DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 3, 6-9, 11, 13, 15 and 20-30 are pending in this application. Any rejection(s) and/or objection(s) made in the previous Office Action and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant's amendments and/or arguments in the response filed on 01/14/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed features: "the second pattern of discrete internal gripping surfaces is disposed in regions of the knit sock corresponding to non-weight bearing areas of a foot of a wearer" in claim 1, and "the second pattern of discrete internal gripping surfaces is disposed on portions of the internal surface corresponding to sides of a foot and heel of the wearer" in claim 21, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In page 10, lines 7-8, "gripping dots 124" appear to read "gripping dots 134" in the context of the description as the gripping dots are configured to contact the wearer's skin.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 13, 15 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 13, 15 and 28-29 each recite the limitation "gripping dots of the plurality of first gripping dots", which renders the claim indefinite. The limitation appears to be claiming gripping dots of gripping dots. It is unclear what is included or excluded by the first instance of "gripping dots". For examination purposes, the limitation has been construed to be the plurality of first gripping dots.
Claims 13, 15 and 28-29 each recite the limitation "gripping dots of the plurality of second gripping dots", which renders the claim indefinite. The limitation appears to be claiming gripping dots of gripping dots. It is unclear what is included or excluded by the first instance of "gripping dots". For examination purposes, the limitation has been construed to be the plurality of second gripping dots.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 11, 13, 21-23, 25 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hilbert (US 2005/0144703 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hilbert discloses a stocking (stocking 10; fig. 1; para. 0014) comprising:
a knit sock (stocking 10 formed of a knitted fabric; fig. 1; para. 0014);
a first pattern of discrete external gripping surfaces (spaced elements 28 formed from slip-resistant material 36; fig. 1; para. 0016) disposed on an exterior surface of the knit sock (fig. 1; para. 0016), wherein the first pattern of discrete external gripping surfaces comprises a plurality of first gripping dots coupled to the exterior surface (spaced elements 28 formed from slip-resistant material 36 at the exterior surface; fig. 1; para. 0016); and
a second pattern of discrete internal gripping surfaces (spaced elements 38 formed from a slip-resistant material; fig. 3; para. 0019) disposed on an interior surface of the knit sock (at an inside surface 36; figs. 2-3; para. 0019), wherein the second pattern of discrete internal gripping surfaces comprises a plurality of second gripping dots coupled to the interior surface (spaced elements 38 formed at the inside surface; fig. 3; para. 0019);
wherein the second pattern of discrete internal gripping surfaces is disposed in regions of the knit sock corresponding to non-weight bearing areas (top portions; fig. 3; para. 0019) of a foot of a wearer and the second pattern of discrete internal gripping surfaces does not completely cover the internal surface of a portion of the knit sock corresponding to a sole of the foot of the wearer (as the elements 38 are spaced from one other; fig. 3; para. 0019).
Regarding claim 3, Hilbert discloses the stocking of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the plurality of second gripping dots includes fewer and/or smaller gripping dots than the plurality of first gripping dots (spaced elements 38 are smaller than spaced elements 28; fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Hilbert discloses the stocking of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first pattern of discrete external gripping surfaces comprises two or more different gripping zones (a forefoot zone and a midfoot zone; figs. 1, 3; para. 0016), wherein the plurality of first gripping dots (bigger elements 28; see fig. 1, 3) in a first gripping zone (the forefoot zone; figs. 1, 3) of the two or more different gripping zones has one or more of a size, a shape, a concentration, and a gripping material that is different than one or more of a size, a shape, a concentration and a gripping material of the plurality of first gripping dots (smaller elements 28; see figs. 1, 3) in a second gripping zone (the midfoot zone; figs. 1, 3) of the two or more different gripping zones.
Regarding claim 11, Hilbert discloses the stocking of claim 21, and further discloses wherein the plurality of second gripping dots (elements 38 are substantially aligned in a longitudinal direction of the sock; see fig. 3) is out of registration with respect to the plurality of first gripping dots (elements 28 have different shapes and are not aligned with element 38; see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Hilbert discloses the stocking of claim 13, and further discloses wherein gripping dots of the plurality of first gripping dots have a rounded profile (a rounded profile of the protrusions; see figs. 1, 3), and gripping dots of the plurality of second gripping dots have a flat profile (a flat profile at an inside surface of the sock; fig. 3).
