DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 2/24/2026. Claims 15-19 are new. The objection to the Specification have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. The rejections pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. Accordingly, claims 1-7 and 9-19 are pending for consideration in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 17, the recitations “a hook body” lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims.
In particular, claim 2 also recites “a hook body” where “the first coupler body is a hook body”. Therefore, it is unclear which hook body is being referred to in the claim.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
For examination purposes, the limitations have been interpreted as - - the hook body- - for clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-11, 15, 16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US20220099358A1) in view of Akiyama (JP2013100841A).
Regarding Claim 1, Jung teaches a refrigerator [refrigerator 1, Figure 1] comprising:
a main body [main body 10, Figure 1] including;
a first insulating panel [rear wall module 12 where wall modules include insulation, Figure 3; 0060] including a first coupler [guide projection 70, Figure 3] that includes:
a first coupler body that protrudes from a surface of the first insulating panel [guide projections 70, Figure 3]
and a second insulating panel [top wall module 11 where wall modules include insulation, Figure 3; 0060] having a second coupler [guide groove 75, Figure 7], wherein the first coupler and the second coupler are connectable together [where the guide projection 70 inserts into guide groove 75; 0082]
a storage compartment inside the main body [where the main body 10 is formed of wall modules that define storerooms 21, 22 and 23, Figure 1; 0060];
a door [doors 20 and 30, Figure 1] to open and close the storage compartment [where doors 20 and 30 open and close the storage space;0160];
a cooling device [cooling module 18, Figure 2; 0062] including a surface configured to absorb heat from the storage compartment [where cooling module 18 includes an evaporator that uses latent heat of vaporization of refrigerant, where one of ordinary skill in the art would understand heat is absorbed; 0062] so as to cool the storage compartment [where the cold air produced by the cooling module is supplied to the storerooms; 0062], wherein the first insulating panel, the first coupler, the second insulating panel, and the second coupler are configured such that, to connect the first coupler and the second coupler together, the first insulating panel and first coupler are movable in a first direction [along dashed line, Figure 3] toward the second insulating panel and the second coupler such that the first coupler becomes inserted into the second coupler [where the guide projection 70 inserts into guide groove 75, Figure 7; 0082], but
Jung does not teach a first coupler protrusion that protrudes from the first coupler body, and a guide protrusion that protrudes from the surface of the first insulating panel and is in contact with the first coupler body, where the first coupler body protrudes farther than the guide protrusion towards the second insulating panel, and, after insertion of the first coupler into the second coupleperpendicular to the first direction such that the first coupler and the second coupler become connected.
However, Akiyama teaches a connecting structure for plate-like objects [0001] where a first coupler protrusion [retaining projection 33B of projection 9B, Figure 6; 0033] that protrudes from the first coupler body [where retaining projection 33B that extends from support projection 31 of connecting projection 9B, Figure 6; 0033], and a guide protrusion [base projection 37, Figure 6] that protrudes from the surface of the first insulating panel [end 5, Figure 6] and is in contact with the first coupler body [where base projection 37 connects retaining projection 33B to edge 5 of panel 1, Figure 6; 0048], where the first coupler body protrudes farther than the guide protrusion [where support projection 31 extends past base projection 37 to tip projection 39, Figure 6] towards the second panel [end 3 of panel 1, Figure 3 and Figure 7], and, after insertion of the first coupler into the second coupler [where retaining projection 9B inserts into connecting recess 7B such that the first end 3 and second end 5 come into contact, Figure 9; 0037], the first panel and the first coupler are movable in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction [where the first end 3 and second end 5 come into contact with each other during insertion and slide against each other, Figure 7; 0037] such that the first coupler and the second coupler become connected [where the protrusion 9B is inserted into the retaining recess 13B on connecting recess 7B, Figure 7; 0037] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device, insulation panels, that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, i.e., ensure both connection strength in the direction along the plate surface and connection strength in the direction perpendicular to the plate surface which fits into a compact area [Akiyama; 0010].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Jung to where a first coupler protrusion that protrudes from the first coupler body, and a guide protrusion that protrudes from the surface of the first insulating panel and is in contact with the first coupler body, where the first coupler body protrudes farther than the guide protrusion towards the second insulating panel, and, after insertion of the first coupler into the second couple
Regarding Claim 2, Jung, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and does not teach where the first coupler includes a hook, the second coupler includes a hook coupling part, and the hook and the hook coupling part are configured such that, to connect the hook and the hook coupling part together, the hook is movable in the first direction, or a third direction opposite the first direction, and toward the hook coupling part, such that the hook becomes inserted into the hook coupling part, and, after the hook is inserted into the hook coupling part, the hook is movable in the second direction, or a fourth direction opposite the second direction, such that the hook and the hook coupling part becomes connected.
