DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Examiner has carefully considered applicant’s argument that the amendment has overcome the prior art because Yamada does not teach retention tabs on the grommet that extend outward from a grommet sidewall.
Argument found not persuasive because Yamada’s engaging claws (38) can be used in the same fashion and for the same purpose that applicant is claiming for their retention tabs. The engaging claws and are also in the same position applicant described in their amendment. The amendment overcomes the 112(d) rejection of claim 6, but the prior art rejections to the dependent claims 2-13 will remain.
Regarding claim 14, Examiner has carefully considered applicant’s argument that the amendment has overcome the prior art because Yamada’s side walls (42) only include the enclosing walls of the main body (40) and therefore do not come into contact with or limit the hook (F) from motion.
Argument found not persuasive because side walls (42) are considered to include the engaging portion (48) and the protruding portions (50). Both of these portions together limit the lateral and vertical movement of the hook (F) which applicant is attempting to claim. The rejections to the dependent claims will remain.
Regarding claim 19, Examiner has carefully considered applicant’s argument that the amendment has overcome the prior art because Yamada’s side walls (42) are continuous and adjacent to the protruding portions (50) and the amendment requires that no sidewall of the frame portion is interposed between adjacent wire prongs.
Argument found not persuasive because as shown in Yamada’s figure 5, no side wall is between the adjacent portions of the protruding portions. Only a small gap of space to insert the hook (F) remains between the protruding portions. The rejections to the dependent claims will remain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 18 does not further limit claim 16, of which it depends upon. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada et al. (US 20020050551 A1).
Annotated Figure 1 of Yamada
Regarding claim 1, Yamada discloses a grommet assembly (10, article holding device) to secure a first component (vehicle rear seat frame) having a wire component (F, hook) to a second component (P, floor panel) having an opening (h, mounting hole), the grommet assembly (10, article holding device) comprising:
a wire retainer (14, core) defining a wire cavity (annotated figure 1) configured to receive the wire component (F, hook), wherein the wire retainer (14, core) comprises: one or more grommet-retention features (46, projecting portions) extending outwardly from the wire retainer (14, core), and one or more wire prongs (50, protruding portions) extending inwardly into the wire cavity ([0049] lines 1-5) and configured to engage and secure the wire component (F, hook) within the wire cavity ([0052] lines 1-5); and
a grommet assembly (12, outer casing) configured to engage the second component (P, floor panel) via the opening (h, mounting hole), wherein the grommet assembly (12, outer casing) comprises: a seal (32, engaging flange), and a grommet defining a retainer cavity (20, inner wall surface) that is configured to receive ([0046] lines 11-17) at least a portion of the wire retainer (14, core); the grommet comprising one or more external retention tabs (38, engaging claws) extending outwardly (figure 3) from a sidewall of the grommet and configured to engage ([0051] lines 13-18) a perimeter of the opening (h, mounting hole) of the second component (P, floor panel).
Regarding claim 2, Yamada discloses that the wire retainer (14, core) comprises a frame portion (42, side walls) and a head portion (40, main body).
Regarding claim 3, Yamada discloses that the frame portion (42, side walls) defines the wire cavity ([0047] lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 4, Yamada discloses that the one or more grommet-retention features (46, projecting portions) are coupled to the head portion (40, main body).
Regarding claim 5, Yamada discloses that the one or more wire prongs (50, protruding portions) are coupled to the head portion (40, main body) resiliently (figure 1, [0049] lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 6, Yamada discloses that the one or more wire prongs (50, protruding portions) each comprise a curved leading edge (figure 5) shaped to correspond to an interior curvature of the wire component (F, hook).
Annotated Figure 3 of Yamada
Regarding claim 7, Yamada discloses that the grommet assembly (12, outer casing) comprises a grommet body portion (28, side walls) and a grommet collar portion (annotated figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Yamada discloses that a lip portion (annotated figure 3) is positioned at an interface between the grommet body portion (28, side walls) and the grommet collar portion (figure 3).
Regarding claim 9, Yamada discloses a seal (32, engaging flange) is coupled to the lip portion (annotated figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, Yamada discloses that the grommet collar portion (annotated figure 1) comprises a set of vertically aligned slots (34, 36, rectangular holes) on each of a pair of opposed sides of the grommet collar portion.
Regarding claim 11, Yamada discloses that the set of vertically aligned slots (34, 36, rectangular holes) comprises a first slot (36, rectangular hole) that is associated with a first position and a second slot (34, rectangular hole) that is associated with the second position ([0047] lines 7-11).
