Detailed action
Summary
1.This office action is in response to the application filed on June 25, 2024.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending and has been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/06/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
4. Drawings submitted on 06/25/2024 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichikura “JP20060119367” in a view of Yabuuchi “11347504”
In re to claim 1, Ichikura discloses a voltage conversion system (Figs. 1-5 structure of an electronic component, and an electronic component apparatus for power conversion of DC power to AC power, see back ground art section) including a double-sided direct current (DC)-link capacitor system (capacitors 61, 62, 63, 64 are disposed in one side and 64 and capacitors 81, 82, 83, and 84 are disposed in another side of the bus bar (equivalent to double side DC link), see page 6, lines 4-24) comprises:
the double-sided DC-link capacitor system (capacitors 61, 62, 63, and 64 and the capacitors 81, 82, 83, and 84 ) comprising:
a busbar system (the first bus bar 41, the second bus bar 42, the third bus bar 43, and the fourth bus bar 44, the connection body 4 includes insulating paper 45 and 46 as insulating members are equivalent to busbar system, see page 6, lines 4-6);
a first capacitor unit (capacitors 61 to 64 ) disposed on a first side of the busbar system and electrically coupled to the busbar system (Figs. 1 and 3-4: capacitors 61 to 64 are disposed on one side of the first and second bus bars 41 & 42 equivalent to first bus bar ); and
a second capacitor unit (capacitors 81, 82, 83, and 84 ) disposed on a second side of the busbar system and electrically coupled to the busbar system (capacitors 81 to 84 are disposed in another side of the second bus bars 44 & 46 equivalent to second bus bar) , the second side of the busbar system being opposite the first side of the busbar system (Figs.1 and 3-4 shows that the first and second bus bars 41 & 42 disposed in opposite side of second bus bars 44 & 46),
wherein a current flow through the busbar system flows to the first capacitor unit in a first current flow direction (Fig.4 : see current flowing out to the connection portion 18) and to the second capacitor unit in a second current flow direction (Fig.4 : see current flowing in to connection portion 16), the second current flow direction being opposite the first current flow direction (Fig. 4: current flow out to the connection 18 portion is opposite to current flow in to connection portion 16) but fails to discloses a voltage conversion circuit; and the double-sided DC-link capacitor system electrically coupled to the voltage conversion circuit .
Whereas Yabuuchi discloses an electric power converter (Figs. 1-21) having a voltage conversion circuit; and the double-sided DC-link capacitor system electrically coupled to the voltage conversion circuit (Figs 1,4, 5,7-8,14,16 and 18 shows double capacitors 11, 12 and 13 are coupled between bus bar and electrically coupled to power converter, see abstract , col. 4, lines 52-67 and col.5, lines 1-15.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified an electronic component apparatus to include capacitors system electrically coupled to the voltage conversion circuit as taught by Yabuuchi because a power converter changes electrical energy from one form to another such as converting AC to DC, DC to AC, or altering voltage levels to match the requirements of a device thereby to acquire a desired outcome, which improve the reliability of the power converter .
In re to claim 2, Ichikura as modified discloses (Figs. 1-5) wherein the first capacitor unit and second capacitor unit are aligned on either side of the busbar system (Figs.1 and 3-4 : capacitors 61 to 64 and capacitors 81 to 84 are aligned on either side of the busbar system bus bars 41 & 42 and 44 & 46).
In re to claim 3, Ichikura as modified discloses (Figs. 1-5) wherein the first capacitor unit has a first capacitance value, the second capacitance unit has a second capacitance value, and the first capacitance value is equal to the second capacitance value (Examiner noted that first and second capacitance value are equal or the same is based on the intended purpose of the design requirement to achieve a specific goal or desire.).
Furthermore, Yabuuchi discloses when the first X capacitor 11 and the second X capacitor 12 are formed to have equal capacitances, even at the time of variation of a voltage between the connection points 301 and 302, the flow of the common mode current Icy can be avoided or suppressed, see col. 8, lines 18-22 and col. 7, lines 39-45 .
In re to claim 4, Ichikura as modified discloses (Figs. 1-5) wherein the first capacitor unit comprises a first single capacitor and the second capacitor unit comprises a second single capacitor (first groups 6 are equivalent to single capacitor and second group 8 is equivalent to single capacitor. Examiner noted that first and second capacitance unit comprises a second single capacitor is based on the intended purpose of the design requirement to achieve a specific goal or desire.)
