DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
More than 53 applications or patents related to this application are broadly similar to the limitations recited in claims 2-3. Each of those claims are recited with much greater specificity. For example, claim 2 which recites “an apparatus, the apparatus including a device” would be any/every apparatus comprising a device. Similarly, claim 3 recites “a method, the method including a step” would be any of the claims with steps. Based on the scope of the claims each parent application would meet the claim limitations, a mapping will not be constructed because at present the mapping would be repetitive. Should the claims in those cases or the present case sufficiently evolve a mapping for double patenting will be applied as appropriate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bettis et al., US 20070064619 A1 (hereafter referred to as Bettis).
Claim 2, Bettis teaches an apparatus (p. 86, “The telecommunications platform then begins the delivery of the video content by streaming the video content 456 to the receiver device 420. The receiver device 420 receives the streaming video and begins to render 458 it on a display of the receiver device 420. While the video content is being rendered by the receiver device 420, a user may actuate a control function, such as pause, fast forward, reverse, etc. 460.”), the apparatus including a device (p. 86, “The receiver device 420 receives the streaming video and begins to render 458 it on a display of the receiver device 420.”).
Claim 3, Bettis teaches a method, the method including a step (claim 1, “A method for providing playback control of video content delivered through a wireless cellular network to a receiving device, the method comprising the steps of: receiving video content at the receiver device from a source; commence rendering of the received video content on a display of the receiver device starting with the beginning of the video content…”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Partaker et al., US 20090013059 A1, teaches VoIP packets from the user terminal 104 are transmitted into the Internet 106 via the network interface 108, and routed to the computer terminal 122 of User B 114, via a network interface 123. A client 124 (similar to the client 110) running on the user terminal 122 of User B 114 decodes the VoIP packets to produce an audio signal that can be heard by User B using the handset 126.
Partaker et al., US 9584563 B2, teaches VoIP packets from the user terminal 104 are transmitted into the Internet 106 via the network interface 108, and routed to the computer terminal 122 of User B 114, via a network interface 123. A client 124 (similar to the client 110) running on the user terminal 122 of User B 114 decodes the VoIP packets to produce an audio signal that can be heard by User B using the handset 126.
Bettis et al., US 8112778 B2, teaches a telecommunications platform then begins the delivery of the video content by streaming the video content 456 to the receiver device 420. The receiver device 420 receives the streaming video and begins to render 458 it on a display of the receiver device 420. While the video content is being rendered by the receiver device 420, a user may actuate a control function, such as pause, fast forward, reverse, etc. 460.
/Patrice L Winder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453