However, Akiyama teaches a connecting structure for plate-like objects [0001] where the first coupler [connecting projection 9B, Figure 6] includes a hook [retaining projection 33B of projection 9B, Figure 6; 0033], the second coupler [connecting recess 7B, Figure 3; 0026] includes a hook coupling part [retaining recess 13B, Figure 3; 0026], and the hook and the hook coupling part are configured such that, to connect the hook and the hook coupling part together, the hook is movable in the first direction or a third direction opposite the first direction [where connecting projection 9B inserts into connecting recess 7B in a first direction, annotated Figure 7; 0037], and toward the hook coupling part, such that the hook becomes inserted into the hook coupling part [0037; Figure 7], and, after the hook is inserted into the hook coupling part, the hook is movable in the second direction, or a fourth direction opposite the second direction [where the first end 3 and second end 5 come into contact with each other during insertion and slide against each other, where protrusion 9B inserts into retaining recess 13B, annotated Figure 7; 0037], such that the hook and the hook coupling part becomes connected, where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device, insulation panels, that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, i.e., ensure both connection strength in the direction along the plate surface and connection strength in the direction perpendicular to the plate surface which fits into a compact area [Akiyama; 0010].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Jung to where the first coupler includes a hook, the second coupler includes a hook coupling part, and the hook and the hook coupling part are configured such that, to connect the hook and the hook coupling part together, the hook is movable in the first direction, or a third direction opposite the first direction, and toward the hook coupling part, such that the hook becomes inserted into the hook coupling part, and, after the hook is inserted into the hook coupling part, the hook is movable in the second direction, or a fourth direction opposite the second direction, such that the hook and the hook coupling part becomes connected in view of the teachings of Akiyama where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., ensure both connection strength in the direction along the plate surface and connection strength in the direction perpendicular to the plate surface which fits into a compact area [Akiyama; 0010].
Regarding Claim 3, Jung, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 2 and does not teach wherein: the first coupler body is a hook body that protrudes in the first direction or the third direction, and the first coupler protrusion is a hook protrusion extending from an end of the hook body in the second direction or the fourth direction.
However, Akiyama teaches a connecting structure for plate-like objects [0001] wherein: the first coupler body [support projection 31 of connecting projection 9B, Figure 6; 0033] is a hook body that protrudes in the first direction or the third direction [annotated Figure 6], and the first coupler protrusion [retaining projection 33B, Figure 6; 0033] is a hook protrusion extending from an end of the hook body in the second direction or the fourth direction [annotated Figure 6] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device, insulation panels, that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, i.e., ensure both connection strength in the direction along the plate surface and connection strength in the direction perpendicular to the plate surface which fits into a compact area [Akiyama; 0010].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Jung to where the first coupler body is a hook body that protrudes in the first direction or the third direction, and the first coupler protrusion is a hook protrusion extending from an end of the hook body in the second direction or the fourth direction in view of the teachings of Akiyama where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., ensure both connection strength in the direction along the plate surface and connection strength in the direction perpendicular to the plate surface which fits into a compact area [Akiyama; 0010].
