DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the 09/21/2026 amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant(s) argue(s) in page 11 with respect to claims 1 and 21:
“From the above, it is clear that the voltage converter shown in Fig. 6 of Enenkel is designed and functions to provide a stable/continuous output voltage in the range between zero and twice the supply voltage. Fig. 6 of Enenkel cannot reasonably be understood as modulating an output voltage "from among a set of three or more voltage levels" as set forth in claim 1. At best, Fig. 6 of Enenkel can be understood as a configurable voltage converter with the output voltage "lying in the range between zero and twice the supply voltage." Fig. 6 of Enenkel does not teach or suggest modulating between different voltage levels and certainly not between a set of three or more voltage levels.”
In response, Enenkel, Fig. 6 explicitly discloses in paragraph 051 “to provide output voltages lying in the range between zero and twice the supply voltage, wherein the bridge circuit is activated for desired output voltages in the range from zero to the supply voltage VSAT, and the bridge circuit BP is deactivated for desired output voltages between the supply voltage VBAT and twice the supply voltage. For this purpose, the combined control section RDCDC, RCP emits a corresponding control signal to the bridge circuit BP. A corresponding value for the desired output voltage can be supplied to the voltage converter via one of the control terminals SDA, SCL”. That is, when the bridge circuit BP is activated the output voltage is modulated between a desired range from zero to the supply voltage VSAT, and when the bridge circuit BP is de-activated, the output voltage is modulated between a range of VBAT and 2 x VSAT. According to paragraph 051 of Enenzekel, Fig. 6 modulates the output voltage to at least voltages levels 0V, VSAT, VBAT and 2VSAT. That’s at least 4 different voltage levels without counting that it is suggested that Fig. 6 can modulates the complete range of levels between said maximum and minimum voltage levels. Therefore, the rejection in view of Enenzekel, Fig. 1 in view of Enenzekel, Fig. 6 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 4, 8 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 2012/0249096; (hereinafter Enenkel) in view of Enenkel, Fig. 6.
Regarding claim 1, Enenkel [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses a system comprising: a hybrid supply generator/modulator having: a first stage [e.g. VBAT, DCDC] having an input [e.g. VDD / VBAT] configured to receive an input voltage [e.g. VDD / VBAT] and first and second outputs [e.g. two inputs of CP] configured to provide respective first [e.g. VDD / VBAT] and second intermediate voltages [e.g. step-down voltage of DCDC] having respective first [e.g. VDD / VBAT] and second intermediate voltage levels [e.g. step-down voltage level of DCDC output, paragraph 034 recites “By appropriate opening and closing of the first and second switches S1, S2 with intermediate storage on the inductive accumulator LSW in the step-down converter DCDC, energy is transferred to the first capacitive accumulator CDC in order to generate a first intermediate voltage at the output of the step-down converter circuit DCDC. A level of the first intermediate voltage depends in a known manner on the respective switching durations of the first and second switches S1, S2”], and a second stage [e.g. CP] having first [e.g. VDD / VBAT] and second [e.g. output of DCDC] inputs configured to respectively receive the first and second intermediate voltages, a switching network [e.g. charge pump (CP)], at least one energy storage device [e.g. CFLY], and an output configured to provide an output voltage [e.g. at OUT]; and a controller configured to operate the switching network to modulate the voltage level of the output voltage from among a set of voltage levels [e.g. paragraphs 035 - 036 recite “In the charge pump circuit, the second capacitive accumulator CFLY is charged by means of a supply voltage VBAT at the supply voltage terminal VDD to the value of the supply voltage VBAT, for example. In other words, the second capacitive accumulator CFLY is charged to a second intermediate voltage that corresponds in this case to the supply voltage VBAT. By appropriate connection of several capacitive accumulators in the charge pump circuit CP, second intermediate voltages that are smaller or larger than the supply voltage VBAT can also be generated. When the charge pump circuit CP has generated the second intermediate voltage, it is capable of connecting the second capacitive accumulator CFLY and the first capacitive accumulator CDC, on which the first intermediate voltage is present, in such a manner that an output voltage is present at the output terminal OUT that is composed of the first and second intermediate voltages, for example in an additive manner. The output accumulator COUT is thus charged to this output voltage”].
Enenkel, Fig. 1 fails to disclose to operate the switching network to modulate the voltage level of the output voltage from among a set of three or more voltage levels. Emphasis added to the lacking limitation.
Enekel, Fig. 6 teaches to operate the switching network to modulate the voltage level of the output voltage from among a set of three or more voltage levels [e.g. paragraph 051 recites “The bridge circuit BP is used to bridge the charge pump circuit CP, so that the first intermediate voltage is output as output voltage directly via the first capacitive accumulator CDC to the output terminal OUT. Accordingly, there is no increase of the first intermediate voltage by the second intermediate voltage from the charge pump circuit CP if the switch of the bridge circuit BP is closed. With such a voltage converter, it is therefore possible to provide output voltages lying in the range between zero and twice the supply voltage, wherein the bridge circuit is activated for desired output voltages in the range from zero to the supply voltage VSAT, and the bridge circuit BP is deactivated for desired output voltages between the supply voltage VBAT and twice the supply voltage. For this purpose, the combined control section RDCDC, RCP emits a corresponding control signal to the bridge circuit BP. A corresponding value for the desired output voltage can be supplied to the voltage converter via one of the control terminals SDA, SCL”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Enenkel, Fig. 1 by to operate the switching network to modulate the voltage level of the output voltage from among a set of three or more voltage levels as taught by Enenkel, Fig. 6 in order of being able to provide a wide range of desired output voltages.
