DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blakborn US 20210408702 A1.
In reference to claim 1, Blakborn teaches a shielding device (shown in figure 1) for electromagnetic shielding of a data transmission arrangement, comprising: a housing (6; fig. 2) made from sheet metal, the housing comprising at least one press-fit/compliant pin (12; fig. 2) configured for connecting the housing with a printed circuit board (3; fig. 2); and a pair of signal lines (14; fig. 4) being arranged inside the housing, so as to be electromagnetically shielded.
In reference to claim 2, Blakborn teaches the shielding device for electromagnetic shielding according to claim 1, wherein the at least one press-fit/compliant pin is integrally formed with the housing (See fig. 2).
In reference to claim 3, Blakborn teaches the shielding device for electromagnetic shielding according to claim 1, wherein the shielding device has a 90 degree configuration for enabling a 90 degree connection of the pair of signal lines (see fig. 1, 2, 4).
In reference to claim 4, Blakborn teaches the shielding device for electromagnetic shielding according to claim 1, wherein the housing further comprises: a first cavity (near lead line 9; fig. 2) for receiving a first end of the signal lines, which defines a first direction, and a second cavity (near lead line 10; fig. 2), for receiving a second end of the signal lines, which defines a second direction essentially perpendicular to the first direction (see fig. 2).
In reference to claim 5, Blakborn teaches the shielding device for electromagnetic shielding according to claim 4, wherein the first cavity is formed by bending the sheet metal into an oval cylindrical shape (see fig. 2) and the second cavity is formed by bending the sheet metal into a box-shaped structure (see fig. 2).
In reference to claim 6, Blakborn teaches the shielding device for electromagnetic shielding according to claim 1, wherein the housing comprises at least one dedicated press-in surface (7; fig. 1, where 7 is bendable (see [0134]) and pressed into the surface of 8; fig. 1), configured to be engaged by a corresponding press-in tool (not shown, but the tool that bends and presses 7 into 8; fig. 1).
In reference to claim 9, Blakborn teaches the shielding device for electromagnetic shielding according to claim 1, wherein the pair of signal lines is arranged inside an insulating body.
In reference to claim 10, Blakborn teaches the shielding device for electromagnetic shielding according to claim 9, wherein the insulating body is molded around the signal lines.
In reference to the recitation “is molded around the signal lines” this is seen as the method of forming. The method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight.
In reference to claim 11, Blakborn teaches the shielding device for electromagnetic shielding according to claim 9, wherein the housing is at least partially bent around the insulating body. (See fig. 1).
In reference to claim 12, Blakborn teaches the shielding device for electromagnetic shielding according to claim 1, wherein the signal lines are provided with connecting ends in a form of press-fit pins (see 16; fig. 4).
In reference to claim 13, Blakborn teaches the shielding device for electromagnetic shielding according to claim 1, wherein the housing comprises one or more protrusions (13; fig. 2) on an edge of a housing wall configured to come into contact with the PCB, to improve a contact quality between the housing and the PCB.
In reference to claim 14, Blakborn teaches the shielding device for electromagnetic shielding according to claim 13, wherein the one or more protrusions (13) are teeth.
In reference to claim 15, Blakborn teaches the shielding device for electromagnetic shielding according to claim 1, wherein the housing comprises mounting means (7; fig. 1, 2) configured to fasten the housing with a corresponding insulating connector housing.
In reference to claim 16, Blakborn teaches the shielding device for electromagnetic shielding according to claim 1, wherein the housing comprises mounting hooks (7; fig. 1, 2) configured to fasten the housing with a corresponding insulating connector housing.
In reference to claim 17, Blakborn teaches the shielding device for electromagnetic shielding according to claim 1, wherein the housing (6; fig. 2) is formed from a single piece of sheet metal.
In reference to claim 18, Blakborn teaches a connector system, comprising: the shielding device for electromagnetic shielding according to claim 1, and an insulating connector (2; fig. 1), wherein the shielding device is at least partially received.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blakborn US 20210408702 A1 in view of Lin US 20040157491 A1.
In reference to claim 7, Blakborn substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Blakborn does not teach wherein the housing comprises locking apertures and corresponding locking protrusions, such that upon bending the housing into a dedicated shape, the locking apertures and locking protrusions interact to maintain the dedicated shape.
Lin teaches of the housing comprises locking apertures and corresponding locking protrusions, (see “dovetail feature” near line 32; fig. 3) such that upon bending the housing into a dedicated shape, the locking apertures and locking protrusions interact to maintain the dedicated shape. Using the teachings of Lin to modify Blakborn to arrive at the results of claim 7 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Lin to modify Blakborn in order to surely secure the housing at the seams. The ends of the metal sheet that forms the housing are still secured together, therefore new results are not produced.
In reference to claim 8, Blakborn substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However Blakborn does not teach wherein the housing comprises interacting locking elements in form of a dovetail connection, such that upon bending the housing into a dedicated shape, the dovetail connection acts to maintain the dedicated shape.
Lin teaches the housing comprises interacting locking elements in form of a dovetail connection (see “dovetail feature” near lead line 32; fig. 1), such that upon bending the housing into a dedicated shape, the dovetail connection acts to maintain the dedicated shape. Using the teachings of Lin to modify Blakborn to arrive at the results of claim 8 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Lin to modify Blakborn in order to surely secure the housing at the seams. The ends of the metal sheet that forms the housing are still secured together, therefore new results are not produced.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS S CHAMBERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 07/03/2026