DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 4/13/2026. The objections to the Specification have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. Accordingly, claims 1-16 are pending for consideration in this Office Action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Ice making device in at least claim 1.
Ice making device 70 in Figure 1 of Applicant Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai (JP2000035268A) in view of Fushikawa (CN1269496A).
Regarding Claim 1, Arai teaches a refrigerator [refrigerator 10, Figure 7;0029] comprising:
a water tank [water supply tank 44, Figure 6; 0036] configured to store water to be supplied to an ice making device [water supply tank 44 supplies water to the ice tray 38 of ice making device 34, Figure 6; 0036];
a water supply channel portion [hose 114, Figure, Figure 6] configured to make the water flow from the water tank to the ice making device [where gear pump 110 sucks water from water supply tank 44 and is connected to one end of hose 114 where the other end of the hose 114 is connected water supply pipe 116 above ice tray 38; 0004, Figure 6];
a pump [gear pump 110, Figure 6] configured to fluidly communicate with the water supply channel portion and pump the water [0004]; and
a reducer valve [valve member 154, Figure 16] configured to fluidly communicate with the water supply channel portion [where valve member 154 is connected to hose 114, Figure 6; 0066] and comprising an air hole [air port 160, Figure 14 where embodiment of Figure 16 is an modification of embodiment of Figure 14; 0074] to selectively introduce air into the water supply channel portion [where when the gear box 110 is rotated in the reverse direction air does not remain so water does not remain; 0075], wherein the air hole is positioned above a highest water level of the water tank [where branch pipe 164 draws air, see arrows, above gear box 110 which is above the water level of water supply tank 44, Figure 17].
Arai teach a controller to control the air hole on the reducer valve and where the air hole is electronically controlled to be open and closed.
However, Fushikawa teaches a refrigerator equipped with an ice-making device [0001] including a controller [water supply circuit; 0020] to control the air hole [open air portion 5d of solenoid valve 7, Figure 1] on the reducer valve [where solenoid valve 7 automatically closes due to the control of the water supply control circuit; 0020-0021] and where the air hole is electronically controlled to be open and closed [via solenoid valve 7 and water supply circuit; 0020-0021] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, i.e., minimizing unpleasant working noise of the gear pump by avoiding reverse operation [Fushikawa; 0003].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Arai to where the air hole is electronically controlled to be open and closed in view of the teachings of Fushikawa where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable, i.e. minimizing unpleasant working noise of the gear pump by avoiding reverse operation [Fushikawa; 0003].
Regarding Claim 2, Arai, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the ice making device [ice making device 34, Figure 6; 0036] is positioned below a lowest water level of the water tank [where ice tray 38 is below water supply tank 44, Figure 6].
Regarding Claim 3, Arai, as modified, teaches the invention o f claim 1 and further teaches water supply channel portion [hose 114, Figure 6] is formed by one or more water supplying pipes [where hose 114 connects to one end of a water supply pipe 116, Figure 6; 0004], and an end portion of the water supplying pipe facing toward the ice making device [where one end of water supply pipe 116 is positioned above ice tray 38, Figure 6;0004] is positioned below a lowest water level of the water tank [where ice tray 38 is below water supply tank 44, Figure 6]
Regarding Claim 6, Arai, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the water supply channel portion [water hose 114, Figure 6] is formed by one or more water supplying pipes [where hose 114 connects to cylindrical connecting member 112, discharge pipe 108 via pump 110, Figure 6; 0004], and an end portion of the water supplying pipe facing toward the water tank [suction port 106, Figure 1] is in contact with water stored in the water tank [where suction port 106 is submerged in water supply tank 44, Figure 1], and an end portion of the water supplying pipe facing toward the ice making device is not in contact with water supplied to the ice making device [where an end of water supply pipe is positioned above the ice tray 38, Figure 1;0004].
