DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the present application, with claims 1, 11, and 20 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melas-Kyriazi et al. "Pc2: Projection-conditioned point cloud diffusion for single-image 3d reconstruction." In Proceedings of the IEEE/CVF conference on computer vision and pattern recognition, pp. 12923-12932. 2023, hereinafter referred to as “Melas-Kyriazi”, in view of Yang et al. "Pointflow: 3d point cloud generation with continuous normalizing flows." In Proceedings of the IEEE/CVF international conference on computer vision, pp. 4541-4550. 2019. hereinafter referred to as “Yang”.
Regarding claim 1, Melas-Kyriazi discloses a method, comprising:
generating a complex Gaussian distribution based on a set of specifications for a physical component, a set of images of the physical component (Section 3.3, Par. 1; formulate 3D reconstruction as conditional generate: the target distribution q(X_0 | I, V) where I is an input image and V is the corresponding camera view. Section 3.4, Par. 2; let I ∈ RH×W×C be the feature volume produced by our 2D image model applied to our input image, where C is the number of feature channels. sθ is now a function R(3+C)N → R3N which predicts the noise ϵ from the augmented point cloud X+t = [Xt,Xprojt]. The projected features Xprojt are given by Xprojt =PVI(I,Xt), where PVI is the projection function from camera view VI, I is the input image. Fig. 2; At each step in the diffusion process, we project image features onto the partially-denoised point cloud from the given camera pose, augmenting each point with a set of neural features. Fig. 3; input images. Examiner's note: set of specifications is the corresponding camera view, set of images is input images and its corresponding image features, and the conditional distribution is the complex Gaussian distribution.),
obtaining a randomly generated point cloud (Section 3.2, Par. 3; at inference time, a random point cloud XT ∼ N(0,I3N) is sampled…Section 3.4, Par. 2; Xt is the partially-noised point cloud),
and generating a component point cloud based on the complex Gaussian distribution, the randomly generated point cloud, and a diffusion denoising model, wherein the component point cloud represents the physical component (Section 3.2; diffusion model…This network denoises the positions of a set of points from a spherical Gaussian ball into a recognizable object…a random point cloud XT ∼ N(0,I3N) is sampled from a 3N-dimensional Gaussian and the reverse diffusion process is run to produce a sample X0. Section 3.4 PC^2: Projection-Conditinal Diffusion Models; …a point cloud augmented with projection conditioning…Examiner's note: output is the reconstructed 3D object point cloud conditioned on the input image and camera view).
Melas-Kyriazi does not disclose generating a complex Gaussian distribution based on
In the same art of 3D point cloud generation, Yang discloses generating a complex Gaussian distribution based on a set of meshes for the physical component (Section 3; …Each shape Xi is itself a sample from a distribution over shapes Q(X) that captures what shapes in this category look like…Section 5; a prior Pψ(z) over shape representations. Section 6.2, Par. 1; The point clouds are obtained by sampling points uniformly from the mesh surface).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Yang’s mesh-based conditioning into Melas-Kyriazi’s conditioned point-cloud diffusion system. Doing so would provide additional component-specific information to guide diffusion denoising, yielding predictable results in improved reconstruction consistency and shape fidelity when generating a 3D component.
Regarding claim 2, Melas-Kyriazi in view of Yang discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein obtaining the complex Gaussian distribution comprises:
generating a first vector based on the set of specifications (Melas-Kyriazi Section 3.3, Par. 1; formulate 3D reconstruction as conditional generate: the target distribution q(X_0 | I, V) where I is an input image and V is the corresponding camera view. Section 3.4, Par. 2; …PVI is the projection function from camera view VI);
generating a second vector based on the set of images (Melas-Kyriazi Section 3.3, Par. 1; formulate 3D reconstruction as conditional generate: the target distribution q(X_0 | I, V) where I is an input image and V is the corresponding camera view. Section 3.4, Par. 2; …I is the input image);
and generating a combined vector based on the first vector, the second vector (Melas-Kyriazi Section 3.4, Par. 2; augmented point cloud X+t = [Xt,Xprojt])
Melas-Kyriazi does not disclose generating a third vector based on the set of meshes, and generating a combined vector
In the same art of 3D point cloud generation, Yang discloses generating a third vector based on the set of meshes (Section 5; a prior Pψ(z) over shape representations. Section 6.2, Par. 1; The point clouds are obtained by sampling points uniformly from the mesh surface), and generating a combined vector based on the third vector (Section 5-5.1; point cloud into a shape representation z…a point x in the point set X is the result of transforming some point y(t0) in the prior distribution P(y)=N(0,I) using a CNF conditioned on z)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to Yang’s conditioning vector z of a shape representation into Melas-Kyriazi’s conditioning input concatenated with the existing conditional inputs/feature representations of an input image and camera view. Melas-Kyriazi explicitly combines point and projected image features into an augmented representation, and Yang explicitly conditions its generative mapping on a learned shape representation z, therefore combining multiple conditioning vectors is a routine design choice in conditional generative models to incorporate complementary sources of information into a single conditioning input used by the diffusion model, yielding predictable results in improved control over the output distribution.
