DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/30/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 10-14, 19 & 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of co-pending Application No. 18/753,741 in view of Georgeson et al (US 9,834,323 B2).
Regarding claims 1, 10-12, 19 & 20 Co-pending application ‘741 discloses one or more image sensors configured to acquire one or more images of an aerodynamic surface via a vehicle used to identify one or more predicted defects of the surface; and one or more tactile sensors disposed on the one or more vehicles, the one or more tactile sensors configured to acquire dimensioning information for the one or more predicted defects [Claims 1-20]. Application ‘741 does not explicitly claim a circumferential rail and track structure overlapping with a section of an aerodynamic surface; one or more vehicles constrained to travel along the circumferential track / rail structure. Georgeson et al ‘323 discloses a circumferential rail and track structure overlapping with a section of an aerodynamic surface; one or more vehicles constrained to travel along the track [Claims 1 & 21].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of aircraft surface inspection systems before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the vehicle mobile system as disclosed by co-pending application ‘741 with a rail structure and track overlapping with a section of an aerodynamic surface; one or more vehicles constrained to travel along the track for the purpose of controlled and accurate surface scanning of the fuselage of an aircraft as taught by Georgeson et al ‘323 for the purpose of guiding a scanning system along a surface to be inspected for defects . Moreover, it would be well within the skill set of a person in the field of endeavor to utilize the track system as taught by Georgeson et al ‘323 within the mobile vehicle surface scanning system of Co-pending application ‘741.
Regarding claims 2, & 12 Co-pending application ‘741 teaches the basic features of the claimed invention but fails to teach a base section; an actuator configured to move the base section along the track; and a robotic arm having a first end coupled with the base section, and an opposing second end coupled with one or both of a first image sensor of the one or more image sensors, and a first tactile sensor of the one or more tactile sensors. Georgeson et al teaches a base section (Inherent) 52 ; an actuator (Abstract)(Col. 9 lines 40 – 65) configured to move the base section 52 along the track (col. 7 lines 7 -41); and a robotic arm 90a 90b (Interpreted as telescoping arm) (Abstract) having a first end coupled with the base section 52 (Fig. 4), and an opposing second end coupled with one or both of a first image sensor 2 of the one or more image sensors 2 , and a first tactile sensor 8 of the one or more tactile sensors 8.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill int the art of aircraft surface inspection systems before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system as disclosed by Co-pending application ‘741 with a base section; an actuator configured to move the base section along the track; and a robotic arm having a first end coupled with the base section, and an opposing second end coupled with one or both of a first image sensor of the one or more image sensors, and a first tactile sensor of the one or more tactile sensors as taught by Georgeson et al for the purpose of guiding a scanning system along a surface to be inspected for defects. Moreover, it would be well within the skill set of a person in the field of endeavor to utilize the track system as taught by Georgeson et al within the surface scanning system of Co-pending application ‘741.
Regarding claims 3 & 14 Co-pending application ‘741 teaches the basic features of the claimed invention but fails to teach a mount coupled to an interface defined at the second end of the robotic arm, wherein both the first image sensor and the first tactile sensor are coupled to the mount. Georgeson et al teaches a mount coupled to an interface defined at the second end of the robotic arm 90a 90b, wherein both the first image sensor 2 and the first tactile sensor 8 are coupled to the mount (Fig. 2 – 15).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill int the art of aircraft surface inspection systems before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system as disclosed by Co-pending application ‘741 with a mount coupled to an interface defined at the second end of the robotic arm, wherein both the first image sensor and the first tactile sensor are coupled to the mount as taught by Georgeson et al for the purpose of guiding a scanning system along a surface to be inspected for defects. Moreover, it would be well within the skill set of a person in the field of endeavor to utilize the track system as taught by Georgeson et al within the surface scanning system of Co-pending application ‘741.
Regarding claim 8 Co-pending application ‘741 discloses acquiring the dimensioning information for the one or more predicted defects comprises: determining one or more of a depth profile, a width, a length, and a sharpness of a bottom basin for the one or more predicted defects [Claims 8 & 17].
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-14 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Georgeson et al (US 9834323 B2).
Regarding claims 1, 10, 12 & 19 Georgeson et al discloses a track (Abstract)(col. 7 lines 7 -41) overlapping with a section of the surface 12 (figs. 1-3) ; one or more vehicles 52 (interpreted as a carriage) constrained to travel along the track (col. 7 lines 7 -41)(figs. 1-3); one or more image sensors 2 (col. 11 lines 8 40) disposed on the one or more vehicles 52, the one or more image sensors 2 configured to acquire one or more images of the surface 12 used to identify one or more predicted defects (interpreted as ultrasonic inspection) (Col. 8 lines 42-62) of the surface (Col. 10 lines 33-65) (col. 11 lines 8-40) ; and one or more tactile sensors 8 disposed on the one or more vehicles 52, the one or more tactile sensors 8 configured to acquire dimensioning information for the one or more predicted defects (Col. 10 lines 33-65) (col. 11-Col. 12).