Regarding Claim 4, Jung, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 3 and does not teach where the hook coupling part includes:
an accommodating space configured such that, with the hook inserted into the hook coupling part, the hook is movably accommodated in the accommodating space,
an opening formed on a side of the accommodating space and configured such that, with the hook and the hook coupling part coupled, the hook protrusion is received in the opening, and
a restraining portion configured such that, with the hook inserted into the hook coupling part, the restraining portion interferes with the hook protrusion to prevent the hook from being separated from the accommodating space by movement in the first direction or the third direction.
However, Akiyama teaches a connecting structure for plate-like objects [0001] where the hook coupling part [connecting recess 7B, Figure 3] includes:
an accommodating space [insertion recess 11, Figure 3; 0026] configured such that, with the hook [connecting protrusion 9B, Figure 7] inserted into the hook coupling part [Figure 7], the hook is movably accommodated in the accommodating space [where the insertion recess 11 has a width approximately the same as the connecting protrusions 9B in the direction along the first end edge 3, Figure 3 and Figure 7; 0027],
an opening [retaining recess 13B, Figure 3] formed on a side of the accommodating space [Figure 3; 0026] and configured such that, with the inserted into the hook coupling part, the hook protrusion is received in the opening [where retaining projection 33B is close to or in contact with the plate surface 15B of recess 19B of retaining recess 13B, Figure 3; 0038], and
a restraining portion [restricting block 18, Figure 3; 0038 ] configured such that, with the hook inserted into the hook coupling part, the restraining portion interferes with the hook protrusion to prevent the hook from being separated from the accommodating space by movement in the first direction or the third direction [where the retaining projection 33B and the retaining recess 13B engage, preventing them from coming loose from the connected state, annotated Figure 7; 0035] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device, insulation panels, that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, i.e., ensure both connection strength in the direction along the plate surface and connection strength in the direction perpendicular to the plate surface which fits into a compact area [Akiyama; 0010].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Jung to where an accommodating space configured such that, with the hook inserted into the hook coupling part, the hook is movably accommodated in the accommodating space, an opening formed on a side of the accommodating space and configured such that, with the hook and the hook coupling part coupled, the hook protrusion is received in the opening, and a restraining portion configured such that, with the hook inserted into the hook coupling part, the restraining portion interferes with the hook protrusion to prevent the hook from being separated from the accommodating space by movement in the first direction or the third direction in view of the teachings of Akiyama where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., ensure both connection strength in the direction along the plate surface and connection strength in the direction perpendicular to the plate surface which fits into a compact area [Akiyama; 0010].
Regarding Claim 5, Jung, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 2 and further teaches where the first insulating panel [rear wall module 12 where wall modules include insulation, Figure 3; 0060] includes an inner case [inner case 31, Figure 5], an outer case [outer case 38, Figure 5] coupled to the inner case [coupled to surface of inner case 31, Figure 5;0093], and a heat insulator between the inner case and the outer case [insulation 39 between inner case 31 and outer case 38, Figure 5;0093], the inner case includes a base portion [annotated Figure 3] and a step portion [at bottom wall 35 of concave portion 32, Figure 5] protruding from the base portion toward the storage compartment [annotated Figure 3], and the hook [guide projections 70, Figure 3, refer to Akiyama as applied to the rejection of claim 2 above] is formed on a surface of the step portion [where guide projection 70 projects from bottom wall 35, Figure 6].
