DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2023-0086197, filed on July 4, 2023.
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The figures are explained in the "brief description of the drawings" section of the specification. The same explanation of the figures appears in the "detailed description" section. Per the arrangement of the specification listed above, the figures only need explained once in the "brief description of the drawings" section..
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities: "a operating cells" should be either "a plurality of operating cells" or "an operating cell". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ceglarek (EP 3037703 A1).
Claims 1 and 2 – Ceglarek discloses a valve block for the control of compressed air in a motor vehicle seat. Ceglarek teaches a pneumatic control apparatus for a vehicle seat, the pneumatic control apparatus comprising: a case part (element 11 in figure 4) comprising a pneumatic flow path (element 6 in figure 9) and a plurality of nipples (element 7 in figure 4), wherein the pneumatic flow path forms a supply path for air supplied thereto; a flow path control valve part (element 3 in figure 4) comprising a first valve intake port (element 8 in figure 6) and a pair of first valve discharge ports (element 12 in figure 5), wherein the first valve intake port is mounted in the case part and is in communication with the pneumatic flow path in a first direction and a second direction, respectively, and the pair of first valve discharge ports is in communication with the first valve intake port and is configured to be openable and closable; and intake/exhaust control valve parts respectively disposed on opposite sides of the flow path control valve part, each of the intake/exhaust control valve parts comprising second valve intake ports and second valve discharge ports, wherein the second valve intake ports are respectively in communication with the first valve discharge ports, and the second valve discharge ports are respectively in communication with the second valve intake ports and are configured to be openable and closable, and wherein each of the intake/exhaust control valve parts is configured to allow air, through the second valve discharge ports, to be introduced or to be exhausted therefrom in the first direction and the second direction.
The pneumatic flow path is formed along a boundary between the first direction and the second direction and is configured to guide air to fill an inside of the flow path control valve part through the first valve intake port.
(Ceglarek teaches, in the fifth to last paragraph of the description, the apparatus outflows air from the apparatus. This explains that the air travels both towards and away from the intake/exhaust valve part, in two different directions.)
Claim 3 – Ceglarek teaches the flow path control valve part comprises: a main body (element 11 in figure 5) comprising the pair of first valve discharge ports respectively connected to the second valve intake ports in the first direction and the second direction; armatures (element 16 in figure 5) movably mounted in the main body, each of the armatures formed to shield a corresponding one of the first valve discharge ports; and elastic members (element 20 in figure 5) each of which is configured to provide elastic force to a corresponding one of the armatures so as to move the corresponding armature in a direction of shielding a corresponding one of the first valve discharge ports.
Claims 4, 5, 8-10 – Ceglarek teaches each of the armatures in the flow path control valves are configured to move, upon receiving a force stronger than the elastic force of a corresponding one of the elastic members, so as to open the corresponding one of the first valve discharge ports.
The main body comprises conductors, in both the flow path control valves and the intake/exhaust valves, each of which is configured to selectively apply, to the corresponding one of the armatures, an electromagnetic force stronger than the elastic force of the corresponding one of the elastic members.
In each of the armatures in the intake/exhaust control valve, each of the first shape parts is configured to move, upon receiving a force stronger than the elastic force of a corresponding one of the elastic members, so as to be spaced apart from the corresponding one of the partition members, thereby selectively opening the discharge path.
Each of the armatures in the intake/exhaust control valve is configured to block, when each of the first shape parts is spaced apart from the corresponding one of the partition members, a corresponding one of discharge paths respectively formed from the second valve intake ports toward the second valve discharge ports.
(In the final paragraph of the description, Ceglarek explains an elastic pressure element exerting a force to hold the shut-off in a first position. Ceglarek also explains magnetic coil conductors and electromagnetism being the means to move the shut-off body to a second position, opening a discharge path. The electromagnetic force induced by the magnetic coils is stronger than that of the elastic force, allowing the opening of the discharge path. When in the “shut-off” position, the discharge path is blocked.)
Claim 6 – Ceglarek teaches the intake/exhaust control valve part comprises: a main body (element 11 in figure 5) comprising the second valve intake ports, the second valve discharge ports, and valve exhaust ports each of which is configured to selectively discharge air; armatures (element 15 in figure 5) movably mounted in the main body, each of the armatures formed to shield a corresponding one of the valve exhaust ports; and elastic members (element 17 in figure 5) each of which is configured to provide an elastic force to a corresponding one of the armatures so as to move the corresponding armature in a direction of shielding a corresponding one of the valve exhaust ports.
Claim 7 – Ceglarek teaches the armatures comprise: first shape parts each of which is formed to contact a corresponding one of partition members provided in the main body; and second shape parts each of which is connected to a corresponding one of the first shape parts, wherein each of the second shape parts is configured to form a discharge path connected to a corresponding one of the valve exhaust ports and is configured to allow air discharged from a corresponding one of the second valve discharge ports to be discharged therethrough.
(Ceglarek teaches, in figure 5, element 15 is partially long and narrow-shaped, and is partially funnel-shaped. Both shapes are connected to one another with the second, funnel-shaped part also being connected to a corresponding valve exhaust port. The parts contact a partition (between elements 15 and 17 in figure 5) provided in the main body.)
Claims 11 and 12 – Ceglarek teaches the intake/exhaust control valve parts are configured to perform, in the first direction, intake/exhaust control on operating cells respectively disposed at different positions and configured to have same seat configurations.
The intake/exhaust control valve parts are configured to perform, in the second direction, the intake/exhaust control on the operating cells respectively disposed at the different positions and configured to have the same seat configurations, independently of the first direction.
(Ceglarek teaches, in the second and third paragraphs of the description, that valve blocks are commonly used to route compressed air to operating cells (compressed air fillable elements) to perform various functions in a motor vehicle seat.)
Conclusion
/T.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3636
/DAVID R DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3636