DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed 6/25/2024 in which Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: Line 4 should read “wherein the first terminal of the second zero-crossing detection circuit is coupled to the first”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 15, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese Patent Publication 108370627 to Liu (relied upon English Translation) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0006168 to Saes et al (“Saes”).
As to Claim 1, Liu teaches a single live wire intelligent remote-control device, for controlling at least a ceiling/wall device (controller 10P’ is powered by the neutral wire connection line N and the live wire connection line L and receives the wireless control signal emitted by the wireless switch 30P’ to control the appliance 20P’ connected in parallel, see ¶ 0005), comprising a first input terminal and a second input terminal, wherein the second input terminal of the ceiling/wall device is coupled to a neutral wire (controller 10P’ is powered by the neutral wire connection line N [second input terminal coupled to a neutral wire] and the live wire connection line L, see ¶ 0005),
wherein the single live wire intelligent remote-control device comprises: a wall-mounted control, wherein a control panel of the wall-mounted control mounted on a wall, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the wall-mounted control is coupled to a live wire to receive an AC voltage (controller 10P’ is powered by the neutral wire connection line N [second input terminal coupled to a neutral wire] and the live wire connection line L [first terminal coupled to a live wire], see ¶ 0005; single-wire control unit can receive the control signal of the passive wireless switch and conduct the electrical appliance at a predetermined voltage of the pulse current [AC voltage], see ¶ 0021); and
a power electrical wire, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the power electrical wire is coupled to the second terminal of the wall-mounted control, the second terminal of the power electrical wire is coupled to the first input terminal of the ceiling/wall device, wherein the power electrical wire is installed in the wall (Figure 3 illustrates a wire, having a first and second terminal, between the controller 10P’ and the fan 20P’ analogous to Applicant’s Figure 1 of power electrical wire 102);
wherein the wall-mounted control detects the AC voltage and controls a voltage phase of a second AC voltage provided to the power electrical wire according to a transmission data by user control on the control panel, wherein a first off phase period of the voltage phase corresponds to a first logic of the transmission data (during the predetermined pulse interval t1 of the AC pulse power, the AC pulse power is rectified by the rectifier module 25 to output DC pulse power to the power switch 213, thereby powering the energy storage module 23 and the communication module 22 to form the off-state power taking stage s1 [first phase off period of the voltage phase], see ¶ 0133; the predetermined pulse interval t1 should be set as the interval in which the pulse current changes from a predetermined voltage V1 to its zero point [first logic of the transmission data], see ¶ 0137) and a second off phase period of the voltage phase corresponds to a second logic of the transmission data (The program control module 211 then controls the power supply switch 213 to remain in the off state during the non-predetermined pulse interval t2. At this time, the signal receiving state of the communication module 22 is maintained by the energy storage module 23, thus forming the off-state discharge stage s2 [second phase off period of the voltage phase], see ¶ 0134; while the non-predetermined pulse interval t2 is the interval in which the pulse current changes from zero to the predetermined voltage V1 [second logic of the transmission data], see ¶ 0137),
Liu does not explicitly disclose a third off phase period of the voltage phase corresponds to a null of the transmission data, wherein the ceiling/wall device determines whether the received second AC voltage is the transmission data or not according to a receiving of null.
Saes teaches a third off phase period of the voltage phase corresponds to a null of the transmission data (As seen in FIG. 7b, at or around the zero crossings of the mains voltage, i.e. where the mains voltage changes polarity, the excursion of the voltage 701 at the secondary winding reduces. As a result, around the zero crossings, the excursion of the voltage 701 is too low to make the signal 703 to switch to the other one of the binary levels, hence the signal 703 temporarily stops the periodic transitions [third off phase period corresponds to null of the transmission data], see ¶ 0108), wherein the ceiling/wall device determines whether the received second AC voltage is the transmission data or not according to a receiving of null (An output voltage of the secondary winding is schematically depicted by 701. In accordance with the switching of the switch of the converter, the output voltage of the secondary winding [received second AC voltage] alternates between the output voltage of the converter and a low level, whereby the excursion towards the low level depends on the momentary value of the mains voltage. Thus, the larger a momentary value of the mains voltage, the larger a voltage swing at the secondary winding will be, the voltage swing in response to a transition of the switch from conductive to non-conductive or vice versa…Signal 702 is a binary signal having a high and a low level. The edges in the signal 702, i.e. the transitions between the levels, reflect the transitions of the voltage at the secondary winding as a result of the switching actions of the switch of the converter [received second AC voltage is the transmission data]. As seen in FIG. 7b, at or around the zero crossings of the mains voltage, i.e. where the mains voltage changes polarity, the excursion of the voltage 701 at the secondary winding reduces. As a result, around the zero crossings, the excursion of the voltage 701 is too low to make the signal 703 to switch to the other one of the binary levels, hence the signal 703 temporarily stops the periodic transitions [third off phase period corresponds to null of the transmission data]. For example, a mains frequency may be derived from the time between the periods where the edges of the signal, i.e. the toggling of the signal stops, see ¶ 0108).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu with Saes to teach a third off phase period of the voltage phase corresponds to a null of the transmission data, wherein the ceiling/wall device determines whether the received second AC voltage is the transmission data or not according to a receiving of null. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to temporarily stop the periodic transitions when the excursion of the voltage is too low to make the signal 703 switch to the other one of the binary levels (see ¶ 0108).
As to Claim 8, Liu teaches a single live wire intelligent remote-control system, comprises: a single live wire intelligent remote-control device (controller 10P’ is powered by the neutral wire connection line N and the live wire connection line L and receives the wireless control signal emitted by the wireless switch 30P’ to control the appliance 20P’ connected in parallel, see ¶ 0005), comprising: a wall-mounted control, wherein a control panel of the wall-mounted control mounted on a wall, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the wall-mounted control is coupled to a live wire to receive an AC voltage (controller 10P’ is powered by the neutral wire connection line N [second input terminal coupled to a neutral wire] and the live wire connection line L, see ¶ 0005; single-wire control unit can receive the control signal of the passive wireless switch and conduct the electrical appliance at a predetermined voltage of the pulse current [AC voltage], see ¶ 0021); and
a power electrical wire, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the power electrical wire is coupled to the second terminal of the wall-mounted control, wherein the power electrical wire is installed in the wall (Figure 3 illustrates a wire, having a first and second terminal, between the controller 10P’ and the fan 20P’ analogous to Applicant’s Figure 1 of power electrical wire 102); and
at least a ceiling/wall device, comprising a first input terminal and a second input terminal, wherein the first input terminal of the ceiling/wall device is coupled to the second terminal of the power electrical wire, and the second input terminal of the ceiling/wall device is coupled to a neutral wire, wherein the single live wire intelligent remote-control device (controller 10P’ is powered by the neutral wire connection line N and the live wire connection line L and receives the wireless control signal emitted by the wireless switch 30P’ to control the appliance 20P’ connected in parallel, see ¶ 0005),
wherein the wall-mounted control detects the AC voltage and controls a voltage phase of a second AC voltage provided to the power electrical wire according to a transmission data by user control on the control panel, wherein a first off phase period of the voltage phase corresponds to a first logic of the transmission data (during the predetermined pulse interval t1 of the AC pulse power, the AC pulse power is rectified by the rectifier module 25 to output DC pulse power to the power switch 213, thereby powering the energy storage module 23 and the communication module 22 to form the off-state power taking stage s1 [first phase off period of the voltage phase], see ¶ 0133; the predetermined pulse interval t1 should be set as the interval in which the pulse current changes from a predetermined voltage V1 to its zero point [first logic of the transmission data], see ¶ 0137) and a second off phase period of the voltage phase corresponds to a second logic of the transmission data (The program control module 211 then controls the power supply switch 213 to remain in the off state during the non-predetermined pulse interval t2. At this time, the signal receiving state of the communication module 22 is maintained by the energy storage module 23, thus forming the off-state discharge stage s2 [second phase off period of the voltage phase], see ¶ 0134; while the non-predetermined pulse interval t2 is the interval in which the pulse current changes from zero to the predetermined voltage V1 [second logic of the transmission data], see ¶ 0137), and
Liu does not explicitly disclose a third off phase period of the voltage phase corresponds to a null of the transmission data, wherein the ceiling/wall device determines whether the received second AC voltage is the transmission data or not according to a receiving of null.