Regarding Claim 7, Arai, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches where the refrigerator [refrigerator 10, Figure 7;0029] is partitioned into a refrigerator compartment [refrigerator compartment 14, Figure 10;0030] and a freezer compartment located below the refrigerator compartment [ice storage container 36, Figure 10;0035], the water tank [water supply tank 44, Figure 10], the pump [pump 110, Figure 1], and the reducer valve [valve member 154, Figure 16] are located in the refrigerator compartment [where water supply tank 44 is in refrigerator compartment 14, Figure 10; where pump 110 and valve member 154 are next to water supply tank 44, Figure 16 and Figure 10], and the ice making device is located in the freezer compartment [where ice making compartment 20 is equipped with ice making tray 38, Figure 6;0002].
Regarding Claim 8, Arai, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches where the reducer valve [valve member 154, Figure 16] blocks the introduction of air [where the valve mechanism is in a closed state; 0019] as the air hole [air port 160, Figure 16] is closed upon making the supply of water using the water supply channel portion proceed [where in the piping path the valve mechanism is in a closed state when the gear pump rotates forward;0019], and introduces air as the air hole is open upon terminating the supply of water using the water supply channel portion [where the valve is in an open state when the gear pump rotates reversely; 0019].
Regarding Claim 9, Arai, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 8 and further teaches, wherein upon starting the supply of water in the state that the supply of water using the water supply channel portion is terminated, the reducer valve and the pump operate simultaneously [where in the piping path the valve mechanism is configured to be in a closed state when the gear pump rotates forward; 0019].
Claim 9 recites functional limitations drawn toward the intended use or manner of operating the claimed apparatus. The functional limitations are: “wherein upon starting the supply of water in the state that the supply of water using the water supply channel portion is terminated, the reducer valve and the pump operate simultaneously.” When the cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus, it will be held that the prior art apparatus is capable of performing all of the claimed functional limitations of the claimed apparatus.
Regarding Claim 10, Arai, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 8 and further teaches where upon terminating the supply of water in the state that the supply of water using the water supply channel portion proceeds [where the pump rotates in the reverse direction and the water remaining inside is sucked into the gear pump or falls into the ice tray; 0024], the pump first stops operating and then the reducer valve stops operating [where the pump’s rotation operates the valve; 0024].
Claim 10 recites functional limitations drawn toward the intended use or manner of operating the claimed apparatus. The functional limitations are: “where upon terminating the supply of water in the state that the supply of water using the water supply channel portion proceeds.” When the cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus, it will be held that the prior art apparatus is capable of performing all of the claimed functional limitations of the claimed apparatus.
Regarding Claim 11, Arai, teaches a refrigerator [refrigerator 10, Figure 7;0029] comprising:
a storage compartment [cabinet 12; 0030] divided up and down to comprise a refrigerator compartment [refrigerator compartment 14, Figure 10;0030] and a freezer compartment [ice storage container 36, Figure 10;0035]; a water tank [water supply tank 44, Figure 44; 0036] located in the refrigerator compartment [where water supply tank 44 is in refrigerator compartment 14, Figure 10];
an ice making device [ice making device 34, Figure 6] located in the freezer compartment [ice storage container 36, Figure 10;0035];
a water supply channel portion [water hose 114, Figure 6] providing a path in which water is supplied from the water tank to the ice making device [where gear pump 110 sucks water from water supply tank 44 and is connected to one end of hose 114 where the other end of the hose 114 is connected water supply pipe 116 above ice tray 38, Figure 6; 0004,];
a pump [gear pump 110, Figure 6] fluidly communicating with the water supply channel portion and pumping the water [0004];
a reducer valve [valve member 154, Figure 16] fluidly communicating with the water supply channel portion [where valve member 154 is connected to hose 114, Figure 6; 0066] and opened and closed to selectively introduce air into the water supply channel portion [where the valve open and closes with the operation of the pump; 0024]; but
Arai does not teach a controller electronically controlling the reducer valve to be open and closed.
However, Fushikawa teaches a refrigerator equipped with an ice-making device [0001] including a controller [water supply circuit; 0020] electronically controlling the reducer valve to be open and closed [via solenoid valve 7 and water supply circuit; 0020-0021] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, i.e., minimizing unpleasant working noise of the gear pump by avoiding reverse operation [Fushikawa; 0003].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Arai to where a controller electronically controls the reducer valve to be open and closed in view of the teachings of Fushikawa where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable, i.e. minimizing unpleasant working noise of the gear pump by avoiding reverse operation [Fushikawa; 0003].