Furthermore, Yabuuchi discloses when the first X capacitor 11 and the second X capacitor 12 are single capacitor .
In re to claim 5, Ichikura as modified discloses (Figs. 1-5) wherein the voltage conversion circuit is one of an alternating current (AC) to DC conversion circuit, a DC to AC conversion circuit, an AC to AC conversion circuit and a DC to DC conversion circuit ( power conversion of DC power to AC power, see background art section) .
Furthermore, Yabuuchi discloses an electric power converter DC to AC
In re to claim 6, Ichikura as modified discloses (Figs. 1-5) wherein: the first capacitor unit comprises a first set of capacitors (capacitors 61 to 64) disposed on the first side of the busbar system (bus bar 41&42) ; the second capacitor unit comprises a second set of capacitors (capacitors 81 to 84) disposed on the second side of the busbar system (bus bar 44&46) ; and a first number of capacitors in the first set of capacitors is the same as a second number of capacitors in the second set of capacitors (first capacitors are 61 to 64 are same number of the second capacitors 81 to 84).).
In re to claim 7, Ichikura as modified discloses (Figs. 1-5) wherein the first set of capacitors are arranged in a first row (Figs. 1 and 3-4: capacitors 61 to 64 ) on the first side of the busbar system (bus bars 41&42) and the second set of capacitors (capacitors 81 to 84) are arranged in a second row on the second side of the busbar system (bus bars 44 &46).
In re to claim 8, Ichikura as modified discloses (Figs. 1-5), wherein the first set of capacitors (capacitors 61 to 64 ) are arranged in a first plurality of adjacent rows on the first side of the busbar system (bus bars 41&42) and the second set of capacitors (capacitors 81 to 84) are arranged in a second plurality of adjacent rows on the second side of the busbar system (bus bars 44 &46). .
In re to claim 9, Ichikura as modified discloses (Figs. 1-5),wherein the first set of capacitors are arranged in a configuration with respect to the voltage conversion circuit on the first side of the busbar system (see Figs. 1 and 3-4).
Furthermore, Yabuuchi discloses an electric power converter (Figs. 1-21) having a one side of double capacitors 11 is arranged in respect to voltage conversion circuit.
In re to claim 10 , Ichikura as modified discloses (Figs. 1-5),wherein the first set of capacitors ( capacitors 61 to 64) includes at least one capacitor having a third capacitance value (the capacitance value of 63) and at least one capacitor having a fourth capacitance value (the capacitance value of 64) and the second set of capacitors (capacitors 81 to 840 include at least one capacitor having the third capacitance value (the capacitance value of 83) and at least one capacitor having the fourth capacitance value (the capacitance value of 84).
In re to claim 12 , Ichikura discloses a vehicle (that is, the first embodiment is applicable to various types of electric power converter 1, see prag. 0044. It is understood that a vehicle is comprises an electronic component apparatus) including a voltage conversion system (Figs. 1-5 structure of an electronic component, and an electronic component apparatus for power conversion of DC power to AC power, see back ground art section) including a double-sided direct current (DC)-link capacitor system (capacitors 61 to 64 and the capacitors 81 to 84 are configured in a one and another side bus bar, see page 6, lines 4-24) comprises:
the double-sided DC-link capacitor system (capacitors 61 to 64 and the capacitors 81 to 84 ) comprising:
a busbar system (the first bus bar 41, the second bus bar 42, the third bus bar 43, and the fourth bus bar 44, the connection body 4 includes insulating paper 45 and 46 as insulating members, see page 6, lines 4-6);
a first capacitor unit (capacitors 61 to 64) disposed on a first side of the busbar system and electrically coupled to the busbar system (Figs. 1 and 3-4: capacitors 61 to 64 are disposed in one side the first and second bus bars 41 & 42 equivalent to first bus bar ); and
a second capacitor unit (capacitors 81 to 84 ) disposed on a second side of the busbar system and electrically coupled to the busbar system (capacitors 81 to 84 are disposed on the another side of the second bus bars 44 & 46 equivalent to second bus bar) , the second side of the busbar system being opposite the first side of the busbar system (Figs.1 and 3-4 shows that the first and second bus bars 41 & 42 disposed in opposite side of second bus bars 44 & 46),
wherein a current flow through the busbar system flows to the first capacitor unit in a first current flow direction (Fig.4 : see current flowing out to the connection portion 18) and to the second capacitor unit in a second current flow direction (Fig.4 : see current flowing in to connection portion 16), the second current flow direction being opposite the first current flow direction (Fig. 4: current flow out to connection 18 portion is opposite to current flow in to connection portion 16) but fails to discloses a voltage conversion circuit; and the double-sided DC-link capacitor system electrically coupled to the voltage conversion circuit .