Saes teaches a third off phase period of the voltage phase corresponds to a null of the transmission data (As seen in FIG. 7b, at or around the zero crossings of the mains voltage, i.e. where the mains voltage changes polarity, the excursion of the voltage 701 at the secondary winding reduces. As a result, around the zero crossings, the excursion of the voltage 701 is too low to make the signal 703 to switch to the other one of the binary levels, hence the signal 703 temporarily stops the periodic transitions [third off phase period corresponds to null of the transmission data], see ¶ 0108), wherein the ceiling/wall device determines whether the received second AC voltage is the transmission data or not according to a receiving of null (An output voltage of the secondary winding is schematically depicted by 701. In accordance with the switching of the switch of the converter, the output voltage of the secondary winding [received second AC voltage] alternates between the output voltage of the converter and a low level, whereby the excursion towards the low level depends on the momentary value of the mains voltage. Thus, the larger a momentary value of the mains voltage, the larger a voltage swing at the secondary winding will be, the voltage swing in response to a transition of the switch from conductive to non-conductive or vice versa…Signal 702 is a binary signal having a high and a low level. The edges in the signal 702, i.e. the transitions between the levels, reflect the transitions of the voltage at the secondary winding as a result of the switching actions of the switch of the converter [received second AC voltage is the transmission data]. As seen in FIG. 7b, at or around the zero crossings of the mains voltage, i.e. where the mains voltage changes polarity, the excursion of the voltage 701 at the secondary winding reduces. As a result, around the zero crossings, the excursion of the voltage 701 is too low to make the signal 703 to switch to the other one of the binary levels, hence the signal 703 temporarily stops the periodic transitions [third off phase period corresponds to null of the transmission data]. For example, a mains frequency may be derived from the time between the periods where the edges of the signal, i.e. the toggling of the signal stops, see ¶ 0108).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu with Saes to teach a third off phase period of the voltage phase corresponds to a null of the transmission data, wherein the ceiling/wall device determines whether the received second AC voltage is the transmission data or not according to a receiving of null. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to temporarily stop the periodic transitions when the excursion of the voltage is too low to make the signal 703 switch to the other one of the binary levels (see ¶ 0108).
As to Claim 15, Liu teaches a single live wire intelligent remote-control method, for controlling at least a ceiling/wall device (controller 10P’ is powered by the neutral wire connection line N and the live wire connection line L and receives the wireless control signal emitted by the wireless switch 30P’ to control the appliance 20P’ connected in parallel, see ¶ 0005),
wherein the single live wire intelligent remote-control method comprises: providing a wall-mounted control, coupled between a live wire and a terminal of a power electrical wire installed in the wall, wherein the other terminal of the power electrical wire is coupled to a first input terminal of the ceiling/wall device, wherein a second input terminal of the ceiling/wall device coupled to a neutral wire (controller 10P’ is powered by the neutral wire connection line N and the live wire connection line L and receives the wireless control signal emitted by the wireless switch 30P’ to control the appliance 20P’ connected in parallel, see ¶ 0005);
controlling an off phase of an AC voltage conducted to the power electrical wire by the wall-mounted control according to a transmission data by user’s option (during the predetermined pulse interval t1 of the AC pulse power, the AC pulse power is rectified by the rectifier module 25 to output DC pulse power to the power switch 213, thereby powering the energy storage module 23 and the communication module 22 to form the off-state power taking stage s1, see ¶ 0133);
detecting the off phase of the AC voltage on the power electrical wire by the ceiling/wall device to obtain the transmission data such that a setting of the ceiling/wall device is received, wherein a first off phase period of the voltage phase corresponds to a first logic of the transmission data (during the predetermined pulse interval t1 of the AC pulse power, the AC pulse power is rectified by the rectifier module 25 to output DC pulse power to the power switch 213, thereby powering the energy storage module 23 and the communication module 22 to form the off-state power taking stage s1 [first phase off period of the voltage phase], see ¶ 0133; the predetermined pulse interval t1 should be set as the interval in which the pulse current changes from a predetermined voltage V1 to its zero point [first logic of the transmission data], see ¶ 0137) and a second off phase period of the voltage phase corresponds to a second logic of the transmission data (The program control module 211 then controls the power supply switch 213 to remain in the off state during the non-predetermined pulse interval t2. At this time, the signal receiving state of the communication module 22 is maintained by the energy storage module 23, thus forming the off-state discharge stage s2 [second phase off period of the voltage phase], see ¶ 0134; while the non-predetermined pulse interval t2 is the interval in which the pulse current changes from zero to the predetermined voltage V1 [second logic of the transmission data], see ¶ 0137), and
Liu does not explicitly disclose a third off phase period of the voltage phase corresponds to a null of the transmission data, wherein the ceiling/wall device determines whether the received second AC voltage is the transmission data or not according to a receiving of null.
Saes teaches a third off phase period of the voltage phase corresponds to a null of the transmission data (As seen in FIG. 7b, at or around the zero crossings of the mains voltage, i.e. where the mains voltage changes polarity, the excursion of the voltage 701 at the secondary winding reduces. As a result, around the zero crossings, the excursion of the voltage 701 is too low to make the signal 703 to switch to the other one of the binary levels, hence the signal 703 temporarily stops the periodic transitions [third off phase period corresponds to null of the transmission data], see ¶ 0108), wherein the ceiling/wall device determines whether the received second AC voltage is the transmission data or not according to a receiving of null (An output voltage of the secondary winding is schematically depicted by 701. In accordance with the switching of the switch of the converter, the output voltage of the secondary winding [received second AC voltage] alternates between the output voltage of the converter and a low level, whereby the excursion towards the low level depends on the momentary value of the mains voltage. Thus, the larger a momentary value of the mains voltage, the larger a voltage swing at the secondary winding will be, the voltage swing in response to a transition of the switch from conductive to non-conductive or vice versa…Signal 702 is a binary signal having a high and a low level. The edges in the signal 702, i.e. the transitions between the levels, reflect the transitions of the voltage at the secondary winding as a result of the switching actions of the switch of the converter [received second AC voltage is the transmission data]. As seen in FIG. 7b, at or around the zero crossings of the mains voltage, i.e. where the mains voltage changes polarity, the excursion of the voltage 701 at the secondary winding reduces. As a result, around the zero crossings, the excursion of the voltage 701 is too low to make the signal 703 to switch to the other one of the binary levels, hence the signal 703 temporarily stops the periodic transitions [third off phase period corresponds to null of the transmission data]. For example, a mains frequency may be derived from the time between the periods where the edges of the signal, i.e. the toggling of the signal stops, see ¶ 0108).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu with Saes to teach a third off phase period of the voltage phase corresponds to a null of the transmission data, wherein the ceiling/wall device determines whether the received second AC voltage is the transmission data or not according to a receiving of null. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to temporarily stop the periodic transitions when the excursion of the voltage is too low to make the signal 703 switch to the other one of the binary levels (see ¶ 0108).