Regarding Claim 12, Arai, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 11 and further teaches where the reducer valve [valve member 154, Figure 16] comprises:
a valve body portion [valve member 154, Figure 13, where the valve member 154 of Figure 13 and Figure 16 has the same structure; 0074] fluidly communicating with the water supply channel portion [hose 114 connects is fluidly connected to valve member 152, Figure 13] and providing a path in which the water flows [where water flows toward the ice tray 38, Figure 13; 0067];
an air hole [air port 160, Figure 13] placed on one side of the valve body portion and providing a path in which air is introduced [where air enter through air port 160, Figure 13]; and
a plunger [prism-shaped valve 168, Figure 13] placed to face the air hole [in branch pipe 164, Figure 13] and reciprocating to selectively open and close the air hole [where the operation of valve member154 coincides with gear pump 110; where air enters through the air port 160 and the gap between the inner periphery of the branch pipe 164 and the square prism-shaped valve 168 releasing the vacuum in the hose 152, valve member 154, and hose 114, Figure 13; 0071;0072].
Regarding Claim 13, Arai, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 12 and further teaches the plunger [valve 168, Figure 13] moves in a direction, in which the air hole [air hole 160, Figure 13] is placed, to close the air hole [where valve 168 contacts valve seat 166 toward air hole 160, Figure 13;0071] and the plunger moves in an opposite direction to the direction, in which the air hole is placed, to open the air hole [where when the gear pump 110 is stopped and then reversed to suck up water, the valve 168 is also separated from the valve seat 166, Figure 13].
Arai, as modified, does not teach where the reducer valve further comprises a coil to generate a magnetic field upon receiving power moves in a direction, in which the air hole is placed, to close the air hole as the magnetic field is generated in the coil upon the reducer valve being turned on by the controller, and the plunger moves in an opposite direction to the direction, in which the air hole is placed, to open the air hole as the magnetic field is removed in the coil upon the reducer valve being turned off by the controller.
However, Fushikawa teaches a refrigerator equipped with an ice-making device [0001] comprises a coil to generate a magnetic field upon receiving power moves in a direction [where valve 7 is a solenoid valve; 0020-0021], in which the air hole is placed [5d, Figure 1], to close the air hole as the magnetic field is generated in the coil upon the reducer valve being turned on by the controller [0020; where one of ordinary skill in the art would understand magnetic fields driving a plunger is an inherent function of a solenoid valve; refer to pertinent art below], and the plunger moves in an opposite direction to the direction, in which the air hole is placed, to open the air hole as the magnetic field is removed in the coil upon the reducer valve being turned off by the controller [0021; one of ordinary skill in the art would understand magnetic fields driving a plunger is an inherent function of a solenoid valve; refer to pertinent art below] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, i.e., minimizing unpleasant working noise of the gear pump by avoiding reverse operation [Fushikawa; 0003].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Arai to where a controller electronically controls the reducer valve to be open and closed in view of the teachings of Fushikawa where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable, i.e. minimizing unpleasant working noise of the gear pump by avoiding reverse operation [Fushikawa; 0003].
Claim 13 recites functional limitations drawn toward the intended use or manner of operating the claimed apparatus. The functional limitations are: “upon receiving power moves in a direction, in which the air hole is placed, to close the air hole as the magnetic field is generated in the coil upon the reducer valve being turned on by the controller, and the plunger moves in an opposite direction to the direction, in which the air hole is placed, to open the air hole as the magnetic field is removed in the coil upon the reducer valve being turned off by the controller” and When the cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus, it will be held that the prior art apparatus is capable of performing all of the claimed functional limitations of the claimed apparatus.