Regarding claim 3, Melas-Kyriazi in view of Yang discloses the method of claim 2, and further discloses wherein obtaining the complex Gaussian distribution further comprises:
generating the complex Gaussian distribution based on the combined vector (Yang Section 5-5.1; point cloud into a shape representation z…a point x in the point set X is the result of transforming some point y(t0) in the prior distribution P(y)=N(0,I using a CNF conditioned on z), a simple Gaussian distribution (Yang Section 4.2, Par. 1; a latent variable z with a prior distribution Pψ(z). Section 5.2; transforming a simple Gaussian P(w) = N(0, 1) with a CNF), and a reverse conditional normalizing flow model (Yang Section 5.1; gθ defines the continuous-time dynamics of the flow Gθ conditioned on z. ..the inverse of Gθ is given by…Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Yang’s conditional continuous normalizing flow and its inverse form to transform a simple Gaussian into a more conditioned distribution into Melas-Kyriazi’s diffusion-based point-cloud generation system. It is common for diffusion models to start from a simple Gaussian, and Yang explicitly teaches that a standard Gaussian prior is too restrictive for capturing the variability of real 3D point-set distributions (Section 5.1; Although it is possible to use a simple Gaussian prior over shape representations, it has been shown that a restricted prior tends to limit the performance of VAEs), therefore, the combination provides a more expressive, condition-controlled latent distribution, yielding predictable results in improved stability and control when generating 3D point cloud from conditioned inputs.
Regarding claim 4, Melas-Kyriazi in view of Yang discloses the method of claim 3, and further discloses wherein the reverse conditional normalizing flow model transforms the simple Gaussian distribution to the complex Gaussian distribution based on the combined vector (Yang Section 5.2; transforming a simple Gaussian P(w) = N(0, 1) with a CNF…the inverse of Fψ is given by…).
Melas-Kyriazi and Yang are combined for the reason set forth above with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, Melas-Kyriazi in view of Yang discloses the method of claim 3, and further discloses wherein the combined vector indicates one or more conditions for transforming the simple Gaussian distribution to the complex Gaussian distribution (Yang Section 5.1; a point x in the point set X is the result of transforming some point y(t0) in the prior distribution P(y)=N(0,I using a CNF conditioned on z).
Melas-Kyriazi and Yang are combined for the reason set forth above with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 6, Melas-Kyriazi in view of Yang discloses the method of claim 3, and further discloses wherein the simple Gaussian distribution is randomly generated (Yang Section 5.1-5.2; prior distribution P(y)=N(0,I)…simple Gaussian P(w)=N(0,I). Footnote 1; randomly sampling points from the underlying distribution).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Yang’s randomly generated simple Gaussian distribution into Melas-Kyriazi’s conditioned point-cloud diffusion system. Doing so is a standard approach, allowing efficient distribution for sampling in both diffusion and flow frameworks, yielding predictable results in enabling diversity of outputs and stable numerical behavior.
Regarding claim 7, Melas-Kyriazi in view of Yang discloses the method of claim 3, and further discloses wherein generating the component point cloud comprises:
moving a set of points from the randomly generated point cloud based on the complex Gaussian distribution, wherein the complex Gaussian distribution indicates one or more points that can be moved (Yang Section 1, Par. 2; generating points for a given shape involved sampling points from a generic Gaussian prior, and then moving them according to this parameterized transformation to their new location in the target shape, as illustrated in Figure 1. Fig. 2; we first sample points from the 3-D Gaussian prior and then move them according to the CNF parameterized by z).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate generation as moving points from an initial randomly generated point cloud based on a complex Gaussian distribution. Using this iterative refinement technique provides a computationally efficient technique that yields predictable results in smoother optimization and sampling trajectories, improved stability, and provide stable refinement from noise to structure in diffusion and flow methods.
Regarding claim 8, Melas-Kyriazi in view of Yang discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the set of specifications indicate one or more physical properties of the physical component (Melas-Kyriazi Section 3.4, Par. 2; The projected features Xprojt are given by Xprojt =PVI(I,Xt), where PVI is the projection function from camera view VI. Examiner's note: acquisition/view parameters used to represent the component)
Melas-Kyriazi and Yang are combined for the reason set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Melas-Kyriazi in view of Yang discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the set of images comprise one or more of 2-dimensional images and color images (Melas-Kyriazi Section 1, Par. 2; RGB image data. Section 3.4, Par. 2; let I ∈ RH×W×C be the feature volume produced by our 2D image model applied to our input image).
Melas-Kyriazi and Yang are combined for the reason set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Melas-Kyriazi in view of Yang discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the set of meshes indicate physical properties of one or more other components that may interact with the physical component (Yang Section 5-5.1; …shape representation z…).
Melas-Kyriazi and Yang are combined for the reason set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is the system claim (Melas-Kyriazi Section 4, Implementation Details; …GPU) of method claim 1, and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set for with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 has similar limitations as of claim 2, except it is a system claim (Melas-Kyriazi Section 4, Implementation Details; …GPU), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 has similar limitations as of claim 3, except it is a system claim (Melas-Kyriazi Section 4, Implementation Details; …GPU), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 has similar limitations as of claim 4, except it is a system claim (Melas-Kyriazi Section 4, Implementation Details; …GPU), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 has similar limitations as of claim 5, except it is a system claim (Melas-Kyriazi Section 4, Implementation Details; …GPU), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 has similar limitations as of claim 6, except it is a system claim (Melas-Kyriazi Section 4, Implementation Details; …GPU), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 has similar limitations as of claim 7, except it is a system claim (Melas-Kyriazi Section 4, Implementation Details; …GPU), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 has similar limitations as of claim 8, except it is a system claim (Melas-Kyriazi Section 4, Implementation Details; …GPU), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 has similar limitations as of claim 9, except it is a system claim (Melas-Kyriazi Section 4, Implementation Details; …GPU), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is the CRM claim (Melas-Kyriazi Section 4, Implementation Details) of method claim 1, and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set for with respect to claim 1.
Conclusion
/JENNY N TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/ALICIA M HARRINGTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615