DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/25/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the connecting member” should read –flexible connecting member--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schroedel et al. (US 2017/0149363).
In claim 1, Schroedel discloses (Fig. 1-11) a protective cover (34, 38) for a connector (12) of an electric device (1; [0036]) mounted on a vehicle ([0004]) and a cable (33) connected to the connector (12), the protective cover (34, 38) comprising: a first rigid protective member (38) that covers the connector (12); a second rigid protective member (respective 38) that covers the cable (33) extending from the connector (12) at a position distant from the connector (12); and a flexible connecting member (34) that is provided in a clearance between the first rigid protective member (38) and the second rigid protective member (respective 38) and connects the first rigid protective member (38) and the second rigid protective member (respective 38) while slacking away from the cable (33).
In claim 2, Schroedel discloses wherein: the connector (12) is attached to a side surface of the electric device (1; [0036]) in a vehicle width direction; and the connecting member (34) has a slack shape to project in the vehicle width direction.
In claim 4, Schroedel discloses wherein the electric device (1) is a unit including at least a drive motor of the vehicle ([0032]).
In claim 5, Schroedel discloses electrified vehicle comprising: an electric device (1); and the protective cover (34, 38) according to claim 1 that is provided for the electric device (1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroedel et al. (US 2017/0149363) in view of Szilagyi et al. (US 2010/0170693).
In claim 3, Schroedel teaches the cover of claim 1, with the exception of wherein the connecting member is a mesh sheet member.
However, Szilagyi teaches a protective cover (Fig. 1-4) wherein the connecting member (26) is a mesh sheet member.
Therefore in view of Szilagyi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide structural integrity to the cable and protect against cable damage caused by short circuit connections (Szilagyi; [0021]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Adachi et al. (US 2010/0243321) teaches a motor cable assembly connecting a motor and an inverter including a cable main body, which can move flexibly.
Kogure et al. (US 2020/0070748) teaches a wire harness including: a flexible conductor; a flexible restricting member extending along the conductor and restricting a path of the conductor; a flexible armoring member through which the conductor and the restricting member are inserted; a first holding member including a first recessed part and fixed to the vehicle body.
RASHAD H. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/RASHAD H JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834