Regarding Claim 6, Jung, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 5 and does not teach where the guide protrusion protrudes from the step portion, and the second insulating panel includes a guide groove configured
However, Akiyama teaches a connecting structure for plate-like objects [0001] where the guide protrusion protrudes from the same surface as the hook [where base projection 37 connects retaining projection 33B to edge 5 of panel 1, Figure 6; 0048], and the second insulating panel includes a guide groove [where the end recess 17, has a second opening width L2 that is narrower than the first opening width L1, Figure 3; 0029] configured such that, with the hook inserted into the hook coupling part or with the hook and the hook coupling part connected [where retaining projection 33B engages with retaining recess 13B, Figure 7; 0035 ], the guide protrusion is accommodated in the guide groove [where protrusion 37 has a thickness that is close to or in contact with the narrow width restricting block 18 that divides the end recess 17 into a second opening width L2; 0035] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device, insulation panels, that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, i.e., ensure both connection strength in the direction along the plate surface and connection strength in the direction perpendicular to the plate surface which fits into a compact area [Akiyama; 0010].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Jung to where the guide protrusion protrudes from the step portion, and the second insulating panel includes a guide groove configured
Regarding Claim 7, Jung, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 6 and further teaches wherein the guide protrusion extends along one of the second direction and fourth direction [where projection 37 extends from support projection 31 in a second or fourth direction, annotated Figure 6, refer to Akiyama as applied in the rejection of claim 6 above] .
Regarding Claim 9, Jung, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 6 and further teaches where the hook [refer to Akiyama as applied to claim 2 above where the first coupling includes a hook, where Akiyama teaches support projection 31 including a retaining projection 33B, Figure 6 of Akiyama] is among a plurality of hooks [where two guide projections 70 are on concave portion 42 of rear wall module 12, Figure 3 of Jung], and each hook of the plurality of hooks is spaced apart from each other hook of the plurality of hooks along one of the second direction and the fourth direction [in a second or fourth direction, annotated Figure 3 of Jung].
Regarding Claim 10, Jung, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches the first insulating panel [rear wall module 12, Figure 3] includes a first uneven portion [concave portion 32, Figure 5] on a surface of the first insulating panel [at the top of rear wall module 12, Figure 5], and the second insulating panel [top wall module 11, Figure 3] includes a second uneven portion [convex portion 52, Figure 5] on a surface of the second insulating panel [at the bottom of top wall module 11, Figure 5] and configured to correspond to the first uneven portion such that, as the first coupler [guide projection 70, Figure 3] becomes inserted into the second coupler [guide groove 75, Figure 4], the first uneven portion and the second uneven portion become connected [as shown in Figure 5;0066].
Regarding Claim 11, Jung, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 10 and further teaches where the first uneven portion includes a first convex portion [annotated Figure 5] and a first concave portion [concave portion 32, Figure 5], the second uneven portion includes a second convex portion [convex portion 52, Figure 5] configured to be accommodated in the first concave portion [as shown in Figure 5;0066] and a second concave portion [annotated Figure 5] configured to accommodate the first convex portion [annotated Figure 5], and the first uneven portion and the second uneven portion are configured such that, as the first uneven portion and the second uneven portion become connected [as shown in annotated Figure 5; 0066], the second convex portion becomes accommodated in the first concave portion and the first convex portion becomes accommodated in the second concave portion [as shown in annotated Figure 5; 0066].
Regarding Claim 15, Jung, as modified teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches where the guide protrusion forms at least a portion of the first coupler body [where base projection 37 connects to support projection of connecting protrusion 9B, Figure 6; 0048 of Akiyama, refer to Akiyama as applied to claim 1 above].
Regarding Claim 16, Jung, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the guide protrusion is in contact with the first coupler protrusion [where base projection 37 connects tip projection 39 of connecting protrusion 9B to edge 5 of panel 1, Figure 6; 0048 of Akiyama, refer to Akiyama as applied to claim 1 above].
Regarding Claim 18, Jung, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches a sealing member [sealing member 113, Figure 14], wherein the first insulating panel [rear wall module 12 where wall modules include insulation, Figure 3; 0060], the second insulating panel [top wall module 11 where wall modules include insulation, Figure 3; 0060], and the sealing member are configured such that, with the first coupler connected to the second coupler [where the convex portion 52 is inserted in convex portion 32, Figure 15; 0114], the sealing member is between the first insulating panel and the second insulating panel [where sealing member 113 is between the male connector 100 in the top wall module 11 and the female connector 170 in the bottom wall rear wall module 12, Figure 15; 0120].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US20220099358A1) in view of Akiyama (JP2013100841A) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Hong (US20230012438A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Jung, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and does not teach a connection bracket configured such that, with the first coupler inserted into the second coupler, the connection bracket is connectable to the first insulating panel and the second insulating panel such that the first insulating panel and the second insulating panel become connected.