As to Claim 16, Liu and Saes depending on Claim 15, Liu teaches wherein controlling the off phase of an AC voltage conducted to the power electrical wire by the wall-mounted control according to the transmission data by user’s option comprising: converting user’s option into a sequence of the transmission data (during the predetermined pulse interval t1 of the AC pulse power, the AC pulse power is rectified by the rectifier module 25 to output DC pulse power to the power switch 213, thereby powering the energy storage module 23 and the communication module 22 to form the off-state power taking stage s1 [first phase off period of the voltage phase], see ¶ 0133; The program control module 211 then controls the power supply switch 213 to remain in the off state during the non-predetermined pulse interval t2. At this time, the signal receiving state of the communication module 22 is maintained by the energy storage module 23, thus forming the off-state discharge stage s2 [second phase off period of the voltage phase], see ¶ 0134; the predetermined pulse interval t1 should be set as the interval in which the pulse current changes from a predetermined voltage V1 to its zero point [first logic of the transmission data]…while the non-predetermined pulse interval t2 is the interval in which the pulse current changes from zero to the predetermined voltage V1 [second logic of the transmission data], see ¶ 0137; the program control module 211 further configured to control the power consumption state of the appliance 100 by controlling the power switch 213’ to open and close according to the control command, thereby mechanically actuating the actuation module 29’ to control the power consumption state of the appliance 100, see ¶ 0215); and transmitting a sequence of the off phase of an AC voltage to the power electrical wire (the single live wire control unit 20 further includes the power switch 27, wherein the power switch 27 is electrically connected to the pulse power supply component 21 and the appliance 100, so as to be controlled by the pulse power supply component 21 to be switched on and off, thereby controlling the power consumption state of the appliance 100 after the pulse power supply component 21 receives the control signal emitted by the passive wireless switch 10, see ¶ 0167; Figure 7 illustrates a sequence of pulses when the power switch 27 is turned on and when the power switch 27 is turned off).
Claim(s) 2, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese Patent Publication 108370627 to Liu (relied upon English Translation) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0006168 to Saes et al (“Saes”) in further view of WIPO Patent Publication 2016206043 to Zhang et al (“Zhang”).
As to Claim 2, Liu and Saes depending on Claim 1, Liu teaches wherein the wall-mounted control comprising: a DC power converter, coupled between the first terminal of the wall-mounted control and the second terminal of the wall-mounted control, for providing a DC power voltage (Figure 12 illustrates a DC-DC converter disposed between two terminals of MCU 14a);
a first microcontroller unit, coupled to the DC power converter, and the control panel, generating the transmission data according to an operation of the control panel by user (Figure 12 illustrates a DC-DC converter disposed between two terminals of MCU 14a; when the program control module 211 [control panel], configured as the MCU [first microcontroller unit], detects that the AC pulse current enters the predetermined pulse interval t1 through the zero-crossing detection module 212, it outputs a high level [generates transmission data], see the electric switch 27 A is further electrically connected between the pulse electricity taking component 21A and the electric appliance 100A, see ¶ 0142; the actuation module 29A is electrically connected to the program control module 211A and is configured to retrieve the control command from the program control module 211A in response to the actuation action, so that the program control module 211A can control the power supply state of the appliance 100 by controlling the on/off state of the power switch 27A according to the control command [operation of the control panel by the user], thereby mechanically actuating the actuation module 29A to control the power supply state of the appliance 100A, see ¶ 0268); and a switching control module, coupled to the first microcontroller unit, the first terminal of the wall-mounted control and the second terminal of the wall-mounted control, wherein the first microcontroller unit controls the switching control module turns on/off a circuit between the first terminal of the wall-mounted control and the second terminal of the wall-mounted control according to the transmission data (when the program control module 211 [control panel], configured as the MCU [first microcontroller unit], detects that the AC pulse current enters the predetermined pulse interval t1 through the zero-crossing detection module 212, it outputs a high level [generates transmission data], see the electric switch 27 A is further electrically connected between the pulse electricity taking component 21A and the electric appliance 100A, see ¶ 0142; the actuation module 29A [switching control module] is electrically connected to the program control module 211A and is configured to retrieve the control command from the program control module 211A in response to the actuation action, so that the program control module 211A can control the power supply state of the appliance 100 by controlling the on/off state of the power switch 27A according to the control command [operation of the control panel by the user], thereby mechanically actuating the actuation module 29A to control the power supply state of the appliance 100A, see ¶ 0268; Figure 12 illustrates actuation module 29A is coupled to the MCU 211A).
Liu and Saes do not expressly disclose a first zero-crossing detection circuit, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the first zero-crossing detection circuit is coupled to the first terminal of the wall-mounted control for detecting the AC voltage and outputting a first zero-crossing signal; a second zero-crossing detection circuit, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the second zero-crossing detection circuit is coupled to the second terminal of the wall-mounted control for detecting the second AC voltage and outputting a second zero-crossing signal; a first microcontroller unit, coupled to the first zero-crossing detection circuit, the second zero-crossing detection circuit.
Zhang teaches a first zero-crossing detection circuit, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the first zero-crossing detection circuit is coupled to the first terminal of the wall-mounted control for detecting the AC voltage and outputting a first zero-crossing signal (voltage zero-crossing detection circuit has it input connected to the live wire and the neutral wire, and outputs a voltage zero-crossing detection signal ZX_V, see page 3, 3rd para);
a second zero-crossing detection circuit, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the second zero-crossing detection circuit is coupled to the second terminal of the wall-mounted control for detecting the second AC voltage and outputting a second zero-crossing signal (the voltage zero-crossing detection circuit and the current zero-crossing detection circuit are two independent circuits…the current zero-crossing detection circuit includes a current zero-crossing detection module, see page 3, 3rd para; the method can detect not only zero current but also zero voltage in a single-wire switch, see page 6, 4th para; the current and voltage zero-crossing detection module outputs a voltage zero-crossing signal when the load is off, and an output current zero-crossing signal when the load is on, see page 10, 2nd para; That is, before and after SW is closed, the ZX signal outputs the voltage zero-crossing waveform on the load RL and the current zero-crossing waveform flowing through the load RL, respectively, see page 17, 4th para; Figure 3 illustrates the current zero-crossing module coupled to the live wire and the neutral wire via a switch SW);
a first microcontroller unit, coupled to the first zero-crossing detection circuit, the second zero-crossing detection circuit (the microcontroller controls the relay to open and close via the relay drive circuit based on the zero-crossing signal output by the voltage and current zero-crossing detection circuit, see page 16, 4th para).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu and Saes with Zhang to teach a first zero-crossing detection circuit, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the first zero-crossing detection circuit is coupled to the first terminal of the wall-mounted control for detecting the AC voltage and outputting a first zero-crossing signal; a second zero-crossing detection circuit, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the second zero-crossing detection circuit is coupled to the second terminal of the wall-mounted control for detecting the second AC voltage and outputting a second zero-crossing signal; a first microcontroller unit, coupled to the first zero-crossing detection circuit, the second zero-crossing detection circuit. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to detect not only zero current but also zero voltage in a single-wire switch (see page 3, 3rd para).
