DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed on June 25, 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-8 are now pending in the application.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Ball or Roller Group Arrangement for Annular Motor.
Claim Objections
The claim 8 is objected to because they include reference characters (A and B) which are not enclosed within parentheses.
Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description of the drawings and used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims should be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites, the limitation "a permanent magnet" in the first paragraph. There is redundant antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since “permanent magnets” is previously recited in the independent claim.
Claim 7 and 8 recite, “The method according to claim 1”, in the first line of each claim respectively. The limitation adds a method to an already existing product claim, which makes the claims unclear in accordance with MPEP 2173.05(p).
In order to properly conduct a search on the subject, “The method according to claim 1” is interpreted to mean, “The annular motor according to claim 1.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NONG (CN 212909137 U) in view of KIM (US 20210194317 A1).
In regards to claim 1, NONG teaches:
An annular motor(ring shape [pg 1; 31-42]), comprising a circular ring-shaped inner ring(Fig 3; 3), a circular ring-shaped outer ring(Fig 3; 2), wherein the inner ring (Fig 3; 3) is sleeved in the outer ring(Fig 3; 2)[pg 3; 10-15], and at least one ball group (Fig 2; 5)or at least one roller group (Fig 2; 5)is installed between the inner ring (Fig 2; 3)and the outer ring(Fig 2; 2)[pg 3; 5-30]; one of a coil winding set (Fig 3; 32)and even numbers of permanent magnets (Fig 3; 22)is installed on an outer side of the inner ring(Fig 3; 3), and the other one of the coil winding set(Fig 3; 32) and the even numbers of permanent magnets (Fig 3; 22)is installed on an inner side of the outer ring(Fig 3; 2(21)).
NONG does not teach:
a junction box
the junction box is installed on an inner wall of the inner ring or an outer wall of the outer ring, and a lead line of the coil winding set is connected to a binding post in the junction box.
KIM teaches:
a circular ring-shaped inner ring (Fig 2; 30), a circular ring-shaped outer ring(Fig 2; 20), and a junction box (Fig 3; 24),
the junction box (Fig 3; 24) is installed on an inner wall of the inner ring or an outer wall(axial outer) of the outer ring(Fig 2; 20)[0033], and a lead line of the coil winding set is connected to a binding post in the junction box(Fig 3; 24)[0033].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NONG by adding the junction box taught by KIM in order to insulate the busbar and connect to the terminal [0033 KIM], thus allowing the transfer of electricity safely.
Additionally, the Applicant should note that NONG discloses the claimed invention except for a junction box. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a junction box since it was known in the art that junction boxes are used to transfer electricity to and from an electrical machine.
In regards to claim 3, NONG, in view of KIM, teaches the annular motor according to claim 1:
wherein even numbers of magnet installation grooves (Fig 2; 21)are provided on an inner wall of the outer ring(Fig 2; 2), a permanent magnet (Fig 2; 22)is embedded in each magnet installation groove(Fig 2; 21); the coil winding set (Fig 3; 32)comprises an iron core (Fig 3; 31) and multiple coils[abstract], the iron core (Fig 2; 31) is installed on the outer side of the inner ring(Fig 2; 3), multiple core columns for winding coils (Fig 2; 32)are provided on an outer side of the iron core(Fig 2; 31), and a set of coils are sleeved on each core column(Fig 3).
In regards to claim 4, NONG, in view of KIM, teaches the annular motor according to claim 1:
wherein there is provided at least one inner rolling groove (Fig 4; 41)around the outer side of the inner ring (Fig 2; 3)for installing the ball group (Fig 2; 5)or the roller group[pg 3; 5-28]; there is provided at least one outer rolling groove (Fig 3; 23)around the inner side of the outer ring(Fig 3; 2) for installing the ball group (Fig 2; 5)or the roller group[pg 3; 5-28]; the ball group (Fig 2; 5) or the roller group is installed between the outer rolling groove (Fig 3; 23)and the inner rolling groove (Fig 4; 41)connected with the outer rolling groove(Fig 3; 23).
In regards to claim 6, NONG, in view of KIM, teaches the annular motor according to claim 1:
wherein each ball group (Fig 2; 5) comprises a circular ring-shaped ball retainer (Fig 4; 41)and multiple spherical balls(Fig 2; 5), the ball retainer is provided with multiple uniformly distributed ball retaining holes(Fig 3; 23), and a ball is installed in each ball retaining hole[pg 3; 5-28].