However, Hong teaches a refrigerator in which a panel is easily mounted and detached [0015] where a connection bracket [upper bracket 53, Figure 29] configured such that, with the first coupler inserted into the second coupler coupled [where accommodation member 46 includes a hook portion in an accommodation space, Figure 29], the connection bracket is connectable to the first insulating panel [panel 51, Figure 29] and the second insulating panel [front plate, Figure 29] such that the first insulating panel and the second insulating panel become connected [where upper bracket 53 and lower bracket 54 fixedly mount between panel 51 and front plate 41;0259;0260] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., improving the connection between two panels with an additional bracket fixedly mounted [Hong, 0259].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Jung to have a connection bracket configured such that, with the first coupler inserted into the second coupler, the connection bracket is connectable to the first insulating panel and the second insulating panel such that the first insulating panel and the second insulating panel become connected in view of the teachings of Hong to where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., improving the connection between two panels with an additional bracket fixedly mounted [Hong, 0259].
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US20220099358A1) in view of Akiyama (JP2013100841A) and Hong (US20230012438A1) as applied to claim 13 above and in further view of Brown (DE532973C).
Regarding Claim 13, Jung, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 12 and does not teach where a first reinforcing plate inside the first insulating panel; and a second reinforcing plate inside the second insulating panel, wherein the first reinforcing plate and the second reinforcing plate are configured to be connectable to the connection bracket such that, with the first reinforcing plate and the second reinforcing plate connected to the connection bracket, the first insulating panel and the second insulating panel become connected.
However, Brown teaches a disassemblable refrigerator [0001;0002] where a first reinforcing plate [connecting web g, Figure 2] inside the first insulating panel [wall c, Figure 2]; and a second reinforcing plate [connecting web h, Figure 2] inside the second insulating panel [wall 3, Figure 2], wherein the first reinforcing plate and the second reinforcing plate are configured to be connectable to the connection bracket [angle bracket l, Figure 2] such that, with the first reinforcing plate and the second reinforcing plate connected to the connection bracket, the first insulating panel and the second insulating panel become connected [where the connection of adjacent walls is achieved by angle bracket 1, Figure 2 via screws k1 and k2;0008] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, joining wall sections with a bracket, to a known device, a disassemblable refrigerator, that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., improving insulation by further tightening the connection between walls of a refrigerator to prevent heat leak [Brown, 0004].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where a first reinforcing plate inside the first insulating panel; and a second reinforcing plate inside the second insulating panel, wherein the first reinforcing plate and the second reinforcing plate are configured to be connectable to the connection bracket such that, with the first reinforcing plate and the second reinforcing plate connected to the connection bracket, the first insulating panel and the second insulating panel become connected in view of the teachings of Brown where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., improving insulation by further tightening the connection between walls of a refrigerator to prevent heat leak [Brown, 0004].
Regarding Claim 14, Jung, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 13 and does not teach where a first fastening member including a first shaft configured to penetrate the connection bracket and connect to the first reinforcing plate, and a second fastening member including a second shaft configured to penetrate the connection bracket and connect to the second reinforcing plate, wherein the first fastening member, the first reinforcing plate, the second fastening member, the second reinforcing plate, and the connection bracket are configured such that, with the connection bracket penetrated by the first shaft and the first reinforcing plate connected to the first shaft, and the connection bracket penetrated by the second shaft and to the second reinforcing plate connected to the second shaft, the first insulating panel and the second insulating panel are connected.