Regarding claim 21, Hilbert discloses a stocking (stocking 10; fig. 1; para. 0014) comprising:
a knit sock (stocking 10 formed of a knitted fabric; fig. 1; para. 0014);
a first pattern of discrete external gripping surfaces (spaced elements 28 formed from slip-resistant material 36; fig. 1; para. 0016) disposed on an exterior surface of the knit sock (fig. 1; para. 0016), wherein the first pattern of discrete external gripping surfaces comprises a plurality of first gripping dots coupled to the exterior surface (spaced elements 28 formed from slip-resistant material 36 at the exterior surface; fig. 1; para. 0016); and
a second pattern of discrete internal gripping surfaces (spaced slip-resistant elements 38; fig. 3; para. 0019) disposed on an interior surface of the knit sock (at an inside surface 36; figs. 2-3; para. 0019), wherein the second pattern of discrete internal gripping surfaces comprises a plurality of second gripping dots coupled to the interior surface (spaced slip-resistant elements 38 at the inside surface; fig. 3; para. 0019);
wherein the first pattern of discrete external gripping surfaces is disposed on portions of the external surface configured to correspond to a sole region of a wearer (fig. 1; para. 0016), and the second pattern of discrete internal gripping surfaces is disposed on portions of the internal surface corresponding to sides of a foot and heel of the wearer (provided around the circumferential periphery of the inside of the stocking, including sides and heel portions; fig. 3; para. 0019).
Regarding claim 22, Hilbert discloses the stocking of claim 21, and further discloses wherein the plurality of second gripping dots includes fewer and/or smaller gripping dots than the plurality of first gripping dots (spaced elements 38 are smaller than spaced elements 28; fig. 3).
Regarding claim 23, Hilbert discloses the stocking of claim 21, and further discloses wherein the first pattern of discrete external gripping surfaces comprises two or more different gripping zones (a lateral side and a medial side; figs. 1, 3; para. 0016), wherein the plurality of first gripping dots (bigger elements 28; see fig. 1, 3) in a first gripping zone (the lateral side; figs. 1, 3) of the two or more different gripping zones has one or more of a size, a shape, a concentration, and a gripping material that is different than one or more of a size, a shape, a concentration and a gripping material of the plurality of first gripping dots (smaller elements 28; see figs. 1, 3) in a second gripping zone (the medial side; figs. 1, 3) of the two or more different gripping zones.
Regarding claim 25, Hilbert discloses the stocking of claim 21, and further discloses wherein the first pattern of discrete external gripping surfaces is configured such that the plurality of first gripping dots is concentrated in regions of the knit sock corresponding to a ball-of-foot region of the wearer (provided around the circumferential periphery of the inside of the stocking, including a ball region; figs. 1, 3; para. 0019; claim 7).
Regarding claim 27, Hilbert discloses the stocking of claim 21, and further discloses wherein the plurality of second gripping dots (elements 38 are substantially aligned in a longitudinal direction of the sock; see fig. 3) is out of registration with respect to the plurality of first gripping dots (elements 28 have different shapes and are not aligned with element 38; see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 28, Hilbert discloses the stocking of claim 21, and further discloses wherein gripping dots of the plurality of first gripping dots have a rounded profile (a rounded profile of the protrusions; see figs. 1, 3), and gripping dots of the plurality of second gripping dots have a flat profile (a flat profile at an inside surface of the sock; fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilbert (US 2005/0144703 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Hilbert discloses the stocking of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the second pattern of discrete internal gripping surfaces comprises two or more different gripping zones (as being provided around the circumferential periphery of the inside of the stocking; fig. 3; para. 0019).
