CTNF 18/753,521 CTNF 84958 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-2, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speicher et al (US 2023/0239779) (hereinafter Speicher) in view of Tamura et al (US 2025/0184261) (hereinafter Tamura) . Regarding claim 1, Speicher discloses a method for performing network slice reselection by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: identifying one or more allowed network slices within a first network slice simultaneous registration group (NSSRG) for one or more first applications at the UE (see Speicher, Fig. 2, p. [0111], e.g., the first base station 105-a may indicate, via the communications link 125-a, allowed S-NSSAIs associated with the network slices 220-a supported by the core network 130-a); receiving an initialization request from a second application at the UE (see Speicher, Fig. 2, p. [0111], e.g., the first base station 105-a may indicate access node configuration information to the UE 115-a via a control message 245, the PCF 215-a may configure the first base station 105-a to transmit the control message 245); determining one or more rules for the second application based on the received initialization request, the one or more rules indicating at least one network slice required for the second application (see Speicher, Fig. 2, p. [0111], e.g., the access node configuration information may include a home N3IWF identifier configuration (e.g., per NSSRG). The home N3IWF identifier configuration information may also include NSSRG specific N3IWF information, including one or more entries including: a set of NSSRGs supported by the N3IWFs and one or more home N3IWF identifiers (e.g., associated with IWF 235-a and IWF 235-b)); determining whether the at least one network slice required for the second application corresponds to one of the one or more allowed network slices within the first NSSRG (see Speicher, Fig. 2, p. [0116], e.g., the UE 115-a may determine (based on the provided NSSRGs in the access node configuration information), whether the S-NSSAIs associated with the new network slice(s) share at least one NSSRG with the S-NSSAI in the allowed NSSAI that the UE 115-a received from the first base station 105-a); and transmitting, to a network, a second registration request for registration of the UE to a second NSSRG including the at least one network slice required for the second application based on the rules for the second application, based on determining that the at least one network slice required for the second application does not correspond to the one or more allowed network slices (see Speicher, Fig.2., p. [0120-0122], e.g., The UE 115-a may transmit a registration message 260 to register with the IWF 235-b (e.g., the selected N3IWF) and connect with the access node 240-b). At paragraph [0109], Speicher discloses that the core network 130-a may include a policy control function (PCF) 215-a, and if during an N3IWF registration procedure, an allowed NSSAI changes, the AMF 210-a may provide the allowed NSSAI to the PCF 215-a, and p. [0119]). However, Speicher does not expressly disclose determining one or more route selection policy (URSP) rules for the second application based on the received initialization request. Tamura discloses the above recited limitations (see Tamura, p. [0217], e.g., the Policy Control Function (PCF) provides to a UE policy for PDU Session selection for example, i.e. UE Route Selection Policy (URSP). For example, this policy is used by the UE to determine how to route outgoing traffic from the Applications in the UE, and p. [0247-0248]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Tamura’s teachings into Speicher. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide UE policy information to determine how to route outgoing traffic from the Applications in the UE as suggested by Tamura. Regarding claim 2, the combined teaching of Speicher and Tamura disclose the method of claim 1, comprising: receiving a response message, in response to transmission of the second registration request, indicating an acceptance of the registration of the UE to the second NSSRG including the at least one network slice required for the second application; and utilizing the at least one network slice required for the second application based on receiving the response message (see Speicher, Fig. 2, p. [0122-0124], e.g., if the S-NSSAIs associated with the new network slice(s) do share at least one NSSRG with the S-NSSAI in the allowed NSSAI that the UE 115-a received from the first base station 105-a, the UE 115-a may select a different N3IWF that supports the new S-NSSAIs, and p. [0125], e.g., the AMF 210-b may configure the second base station 105-b to provide the UE 115-a with slicing prefix information for the VPLMN associated with the core network 130-b when the AMF 210-a updates the configured NSSAI for the UE 115-a). Regarding claim 11, Speicher discloses a user equipment (UE) configured to perform network slice reselection, the UE comprising: a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry communicably coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to: identify one or more allowed network slices within a first network slice simultaneous registration group (NSSRG) for one or more first applications at the UE (see Speicher, Fig. 2, p. [0111], e.g., the first base station 105-a may indicate, via the communications link 125-a, allowed S-NSSAIs associated with the network slices 220-a supported by the core network 130-a); receive an initialization request from a second application at the UE (see Speicher, Fig. 2, p. [0111], e.g., the first base station 105-a may indicate access node configuration information to the UE 115-a via a control message 245, the PCF 215-a may configure the first base station 105-a to transmit the control message 245); determine one or more rules for the second application based on the received initialization request, the one or more rules indicating at least one network slice required for the second application (see Speicher, Fig. 2, p. [0111], e.g., the access node configuration information may include a home N3IWF identifier configuration (e.g., per NSSRG). The home N3IWF identifier configuration information may also include NSSRG specific N3IWF information, including one or more entries including: a set of NSSRGs supported by the N3IWFs and one or more home N3IWF identifiers (e.g., associated with IWF 235-a and IWF 235-b)); determine whether the at least one network slice required for the second application corresponds to one of the one or more