DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “204” in Fig. 3 has been used to designate both the regulator and the pump. Applicant’s specification designates the pump as 206 (Specification at Paragraph 0039). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 06/25/2024 has been received and fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US6055473A to Zwolinski et al. (hereinafter “Zwolinski”) in view of CN10909790A to Liu et al. (hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding claim 1, Zwolinski discloses a vehicle seat (Fig. 1 vehicle seat 10) comprising:
a seat body defining a passenger seating area (Fig. 1 seatback 12, seat cushion 14);
at least one airbag supported by the seat body (Fig. 1 bladders 30, 322, 34, 36, 38); and
a regulator supported by the seat body and configured to control inflation and deflation of the at least one airbag (Fig. 2 pump 80, Controller 60, seat back valve module 74, pneumatic control line 180, pneumatic lines 230, 234, 236, 238, exhaust line 84 together comprise the regulator; Col. 5 lines 3-32 disclose control of fluid into the bladders), wherein the regulator includes:
a pump (Fig. 2 pump 80);
an electronic control unit (ECU) in fluid communication and electrical communication with the pump (Fig. 2 controller 60, seat back valve module 74 together comprise the ECU; Examiner notes the controller is in electrical communication with the pump and the seat back valve module is in fluid communication with the pump);
a first hose facilitating airflow from the pump into the ECU (Fig. 2 pneumatic control line 180);
at least one second hose facilitating airflow between the ECU and the at least one airbag (Fig. 2 pneumatic lines 230, 234, 236, 238); and
at least one third hose facilitating airflow from the ECU (Fig. 2 exhaust line 84).
Zwolinski does not disclose a silencer such that air flow flows from one airbag and into the silencer during deflation of the at least one airbag to thereby reduce noise. However, Liu teaches an inflatable mattress which has a silencer which reduces noise during inflation (Fig. 8 muffler 22; Paragraph 0009 discloses the muffler is used to eliminate the noise generated during the deflation process and prevent disturbing the user’s rest).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exhaust line of Zwolinski to further include a silencer such that air flow flows from one airbag and into the silencer during deflation of the at least one airbag, as taught by Liu, in order to prevent disturbing the user during the deflation process (Paragraph 0009).
Zwolinski as modified by Liu further discloses a silencer in fluid communication with the ECU wherein a third hose facilitates air flow from the ECU into the silencer (Examiner notes the muffler 22 of Liu would be in the exhaust pipe 84 of Zwolinski and thus be in fluid communication with the valve module 74).
Regarding claim 3, Zwolinski in view of Liu discloses the vehicle seat of claim 1, and Zwolinski further discloses wherein the ECU is configured such that air flows from the ECU and into the at least one airbag in a first direction, and air flows from the ECU and into the silencer in a second direction generally opposite to the first direction (Fig. 2 shows that air flows in from pump 80 toward the seat back valve module 74 via line 180, and air flows from seat back valve module 74 to Liu’s muffler 22 (See modification in claim 1) in an opposite direction via line 84).
Regarding claim 4, Zwolinski in view of Liu discloses the vehicle seat of claim 1, and Zwolinski further discloses wherein the at least one airbag includes a plurality of airbags (Figs. 1 & 2 bladders 30, 32, 34, 36, 38).
Regarding claim 5, Zwolinski in view of Liu discloses the vehicle seat of claim 4, and Zwolinski further discloses wherein the at least one second hose includes a plurality of second hoses corresponding in number to the plurality of airbags (Fig. 2 pneumatic lines 230, 234, 236, 238 correspond to bladders 30, 32, 34, 36, 38).
Regarding claim 8, Zwolinski in view of Liu discloses the vehicle seat of claim 1, and Zwolinski as modified by Liu further discloses wherein the silencer includes an exhaust port and is configured to direct airflow away from the passenger seating area during deflation of the at least one airbag (Fig. 2 shows that exhaust line 84 terminates to the atmosphere at a port (funnel) in a downward direction; Examiner notes the muffler of Liu would be positioned in Zwolinski’s exhaust line before the funnel opening).
Regarding claim 9, Zwolinski in view of Liu discloses the vehicle seat of claim 8, and Zwolinski as modified by Liu further discloses wherein the silencer is configured such that the exhaust port is oriented in a generally downward direction (Fig. 2 shows that exhaust line 84 terminates to the atmosphere at a port (tubing and funnel) in a downward direction; Examiner notes the muffler of Liu would be positioned in Zwolinski’s exhaust line before the funnel opening which would leave tubing and the funnel to the atmosphere on the other side of the muffler).
