DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1/a2) as being anticipated by Babb, US 4316466 (Babb).
Regarding claim 1, Babb discloses a medical fluid drain container (abstract, figs. 1-2) comprising:
A first compartment (REF 10, see “first flow path”, C4/L16) for collecting a fluid;
An inlet (REF 12) connected to the first compartment, the inlet configured to be connected to a fluid line;
A second compartment (REF 18, see “second flow path”, C4/L22-23) containing an acid (see “trisodium citrate in a saline solution”, C2/L8-12 and “the second flow path is called the “additive fluid flow path””, C2/L47-51);
An outlet (REF 24) fluidly connected to the second compartment, the outlet configured to be connected to a drain line (REF 11);
Wherein fluid transfer between the first compartment and the second compartment is prevented in a first state (when REF 34 is not activated) and permitted in a second state (when REF 34 is activated, ¶ 0020).
Elements drawn to “dialysis fluid” and “used dialysis fluid” are not considered to impart structural weight to the claims beyond requiring the container to be capable of holding a fluid since these elements are not positively recited as a structural feature of the claim (see MPEP 2115).
Regarding claim 3, Babb discloses a container wherein the second compartment is a syringe (REF 35, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Babb discloses a container wherein the syringe comprises a plunger (REF 62) that is extended in a first state (fig. 1) and depressed in a second state (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Babb discloses a container wherein the acid comprises citric acid (see “trisodium citrate in a saline solution”, C2/L8-12).
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1/a2) as being anticipated by Furukawa et al., JP 2021-003262 (Furukawa, IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Furukawa discloses a dialysis fluid drain container (abstract, fig. 1) comprising:
A first compartment (REF 6) for collecting used dialysis fluid (see “dialysis waste fluid”, abstract);
An inlet (distal end of REF 5 within REF 6) connected to the first compartment, the inlet configured to be connected to a used dialysis fluid line (via REF 5);
A second compartment (REF 8) containing an acid (see “acid solution storage tank 8”, abstract);
An outlet (REF 13) connected to the second compartment, the outlet configured to be connected to a drain line (REF 14 via REF B);
Wherein fluid transfer between the first compartment and the second compartment is prevented in a first state (when pump “P” is not activated, ¶ 0020) and permitted in a second state (when pump “P” is activated, ¶ 0020).
Regarding claim 5, Furukawa discloses a container wherein the acid comprises acetic acid (see “acetic acid”, ¶ 0017).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babb in view of Friederichs et al., US 2017/0290970 (Friederichs, IDS).
Regarding claim 2, while Babb discloses the use of a valving system (REF 26, 28, 30, 32) for the control of fluid movement from the first compartment to the second compartment, Babb does not disclose a container further comprising a frangible seal between the first compartment and second compartment, the seal being unbroken in the first state and broken in the second state. However, Friederichs discloses a medical fluid storage system (abstract) where valves such as those used in Babb are used interchangeably with clamps or frangible valves (¶ 0106).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the container of Babb to utilize a frangible type valve as described in Friederichs since it has been shown that such valves are routinely used as alternative means for controlling liquid flow between containers.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babb in view of Brandl et al., US 2012/0310150 (Brandl).
Regarding claim 6, Babb does not disclose the acid being in powder form. However, Babb discloses that the additive is “preferably trisodium citrate in a saline solution”, where trisodium citrate is mixed with the saline solution to form an aqueous citric acid solution for use. Furthermore, Brandl discloses medical fluid containers containing concentrates in powdered form, liquid form, or liquid slurry form (abstract).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the container of Babb to utilize the additive in powder form as described in Brandl since it has been shown that additives in powdered, liquid, or semi-liquid form are equally effective for dissolution when mixed with a liquid and the selection of any of these forms provides no more than predictable and reliable results absent a showing to the contrary.
Conclusion
DIRK R. BASS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779
/DIRK R BASS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779