Regarding Claim 14, Arai as modified, teaches the invention of claim 12 and further teaches where a plunger cap [a truncated cone on top of a square pillar; 0069] is placed on one side of the plunger [Figure 14,0069], the plunger cap comes into contact with a lowest end portion of the air hole [air hole 160, Figure 13] to close the air hole upon the reducer valve being turned on [where valve 168 contacts valve seat 166 toward air hole 160, Figure 13;0071], and the plunger cap is spaced apart from the lowest end portion of the air hole [bottom of air hole 160 as oriented in integrated embodiment, Figure 16] to open the air hole upon the reducer valve being turned off [where when the gear pump 110 is stopped and then reversed to suck up water, the valve 168 tapered tip is also separated from the valve seat 166, Figure 13; 0068].
Regarding Claim 15, Arai, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 12 and further teaches wherein the lowest end portion of the air hole [bottom of air hole 160 of branch 164, Figure 16] is positioned above a highest water level of the water tank [where air port 160 is above gear box 110 which is above the water level of water supply tank 44, Figure 17].
Regarding Claim 16, Arai, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 12 and further teaches where the lowest end portion of the air hole [bottom of air hole 160 of branch 164, Figure 16] is positioned within a water supply path [0066, Figure 13] in which the water passes through the valve body portion [where water flows between hose 114 and 152 through valve member 154, Figure 13;0066].
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai (JP2000035268A) in view of Fushikawa (CN1269496A) and in further view of Wa (CN1143106C).
Regarding Claim 4, Arai, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and does not teach where at least a portion of the ice making is located between a lowest water level and the highest water level of the water tank.
However, Wa teaches automatic ice-making device for supplying water to an ice-making tray [0001] where at least a portion of the ice making device [ice tray 27, Figure 13, an alternative embodiment] is located between a lowest water level and the highest water level of the water tank [where ice tray 27 is partially above the bottom of supply tank 10, Figure 13; 0112] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., reducing space required for the ice maker assembly [Wa; 0013]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where at least a portion of the ice making is located between a lowest water level and the highest water level of the water tank in view of the teachings of Wa where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., reducing space required for the ice maker assembly [Wa; 0013]
Regarding Claim 5, Arai, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches where wherein the water supply channel portion [hose 114, Figure 6] is formed by one or more water supplying pipes [where hose 114 connects to one end of a water supply pipe 116, Figure 6; 0004], and an end portion of the water supplying pipe facing toward the ice making device [where an end of water supply pipe is positioned above the ice tray 38, Figure 6;0004 ] but does not teach where the end portion of the water supplying pipe is positioned between a lowest water level and the highest water level of the water tank.
However, Wa teaches automatic ice-making device for supplying water to an ice-making tray [0001] where the end portion of the water supplying pipe [output channel 71, Figure 13] is positioned between a lowest water level and the highest water level of the water tank [where the output channel 71 is above the bottom of supply tank 10 and below supply tank10 to supply ice tray 27, Figure 13; 0112] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., reducing space required for the ice maker assembly [Wa; 0013]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings have where the end portion of the water supplying pipe is positioned between a lowest water level and the highest water level of the water tank in view of the teachings of Wa where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., reducing space required for the ice maker assembly [Wa; 0013]
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/2026 regarding the claim 1 interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7 of the remarks, Applicant argues the term “ice making device” is a well-recognized, structural term in the field of refrigeration technology. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In particular, the definition provided, “a discrete physical component having a specific mechanical structure designed to freeze water into ice”, is a functional description. The term “ice making device” is interpreted in light of component 70 of Figure 1, 0123, as an ice mold and equivalents thereof. Accordingly, the interpretation under 112(f) is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments filed 4/13/2026 on pages 8-10 with respect to claim 1 and claim 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant does not separately argue the rejection of claims 2-10 and 12-16 except for their dependence upon claim 1 and claim 11. Accordingly, the rejections of record are considered proper and remain.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. American Society of Heating and Refrigeration, 2022 ASHRAE Handbook , Refrigeration (SI Edition), 11.4.8 Solenoid Valves. [retrieved on 1/8/2026] Retrieved from <https://app.knovel.com/hotlink/pdf/id:kt0135SW21/ashrae-handbook-refrigeration/solenoid-valves>. ASHRAE explains the structure and operation of solenoid valves where when current flows through the coil a magnetic field is created that draws the movable armature, also referred to as a plunger.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEONA LAUREN BANKS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763