Regarding claims 2 & 13 Georgeson et al teaches a base section (Inherent) 52 ; an actuator (Abstract)(Col. 9 lines 40 – 65) configured to move the base section 52 along the track (col. 7 lines 7 -41); and a robotic arm 90a 90b (Interpreted as telescoping arm) (Abstract) having a first end coupled with the base section 52 (Fig. 4), and an opposing second end coupled with one or both of a first image sensor 2 of the one or more image sensors 2 , and a first tactile sensor 8 of the one or more tactile sensors 8.
Regarding claims 3 & 14 Georgeson et al teaches a mount coupled to an interface defined at the second end of the robotic arm 90a 90b, wherein both the first image sensor 2 and the first tactile sensor 8 are coupled to the mount (Fig. 2 – 15).
Regarding claims 8 & 10 Georgeson et al teaches acquiring the dimensioning information for the one or more predicted defects comprises: determining one or more of a depth profile, a width, a length, and a sharpness of a bottom basin for the one or more predicted defects. (Interpreted as ultrasonic inspection) (Abstract)(Col. 6 lines 40-65)
Regarding claims 9 Georgeson et al teaches the track is removably coupled to the surface (Implied the inspection system is removable from a fuselage.)
Regarding claims 11 & 20 Georgeson et al teaches an aircraft fuselage 12, wherein the one or more rails 28a 28b comprises a plurality of rails 28a 28b spaced apart from each other and extending circumferentially around the aircraft fuselage 12, wherein the space between the plurality of rails 28a 28b overlaps with a joint section of the aircraft fuselage 12, and wherein the joint section comprises one or more rows of fasteners extending circumferentially around the aircraft fuselage 12. (Fig. 2 – 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 & 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Georgeson et al (US 9834323 B2) in view of Georgeson et al (US 11044011 B2).
Regarding claims 4-7 and 15-18 Georgeson et al ‘323 as modified by Georgeson et al ‘011 teaches a mounting arrangement (Georgeson et al ‘323 col. 2 lines 15-25, col. 8 lines 1-5, figs. 1-15), (Georgeson et al ‘011 figs. 1-15, col. 2 lines 15-25, col. 8 lines 1-5). Georgeson et al ‘323 as modified by Georgeson et al ‘011 does not explicitly teach a mount that includes a central section contoured to mate with the interface; a flange extending from the central section, the first image sensor coupled to the flange; and a forked bracket extending from the central section, the first tactile sensor coupled to the forked bracket; the flange extending in a first direction from the central section, and wherein the forked bracket extends in an opposing second direction from the central section; the flange and the forked bracket provide the image sensor and the tactile sensor with a same orientation; the central section defines a recessed portion that receives a portion of the interface.
Since Georgeson et al ‘323 as modified by Georgeson et al ‘011 discloses a mounted fuselage scanning system, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill int the art of aircraft surface inspection systems before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the mounting arrangements to further include a mount that includes a central section contoured to mate with the interface; a flange extending from the central section, the first image sensor coupled to the flange; and a forked bracket extending from the central section, the first tactile sensor coupled to the forked bracket; the flange extending in a first direction from the central section, and wherein the forked bracket extends in an opposing second direction from the central section; the flange and the forked bracket provide the image sensor and the tactile sensor with a same orientation; the central section defines a recessed portion that receives a portion of the interface, for the purpose of ensuring a properly secured surface scanning system. Furthermore, since the applicant has not established that the specifics of the mounting arrangement as claimed solves a stated problem or purpose. Lacking any criticality, it would appear that a person having ordinary skill in the art due to the design need of a suitable mounting feature, pursue any number of identified, predictable solutions, and / or options within his or her technical grasp. KSR, 127 S. Ct. at 1742, 82 USPQ2d at 1397.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 12409952 B1 Vehicles, systems, and methods for the autonomous inspection of objects
US 12378004 B2 UAV-based aviation inspection systems and related methods
US 12007220 B2 Optical structural health monitoring
US 11401051 B2 Aircraft inspection systems and methods
US 10239641 B2 Automated scanning systems for non-destructive inspection of curved cylinder-like workpieces
US 11044011 B2 Automated scanning systems for non-destructive inspection of curved cylinder-like workpieces
US 20170052070 A1 Method for infrared thermographic inspection of composite structure, involves stitching first and second infrared imaging data together based on first and second coordinate locations of field of view of infrared camera
US 20160123933 A1 Component inspection system e.g., for detecting abnormalities or damage in component using ultrasonic inspection probe has controller, which controls robotic device to adjust actual orientation of end effector to be in desired orientation
US 20140345384 A1 Generator Retaining Ring Scanning Robot
US 8713998 B2 Autonomous non-destructive evaluation system for aircraft structures
US 7640810 B2 Ultrasonic inspection apparatus, system, and method
/ANDRE J ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855