As to Claim 9, Liu and Saes depending on Claim 8, Liu teaches wherein the wall-mounted control comprising: a DC power converter, coupled between the first terminal of the wall-mounted control and the second terminal of the wall-mounted control, for providing a DC power voltage (Figure 12 illustrates a DC-DC converter disposed between two terminals of MCU 14a);
a first microcontroller unit, coupled to the DC power converter, and the control panel, generating the transmission data according to an operation of the control panel by user (Figure 12 illustrates a DC-DC converter disposed between two terminals of MCU 14a; when the program control module 211 [control panel], configured as the MCU [first microcontroller unit], detects that the AC pulse current enters the predetermined pulse interval t1 through the zero-crossing detection module 212, it outputs a high level [generates transmission data], see the electric switch 27 A is further electrically connected between the pulse electricity taking component 21A and the electric appliance 100A, see ¶ 0142; the actuation module 29A is electrically connected to the program control module 211A and is configured to retrieve the control command from the program control module 211A in response to the actuation action, so that the program control module 211A can control the power supply state of the appliance 100 by controlling the on/off state of the power switch 27A according to the control command [operation of the control panel by the user], thereby mechanically actuating the actuation module 29A to control the power supply state of the appliance 100A, see ¶ 0268); and a switching control module, coupled to the first microcontroller unit, the first terminal of the wall-mounted control and the second terminal of the wall-mounted control, wherein the first microcontroller unit controls the switching control module turns on/off a circuit between the first terminal of the wall-mounted control and the second terminal of the wall-mounted control according to the transmission data (when the program control module 211 [control panel], configured as the MCU [first microcontroller unit], detects that the AC pulse current enters the predetermined pulse interval t1 through the zero-crossing detection module 212, it outputs a high level [generates transmission data], see the electric switch 27 A is further electrically connected between the pulse electricity taking component 21A and the electric appliance 100A, see ¶ 0142; the actuation module 29A [switching control module] is electrically connected to the program control module 211A and is configured to retrieve the control command from the program control module 211A in response to the actuation action, so that the program control module 211A can control the power supply state of the appliance 100 by controlling the on/off state of the power switch 27A according to the control command [operation of the control panel by the user], thereby mechanically actuating the actuation module 29A to control the power supply state of the appliance 100A, see ¶ 0268; Figure 12 illustrates actuation module 29A is coupled to the MCU 211A).
Liu and Saes do not expressly disclose a first zero-crossing detection circuit, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the first zero-crossing detection circuit is coupled to the first terminal of the wall-mounted control for detecting the AC voltage and outputting a first zero-crossing signal; a second zero-crossing detection circuit, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the second zero-crossing detection circuit is coupled to the second terminal of the wall-mounted control for detecting the second AC voltage and outputting a second zero-crossing signal; a first microcontroller unit, coupled to the first zero-crossing detection circuit, the second zero-crossing detection circuit.
Zhang teaches a first zero-crossing detection circuit, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the first zero-crossing detection circuit is coupled to the first terminal of the wall-mounted control for detecting the AC voltage and outputting a first zero-crossing signal (voltage zero-crossing detection circuit has it input connected to the live wire and the neutral wire, and outputs a voltage zero-crossing detection signal ZX_V, see page 3, 3rd para);
a second zero-crossing detection circuit, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the second zero-crossing detection circuit is coupled to the second terminal of the wall-mounted control for detecting the second AC voltage and outputting a second zero-crossing signal (the voltage zero-crossing detection circuit and the current zero-crossing detection circuit are two independent circuits…the current zero-crossing detection circuit includes a current zero-crossing detection module, see page 3, 3rd para; the method can detect not only zero current but also zero voltage in a single-wire switch, see page 6, 4th para; the current and voltage zero-crossing detection module outputs a voltage zero-crossing signal when the load is off, and an output current zero-crossing signal when the load is on, see page 10, 2nd para; That is, before and after SW is closed, the ZX signal outputs the voltage zero-crossing waveform on the load RL and the current zero-crossing waveform flowing through the load RL, respectively, see page 17, 4th para; Figure 3 illustrates the current zero-crossing module coupled to the live wire and the neutral wire via a switch SW);
a first microcontroller unit, coupled to the first zero-crossing detection circuit, the second zero-crossing detection circuit (the microcontroller controls the relay to open and close via the relay drive circuit based on the zero-crossing signal output by the voltage and current zero-crossing detection circuit, see page 16, 4th para).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu and Saes with Zhang to teach a first zero-crossing detection circuit, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the first zero-crossing detection circuit is coupled to the first terminal of the wall-mounted control for detecting the AC voltage and outputting a first zero-crossing signal; a second zero-crossing detection circuit, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the second zero-crossing detection circuit is coupled to the second terminal of the wall-mounted control for detecting the second AC voltage and outputting a second zero-crossing signal; a first microcontroller unit, coupled to the first zero-crossing detection circuit, the second zero-crossing detection circuit. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to detect not only zero current but also zero voltage in a single-wire switch (see page 3, 3rd para).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese Patent Publication 108370627 to Liu (relied upon English Translation) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0006168 to Saes et al (“Saes”) in further view of WIPO Patent Publication 2016/206043 to Zhang et al (“Zhang”) and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0034364 to Xiong.
As to Claim 3, Liu, Saes and Zhang depending on Claim 2, Liu, Saes and Zhang do not expressly disclose wherein the switching control module comprising: a first power transistor, comprising a first source/drain terminal, a second source/drain terminal and a gate terminal, wherein the first source/drain terminal of the first power transistor is coupled to the first terminal of the wall-mounted control; a second power transistor, comprising a first source/drain terminal, a second source/drain terminal and a gate terminal, wherein the first source/drain terminal of the second power transistor is coupled to the second source/drain terminal of the first power transistor, and the second source/drain terminal of the second power transistor is coupled to the second terminal of the wall-mounted control; and a power switch driver, coupled to the first microcontroller unit, the gate terminal of the first power transistor and the gate terminal of the second power transistor, for driving the first power transistor and the second power transistor according to the transmission data.
Xiong teaches wherein the switching control module comprising: a first power transistor, comprising a first source/drain terminal, a second source/drain terminal and a gate terminal, wherein the first source/drain terminal of the first power transistor is coupled to the first terminal of the wall-mounted control (Figure 4A illustrates MOS transistor 1124 having a first source/drain terminal, a second source/drain terminal and a gate terminal; A1 [first terminal of the wall-mounted control] is connected to a first source/drain terminal of MOS transistor 1124);
a second power transistor, comprising a first source/drain terminal, a second source/drain terminal and a gate terminal, wherein the first source/drain terminal of the second power transistor is coupled to the second source/drain terminal of the first power transistor, and the second source/drain terminal of the second power transistor is coupled to the second terminal of the wall-mounted control (Figure 4A illustrates MOS transistor 1125 having a first source/drain terminal, a second source/drain terminal and a gate terminal; a first source/drain terminal of MOS transistor 1125 is coupled to MOS transistor 1124; 110 [second terminal of the wall-mounted control] is connected to a second source/drain terminal of MOS transistor 1125); and
a power switch driver, coupled to the first microcontroller unit, the gate terminal of the first power transistor and the gate terminal of the second power transistor, for driving the first power transistor and the second power transistor according to the transmission data (The dimming signal generating module 115 [power switch driver] is electrically connected to the control module 114 [first microcontroller unit]. The dimming signal generating module 115 is configured to convert the dimming configuration information LCM into a digital dimming signal DIM and transmit the digital dimming signal DIM to the control module 114, see ¶ 0065. Figure 4A illustrates the gate terminals of MOS transistor 1124 and MOS transistor 1125 are connected to dimming signal generating module 115 through the control module 114).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu, Saes and Zhang with Xiong to teach wherein the switching control module comprising: a first power transistor, comprising a first source/drain terminal, a second source/drain terminal and a gate terminal, wherein the first source/drain terminal of the first power transistor is coupled to the first terminal of the wall-mounted control; a second power transistor, comprising a first source/drain terminal, a second source/drain terminal and a gate terminal, wherein the first source/drain terminal of the second power transistor is coupled to the second source/drain terminal of the first power transistor, and the second source/drain terminal of the second power transistor is coupled to the second terminal of the wall-mounted control; and a power switch driver, coupled to the first microcontroller unit, the gate terminal of the first power transistor and the gate terminal of the second power transistor, for driving the first power transistor and the second power transistor according to the transmission data. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to perform a power conversion to generate a lighting signal, and adjusting the lighting signal based on the dimming driving signal (see ¶ 0026).