Hilbert does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of second gripping dots in a first gripping zone of the two or more different gripping zones has one or more of a size, a shape, a concentration and a gripping material that is different than one or more of a size, a shape, a concentration, and a gripping material of the plurality of second gripping dots in a second gripping zone of the two or more different gripping zones. However, Hilbert does disclose wherein the slip-resistant material on the inside can be applied the same way the material is applied on the outside (fig. 3; para. 0019), and the outside of the sock comprising bigger gripping dots in a forefoot zone and smaller gripper dots in a midfoot zone (see figs. 1-2). In this scenario, one of ordinary skill of the art would recognize wherein the plurality of second gripping dots (bigger elements 38; fig. 3) in a first gripping zone (a forefoot zone; figs. 1, 3) of the two or more different gripping zones has one or more of a size, a shape, a concentration and a gripping material that is different than one or more of a size, a shape, a concentration, and a gripping material of the plurality of second gripping dots (smaller elements 38; fig. 3) in a second gripping zone (a midfoot zone; fig.3) of the two or more different gripping zones. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have recognized that Hilbert meets the claimed requirement.
Regarding claim 24. Hilbert discloses the stocking of claim 21, and further discloses wherein the second pattern of discrete internal gripping surfaces comprises two or more different gripping zones (as being provided around the circumferential periphery of the inside of the stocking; fig. 3; para. 0019).
Hilbert does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of second gripping dots in a first gripping zone of the two or more different gripping zones has one or more of a size, a shape, a concentration and a gripping material that is different than one or more of a size, a shape, a concentration, and a gripping material of the plurality of second gripping dots in a second gripping zone of the two or more different gripping zones. However, Hilbert does disclose wherein the slip-resistant material on the inside can be applied the same way the material is applied on the outside (fig. 3; para. 0019), and the outside of the sock comprising bigger gripping dots in a forefoot zone and smaller gripper dots in a midfoot zone (see figs. 1-2). In this scenario, one of ordinary skill of the art would recognize wherein the plurality of second gripping dots (bigger elements 38; fig. 3) in a first gripping zone (a lateral side; figs. 1, 3) of the two or more different gripping zones has one or more of a size, a shape, a concentration and a gripping material that is different than one or more of a size, a shape, a concentration, and a gripping material of the plurality of second gripping dots (smaller elements 38; fig. 3) in a second gripping zone (a medial side; fig.3) of the two or more different gripping zones. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have recognized that Hilbert meets the claimed requirement.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilbert (US 2005/0144703 A1) in view of Fangueiro (WO 2019/008363 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Hilbert discloses the stocking of claim 1. Hilbert does not disclose further discloses wherein the first pattern of discrete external gripping surfaces is configured such that the plurality of first gripping dots is concentrated in regions of the knit sock corresponding to a ball-of-foot region of the wearer. However, Fangueiro, in an analogous art, teaches a knit sock (fig. 5; p. 9, ll. 10-12) comprising a first pattern of discrete external gripping dots (a pattern of grip material 3 deposited as discrete external gripping dots 30, 31, 32 and 33; fig. 5; p. 9, ll. 20-24; p. 10, ll. 31-35), wherein the first pattern of discrete external gripping dots is concentrated in regions of the knit sock corresponding to a ball-of-foot region of the wearer (the pattern density of grip material 3 is greater in forefoot region F than in the midfoot region M; fig. 5; p. 10, ll. 1-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the knit sock as disclosed by Hilbert, with wherein the first pattern of discrete external gripping surfaces is configured such that the plurality of first gripping dots is concentrated in regions of the knit sock corresponding to a ball-of-foot region of the wearer as taught by Fangueiro, in order to increase the coefficient of friction between the sock and the ground in the forefoot region which is a main pressure zone that occur when the wearer's foot contact a floor thereby enhancing the anti-slip effect (Fangueiro; p. 2, ll. 5-8; p. 10, ll. 1-6).
Claims 9 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilbert (US 2005/0144703 A1) in view of Chiaruttini (US 6,138,281 A).