Regarding claim 2, Enenkel [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses wherein the first or second intermediate voltage corresponds to the input voltage [e.g. VBAT / VDD].
Regarding claim 3, Enenkel [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses wherein the set of three or more voltages levels includes at least: a first voltage level corresponding to the first intermediate voltage level [e.g. VDD / VBAT]; and a third voltage level corresponding to the second intermediate voltage level [e.g. paragraphs 035 - 036 recite “In the charge pump circuit, the second capacitive accumulator CFLY is charged by means of a supply voltage VBAT at the supply voltage terminal VDD to the value of the supply voltage VBAT, for example. In other words, the second capacitive accumulator CFLY is charged to a second intermediate voltage that corresponds in this case to the supply voltage VBAT. By appropriate connection of several capacitive accumulators in the charge pump circuit CP, second intermediate voltages that are smaller or larger than the supply voltage VBAT can also be generated. When the charge pump circuit CP has generated the second intermediate voltage, it is capable of connecting the second capacitive accumulator CFLY and the first capacitive accumulator CDC, on which the first intermediate voltage is present, in such a manner that an output voltage is present at the output terminal OUT that is composed of the first and second intermediate voltages, for example in an additive manner. The output accumulator COUT is thus charged to this output voltage”].
Enenkel [e.g. Fig. 1] fails disclose a second voltage level different from the first and second intermediate voltage levels.
Enenkel, Fig. 6 teaches a second voltage level different from the first and second intermediate voltage levels [e.g. paragraphs 035 - 036 recite “In the charge pump circuit, the second capacitive accumulator CFLY is charged by means of a supply voltage VBAT at the supply voltage terminal VDD to the value of the supply voltage VBAT, for example. In other words, the second capacitive accumulator CFLY is charged to a second intermediate voltage that corresponds in this case to the supply voltage VBAT. By appropriate connection of several capacitive accumulators in the charge pump circuit CP, second intermediate voltages that are smaller or larger than the supply voltage VBAT can also be generated. When the charge pump circuit CP has generated the second intermediate voltage, it is capable of connecting the second capacitive accumulator CFLY and the first capacitive accumulator CDC, on which the first intermediate voltage is present, in such a manner that an output voltage is present at the output terminal OUT that is composed of the first and second intermediate voltages, for example in an additive manner. The output accumulator COUT is thus charged to this output voltage”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Enenkel, Fig. 1 by a second voltage level different from the first and second intermediate voltage levels as taught by Enenkel, Fig. 6 in order of being able to provide a wide range of desired output voltages.
Regarding claim 4, Enenkel [e.g. Fig. 1] fails to disclose wherein the switching network has at least the following states: a first state producing the third voltage level; a second state producing the second voltage level; a third state also producing the second voltage level; and a fourth state producing the first voltage level.
Enenkel [e.g. Figs. 6 – 7B] teaches wherein the switching network has at least the following states: a first state producing the third voltage level; a second state producing the second voltage level; a third state also producing the second voltage level; and a fourth state producing the first voltage level [e.g. paragraph 057 – 058 recite “FIGS. 7A and 7B show a feedback line FB that feeds back the voltage on the first capacitive accumulator CDC to the control section RDCDC. Thus the first and second switching phases P1, P2 can be controlled by means of the switches S1, S2 as already described in order to be able to output a desired first intermediate voltage or a desired output voltage. It may be noted that the embodiments described in the various figures can easily be combined. Further variations are also possible, for example, the provision of a larger number of charge accumulators in the charge pump circuit. In the third switching phase, three charge accumulators can be connected in series, while they are connected in parallel in the fourth switching phase. Accordingly, roughly one third of the supply voltage results as the second intermediate voltage. On the other hand, charge pump circuits that generate a second intermediate voltage that is higher than the supply voltage can also be used”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Enenkel, Fig. 1 by wherein the switching network has at least the following states: a first state producing the third voltage level; a second state producing the second voltage level; a third state also producing the second voltage level; and a fourth state producing the first voltage level as taught by Enenkel, Fig. 6 in order of being able to provide a wide range of desired output voltages.
Regarding claim 8, Enenkel [e.g. Fig. 1] fails to disclose wherein the switching network includes: a first switch having a first terminal connected to the second input of the second stage; a second switch having a first terminal connected to a second terminal of the first switch; a third switch having a first terminal connected to a second terminal of the second switch; and a fourth switch having a first terminal connected to a second terminal of the third switch and a second terminal connected to the first input of the second stage.