Regarding claim 10, Zwolinski in view of Liu discloses the vehicle seat of claim 9, and Zwolinski as modified by Liu further discloses an outlet tube extending from the exhaust port and terminating within the seat body (Examiner notes the muffler of Liu would be positioned in Zwolinski’s exhaust line before the funnel opening which would leave tubing and the funnel to the atmosphere on the other side of the muffler; The tubing on the other side of Liu’s muffler would be the outlet tube).
Regarding claim 11, Zwolinski discloses a vehicle seat (Fig. 1 vehicle seat 10) comprising:
at least one airbag (Fig. 1 bladders 30, 322, 34, 36, 38); and
a regulator configured to control inflation and deflation of the at least one airbag (Fig. 2 pump 80. Controller 60, seat back valve module 74, pneumatic control line 180, pneumatic lines 230, 234, 236, 238, exhaust line 84 together comprise the regulator; Col. 5 lines 3-32 disclose control of fluid into the bladders), wherein the regulator includes:
an electronic control unit (ECU) in fluid communication with the at least one airbag (Fig. 2 controller 60, seat back valve module 74 together comprise the ECU; Examiner notes the controller is in electrical communication with the pump and the seat back valve module is in fluid communication with the pump).
Zwolinski does not disclose a silencer configured to reduce noise during deflation of the at least one airbag. However, Liu teaches an inflatable mattress which has a silencer which reduces noise during inflation (Fig. 8 muffler 22; Paragraph 0009 discloses the muffler is used to eliminate the noise generated during the deflation process and prevent disturbing the user’s rest).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exhaust line of Zwolinski to further include a silencer such that air flow flows from one airbag and into the silencer during deflation of the at least one airbag, as taught by Liu, in order to prevent disturbing the user during the deflation process (Paragraph 0009).
Zwolinski as modified by Liu further discloses a silencer in fluid communication with the ECU (Examiner notes the muffler 22 of Liu would be in the exhaust pipe 84 of Zwolinski and thus be in fluid communication with the valve module 74).
Regarding claim 12, Zwolinski in view of Liu discloses the vehicle seat of claim 11, and Zwolinski further discloses wherein the ECU is configured such that air flows from the ECU and into the at least one airbag in a first direction, and air flows from the ECU and into the silencer in a second direction generally opposite to the first direction (Fig. 2 shows that air flows in from pump 80 toward the seat back valve module 74 via line 180, and air flows from seat back valve module 74 to Liu’s muffler 22 (See modification in claim 1) in an opposite direction via line 84).
Regarding claim 13, Zwolinski in view of Liu discloses the vehicle seat of claim 11, and Zwolinski further discloses wherein the at least one airbag includes a plurality of airbags, and the regulator further includes: a plurality of first hoses facilitating airflow between the ECU and the plurality of airbags (Fig. 2 pneumatic lines 230, 234, 236, 238 (plurality of first hoses) correspond to bladders 30, 32, 34, 36, 38).
Regarding claim 15, Zwolinski in view of Liu discloses the vehicle seat of claim 11, and Zwolinski as modified by Liu further discloses wherein the silencer includes an exhaust port and is configured to direct airflow away from the passenger seating area during deflation of the at least one airbag (Fig. 2 shows that exhaust line 84 terminates to the atmosphere at a port (funnel) in a downward direction; Examiner notes the muffler of Liu would be positioned in Zwolinski’s exhaust line before the funnel opening).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zwolinski in view of Liu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US20100244504A1 to Colja et al. (hereinafter “Colja”).
Regarding claim 2, Zwolinski in view of Liu discloses the vehicle seat of claim 1, and Zwolinski further discloses wherein the at least one airbag is oriented in a generally forward direction (Fig. 1 shows bladders 30, 32, 34, 36, 38 are oriented in a forward direction contacting the back of a user beneath the backrest portion 12). Zwolinski does not explicitly disclose the regulator is oriented in a generally rearward direction. However, Colja teaches an inflatable massage chair which has a regulator oriented in a generally rearward direction (Fig. 2 controller 60, valve controller 136, manifold 112, conduits 120 are all on the rear side of the seat on second side 72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chair of Zwolinski to have a regulator oriented in a generally rearward direction, as taught by Colja, in order to hide the components from view of the vehicle passengers (Paragraph 0030).