Regarding claim 9, Hilbert discloses the stocking of claim 11. Hilbert does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of first gripping dots of the first pattern of discrete external gripping surfaces are arranged in a gradient from an area of higher concentration to an area of lower concentration, or the plurality of second gripping dots of the second pattern of discrete internal gripping surfaces are arranged in a gradient from an area of higher concentration to an area of lower concentration. However, Chiaruttini, in an analogous art, teaches that a sock (sock 1; fig. 1; col. 2, ll. 31-37) comprising discrete gripping surfaces (projections 3; figs. 1, 7; col. 2, ll. 31-37) arranged in a gradient from an area of higher concentration (a heel area; see fig. 7) to an area of lower concentration (a toe portion; see fig. 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the knit sock as disclosed by Hilbert, with wherein the plurality of first gripping dots of the first pattern of discrete external gripping surfaces are arranged in a gradient from an area of higher concentration to an area of lower concentration, or the plurality of second gripping dots of the second pattern of discrete internal gripping surfaces are arranged in a gradient from an area of higher concentration to an area of lower concentration as taught by Chiaruttini, in order to provide the gripping surfaces with varied density on different areas to customize gripping forces according to the anatomical features of a user's foot (Chiaruttini; col. 2, ll. 41-47).
Regarding claim 26, Hilbert discloses the stocking of claim 21. Hilbert does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of first gripping dots of the first pattern of discrete external gripping surfaces are arranged in a gradient from an area of higher concentration to an area of lower concentration, or the plurality of second gripping dots of the second pattern of discrete internal gripping surfaces are arranged in a gradient from an area of higher concentration to an area of lower concentration. However, Chiaruttini, in an analogous art, teaches that a sock (sock 1; fig. 1; col. 2, ll. 31-37) comprising discrete gripping surfaces (projections 3; figs. 1, 7; col. 2, ll. 31-37) arranged in a gradient from an area of higher concentration (a heel area; see fig. 7) to an area of lower concentration (a toe portion; see fig. 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the knit sock as disclosed by Hilbert, with wherein the plurality of first gripping dots of the first pattern of discrete external gripping surfaces are arranged in a gradient from an area of higher concentration to an area of lower concentration, or the plurality of second gripping dots of the second pattern of discrete internal gripping surfaces are arranged in a gradient from an area of higher concentration to an area of lower concentration as taught by Chiaruttini, in order to provide the gripping surfaces with varied density on different areas to customize gripping forces according to the anatomical features of a user's foot (Chiaruttini; col. 2, ll. 41-47).
Claims 15 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilbert (US 2005/0144703 A1) in view of Kim (KR 102002633 B1).
Regarding claim 15, Hilbert discloses the stocking of claim 1, and further discloses wherein gripping dots of the plurality of first gripping dots are raised with respect to the exterior surface (see figs. 1, 3).
Hilbert does not disclose wherein gripping dots of the plurality of second gripping dots are flush with the interior surface. However, Hilbert does disclose wherein the plurality of second gripping dots 38 can be applied in a different pattern relative to the plurality of the first gripping dots 28 (para. 0019). Further, Kim, in an analogous art, teaches a sock (a sock; see English translation; fig. 1; paras. 0027-0028) comprising discrete internal gripping surfaces (inner non-slip parts 61, 62; figs. 1, 3; para. 0033) disposed on an interior surface (inner surface part 1a comprising inner slip parts 51; figs. 1, 3; para. 0033), wherein the internal gripping surfaces are flush with the internal surface (see figs. 3, 5; para. 0066). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the stocking as disclosed by Hilbert, with wherein the gripping dots of the plurality of second gripping dots are flush with the interior surface as taught by Kim, in order to provide a sock sole with a flat outer surface thereby providing a comfort feeling to a wearer's skin (Kim; para. 0020).
Regarding claim 29, Hilbert discloses the stocking of claim 21, and further discloses wherein gripping dots of the plurality of first gripping dots are raised with respect to the exterior surface (see figs. 1, 3).