As to Claim 4, Liu, Saes and Zhang depending on Claim 2, Liu, Saes and Zhang do not expressly disclose wherein the DC power converter further comprising: a bridge rectifier, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal, a first output terminal and a second output terminal, wherein the first input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the live wire, the second input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the second terminal of the wall-mounted control; and a DC voltage supplier, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal and an output terminal, wherein the first input terminal of the DC voltage supplier is coupled to the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier, the second input terminal of the DC voltage supplier is coupled to the second output terminal of the bridge rectifier and the output terminal of the DC voltage supplier is for providing the DC power voltage.
Xiong teaches wherein the DC power converter further comprising: a bridge rectifier, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal, a first output terminal and a second output terminal (The rectifier circuit 124 is a full-bridge rectifier circuit, see ¶ 0094; Figure 8A illustrates a rectifier circuit 124 having first and second input terminals, first and second output terminals), wherein the first input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the live wire, the second input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the second terminal of the wall-mounted control (The rectifier circuit 124 is electrically connected to the output end 110a of the dimmer 110 and the power input end A2, see ¶ 0093; Figure 8A illustrates the first and second input terminals coupled to the live wire A2 and neutral wire 110, respectively); and
a DC voltage supplier, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal and an output terminal, wherein the first input terminal of the DC voltage supplier is coupled to the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier (Figure 8A illustrates driving circuit 121 having a first input terminal, a second input terminal and an output terminal), the second input terminal of the DC voltage supplier is coupled to the second output terminal of the bridge rectifier (Figure 8A illustrates the second input terminal of the driving circuit 121 [DC voltage supplier] coupled to the second output terminal of rectifier circuit 124) and the output terminal of the DC voltage supplier is for providing the DC power voltage (the DC signal can be outputted after being rectified by the rectifier circuit 124, see ¶ 0095; Figure 8A illustrates the driving circuit 121 having an output terminal for providing a DC power voltage).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu, Saes and Zhang with Xiong to teach wherein the DC power converter further comprising: a bridge rectifier, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal, a first output terminal and a second output terminal, wherein the first input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the live wire, the second input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the second terminal of the wall-mounted control; and a DC voltage supplier, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal and an output terminal, wherein the first input terminal of the DC voltage supplier is coupled to the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier, the second input terminal of the DC voltage supplier is coupled to the second output terminal of the bridge rectifier and the output terminal of the DC voltage supplier is for providing the DC power voltage. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to perform a power conversion to generate a lighting signal, and adjusting the lighting signal based on the dimming driving signal (see ¶ 0026).
As to Claim 10, Liu, Saes and Zhang depending on Claim 9, Liu, Saes and Zhang do not expressly disclose wherein the switching control module comprising: a first power transistor, comprising a first source/drain terminal, a second source/drain terminal and a gate terminal, wherein the first source/drain terminal of the first power transistor is coupled to the first terminal of the wall-mounted control; a second power transistor, comprising a first source/drain terminal, a second source/drain terminal and a gate terminal, wherein the first source/drain terminal of the second power transistor is coupled to the second source/drain terminal of the first power transistor, and the second source/drain terminal of the second power transistor is coupled to the second terminal of the wall-mounted control; and a power switch driver, coupled to the first microcontroller unit, the gate terminal of the first power transistor and the gate terminal of the second power transistor, for driving the first power transistor and the second power transistor according to the transmission data.
Xiong teaches wherein the switching control module comprising: a first power transistor, comprising a first source/drain terminal, a second source/drain terminal and a gate terminal, wherein the first source/drain terminal of the first power transistor is coupled to the first terminal of the wall-mounted control (Figure 4A illustrates MOS transistor 1124 having a first source/drain terminal, a second source/drain terminal and a gate terminal; A1 [first terminal of the wall-mounted control] is connected to a first source/drain terminal of MOS transistor 1124);
a second power transistor, comprising a first source/drain terminal, a second source/drain terminal and a gate terminal, wherein the first source/drain terminal of the second power transistor is coupled to the second source/drain terminal of the first power transistor, and the second source/drain terminal of the second power transistor is coupled to the second terminal of the wall-mounted control (Figure 4A illustrates MOS transistor 1125 having a first source/drain terminal, a second source/drain terminal and a gate terminal; a first source/drain terminal of MOS transistor 1125 is coupled to MOS transistor 1124; 110 [second terminal of the wall-mounted control] is connected to a second source/drain terminal of MOS transistor 1125); and
a power switch driver, coupled to the first microcontroller unit, the gate terminal of the first power transistor and the gate terminal of the second power transistor, for driving the first power transistor and the second power transistor according to the transmission data (The dimming signal generating module 115 [power switch driver] is electrically connected to the control module 114 [first microcontroller unit]. The dimming signal generating module 115 is configured to convert the dimming configuration information LCM into a digital dimming signal DIM and transmit the digital dimming signal DIM to the control module 114, see ¶ 0065. Figure 4A illustrates the gate terminals of MOS transistor 1124 and MOS transistor 1125 are connected to dimming signal generating module 115 through the control module 114).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu, Saes and Zhang with Xiong to teach wherein the switching control module comprising: a first power transistor, comprising a first source/drain terminal, a second source/drain terminal and a gate terminal, wherein the first source/drain terminal of the first power transistor is coupled to the first terminal of the wall-mounted control; a second power transistor, comprising a first source/drain terminal, a second source/drain terminal and a gate terminal, wherein the first source/drain terminal of the second power transistor is coupled to the second source/drain terminal of the first power transistor, and the second source/drain terminal of the second power transistor is coupled to the second terminal of the wall-mounted control; and a power switch driver, coupled to the first microcontroller unit, the gate terminal of the first power transistor and the gate terminal of the second power transistor, for driving the first power transistor and the second power transistor according to the transmission data. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to perform a power conversion to generate a lighting signal, and adjusting the lighting signal based on the dimming driving signal (see ¶ 0026).
As to Claim 11, Liu, Saes and Zhang depending on Claim 9, Liu, Saes and Zhang do not expressly disclose wherein the DC power converter further comprising: a bridge rectifier, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal, a first output terminal and a second output terminal, wherein the first input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the live wire, the second input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the second terminal of the wall-mounted control; and a DC voltage supplier, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal and an output terminal, wherein the first input terminal of the DC voltage supplier is coupled to the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier, the second input terminal of the DC voltage supplier is coupled to the second output terminal of the bridge rectifier and the output terminal of the DC voltage supplier is for providing the DC power voltage.