Enenkel [e.g. Fig. 6] teaches wherein the switching network includes: a first switch [e.g. S32] having a first terminal connected to the second input of the second stage [e.g. at lower terminal of S2]; a second switch [e.g. S41] having a first terminal connected to a second terminal of the first switch; a third switch [e.g. BP] having a first terminal connected to a second terminal of the second switch; and a fourth switch [e.g. S31, S42] having a first terminal connected to a second terminal of the third switch and a second terminal connected to the first input of the second stage [e.g.VDD].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Enenkel, Fig. 1 by wherein the switching network includes: a first switch having a first terminal connected to the second input of the second stage; a second switch having a first terminal connected to a second terminal of the first switch; a third switch having a first terminal connected to a second terminal of the second switch; and a fourth switch having a first terminal connected to a second terminal of the third switch and a second terminal connected to the first input of the second stage as taught by Enenkel, Fig. 6 in order of being able to provide a wide range of desired output voltages.
Regarding claim 21, Enenkel [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses a method for controlling a hybrid supply generator/modulator, the method comprising: producing [e.g. RCP, RDCDC] control signals [e.g. control signals for S1, S2 and switches in the charge pump (CP)] to turn switches of a second stage [e.g. CP] of the hybrid supply generator/modulator on and off to modulate a voltage level of a supply voltage from among a set of voltage levels [e.g. paragraphs 035 - 036 recite “In the charge pump circuit, the second capacitive accumulator CFLY is charged by means of a supply voltage VBAT at the supply voltage terminal VDD to the value of the supply voltage VBAT, for example. In other words, the second capacitive accumulator CFLY is charged to a second intermediate voltage that corresponds in this case to the supply voltage VBAT. By appropriate connection of several capacitive accumulators in the charge pump circuit CP, second intermediate voltages that are smaller or larger than the supply voltage VBAT can also be generated. When the charge pump circuit CP has generated the second intermediate voltage, it is capable of connecting the second capacitive accumulator CFLY and the first capacitive accumulator CDC, on which the first intermediate voltage is present, in such a manner that an output voltage is present at the output terminal OUT that is composed of the first and second intermediate voltages, for example in an additive manner. The output accumulator COUT is thus charged to this output voltage”], wherein the hybrid supply generator/modulator comprises a first stage [e.g. VBAT, DCDC] to generate first [e.g. VDD / VBAT] and second [e.g. step-down voltage of DCDC] intermediate voltage levels from a first input [e.g. VDD / VBAT] and the second stage to synthesize the supply voltage from the first and second intermediate voltage levels [e.g. paragraph 035 – 036 above].
Enenkel, Fig. 1 fails to disclose to modulate a voltage level of a supply voltage from among a set of three or more voltage levels. Emphasis added to the lacking limitation.
Enekel, Fig. 6 teaches to modulate a voltage level of a supply voltage from among a set of three or more voltage levels [e.g. paragraph 051 recites “The bridge circuit BP is used to bridge the charge pump circuit CP, so that the first intermediate voltage is output as output voltage directly via the first capacitive accumulator CDC to the output terminal OUT. Accordingly, there is no increase of the first intermediate voltage by the second intermediate voltage from the charge pump circuit CP if the switch of the bridge circuit BP is closed. With such a voltage converter, it is therefore possible to provide output voltages lying in the range between zero and twice the supply voltage, wherein the bridge circuit is activated for desired output voltages in the range from zero to the supply voltage VSAT, and the bridge circuit BP is deactivated for desired output voltages between the supply voltage VBAT and twice the supply voltage. For this purpose, the combined control section RDCDC, RCP emits a corresponding control signal to the bridge circuit BP. A corresponding value for the desired output voltage can be supplied to the voltage converter via one of the control terminals SDA, SCL”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Enenkel, Fig. 1 by modulate a voltage level of a supply voltage from among a set of three or more voltage levels as taught by Enenkel, Fig. 6 in order of being able to provide a wide range of desired output voltages.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 – 7, 9 – 20 and 22 – 25 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 5 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “in response to a command to set the output voltage level to the second voltage level, the controller uses a state machine to operate the switching network alternately between the second and third states to maintain the second voltage level.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 9 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein: in the first state, the first and second switches are on; in the second state, the first and third switches are on; in the third state, the second and fourth switches are on; and in the fourth state, the third and fourth switches are on.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 10 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein a first terminal of the at least one energy storage device is connected between the first and second switches and a second terminal of the at least one energy storage device is connected between the third and fourth switches.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 11 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the output of the second stage is connected between the second and third switches.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 12 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the set of three or more voltages levels includes at least: a first voltage level corresponding to the first intermediate voltage level; a second voltage level different from the first and second intermediate voltage levels; a third voltage level also different from the first and second intermediate voltage levels; and a fourth voltage level corresponding to the second intermediate voltage level”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 22 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein turning the switches of the second stage on and off includes using one or more state machines to alternately operate the switches between different ones of at least four distinct switching states to maintain at least one of the set of three or more voltage levels”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX TORRES-RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838