given time period is less than a determined threshold (see LAN, fig. 5A, S101, para. [0200], SAR limit), considering a given control distance between the communication device and a human body (see LAN, fig. 5A, S103, para. [0201], detection distance).
Regarding claim 14, LAN teaches a control device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon which when executed by the at least one processor configure the control device to implement a method for controlling operation of a wireless communication device including a plurality of antennas configured to spatially radiate in separate areas (see LAN, fig. 9, antennas 101, 102, para. [0151-152,171]), said method comprising:
alternating selecting of said antennas to transmit a communication signal (see LAN, fig. 5A, S113, S121, switch antennas, para. [0212,223]), said selecting being performed so that an average specific absorption rate generated by each antenna over a given time period is less than a determined threshold (see LAN, fig. 5A, S101, para. [0200], SAR limit), considering a given control distance between the communication device and a human body (see LAN, fig. 5A, S103, para. [0201], detection distance).
Regarding claim 15, LAN teaches a wireless communication device comprising the control device as claimed in claim 14 and the plurality of antennas (see LAN, fig. 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LAN as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lu et al. (US 20160174168 A1; hereinafter “LU”).
Regarding claim 2, LAN teaches the method as claimed in claim 1.
LAN is silent to teaching that wherein the number of antennas is strictly greater than two.
In the same field of endeavor, LU teaches a method wherein the number of antennas is strictly greater than two (see LU, fig. 4, antennas 1, 2, N-1, N).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of LAN with the teaching of LU in order to avoid unnecessarily transmit power reduction, allow high transmit power and satisfy safety regulations (see LU, para. [0006])
Regarding claim 9. The method as claimed in claim 1.
LAN is silent to teaching that wherein said control distance is zero.
In the same field of endeavor, LU teaches a method wherein said control distance is zero (see LU, para. [0045], zero separation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of LAN with the teaching of LU in order to avoid unnecessarily transmit power reduction, allow high transmit power and satisfy safety regulations (see LU, para. [0006]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that LAN is silent to teaching “said selecting being performed so that an average specific absorption rate generated by each antenna over a given time period is less than a determined threshold”; the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner submits that LAN teaches SAR limit. See LAN, fig. 5A, S101, para. [0200]. Specifically, LAN teaches “RF radiation energy that is absorbed by the human body from the wireless communications device is internationally measured by using a specific absorption rate (Specific Absorption Rate, SAR for short). The SAR measures RF radiation energy absorbed by a substance per unit mass in a unit time, and a unit is watt per kilogram (W/kg)”.
Thus, LAN teaches said selecting being performed so that an average specific absorption rate generated by each antenna over a given time period is less than a determined threshold.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEN W HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648