DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/10/2026.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the computing system reciting as performing receiving, generating, applying, and accumulation steps in claim 1. The generic placeholder is “system”, the functional language is the receiving, generating, applying, and accumulation steps, and the term “computing”, which precedes the generic placeholder “system”, does not connote sufficient structure to perform the claimed functions, which include receiving and processing a signal itself.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Corresponding structure is found at 101, Fig. 14 and in para. [0018] “a computing device (e.g., cell phone, smart phone, tablet computer, notebook/laptop computer, gaming device, vehicle-based computer, smart watch, etc.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
“The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including non-preferred embodiments. Merck & Co.v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert, denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005) See MPEP 2123.
Claim 1-6, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lennen (US 20200348421 A1, cited on IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Lennen (US 20200348421 A1, cited on IDS) teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a computing system (Fig. 1), a multipath signal (para. [0075] “non-line of sight (NLOS) signals received by a GNSS receiver”) comprising a code (para. [0041] “GPS L1 C/A code”; 140, Fig. 1), the code being a Pseudo-Random-Noise (PRN) code of a system in which the code is used to determine a time of arrival of a signal of interest within the multipath signal (inherent to GPS/GNSS);
generating a correlated received signal by performing, by the computing system, filtering and correlating of the received multipath signal with a local replica of the code (“Matched filter/correlators” 150, Fig. 1; correlated signal is stored at 710, Fig. 7);
generating, by the computing system, a plurality of short-term accumulation segments based on the correlated received signal (730, Fig. 7; para. [0083] “Summer 730 receives 100×1 msec I/Q pairs to provide coherent integration over 100 msecs”);
applying, by the computing system, a plurality of Doppler hypotheses to each of the short-term accumulation segments to generate sets of phase-corrected short-term accumulated blocks (610, Fig. 6 “search space of... carrier frequency (example... 5 carrier”, where each carrier frequency is a Doppler hypothesis and is applied to the short-term accumulation segments 730 via 720, 725, Fig. 7); and
accumulating, by the computing system, the phase-corrected short-term accumulated blocks to generate long-term accumulated blocks for each Doppler hypothesis (750, Fig. 7; para. [0083] “Summer 750 receives and coherently integrates 10 of these modified coherent I*.sub.100msec and Q*.sub.100msec values to generate the long coherent integration values I.sub.1sec and Q.sub.1sec”).
Regarding claim 2, Lennen teaches wherein the filtering performs a code based Time of Arrival Matched Filter (TOA-MF) (130-150, Fig. 1 meets at least “code based TOA-MF”) or near-causal filtering.
Regarding claim 3, Lennen teaches performing time of arrival estimation for the signal of interest using the long-term accumulated blocks (inherent to GNSS receiver functions 160, Fig. 1 and “range measurement” 650, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Lennen teaches determining a position of the computing system using the time of arrival estimation (para. [0003] “Satellite navigational systems provide positional ... information to earth-bound receivers”; para. [0088] “select an earliest arriving energy hypothesis, which is then used at 890 to generate range/rate measurements”).
Regarding claim 5, Lennen’s applying of the plurality of Doppler hypotheses inherently isolates the signal of interest within the multipath signal.
Regarding claim 6, Lennen teaches determining the signal of interest as an earliest signal from among the multipath signal or a strongest signal among multiple earliest signals from among the multipath signal (para. [0088] “select an earliest arriving energy hypothesis, which is then used at 890 to generate range/rate measurements”).
Regarding claim 8, Lennen’s five carrier frequencies (610, Fig. 6) comprise Doppler hypotheses that inherently form a “carrier phase ramp”.
Regarding claim 11, the filtering at Lennen 150, Fig. 1 appears to be necessarily applied onto blocks of the PRN code.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Simic (US 7764726 B2) teaches receiving a multipath signal comprising a PRN code (S20, Fig. 3), generating a correlated received signal (10, 110, Fig. 3), generating a plurality of short-term accumulation segments (20, Fig. 3), and generating long-term accumulated blocks (40, Fig. 3).
/CASSI J GALT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648