Whereas Yabuuchi discloses an electric power converter (Figs. 1-21) having a voltage conversion circuit; and the double-sided DC-link capacitor system electrically coupled to the voltage conversion circuit (Figs 1,4, 5,7-8,14,16 and 18 shows double capacitors 11, 12 and 13 are coupled between bus bar and electrically coupled to power converter, see abstract , col. 4, lines 52-67 and col.5, lines 1-15.)
Furthermore, Ybuuchi discloses (the first embodiment is applicable to various types of electric power converter 1 may implies to vehicle.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified an electronic component apparatus to include capacitors system electrically coupled to the voltage conversion circuit as taught by Yabuuchi because a power converter changes electrical energy from one form to another such as converting AC to DC, DC to AC, or altering voltage levels to match the requirements of a device thereby to acquire a desired outcome, which improve the reliability of the power converter .
In re to claim 13, Ichikura as modified discloses (Figs. 1-5) wherein the first capacitor unit and second capacitor unit are aligned on either side of the busbar system (Figs.1 and 3-4 : capacitors 61 to 64 and capacitors 81 to 84 are aligned on either side of the busbar system bus bars 41 & 42 and 44 & 46).
In re to claim 14, Ichikura as modified discloses (Figs. 1-5) wherein the first capacitor unit has a first capacitance value, the second capacitance unit has a second capacitance value, and the first capacitance value is equal to the second capacitance value (Examiner noted that first and second capacitance value are equal or the same is based on the intended purpose of the design requirement to achieve a specific goal or desire.)
Furthermore, Yabuuchi discloses when the first X capacitor 11 and the second X capacitor 12 are formed to have equal capacitances, even at the time of variation of a voltage between the connection points 301 and 302, the flow of the common mode current Icy can be avoided or suppressed, see col. 8, lines 18-22 and col. 7, lines 39-45 .
In re to claim 15, Ichikura as modified discloses (Figs. 1-5) wherein the first capacitor unit comprises a first single capacitor and the second capacitor unit comprises a second single capacitor (first groups 6 are equivalent to single capacitor and second group 8 is equivalent to single capacitor. Examiner noted that first and second capacitance comprises a single capacitor is based on the intended purpose of the design requirement to achieve a specific goal or desire).
Furthermore, Yabuuchi discloses when the first X capacitor 11 and the second X capacitor 12 are single capacitor .
In re to claim 16, Ichikura as modified discloses (Figs. 1-5) wherein the voltage conversion circuit is one of an alternating current (AC) to DC conversion circuit, a DC to AC conversion circuit, an AC to AC conversion circuit and a DC to DC conversion circuit ( power conversion of DC power to AC power, see background art section) .
Furthermore, Yabuuchi discloses an electric power converter DC to AC
In re to claim 17, Ichikura as modified discloses (Figs. 1-5) wherein: the first capacitor unit comprises a first set of capacitors (capacitors 61 to 64) disposed on the first side of the busbar system (bus bar 41&42) ; the second capacitor unit comprises a second set of capacitors (capacitors 81 to 84) disposed on the second side of the busbar system (bus bar 44&46) ; and a first number of capacitors in the first set of capacitors is the same as a second number of capacitors in the second set of capacitors (first capacitors are 61 to 64 are same number of the second capacitors 81 to 84).
In re to claim 18, Ichikura as modified discloses (Figs. 1-5) wherein the first set of capacitors are arranged in a first row (Figs. 1 and 3-4: capacitors 61 to 64 ) on the first side of the busbar system (bus bars 41&42) and the second set of capacitors (capacitors 81 to 84) are arranged in a second row on the second side of the busbar system (bus bars 44 &46).
