DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's response, filed 05/14/2026, has been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. Herein, "the prior Office action" refers to the Final rejection of 02/05/2026.
Claim Examination Status
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and under exam herein.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
The instant application has been afforded Track I status.
Priority
The previously discussed priority assigned an effective filing date of 06/25/2024, the date of filing.
Withdrawn Rejections/Objections
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn in view of the 05/14/2026 amendments and Applicant’s remarks.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is hereby withdrawn on claims 1-20 as being indefinite.
Upon further consideration, newly applied rejections/portions are necessitated by the instant amendments are discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The instant rejection reflects the framework as outlined in the MPEP at 2106.04:
Framework with which to Evaluate Subject Matter Eligibility:
(1) Are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter;
(2A) Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e. a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea;
Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application (Prong Two); and
(2B) If the claims do not integrate the judicial exception, do the claims provide an inventive concept.
Framework Analysis as Pertains to the Instant Claims:
With respect to step (1): yes, the claims are directed to methods, a system, and a computer-readable storage media of trained embedding neural networks to generate structure-phenomic relationship predictions for cell perturbations, therefore the answer is "yes".
With respect to step (2A)(1), the claims recite abstract ideas. To determine if the claims recite any concepts that equate to an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon, MPEP at 2106.03 teaches abstract ideas include mathematical concepts (mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical relationships, and mathematical calculations), certain methods of organizing human activity, and mental processes (including procedures for collecting, observing, evaluating, and organizing information (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). In the instant application, the claims recite the following limitations that equate to abstract idea with mental steps and mathematical concepts.
With respect to the instant claims, under the step (2A)(1) evaluation, the claims are found herein to recite abstract ideas that fall into the grouping of mental processes (in particular procedures for obtaining, analyzing, and organizing cell bioactivity data), which are steps which can be done with the human mind, pen, and paper, as well as mathematical concepts (in particular mathematical relationships and formulas in a structure-phenomics relationship trained embedding neural network, threshold from a distribution of difference metrics, measure of loss, for phenomic similarity prediction).
The claims directing to abstract ideas are as follows:
Mental processes:
Claims 1, 10, and 16 recite generating a compound structure feature representation for a query chemical compound…generating, utilizing the structure-phenomics relationship neural network, a predicted phenomic feature space similarity between the training chemical compound and the training perturbation from a training compound structure feature representation of the training chemical compound;... and selecting the query chemical compound for performing an assay based on the phenomic similarity prediction.
Claims 3 and 11 recite generating a similarity classification/prediction from a set of classifications comprising: a pheno-similar classification, a pheno-dissimilar classification, and a pheno-independent classification.
Mathematical concepts:
Claims 1, 7-8, 10-14, and 16-19 recite generating an embedding/a trained structure-phenomics relationship neural network
Claims 1, 10, and 16 recite training a structure-phenomics relationship neural network to generate phenomic similarity predictions by:…generating, utilizing an/the embedding neural network, a first/second phenomic embedding from [[a]] the first phenomic image of [[a]] the first cell exposed to [[a]] the training chemical compound/perturbation;… comparing, within a latent feature space of the similarity as a measured ground truth similarity for training the structure-phenomics relationship neural network; comparing the phenomic image feature space similarity and the predicted phenomic feature space similarity to generate a phenomic feature space similarity measure of loss; and generating a trained structure-phenomics relationship neural network by modifying parameters of the structure-phenomics relationship neural network to reduce the phenomic feature space similarity measure of loss on a subsequent training iteration; generating a compound structure feature representation for a query chemical compound; [[and]] generating, utilizing the trained structure-phenomics relationship neural network, a phenomic similarity prediction for the compound structure feature representation and a target perturbation;
Claims 4, and 14 recite wherein training the structure-phenomics relationship neural network comprises, for each training iteration of a plurality of training iterations: generating a corresponding phenomic feature space similarity measure of loss for a corresponding pair of training chemical compound and training perturbation; and modifying the parameters of the structure-phenomics relationship neural network to reduce corresponding phenomic feature space similarity measures of loss across the plurality of training iterations
Claims 5, 13, and 18 recite wherein generating the phenomic image feature space similarity as the measured ground truth similarity comprises: generating, within the latent feature space of the embedding neural network, a difference metric between the first phenomic embedding and the second phenomic embedding; and applying a pheno-similarity threshold to the difference metric to generate a pheno- similarity classification between the training chemical compound and the training perturbation.
Claims 6, 13, and 18 recite determining the pheno-similarity threshold from a distribution of difference metrics between the training perturbation and a plurality of additional perturbations, wherein the pheno- similarity threshold is specific to the training perturbation.
Claim 7 recites generating, utilizing the structure-phenomics relationship trained embedding neural network, an additional predicted phenomic similarity from the training compound structure feature representation and an additional training perturbation.
Claims 8, 12, and 17 recite modifying parameters of a first task head of the structure-phenomics relationship neural network based on the predicted phenomic feature space similarity corresponding to the training perturbation; and modifying parameters of a second task head of the structure-phenomics relationship neural network based on the additional predicted phenomic feature space similarity corresponding to the additional training perturbation.
Claims 13 and 18 recite generating a difference metric between the first/second phenomic embedding; and applying a pheno-similarity threshold to the difference metric to generate a pheno-similarity classification between the training compound and the training perturbation, wherein the pheno-similarity threshold is determined from a distribution of difference metrics between the training perturbation and a plurality of additional perturbations.
Claims 14 and 19 recite generating…a predicted phenomic similarity from the training compound structure feature representation and the training perturbation; comparing the predicted phenomic similarity with the phenomic image similarity to determine a measure of loss; and modifying parameters of the structure-phenomics relationship neural network to reduce a difference between the predicted phenomic similarity and the phenomic image similarity on a subsequent training iteration based on the measure of loss..