Hilbert does not disclose wherein gripping dots of the plurality of second gripping dots are flush with the interior surface. However, Hilbert does disclose wherein the plurality of second gripping dots 38 can be applied in a different pattern relative to the plurality of the first gripping dots 28 (para. 0019). Further, Kim, in an analogous art, teaches a sock (a sock; see English translation; fig. 1; paras. 0027-0028) comprising discrete internal gripping surfaces (inner non-slip parts 61, 62; figs. 1, 3; para. 0033) disposed on an interior surface (inner surface part 1a comprising inner slip parts 51; figs. 1, 3; para. 0033), wherein the internal gripping surfaces are flush with the internal surface (see figs. 3, 5; para. 0066). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the stocking as disclosed by Hilbert, with wherein the gripping dots of the plurality of second gripping dots are flush with the interior surface as taught by Kim, in order to provide a sock sole with a flat outer surface thereby providing a comfort feeling to a wearer's skin (Kim; para. 0020).
Claims 20 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilbert (US 2005/0144703 A1) in view of Hasegawa (JP 3161737 U).
Regarding claim 20, Hilbert discloses the stocking of claim 1. Hilbert does not disclose wherein there is no overlap between the plurality of first gripping dots and the plurality of second gripping dots. However, Hilbert does disclose wherein the plurality of second gripping dots 38 can be applied in a different pattern relative to the plurality of the first gripping dots 28 (para. 0019). In addition, Hasegawa, in an analogous art, teaches a knit sock (sock 1; see English translation; para. 0023); a plurality of first gripping dots (anti-slip outer protrusions 14; figs. 2a-2b; para. 0024) disposed on an exterior surface (outer peripheral surface 12b; figs. 2a-2b; para. 0024) of the knit sock, a plurality of second gripping dots (anti-slip inner protrusions 13; referencing figs. 2a-2b; paras. 0024-0025) disposed on an interior surface (provided at least in a toe portion F1 and a heel portion F2; referencing figs. 2a-2b; paras. 0008, 0024) of the knit sock, wherein there is no overlap between the plurality of first gripping dots and the plurality of second gripping dots (figs. 2a-2b; para. 0024). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the knit sock as disclosed by Hilbert, with wherein there is no overlap between the plurality of first gripping dots and the plurality of second gripping dots as taught by Hasegawa, in order to reduce the overall thickness of the sock caused by the first and second gripping dots for comfort.
Regarding claim 30, Hilbert discloses the stocking of claim 21. Hilbert does not disclose wherein there is no overlap between the plurality of first gripping dots and the plurality of second gripping dots. However, Hilbert does disclose wherein the plurality of second gripping dots 38 can be applied in a different pattern relative to the plurality of the first gripping dots 28 (para. 0019). In addition, Hasegawa, in an analogous art, teaches a knit sock (sock 1; see English translation; para. 0023); a plurality of first gripping dots (anti-slip outer protrusions 14; figs. 2a-2b; para. 0024) disposed on an exterior surface (outer peripheral surface 12b; figs. 2a-2b; para. 0024) of the knit sock, a plurality of second gripping dots (anti-slip inner protrusions 13; referencing figs. 2a-2b; paras. 0024-0025) disposed on an interior surface (provided at least in a toe portion F1 and a heel portion F2; referencing figs. 2a-2b; paras. 0008, 0024) of the knit sock, wherein there is no overlap between the plurality of first gripping dots and the plurality of second gripping dots (figs. 2a-2b; para. 0024). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the knit sock as disclosed by Hilbert, with wherein there is no overlap between the plurality of first gripping dots and the plurality of second gripping dots as taught by Hasegawa, in order to reduce the overall thickness of the sock caused by the first and second gripping dots for comfort.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, newly modified grounds of rejection have been identified and applied as necessitated by the amendment. Applicant's arguments filed 01/14/2026 have been fully considered. Applicant's arguments about prior art rejections are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as discussed supra.
In response to Applicant's argument that Fig. 4 of the instant application depicts the second pattern 130 of discrete internal gripping surfaces 134 disposed in regions of the knit sock corresponding to non-weight bearing areas of the foot of a wearer, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Fig. 4 is a bottom inside view of the sock and shows a bottom of the sock. The bottom heel portion shown in Fig. 4 is a ground-contacting surface corresponding a user's bottom heel portion and cannot be considered as a non-weight bearing area. Therefore, Applicant's argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional relevant references cited on attached PTO-892 form(s) can be used to formulate a rejection if necessary.
/AIYING ZHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732