Regarding claim 12, Yamada discloses that the grommet body portion (28, side walls) comprises a set of inner shoulders (24, tapered portion) configured to direct the wire prongs (50, protruding portions) inwardly ([0054] lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 13, Yamada discloses a leading edge (annotated figure 1) of one or more wire prongs (50, protruding portions) is shaped to correspond to an interior curvature of the wire component (F, hook).
Regarding claim 14, Yamada discloses a grommet assembly (10, article holding device) to secure a first component (vehicle rear seat frame) having a wire component (F, hook) to a second component (P, floor panel) having an opening (h, mounting hole), the grommet assembly (10, article holding device) comprising:
a wire retainer (14, core) defining a wire cavity (annotated figure 1) configured to receive the wire component (F, hook), wherein the wire retainer (14, core) comprises a frame portion (42, side walls) and a head portion (40, main body);
a plurality of grommet-retention features (46, projecting portions) extending outwardly (figure 1) from the head portion (40, main body);
the frame portion (42, side walls) configured to limit vertical and lateral movement ([0049]) of the wire component (F, hook) within the wire cavity (annotated figure 1), the frame portion (42, side walls) comprising a leading edge (annotated figure 1) and two vertical sidewalls (annotated figure 1) extending perpendicularly from the head portion (40, main body) on opposing sides of the wire cavity (annotated figure 1); a plurality of wire prongs (50, protruding portions) extending from the head portion (40, main body) inwardly into the wire cavity (annotated figure 1) and configured to engage and secure the wire component (F, hook) within the wire cavity ([0052] lines 1-5); and
a grommet assembly (12, outer casing) configured to engage the second component (P, floor panel) via the opening (h, mounting hole), wherein the grommet assembly (12, outer casing) comprises a seal (32, engaging flange) and a grommet defining a retainer cavity (20, inner wall surface) that is configured to receive ([0046] lines 11-17) at least a portion of the wire retainer (14, core).
Regarding claim 15, Yamada discloses that the one or more wire prongs (50, protruding portions) are coupled to the head portion (40, main body) resiliently (figure 1, [0049] lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 16, Yamada discloses that the grommet assembly (12, outer casing) comprises a grommet body portion (28, side walls) and a grommet collar portion (annotated figure 1), and wherein the grommet body portion (28, side walls) comprises a set of inner shoulders (24, tapered portion) configured to direct the wire prongs (50, protruding portions) inwardly ([0054] lines 1-5) toward a central axis of the grommet assembly (10, article holding device).
Regarding claim 17, Yamada discloses that a lip portion (annotated figure 3) is positioned at an interface between the grommet body portion (28, side walls) and the grommet collar portion (figure 3).
Regarding claim 18, Yamada discloses that the grommet body portion (28, side walls) comprises a set of inner shoulders (24, tapered portion) configured to direct the wire prongs (50, protruding portions) inwardly ([0054] lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 19, Yamada discloses a grommet assembly (10, article holding device) to secure a first component (vehicle rear seat frame) having a wire component (F, hook) to a second component (P, floor panel) having an opening (h, mounting hole), the grommet assembly (10, article holding device) comprising:
a wire retainer (14, core) defining a wire cavity (annotated figure 1) configured to receive the wire component (F, hook), wherein the wire retainer (14, core) comprises a frame portion (42, side walls) and a head portion (40, main body);
a plurality of grommet-retention features (46, projecting portions) extending outwardly (figure 1) from the head portion (40, main body);
a plurality of wire prongs (50, protruding portions) extending from the head portion (40, main body) inwardly into the wire cavity (annotated figure 1) and configured to engage and secure the wire component (F, hook) within the wire cavity ([0052] lines 1-5); the frame portion (42, side walls) comprising open sides (figure 5) adjacent to the plurality of wire prongs (50, protruding portions) such that no sidewall of the frame portion (42, side walls) is interposed between adjacent wire prongs (50, protruding portions); and
a grommet assembly (12, outer casing) configured to engage the second component (P, floor panel) via the opening (h, mounting hole), wherein the grommet assembly (12, outer casing) comprises a seal (32, engaging flange) and a grommet defining a retainer cavity (20, inner wall surface) that is configured to receive ([0046] lines 11-17) at least a portion of the wire retainer (14, core), and wherein the grommet (12, outer casing) comprises a set of inner shoulders (24, tapered portion) configured to direct the wire prongs (50, protruding portions) inwardly ([0054] lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 20, Yamada discloses that the one or more wire prongs (50, protruding portions) are coupled to the head portion (40, main body) resiliently (figure 1, [0049] lines 1-4).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677