allowed network slices within the first NSSRG (see Speicher, Fig. 2, p. [0116], e.g., the UE 115-a may determine (based on the provided NSSRGs in the access node configuration information), whether the S-NSSAIs associated with the new network slice(s) share at least one NSSRG with the S-NSSAI in the allowed NSSAI that the UE 115-a received from the first base station 105-a); and transmit, to a network, a second registration request for registration of the UE to a second NSSRG including the at least one network slice required for the second application based on the rules for the second application, based on determining that the at least one network slice required for the second application does not correspond to the one or more allowed network slices (see Speicher, Fig.2., p. [0120-0122], e.g., The UE 115-a may transmit a registration message 260 to register with the IWF 235-b (e.g., the selected N3IWF) and connect with the access node 240-b). At paragraph [0109], Speicher discloses that the core network 130-a may include a policy control function (PCF) 215-a, and if during an N3IWF registration procedure, an allowed NSSAI changes, the AMF 210-a may provide the allowed NSSAI to the PCF 215-a, and p. [0119]). At paragraph [0109], Speicher discloses that the core network 130-a may include a policy control function (PCF) 215-a, and if during an N3IWF registration procedure, an allowed NSSAI changes, the AMF 210-a may provide the allowed NSSAI to the PCF 215-a, and p. [0119]). However, Speicher does not expressly disclose determining one or more route selection policy (URSP) rules for the second application based on the received initialization request. Tamura discloses the above recited limitations (see Tamura, p. [0217], e.g., the Policy Control Function (PCF) provides to a UE policy for PDU Session selection for example, i.e. UE Route Selection Policy (URSP). For example, this policy is used by the UE to determine how to route outgoing traffic from the Applications in the UE, and p. [0247-0248]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Tamura’s teachings into Speicher. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide UE policy information to determine how to route outgoing traffic from the Applications in the UE as suggested by Tamura. Regarding claim 12, the combined teaching of Speicher and Tamura disclose the UE of claim 11, wherein at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: receive a response message, in response to transmission of the second registration request, indicating an acceptance of the registration of the UE to the second NSSRG including the at least one network slice required for the second application; and utilize the at least one network slice required for the second application based on receiving the response message (see Speicher, Fig. 2, p. [0122-0124], e.g., if the S-NSSAIs associated with the new network slice(s) do share at least one NSSRG with the S-NSSAI in the allowed NSSAI that the UE 115-a received from the first base station 105-a, the UE 115-a may select a different N3IWF that supports the new S-NSSAIs, and p. [0125], e.g., the AMF 210-b may configure the second base station 105-b to provide the UE 115-a with slicing prefix information for the VPLMN associated with the core network 130-b when the AMF 210-a updates the configured NSSAI for the UE 115-a) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 7-10 and 17-20 are allowed. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the claimed invention requires a combination of distinct features, which are not found in the prior art, either singularly or in combination. The independent claims identify the following uniquely distinct features: Independent claim 7 requires “determining whether the at least one network slice required for the second application corresponds to one of the one or more allowed network slices within the first NSSRG; and based on determining that the at least one network slice required for the second application does not correspond to the one or more allowed network slices: identifying a weight corresponding to each of the second application and the one or more first applications; comparing the weight corresponding to each of the second application with the weight corresponding to each of the one or more first applications; and transmitting , to a network, a second registration request for registration of the UE to a second NSSRG including the at least one network slice required for the second application based on determining that the weight corresponding to each of the second application is greater than the weight corresponding to each of the one or more first applications.” Independent claim 17 requires “determine whether the at least one network slice required for the second application corresponds to one of the one or more allowed network slices within the first NSSRG; and based on determining that the at least one network slice required for the second application does not correspond to the one or more allowed network slices: identify a weight corresponding to each of the second application and the one or more first applications; compare the weight corresponding to each of the second application with the weight corresponding to each of the one or more first applications; and transmit, to a network, a second registration request for registration of the UE to a second NSSRG including the at least one network slice required for the second application based on determining that the weight corresponding to each of the second application is greater than the weight corresponding to each of the one or more first applications.” 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3-6 and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MINH TRANG T NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)270-5248. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30am-6:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chirag C Shah can be reached at 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MINH TRANG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/753,521 Page 2 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/753,521 Page 3 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/753,521 Page 4 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/753,521 Page 5 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/753,521 Page 6 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/753,521 Page 7 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/753,521 Page 8 Art Unit: 2477 Application/Control Number: 18/753,521 Page 9 Art Unit: 2477