In regards to claim 7, NONG, in view of KIM, teaches the annular motor according to claim 1:
wherein each roller group(Fig 2; 5) comprises a circular ring-shaped roller retainer (Fig 4; 41) and multiple cylindrical rollers(Fig 2; 5), the roller retainer is provided with multiple uniformly distributed roller retaining holes(Fig 3; 23), and a roller is installed in each roller retaining hole[pg 3; 5-28].
NONG discloses the claimed invention except for a roller group. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to substitute the ball group for a roller group since the examiner takes Official Notice of the equivalence of a roller group and a ball group for their use in the prior art and the selection of any of these known equivalents to a ball group would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NONG (CN 212909137 U) in view of KIM (US 20210194317 A1), and further in view of TAGUCHI (US 20230037848 A1).
In regards to claim 2, NONG in view of KIM, teaches the annular motor according to claim 1.
Combination NONG/KIM does not teach:
wherein even numbers of magnet installation grooves are provided on an outer wall of the inner ring, and a permanent magnet is embedded in each magnet installation groove; the coil winding set comprises an iron core and multiple coils, the iron core is installed on the inner side of the outer ring, multiple core columns for winding the coils are provided on an inner side of the iron core, and a set of coils are sleeved on each core column.
TAGUCHI teaches:
wherein even numbers of magnet installation grooves (Fig 2; 41)are provided on an outer wall of the inner ring(Fig 2; 40), and a permanent magnet (Fig 2; 42)is embedded in each magnet installation groove(Fig 2; 41); the coil winding set (Fig 2; 35) comprises an iron core (Fig ; 31)and multiple coils, the iron core(Fig 3; 31) is installed on the inner side of the outer ring(Fig 2; 30), multiple core columns (Fig 2; 33)for winding the coils (Fig 2; 35)are provided on an inner side of the iron core(Fig 2; 31)[0054], and a set of coils (Fig 2; 35)are sleeved on each core column(Fig 3; 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inner and outer ring of NONG by changing the radial arrangement of the permanent magnets and coils as taught by TAGUCHI in order improve the magnetic coupling between the motor stator and the motor rotor [0092 TAGUCHI].
Additionally, the Applicant should note that NONG discloses the claimed invention except for the radial arrangement of the permanent magnets and coils. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to swamp the rotor so its inner and the stator so it’s outer, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
In regards to claim 8, NONG in view of KIM, teaches the annular motor according to claim 1.
NONG teaches:
wherein around a top end of the inner ring(Fig 3; 3), there is provided an inner mounting flange (Fig 3; 31)that extends horizontally inward, and multiple uniformly distributed mounting holes(Fig 3; 33) A are disposed on the inner mounting flange(Fig 3; 31).
Combination NONG/KIM does not teach:
around a bottom end of the outer ring, there is provided an outer mounting flange that extends horizontally outward, and multiple uniformly distributed mounting holes B are disposed on the outer mounting flange.
TAGUCHI teaches:
around a bottom end of the outer ring(Fig 5; 30), there is provided an outer mounting flange(Fig 5; 31) that extends horizontally outward, and multiple uniformly distributed mounting holes (Fig 5; BT7)(the hole secures the bolt)B are disposed on the outer mounting flange(Fig 5; 31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NONG by adding the outer mounting flange as a means of mounting the out ring as taught by TAGUCHI in order to fix the motor stator to the lower end of the coupling wall portion, thus strongly securing the stator [0088 TAGUCHI].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art teaches:
wherein a circular ring-shaped inner oil seal groove is provided at each of following two positions: above and below each inner rolling groove on an outer wall of the inner ring, a circular ring-shaped outer oil seal groove is provided at each of following two positions: above and below each outer rolling groove on an inner wall of the outer ring, an oil seal ring is installed in the outer oil seal groove and the inner oil seal groove connected with the outer oil seal groove.
Claim 5 is objected to, and not rejected, because the limitations brought by claim 5 are taught separately by multiple prior arts, but would not be obvious to combine. A simple combination of prior art may have motivation but would leave the invention inoperable; there for a more complex combination would be required, which would be nonobvious. Thus claim 5 contains allowable subject matter.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Citation of Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure. Prior Art:
HU (US 20230193989 A1) teaches oil seals 61/62
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS LEE SETZER/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834