Xiong teaches wherein the DC power converter further comprising: a bridge rectifier, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal, a first output terminal and a second output terminal (The rectifier circuit 124 is a full-bridge rectifier circuit, see ¶ 0094; Figure 8A illustrates a rectifier circuit 124 having first and second input terminals, first and second output terminals), wherein the first input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the live wire, the second input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the second terminal of the wall-mounted control (The rectifier circuit 124 is electrically connected to the output end 110a of the dimmer 110 and the power input end A2, see ¶ 0093; Figure 8A illustrates the first and second input terminals coupled to the live wire A2 and neutral wire 110, respectively); and
a DC voltage supplier, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal and an output terminal, wherein the first input terminal of the DC voltage supplier is coupled to the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier (Figure 8A illustrates driving circuit 121 having a first input terminal, a second input terminal and an output terminal), the second input terminal of the DC voltage supplier is coupled to the second output terminal of the bridge rectifier (Figure 8A illustrates the second input terminal of the driving circuit 121 [DC voltage supplier] coupled to the second output terminal of rectifier circuit 124) and the output terminal of the DC voltage supplier is for providing the DC power voltage (the DC signal can be outputted after being rectified by the rectifier circuit 124, see ¶ 0095; Figure 8A illustrates the driving circuit 121 having an output terminal for providing a DC power voltage).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu, Saes and Zhang with Xiong to teach wherein the DC power converter further comprising: a bridge rectifier, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal, a first output terminal and a second output terminal, wherein the first input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the live wire, the second input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the second terminal of the wall-mounted control; and a DC voltage supplier, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal and an output terminal, wherein the first input terminal of the DC voltage supplier is coupled to the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier, the second input terminal of the DC voltage supplier is coupled to the second output terminal of the bridge rectifier and the output terminal of the DC voltage supplier is for providing the DC power voltage. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to perform a power conversion to generate a lighting signal, and adjusting the lighting signal based on the dimming driving signal (see ¶ 0026).
Claim(s) 5, 6, 12, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese Patent Publication 108370627 to Liu (relied upon English Translation) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0006168 to Saes et al (“Saes”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0034364 to Xiong and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2011/0234128 to Xin et al (“Xin”).
As to Claim 5, Liu and Saes depending on Claim 1, Liu and Saes do not expressly disclose wherein the ceiling/wall device comprising: a bridge rectifier, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal, a first output terminal and a second output terminal, wherein the first input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the second terminal of the power electrical wire, the second input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the neutral wire; a first zero-crossing detection circuit, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the first zero-crossing detection circuit is coupled to the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier for detecting a voltage of the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier and outputting a first zero-crossing signal; a first microcontroller unit, coupled to the first zero-crossing detection circuit, recovering the transmission data according to the first zero-crossing signal to output a first control signal.
Xiong teaches wherein the ceiling/wall device comprising: a bridge rectifier, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal, a first output terminal and a second output terminal (The rectifier circuit 124 is a full-bridge rectifier circuit, see ¶ 0094; Figure 8A illustrates a rectifier circuit 124 having first and second input terminals, first and second output terminals), wherein the first input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the second terminal of the power electrical wire, the second input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the neutral wire (The rectifier circuit 124 is electrically connected to the output end 110a of the dimmer 110 and the power input end A2, see ¶ 0093; Figure 8A illustrates the first and second input terminals coupled to the live wire A2 and neutral wire 110, respectively);
a first zero-crossing detection circuit, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the first zero-crossing detection circuit is coupled to the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier for detecting a voltage of the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier and outputting a first zero-crossing signal (the data modulation module 112 can be configured as a rectifier circuit to rectify the received external power signal to generate a rectified signal, see ¶ 0073; The zero-crossing detection module 111 collects the power signal from the power input end A1 and the dimmer output end 110a. When the waveform is converted from a positive half cycle to a negative half cycle or from a negative half cycle to a positive half cycle, during the zero potential is passed, a zero-crossing signal is generated, and the zero-crossing signal is sent to the control module 114…The data modulation module 112 is controlled by the control module 114 to load the digital dimming signal DIM onto the power signal to generate a dimming power signal…The control module 114 receives the zero-crossing signal from the zero-crossing detection module 111, and starts a data modulation operation at a specific time period after receiving the zero-crossing signal, see ¶ 0065; Figure 4A illustrates live wire A1 coupled to the first zero-crossing detection and the output terminal of the bridge rectifier);
a first microcontroller unit, coupled to the first zero-crossing detection circuit, recovering the transmission data according to the first zero-crossing signal to output a first control signal (When the waveform is converted from a positive half cycle to a negative half cycle or from a negative half cycle to a positive half cycle, during the zero potential is passed, a zero-crossing signal is generated, and the zero-crossing signal is sent to the control module 114…The control module 114 [first microcontroller unit] receives the zero-crossing signal from the zero-crossing detection module 111, and starts a data modulation operation at a specific time period after receiving the zero-crossing signal, see ¶ 0065).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu, Saes and Zhang with Xiong to teach wherein the ceiling/wall device comprising: a bridge rectifier, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal, a first output terminal and a second output terminal, wherein the first input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the second terminal of the power electrical wire, the second input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the neutral wire; a first zero-crossing detection circuit, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the first zero-crossing detection circuit is coupled to the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier for detecting a voltage of the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier and outputting a first zero-crossing signal; a first microcontroller unit, coupled to the first zero-crossing detection circuit, recovering the transmission data according to the first zero-crossing signal to output a first control signal. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to perform a power conversion to generate a lighting signal, and adjusting the lighting signal based on the dimming driving signal (see ¶ 0026).
Liu, Saes and Xiong do not expressly disclose a brushless DC motor circuit, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal and a control terminal, wherein the first input terminal of the brushless DC motor circuit is coupled to the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier, the second input terminal of the brushless DC motor circuit is coupled to the second output terminal of the bridge rectifier and the control terminal of the brushless DC motor circuit receives the first control signal from the first microcontroller unit to adjust the rotational speed of the brushless DC motor circuit.
Xin teaches a brushless DC motor circuit, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal and a control terminal (a motor device 200 according to the preferred embodiment of the present invention is powered by an alternating current (AC) power supply 206 and comprises a motor and a power supply circuit for supplying power to the motor. The power supply circuit comprises an input terminal 201 for connecting a live or active wire of the AC power supply 206 [first input terminal], an earth terminal 202 for connecting a neutral or ground wire of the AC power supply 206 [second terminal], a voltage decreasing unit 220 [control terminal], and an A-D converter 240. In this embodiment, the motor is a brushless direct current (BLDC) motor, see ¶ 0026), wherein the first input terminal of the brushless DC motor circuit is coupled to the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier (The A-D converter 240 comprises a rectifier 242 for converting the decreased AC voltage at the output terminal 203 to a DC voltage, see ¶ 0028; Figure 1 illustrates input terminal 201 of the AC power supply 206 [BLDC] is connected to the output terminal 203 of rectifier 242), the second input terminal of the brushless DC motor circuit is coupled to the second output terminal of the bridge rectifier (Figure 1 illustrates the input terminal 202 [second input terminal of BLDC] is connected to the second output terminal of the rectifier) and the control terminal of the brushless DC motor circuit receives the first control signal from the first microcontroller unit to adjust the rotational speed of the brushless DC motor circuit (The voltage decreasing unit 220 comprises an adjustable capacitor unit 222 (FIG. 2) [first microcontroller unit] with adjustable capacitance for decreasing the AC voltage supplied to the input terminal 201 and the earth terminal 202, see ¶ 0027; The A-D converter 240 comprises a rectifier 242 for converting the decreased AC voltage at the output terminal 203 to a DC voltage and a filter 244 for smoothing the DC voltage output from the rectifier 242, see ¶ 0028; the motor device 200 further includes a voltage adjusting unit for adjusting the DC voltage output from the A-D converter 240 [receive the first control signal from first microcontroller unit], see ¶ 0031; by controlling the adjustable capacitor unit 222 with different capacitances, the A-D converter 240 can correspondingly output DC voltage with different values so as to operate the motor at different speeds [receive the first control signal to adjust the rotational speed of the BLDC], see ¶ 0032).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu, Saes and Xiong with Xin to teach a brushless DC motor circuit, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal and a control terminal, wherein the first input terminal of the brushless DC motor circuit is coupled to the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier, the second input terminal of the brushless DC motor circuit is coupled to the second output terminal of the bridge rectifier and the control terminal of the brushless DC motor circuit receives the first control signal from the first microcontroller unit to adjust the rotational speed of the brushless DC motor circuit. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to output DC voltage with different values so as to operate the motor at different speeds (see ¶ 0032).