In re to claim 20 , Ichikura discloses a double-sided direct current (DC)-link capacitor system (capacitors 61, 62, 63, and 64 and the capacitors 81, 82, 83, and 84 are configured in a double side bus bar, see page 6, lines 4-24) comprises:
the double-sided DC-link capacitor system (capacitors 61, 62, 63, and 64 and the capacitors 81, 82, 83, and 84 ) comprising:
a busbar system (the first bus bar 41, the second bus bar 42, the third bus bar 43, and the fourth bus bar 44, the connection body 4 includes insulating paper 45 and 46 as insulating members, see page 6, lines 4-6);
a first capacitor unit (capacitors 61, 62, 63, and 64 ) disposed on a first side of the busbar system and electrically coupled to the busbar system (Figs. 1 and 3-4: capacitors 61 to 64 are disposed on the first and second bus bars 41 & 42 equivalent to first bus bar ); and
a second capacitor unit (capacitors 81, 82, 83, and 84 ) disposed on a second side of the busbar system and electrically coupled to the busbar system (capacitors 81 to 84 are disposed on the second bus bars 44 & 46 equivalent to second bus bar ) , the second side of the busbar system being opposite the first side of the busbar system (Figs.1 and 3-4 shows that the first and second bus bars 41 & 42 disposed in opposite side of second bus bars 44 & 46),
wherein a current flow through the busbar system flows to the first capacitor unit in a first current flow direction (Fig.4 : see current flowing out to the connection portion 18) and to the second capacitor unit in a second current flow direction (Fig.4 : see current flowing in to connection portion 16), the second current flow direction being opposite the first current flow direction (Fig. 4: current flow out to connection 18 portion is opposite to current flow in to connection portion 16) but fails to discloses DC-link capacitor system.
Whereas Yabuuchi discloses an electric power converter (Figs. 1-21) having double-sided DC-link capacitor system electrically (Figs 1,4, 5,7-8,14,16 and 18 shows double capacitors 11,12 and 13 are coupled between the DC link bus bar 301 and 302 which electrically coupled to power converter, see abstract , col. 4, lines 52-67 and col.5, lines 1-15.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified an electronic component apparatus to include a capacitors system electrically coupled to DC link the voltage conversion circuit as taught by Yabuuchi because a DC link bus bar of used in power converter to interconnect each other, thus a power converter changes electrical energy from one form to another such as converting AC to DC, DC to AC, or altering voltage levels to match the requirements of a device thereby to acquire a desired outcome, which improve the reliability of the power converter .
6. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichikura “JP20060119367” in a view of Yabuuchi “11347504” further in a view of Okayama “JP2004056984”
In re to claim 11 , Ichikura as modified discloses (Figs. 1-5),further comprising: a housing (an electronic component described above is provided in a housing, see page 5, lines 4-6 and page 12, lines 25-26 and Fig:5 shows case 71), wherein the voltage conversion circuit and a capacitor system are disposed within the housing (see page 5, lines 4-6 and page 12, lines 25-26) and to electrically insulate the voltage conversion circuit from the capacitor system ( insulating paper 45 and 46 as insulating members see all over the document) but fails to discloses a composite resin disposed within the housing to mechanically position the capacitor system with respect to the voltage conversion circuit within the housing .
Whereas Okayama discloses (at least the conductors 16a and 16b and the plurality of capacitor elements 9, preferably the insulators 19a and 19b are integrally formed in advance by molding with resin or the like, so that the filter capacitor 2 has one conductor built-in. By configuring as a filter capacitor of the type, it is possible to further facilitate the assembly and shorten the assembly time, see parag. 0026, lines 17-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified an electronic component apparatus to include resin as taught by Okayama because resin, provides critical protection in circuit design by offering superior insulation, structural durability, and environmental resistance and acts as guard against moisture, chemicals, vibrations, and thermal shocks, while also enhancing dielectric strength to prevent short circuits, making electronics reliable in harsh environments
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 19 is objected because the prior art in the record fails to discloses or suggest that a fly back converter including the limitation of “wherein the first set of capacitors are arranged in a c-configuration with respect to the voltage conversion circuit on the first side of the busbar system and the second set of capacitors are arranged in the c-configuration with respect to the voltage conversion circuit on the second side of the busbar system.”
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shin “20180152098 “the present invention relates a power conversion device for converting a battery's DC power into AC power or converting the voltage of DC power.
Zhan “20240297576” the present invention relates the field of power supply technologies, and to a power conversion device.
Hartwig “20240113637” the present invention relates a commutation cell, a flying capacitor module with the commutation cell and a multilevel converter with the flying capacitor module.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SISAY G TIKU whose telephone number is (571)272-6898. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30AM-6:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Crystal L Hammond can be reached at (571) 270-1682. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SISAY G TIKU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838