DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, and 8-10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun (US 2023/0114963) in view of Uhm (US 2017/0287112) and Pyo (US 2021/0248596).
Regarding claim 1, Jun teaches A method comprising: determining an image to be displayed on an emissive display, the emissive display comprising a plurality of pixels; determining an on-pixel ratio (OPR) for the image, the OPR indicative of a percentage of emitting pixels to non-emitting pixels for displaying the image; generating a bionic image based on the determined OPR ([0028] teaches the timing controller will receive image data RGB from the outside and calculate the on-pixel ratio using the image data RGB. Where the ratio corresponds to the size of the image on the screen. [0037] and Fig. 2 show the bionic image based on the on-pixel ration); combining the bionic image with the image to form a combined image, and displaying the image (Fig. 2 and Fig. 4 with the respective description express how values from the OPR LUT is applied to the data image RGB to be displayed displayed.). Although Jun teaches the limitations as discussed above, he fails to teach the combined image configured to have a higher luminance for a focus area of the combined image and to reduce a luminance to a lower luminance for an area outside of the focus area of the combined image effective to reduce a power expenditure by the emissive display.
However in the field of display images for a user, Uhm teaches displaying an image configured to have a higher luminance for a focus area of the combined image and to reduce a luminance to a lower luminance for an area outside of the focus area of the combined image effective to reduce a power expenditure by the emissive display (Figs. 9-10 shows display are 10 with high brightness and display area 163/165 with lower brightness level than display area 10.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of displaying an image as taught by Jun with the method of displaying an image as taught by Uhm. This combination would provide a reduced power usage of the device while maximizing user interaction. Although the combination teaches the limitations as discussed above, they fail to teach the determining the OPR for the image comprising: determining a display brightness value (DBV) of the emissive display; and determining a first amount of a first color, a second amount of a second color, and a third amount of a third color of the emissive display displaying the image to calculate a first weighting parameter for the first color, a second weighting parameter for the second color, and a third weighting parameter for the third color; and wherein the OPR is based the DBV, the amount of the first color, the amount of the second color, the amount of the third color, the first weighting parameter for the first color, the second weighting parameter for the second color, and the third weighting parameter for the third color.
However in the field of driving a display device, Pyo teaches the determining the OPR for the image comprising: determining a display brightness value (DBV) of the emissive display ([0121-0124] Fig. 17 DBVi); and determining a first amount of a first color, a second amount of a second color, and a third amount of a third color of the emissive display displaying the image to calculate a first weighting parameter for the first color, a second weighting parameter for the second color, and a third weighting parameter for the third color ([0133] teaches OPR is based on each color and has a weight for each color); and wherein the OPR (COFSm) is based the DBV, the amount of the first color, the amount of the second color, the amount of the third color, the first weighting parameter for the first color, the second weighting parameter for the second color, and the third weighting parameter for the third color (Figs. 17 and 19 compensation offset converter 153 generates a COFSm signal based on based on weighted DBV and OPR [0135]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of displaying an image as taught by Jun with the method of displaying an image as taught by Uhm and the method as taught by Pyo. This combination would provide a reduced power usage of the device while maximizing user interaction.
Regarding claim 8, Pyo teaches determining a first DBV of the emissive display while displaying the image, wherein a first threshold OPR corresponds to the first DBV ([0137] threshold CR1); and
wherein combining the bionic image with the image further comprises combining the bionic image with the image when the determined OPR exceeds the first threshold OPR (Images as seen in Figs. 7-11).
Regarding claim 9, Pyo teaches determining a second DBV of the emissive display while displaying a second image(second DBV based on displaying another image and being detected [0121-0124]), wherein a second threshold OPR corresponds to the second DBV, wherein the second DBV differs from the first DBV and the second threshold OPR differs from the first threshold OPR ([0138] CR2); and
determining an OPR of the emissive display while displaying the second image (OPR determined for a second image with ref to claim 1); and
wherein combining the bionic image with the image further comprises combining the bionic image with the second image when the determined OPR of the emissive display while displaying the second image exceeds the second threshold OPR(Images as seen in Figs. 7-11).
Regarding claim 10, Pyo teaches further comprising determining a DBV of the emissive display while displaying the image, the DBV comprising a first DBV ([0107] and a second DBV ([0110]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun (US 2023/0114963) in view of Uhm (US 2023/0145126), Pyo (US 2021/0248596), Yum (US 2021/0020098).
Regarding claim 2, Jun in view of Uhm teach the limitations as discussed above and both teach processors for executing image processing based on the on-pixel ratio but they fail to teach the bionic image is generated by a system-on-chip (SoC), the SoC is coupled to the emissive display.
However in the field of processing an image based on the on-pixel ratio, Yum teaches the bionic image is generated by a system-on-chip (SoC), the SoC is coupled to the emissive display ([0144-0145] Fig. 16 teach the SoC controls overall operation of the mobile device 700.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of displaying an image as taught by Jun with the method of displaying an image as taught by Uhm, the method as taught by Pyo, and the processing method as taught by Yum. This combination would provide a reduced power usage of the device while maximizing user interaction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 and 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDRE L MATTHEWS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621