DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh (KR 20-2013-0004510) in view of Millard (GB 728162).
With respect to Claim 1, KR ‘510, Figure 3-4, teaches a sounding structure of a spinning fishing reel, the sounding structure comprising:
a spindle 10;
a dial disk 200, including a disk body sleeved onto the spindle 10 in a non-rotatable manner relative to the spindle 10, and an undulating portion 210 at a periphery of the disk body 200;
an annular groove 150 disposed on an inner periphery of the tube portion; and
a tension clip 140, having a curved shape with at least one protruding portion 142 engaged into the annular groove 150,170 in a way that the tension clip 140 is non-rotatable relative to the line spool, and an elastic arm 140a extending outwardly from the at least one protruding portion 142 in a way that the elastic arm is in contact with the undulating portion of the dial disk 200.
Noh teaches all the elements of the sounding structure except for
a line spool, sleeved onto the spindle in a rotatable manner relative to the spindle, the line spool including a tube portion.
However, Millard, Figures 1-2, teaches
a line spool 1, sleeved onto the spindle in a rotatable manner relative to the spindle, the line spool including a tube portion 5a and a tension clip in a groove 9.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the sounding structure of Noh within the spool, as taught by Millard, for the purpose of minimizing the size of the overall structure of the fishing reel.
With respect to Claim 2, Noh further teaches wherein the undulating portion of the dial disk comprises a plurality of peaks 210b and a plurality of troughs 210a arranged alternately; the elastic arm of the tension clip has a distal end engaged into one of the troughs.
With respect to Claim 4, Millard further teaches an anti-rotation member 10 disposed to the line spool and engaged with the tension clip.
With respect to Claim 5, Millard further teaches wherein the anti-rotation member 10 is a pillar, the annular groove 9 of the line spool is located on an imaginary plane, and the anti-rotation member 10 intersects with the imaginary plane.
With respect to Claim 6, Millard further teaches wherein the tube portion of the line spool is installed with a line hooking member; the anti-rotation member is connected with the line hooking member and partially extends into the annular groove of the line spool.
With respect to Claim 7, Noh further teaches wherein the tension clip comprises a striking member 142 disposed on the elastic arm and engaged with the undulating portion of the dial disk.
With respect to Claim 10, Noh further teaches 10. The sounding structure of the spinning fishing reel as claimed in claim 1, wherein the tension clip is a C-shaped clip.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 and 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 3 is allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the entire combination of elements of the sounding structure set forth including wherein the distal end of the elastic arm includes an axial segment extending into the one of the troughs, and the axial segment is parallel to the spindle.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest wherein the distal end of the elastic arm includes an axial segment extending into the one of the troughs, and the axial segment is parallel to the spindle as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the sounding structure in the manner required by the claims.
Claim 8 is allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the entire combination of elements of the sounding structure set forth including wherein the tension clip comprises a stop arm extending from the at least one protruding portion and overlappingly engaging with the elastic arm.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest wherein the tension clip comprises a stop arm extending from the at least one protruding portion and overlappingly engaging with the elastic arm as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the sounding structure in the manner required by the claims.
Claim 9 is allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the entire combination of elements of the sounding structure set forth including a keyed washer sleeved onto the spindle and located between the tension clip and the line spool, and a brake washer sleeved onto the spindle and located between the keyed washer and the line spool.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest a keyed washer sleeved onto the spindle and located between the tension clip and the line spool, and a brake washer sleeved onto the spindle and located between the keyed washer and the line spool as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the sounding structure in the manner required by the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/WILLIAM A. RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654