Claims 6-7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zwolinski in view of Liu as applied to claims 5 and 13 above, and further in view of US20240033939A1 to Gao et al. (hereinafter “Gao”).
Regarding claim 6, Zwolinski in view of Liu discloses the vehicle seat of claim 5, but Zwolinski does not disclose wherein the at least one third hose includes a plurality of third hoses corresponding in number to the plurality of airbags. However, Gao teaches a microfluidic valve and channel system which has a plurality of hoses corresponding to a number of airbags which terminate in a singular exhaust line through a pinch valve block (Figs. 2A & 20 valve block 210 show the soft fluidic actuator lines 500 terminate through lines to the pinch valves 210 and then have an additional line to the exhaust port 244).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zwolinski to have a plurality of exhaust hoses corresponding to the airbags, as taught by Gao, in order to provide a connection of a plurality of fluidic channels in parallel (Paragraph 0202). Examiner notes this modification would allow for a one-way airflow through the lines thus simplifying the airflow path to make it unidirectional.
Regarding claim 7, Zwolinski in view of Liu and Gao discloses the vehicle seat of claim 6, and Zwolinski as modified by Liu and Gao further discloses a manifold (Gao Fig. 2A valve block 210) in fluid communication with the plurality of third hoses (Examiner notes the block 210 of Gao would be in communication with hoses from Zwolinski’s bladders) and the silencer (Examiner notes that Liu’s muffler would be in Zwolinski’s exhaust line 84), wherein the manifold is configured to collect and direct airflow from the plurality of third hoses into the silencer (Gao’s block would collect airflow from the exhaust hoses and direct it down the exhaust line 84 of Zwolinski).
Regarding claim 14, Zwolinski in view of Liu discloses the vehicle seat of claim 13, but does not disclose a plurality of second hoses facilitating airflow from the ECU into the silencer, and a manifold in fluid communication with the plurality of second hoses and the silencer, wherein the manifold is configured to direct airflow from the plurality of second hoses into the silencer. However, Gao teaches a microfluidic valve and channel system which has a plurality of hoses corresponding to a number of airbags which terminate in a singular exhaust line through a pinch valve block (Figs. 2A & 20 valve block 210 show the soft fluidic actuator lines 500 terminate through lines to the pinch valves 210 and then have an additional line to the exhaust port 244; Gao Fig. 2A valve block 210 is the manifold; Examiner notes the block 210 of Gao would be in communication with hoses from Zwolinski’s bladders; Examiner notes that Liu’s muffler would be in Zwolinski’s exhaust line 84; Examiner further notes Gao’s block would collect airflow from the exhaust hoses and direct it down the exhaust line 84 of Zwolinski).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified Zwolinski to have a plurality of exhaust hoses corresponding to the airbags, as taught by Gao, in order to provide a connection of a plurality of fluidic channels in parallel (Paragraph 0202).
Claims 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zwolinski in view of Liu and Colja.
Regarding claim 16, Zwolinski discloses a method of operating a system in a vehicle seat (Fig. 1 vehicle seat 10, controller 60), the method comprising:
engaging a pump (Fig. 2 pump 80);
directing airflow from the pump into an electronic control unit (ECU) (Fig. 2 controller 60, seat back valve module 74 together comprise the ECU; Examiner notes the controller is in electrical communication with the pump and the seat back valve module is in fluid communication with the pump; Col. 5 lines 3-8 disclose the seat back valve module 74 receives air from pump 80);
directing airflow from the ECU into at least one airbag to thereby inflate the at least one airbag (Col. 5 lines 5-13 disclose air is driven from the seat back valve module 74 to the bladders 30, 32, 34, 36, 38);
disengaging the pump (Col. 5 lines 14-32 discloses the controller may turn the pump on and off);
directing airflow from the at least one airbag into the ECU to thereby deflate the at least one airbag (Col. 5 lines 14-32 discloses the controller may deflate the bladders).
Zwolinski does not disclose a silencer configured to reduce noise during deflation of the at least one airbag. However, Liu teaches an inflatable mattress which has a silencer which reduces noise during inflation (Fig. 8 muffler 22; Paragraph 0009 discloses the muffler is used to eliminate the noise generated during the deflation process and prevent disturbing the user’s rest).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exhaust line of Zwolinski to further include a silencer such that air flow flows from one airbag and into the silencer during deflation of the at least one airbag, as taught by Liu, in order to prevent disturbing the user during the deflation process (Paragraph 0009).