However, Brown teaches a disassemblable refrigerator [0001;0002] where a first fastening member [screw k1, Figure 2] including a first shaft [where screw k1 inserts into web g, Figure 2] configured to penetrate the connection bracket [angle bracket 1, Figure 2] and couple to the first reinforcing plate [web g, Figure 2], and a second fastening member [screw k2, Figure 2] member including a second shaft configured [where screw k2 inserts into web h, Figure 2] to penetrate the connection bracket and connect to the second reinforcing plate [web h, Figure 2], wherein the first fastening member, the first reinforcing plate, the second fastening member, the second reinforcing plate, and the connection bracket are configured such that, with the connection bracket penetrated by the first shaft and the first reinforcing plate connected to the first shaft, and the connection bracket penetrated by the second shaft and the second reinforcing plate connected to the second shaft, the first insulating panel and the second insulating panel are connected [where the connection of adjacent walls is achieved by angle bracket 1, Figure 2 via screws k1 and k2;0008] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, joining wall sections with a bracket, to a known device, a disassemble-able refrigerator, that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., improving insulation by further tightening the connection between walls of a refrigerator to prevent heat leak [Brown, 0004].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have here a first fastening member including a first shaft configured to penetrate the connection bracket and connect to the first reinforcing plate, and a second fastening member including a second shaft configured to penetrate the connection bracket and connect to the second reinforcing plate, wherein the first fastening member, the first reinforcing plate, the second fastening member, the second reinforcing plate, and the connection bracket are configured such that, with the connection bracket penetrated by the first shaft and the first reinforcing plate connected to the first shaft, and the connection bracket penetrated by the second shaft and to the second reinforcing plate connected to the second shaft, the first insulating panel and the second insulating panel are connected in view of the teachings of Brown where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., improving insulation by further tightening the connection between walls of a refrigerator to prevent heat leak [Brown, 0004].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 17, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Jung et al. (US20220099358A1) in view of Akiyama (JP2013100841A), where Akiyama teaches a guide protrusion [base projection 37, Figure 6] that protrudes from the surface of a first panel [end 5, Figure 6] and forms at least a portion of a hook body of the plurality of hooks [where base projection 37 connects retaining projection 33B to edge 5 of connecting protrusions 9B on panel 1, Figure 1 and Figure 6; 0048] and does not teach where the guide protrusion extends between hooks of the plurality of hooks. In an interpretation of Jung, Jung teaches a possible guide protrusion [at inner wall 34 of rear wall module 12, Figure 5] that extends along protrusions of the plurality of protrusions [in second or fourth direction, annotated Figure 3 of Jung above] but does not where the guide protrusion forms at least a portion of a hook body of the plurality of hooks and extends between hooks of the plurality of hooks.
Regarding Claim 19, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Jung et al. (US20220099358A1) where Jung teaches a sealing member [sealing member 113, Figure 14] including an compressible material [where sealing member 113 may be pressurized and compressed by a pressurizing projection 152 formed at the female connector 140; 0120] but does not teach wherein the first insulating panel further includes an insertion groove between the guide protrusion and the base portion of the inner case, the second insulating panel further includes an insertion protrusion, the sealing member is in the insertion groove, and wherein the first insulating panel, the second insulating panel, and the sealing member are configured such that, with the hook inserted into the hook coupling part or with the hook and the hook coupling part connected, the sealing member is in a compressed state between the insertion protrusion and the step portion and in close contact with the insertion protrusion.
Therefore, it would not be obvious to modify the technique of the prior art structures to have the apparatus as claimed without improper hindsight and claim 17 and 19 with dependent claims therefrom are considered allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on page 8-10 of remarks filed 2/24/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant does not separately argue the rejection of claims 2-7 and 9-19 except for their dependence upon claim 1. Accordingly, the rejections of record are considered proper and remain.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kesling (US2807837A) discusses an invention to provide an insulated door structure having a gasket thereon adapted to engage a wall of a refrigerator to seal an access opening leading to a refrigerated compartment and where the invention is to slidably move an inner door panel into interlocking engagement with a plurality of hooks or wedge-shaped tabs formed integrally on an outer panel of a refrigerator cabinet door.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEONA LAUREN BANKS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763