As to Claim 6, Liu, Saes, Xiong and Xin depending on Claim 5, Saes teaches a lamp circuit comprising a control terminal, the control terminal of the lamp circuit receives the second control signal from the second microcontroller unit to adjust a luminance and/or a color temperature of the lamp circuit (frequency and timing (phase) of the supply voltage (in case of an AC- or rectified AC voltage) may also be advantageously used to select an appropriate modulation cycle or period for controlling illumination characteristics of an LED or LEDs of the LED fixture that is powered. Typically, illumination characteristics such as intensity or color of the LEDs of an LED fixture are controlled by providing a substantially constant current to the LEDs at a controllable duty cycle, see ¶ 0130; a front end converter 1000 back end converter 1010 arrangement driving LED fixture 1020, whereby the power supply voltage 1030 is provided as input to the front end converter and the output voltage 1040 of the front end converter is provided as input voltage to the back end converter, and whereby the back end converter provides the LED current 1050 to the LEDs 1020 [the control terminal of the lamp circuit receives the second control signal from the second microcontroller unit]…the sensing circuit and detecting circuit connect to the secondary side of the front end converter, they may easily interface with the back end converter, in particular with the controller thereof. For example, the detecting circuit may be comprised in the controller (e.g. microprocessor) of the back end converter [second microcontroller unit]. The backend converter may hence adjust an illumination based on measured properties of the power supply, for example adjust the light output and/or colour in the case of a low power, brown out, etc. Also the backend converter may adjust a time modulation of the LEDs, for example in synchronism with a cycle of the power supply, see ¶ 0127);
Xiong teaches wherein the ceiling/wall device further comprising: a second zero-crossing detection circuit, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the zero-crossing detection circuit is coupled to the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier for detecting a voltage of the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier and outputting a second zero-crossing signal (the data modulation module 112 can be configured as a rectifier circuit to rectify the received external power signal to generate a rectified signal, see ¶ 0073; The zero-crossing detection module 111 collects the power signal from the power input end A1 first terminal] and the dimmer output end 110a [second terminal]. When the waveform is converted from a positive half cycle to a negative half cycle or from a negative half cycle to a positive half cycle, during the zero potential is passed, a zero-crossing signal is generated, and the zero-crossing signal is sent to the control module 114…The data modulation module 112 is controlled by the control module 114 to load the digital dimming signal DIM onto the power signal to generate a dimming power signal…The control module 114 receives the zero-crossing signal from the zero-crossing detection module 111, and starts a data modulation operation at a specific time period after receiving the zero-crossing signal, see ¶ 0065; Figure 4A illustrates live wire A1 coupled to the first zero-crossing detection and the output terminal of the bridge rectifier);
a second microcontroller unit, coupled to the second zero-crossing detection circuit, recovering the transmission data according to the second zero-crossing signal to output a second control signal (When the waveform is converted from a positive half cycle to a negative half cycle or from a negative half cycle to a positive half cycle, during the zero potential is passed, a zero-crossing signal is generated, and the zero-crossing signal is sent to the control module 114…The control module 114 [first microcontroller unit] receives the zero-crossing signal from the zero-crossing detection module 111, and starts a data modulation operation at a specific time period after receiving the zero-crossing signal, see ¶ 0065).
a lamp circuit, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal, wherein the first input terminal of the lamp circuit is coupled to the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier, the second input terminal of the lamp circuit is coupled to the second output terminal of the bridge rectifier (Figure 8A illustrates an LED lamp 122 having a first input terminal coupled to a first output terminal of a rectifier circuit and a second input terminal coupled to a second output terminal of a rectifier circuit 124).
As to Claim 12, Liu and Saes depending on Claim 8, Liu and Saes do not expressly disclose wherein the ceiling/wall device comprising: a bridge rectifier, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal, a first output terminal and a second output terminal, wherein the first input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the second terminal of the power electrical wire, the second input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the neutral wire; a first zero-crossing detection circuit, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the first zero-crossing detection circuit is coupled to the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier for detecting a voltage of the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier and outputting a first zero-crossing signal; a first microcontroller unit, coupled to the first zero-crossing detection circuit, recovering the transmission data according to the first zero-crossing signal to output a first control signal.
Xiong teaches wherein the ceiling/wall device comprising: a bridge rectifier, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal, a first output terminal and a second output terminal (The rectifier circuit 124 is a full-bridge rectifier circuit, see ¶ 0094; Figure 8A illustrates a rectifier circuit 124 having first and second input terminals, first and second output terminals), wherein the first input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the second terminal of the power electrical wire, the second input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the neutral wire (The rectifier circuit 124 is electrically connected to the output end 110a of the dimmer 110 and the power input end A2, see ¶ 0093; Figure 8A illustrates the first and second input terminals coupled to the live wire A2 and neutral wire 110, respectively);
a first zero-crossing detection circuit, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the first zero-crossing detection circuit is coupled to the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier for detecting a voltage of the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier and outputting a first zero-crossing signal (the data modulation module 112 can be configured as a rectifier circuit to rectify the received external power signal to generate a rectified signal, see ¶ 0073; The zero-crossing detection module 111 collects the power signal from the power input end A1 and the dimmer output end 110a. When the waveform is converted from a positive half cycle to a negative half cycle or from a negative half cycle to a positive half cycle, during the zero potential is passed, a zero-crossing signal is generated, and the zero-crossing signal is sent to the control module 114…The data modulation module 112 is controlled by the control module 114 to load the digital dimming signal DIM onto the power signal to generate a dimming power signal…The control module 114 receives the zero-crossing signal from the zero-crossing detection module 111, and starts a data modulation operation at a specific time period after receiving the zero-crossing signal, see ¶ 0065; Figure 4A illustrates live wire A1 coupled to the first zero-crossing detection and the output terminal of the bridge rectifier);
a first microcontroller unit, coupled to the first zero-crossing detection circuit, recovering the transmission data according to the first zero-crossing signal to output a first control signal (When the waveform is converted from a positive half cycle to a negative half cycle or from a negative half cycle to a positive half cycle, during the zero potential is passed, a zero-crossing signal is generated, and the zero-crossing signal is sent to the control module 114…The control module 114 [first microcontroller unit] receives the zero-crossing signal from the zero-crossing detection module 111, and starts a data modulation operation at a specific time period after receiving the zero-crossing signal, see ¶ 0065).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu, Saes and Zhang with Xiong to teach wherein the ceiling/wall device comprising: a bridge rectifier, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal, a first output terminal and a second output terminal, wherein the first input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the second terminal of the power electrical wire, the second input terminal of the bridge rectifier is coupled to the neutral wire; a first zero-crossing detection circuit, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the first zero-crossing detection circuit is coupled to the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier for detecting a voltage of the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier and outputting a first zero-crossing signal; a first microcontroller unit, coupled to the first zero-crossing detection circuit, recovering the transmission data according to the first zero-crossing signal to output a first control signal. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to perform a power conversion to generate a lighting signal, and adjusting the lighting signal based on the dimming driving signal (see ¶ 0026).