Zwolinski as modified by Liu further discloses directing airflow from the ECU into a silencer (Examiner notes the muffler 22 of Liu would be in the exhaust pipe 84 of Zwolinski and thus be in fluid communication with the valve module 74 when air is flowing out of the system).
Zwolinski does not explicitly disclose the air bladders are used for massage. However, Colja teaches a vehicle chair which uses bladders for zone lumbar massage (Figs. 1-2 seat 20, air cells 52, control module 60; Paragraph 0025 discloses the seat is used for massage modes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zwolinski to further include control logic for massage, as taught by Colja, in order to provide dynamic massage capabilities to a user (Paragraph 0025). Examiner notes the modification would result in much higher economic desirability for the system as it would have massage capabilities.
Regarding claim 17, Zwolinski in view of Liu and Colja discloses the method of claim 16, and Zwolinski further discloses wherein directing airflow from the pump into the ECU includes: opening a first valve in the ECU, thereby permitting airflow from the ECU into the at least one airbag; and closing a second valve in the ECU, thereby inhibiting airflow from the ECU into the silencer (Col. 5 lines 3-32 disclose a series of valves are used to allow flow from the seat back valve module 74 into the bladders and another valve is used to open a passage to the exhaust line 84; Examiner notes that Liu’s muffler 22 is within the exhaust line).
Regarding claim 18, Zwolinski in view of Liu and Colja discloses the method of claim 17, and Zwolinski as modified by Liu and Colja further discloses wherein directing airflow from the ECU into the silencer includes opening the second valve (Col. 5 lines 3-32 disclose a series of valves are used to allow flow a valve is used to open a passage to the exhaust line 84 to allow venting of the bladders; Examiner notes that Liu’s muffler 22 is within the exhaust line).
Regarding claim 20, Zwolinski in view of Liu and Colja discloses the method of claim 16, and Zwolinski as modified by Liu and Colja further discloses wherein the silencer is configured such that the exhaust port is oriented in a generally downward direction (Fig. 2 shows that exhaust line 84 terminates to the atmosphere at a port (tubing and funnel) in a downward direction; Examiner notes the muffler of Liu would be positioned in Zwolinski’s exhaust line before the funnel opening which would leave tubing and the funnel to the atmosphere on the other side of the muffler).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zwolinski in view of Liu and Colja as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Gao.
Regarding claim 19, Zwolinski in view of Liu and Colja discloses the method of claim 16, but does not disclose directing airflow from the ECU into a manifold positioned between the ECU and the silencer. However, Gao teaches a microfluidic valve and channel system which has a plurality of hoses corresponding to a number of airbags which terminate in a singular exhaust line through a pinch valve block (Figs. 2A & 20 valve block 210 show the soft fluidic actuator lines 500 terminate through lines to the pinch valves 210 and then have an additional line to the exhaust port 244; Gao Fig. 2A valve block 210 is the manifold; Examiner notes the block 210 of Gao would be in communication with hoses from Zwolinski’s bladders; Examiner notes that Liu’s muffler would be in Zwolinski’s exhaust line 84; Examiner further notes Gao’s block would collect airflow from the exhaust hoses and direct it down the exhaust line 84 of Zwolinski).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified Zwolinski to have a plurality of exhaust hoses corresponding to the airbags which lead into a manifold, as taught by Gao, in order to provide a connection of a plurality of fluidic channels in parallel (Paragraph 0202).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US-20030038517-A1 to Moran; US-20040106884-A1 to Bolam; US-20070088239-A1 to Roth; US-20120086249-A1 to Hotary; US-20170281460-A1 to Zgoda; US-20180072199-A1 to Strumolo; US-20200238864-A1 to Heiden; US-20200276077-A1 to Chiu; US-20200390641-A1 to Arthurs; US-20210276458-A1 to Fujii; US-20220260073-A1 to Blendea; US-20230234487-A1 to Kohlman; US-20230249599-A1 to Nicola; US-20230355462-A1 to Ghanime; and US-20230415692-A1 to Rao.
/TYLER A RAUBENSTRAW/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRADLEY H PHILIPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799