Liu, Saes and Xiong do not expressly disclose a brushless DC motor circuit, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal and a control terminal, wherein the first input terminal of the brushless DC motor circuit is coupled to the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier, the second input terminal of the brushless DC motor circuit is coupled to the second output terminal of the bridge rectifier and the control terminal of the brushless DC motor circuit receives the first control signal from the first microcontroller unit to adjust the rotational speed of the brushless DC motor circuit.
Xin teaches a brushless DC motor circuit, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal and a control terminal (a motor device 200 according to the preferred embodiment of the present invention is powered by an alternating current (AC) power supply 206 and comprises a motor and a power supply circuit for supplying power to the motor. The power supply circuit comprises an input terminal 201 for connecting a live or active wire of the AC power supply 206 [first input terminal], an earth terminal 202 for connecting a neutral or ground wire of the AC power supply 206 [second terminal], a voltage decreasing unit 220 [control terminal], and an A-D converter 240. In this embodiment, the motor is a brushless direct current (BLDC) motor, see ¶ 0026), wherein the first input terminal of the brushless DC motor circuit is coupled to the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier (The A-D converter 240 comprises a rectifier 242 for converting the decreased AC voltage at the output terminal 203 to a DC voltage, see ¶ 0028; Figure 1 illustrates input terminal 201 of the AC power supply 206 [BLDC] is connected to the output terminal 203 of rectifier 242), the second input terminal of the brushless DC motor circuit is coupled to the second output terminal of the bridge rectifier (Figure 1 illustrates the input terminal 202 [second input terminal of BLDC] is connected to the second output terminal of the rectifier) and the control terminal of the brushless DC motor circuit receives the first control signal from the first microcontroller unit to adjust the rotational speed of the brushless DC motor circuit (The voltage decreasing unit 220 comprises an adjustable capacitor unit 222 (FIG. 2) [first microcontroller unit] with adjustable capacitance for decreasing the AC voltage supplied to the input terminal 201 and the earth terminal 202, see ¶ 0027; The A-D converter 240 comprises a rectifier 242 for converting the decreased AC voltage at the output terminal 203 to a DC voltage and a filter 244 for smoothing the DC voltage output from the rectifier 242, see ¶ 0028; the motor device 200 further includes a voltage adjusting unit for adjusting the DC voltage output from the A-D converter 240 [receive the first control signal from first microcontroller unit], see ¶ 0031; by controlling the adjustable capacitor unit 222 with different capacitances, the A-D converter 240 can correspondingly output DC voltage with different values so as to operate the motor at different speeds [receive the first control signal to adjust the rotational speed of the BLDC], see ¶ 0032).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu, Saes and Xiong with Xin to teach a brushless DC motor circuit, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal and a control terminal, wherein the first input terminal of the brushless DC motor circuit is coupled to the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier, the second input terminal of the brushless DC motor circuit is coupled to the second output terminal of the bridge rectifier and the control terminal of the brushless DC motor circuit receives the first control signal from the first microcontroller unit to adjust the rotational speed of the brushless DC motor circuit. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to output DC voltage with different values so as to operate the motor at different speeds (see ¶ 0032).
As to Claim 13, Liu, Saes, Xiong and Xin depending on Claim 12, Saes teaches a lamp circuit comprising a control terminal, the control terminal of the lamp circuit receives the second control signal from the second microcontroller unit to adjust a luminance and/or a color temperature of the lamp circuit (frequency and timing (phase) of the supply voltage (in case of an AC- or rectified AC voltage) may also be advantageously used to select an appropriate modulation cycle or period for controlling illumination characteristics of an LED or LEDs of the LED fixture that is powered. Typically, illumination characteristics such as intensity or color of the LEDs of an LED fixture are controlled by providing a substantially constant current to the LEDs at a controllable duty cycle, see ¶ 0130; a front end converter 1000 back end converter 1010 arrangement driving LED fixture 1020, whereby the power supply voltage 1030 is provided as input to the front end converter and the output voltage 1040 of the front end converter is provided as input voltage to the back end converter, and whereby the back end converter provides the LED current 1050 to the LEDs 1020 [the control terminal of the lamp circuit receives the second control signal from the second microcontroller unit]…the sensing circuit and detecting circuit connect to the secondary side of the front end converter, they may easily interface with the back end converter, in particular with the controller thereof. For example, the detecting circuit may be comprised in the controller (e.g. microprocessor) of the back end converter [second microcontroller unit]. The backend converter may hence adjust an illumination based on measured properties of the power supply, for example adjust the light output and/or colour in the case of a low power, brown out, etc. Also the backend converter may adjust a time modulation of the LEDs, for example in synchronism with a cycle of the power supply, see ¶ 0127);
Xiong teaches wherein the ceiling/wall device further comprising: a second zero-crossing detection circuit, comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal of the zero-crossing detection circuit is coupled to the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier for detecting a voltage of the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier and outputting a second zero-crossing signal (the data modulation module 112 can be configured as a rectifier circuit to rectify the received external power signal to generate a rectified signal, see ¶ 0073; The zero-crossing detection module 111 collects the power signal from the power input end A1 first terminal] and the dimmer output end 110a [second terminal]. When the waveform is converted from a positive half cycle to a negative half cycle or from a negative half cycle to a positive half cycle, during the zero potential is passed, a zero-crossing signal is generated, and the zero-crossing signal is sent to the control module 114…The data modulation module 112 is controlled by the control module 114 to load the digital dimming signal DIM onto the power signal to generate a dimming power signal…The control module 114 receives the zero-crossing signal from the zero-crossing detection module 111, and starts a data modulation operation at a specific time period after receiving the zero-crossing signal, see ¶ 0065; Figure 4A illustrates live wire A1 coupled to the first zero-crossing detection and the output terminal of the bridge rectifier);
a second microcontroller unit, coupled to the second zero-crossing detection circuit, recovering the transmission data according to the second zero-crossing signal to output a second control signal (When the waveform is converted from a positive half cycle to a negative half cycle or from a negative half cycle to a positive half cycle, during the zero potential is passed, a zero-crossing signal is generated, and the zero-crossing signal is sent to the control module 114…The control module 114 [first microcontroller unit] receives the zero-crossing signal from the zero-crossing detection module 111, and starts a data modulation operation at a specific time period after receiving the zero-crossing signal, see ¶ 0065).
a lamp circuit, comprising a first input terminal, a second input terminal, wherein the first input terminal of the lamp circuit is coupled to the first output terminal of the bridge rectifier, the second input terminal of the lamp circuit is coupled to the second output terminal of the bridge rectifier (Figure 8A illustrates an LED lamp 122 having a first input terminal coupled to a first output terminal of a rectifier circuit and a second input terminal coupled to a second output terminal of a rectifier circuit 124).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 14, 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EBONI N GILES/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622