Hence, the claims explicitly recite elements that, individually and in combination, constitute abstract ideas.
With respect to step (2A), under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the instant claims recite a trained embedding neural network to generate structure-phenomic relationship predictions from cell perturbations. Instant claims are therefore directed to the judicial exceptions of abstract groupings, both mathematical (structure-phenomics relationship trained embedding neural network, threshold from a distribution of difference metrics, measure of loss), and mental processes (generating a compound structure feature representation for a query chemical compound…generating, utilizing a structure-phenomics relationship…recite generating a similarity classification/prediction) which can be performed in the human mind with pen and paper.
Because the claims do recite judicial exceptions, direction under step (2A)(2) provides that the claims must be examined further to determine whether they integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d). A claim can be said to integrate a judicial exception into a practical application when it applies, relies on, or uses the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. This is performed by analyzing the additional elements of the claim to determine if the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d).I.; MPEP 2106.05(a-h)). If the claim contains no additional elements beyond the judicial exception, the claim is said to fail to integrate into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d).III).
With respect to the instant recitations, the claims recite the following additional elements considered for practical application:
Claims 1, 10, and 16 recite capturing, utilizing one or more imaging devices, a first/second phenomic image of a first/second cell exposed to a training chemical compound/perturbation;
Claims 2 and 11 recite wherein the target perturbation comprises a target gene knockout perturbation or a target chemical compound perturbation.
Claims 1, 10, and 16 recite computer-implemented, processor, system, non-transitory computer readable medium
Claims 9, 15, and 20 recite receiving the query chemical compound and the target perturbation via a user interface of a client device; and providing the phenomic similarity prediction for display via the user interface of the client device.
Said steps that are “in addition” to the recited judicial exception in the instant claims represent those of mere instructions or field of use limitations (target gene knockout/compound perturbations, in claims 2 and 11; utilizing a trained embedding neural network) to implement in the recited judicial exception and do not impart meaning to said recited judicial exception, such that is applied in a practical manner. Further with respect to the additional elements in the instant claims, these steps direct to mere data gathering and handling (receiving the query chemical compound/ target perturbation providing the phenomic similarity prediction/for display via a user interface of a client device in claims 9, 15, and 20) to carry out the abstract idea without imposing any meaningful limitation on the abstract idea. Thereby these steps are insignificant extra-solutions activity steps and are insufficient to integrate an abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g).
Further steps herein directed to additional non-abstract elements of computer components/device networks (FIGs 6 and 8 and claims 10 and 16: computer processor, system, non-transitory computer readable medium) do not describe any specific computational steps by which the “computer parts” perform or carry out the abstract idea, nor do they provide any details of how specific structures of the computer, such as computer, processor, or system as recited in the specification [FIGs 6 and 8], are used to implement these functions.
The claims state nothing more than a generic computer system used as a tool to perform the functions that constitute the abstract idea. Hence, these are mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using a computer system, and therefore the claim does not integrate that abstract idea into a practical application. The courts have weighed in and consistently maintained that when, for example, a memory, display, processor, machine, etc.… are recited so generically that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer, and these limitations may be viewed as nothing more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
As such, the claims are lastly evaluated using the step (2B) analysis, wherein it is determined that because the claims recite abstract ideas which do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application, the claims also lack a specific inventive concept. The judicial exception alone cannot provide the inventive concept or the practical application and that the identification of whether the additional elements amount to such an inventive concept requires considering the additional elements individually and in combination to determine if they provide significantly more than the judicial exception. (MPEP 2106.05.A i-vi).
With respect to the instant claims, the additional elements of data gathering, instructions, and field of use limitations described above do not rise to the level of significantly more than the judicial exception. As directed in the Berkheimer memorandum of 19 April 2018 and set forth in the MPEP, determinations of whether or not additional elements (or a combination of additional elements) may provide significantly more and/or an inventive concept rests in whether or not the additional elements (or combination of elements) represents well-understood, routine, conventional activity. Said assessment is made by a factual determination stemming from a conclusion that an element (or combination of elements) is widely prevalent or in common use in the relevant industry, which is determined by either a citation to an express statement in the specification or to a statement made by an applicant during prosecution that demonstrates a well-understood, routine or conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to one or more of the court decisions as discussed in MPEP 2106(d)(II) as noting the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to a publication that demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); and/or a statement that the examiner is taking official notice with respect to the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s).
With respect to the instant recitations, the claims recite the following additional elements considered for inventive concepts:
Claims 1, 10, and 16 recite capturing, utilizing one or more imaging devices, a first/second phenomic image of a first/second cell exposed to a training chemical compound/perturbation;
Claims 2 and 11 recite wherein the target perturbation comprises a target gene knockout perturbation or a target chemical compound perturbation.
Claims 1, 10, and 16 recite computer-implemented, processor, system, non-transitory computer readable medium
Claims 9, 15, and 20 recite receiving the query chemical compound and the target perturbation via a user interface of a client device; and providing the phenomic similarity prediction for display via the user interface of the client device.
These additional elements do not contribute significantly more to well-known and conventional systems of chemical search with phenotypic factors related to cell perturbations, which are routinely evaluated by those with ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, as disclosed in the instant specification at [0020] disclosing Mendez-Lucio et al (2022, IDS document; herein Mendez-Lucio) and illustrating that said system of transformer-based models are used for modeling in drug discovery in general (abstract-Mendez-Lucio). Mendez-Lucio discloses a molecular foundation model/MolE (trained embedding neural network) for drug property prediction based on chemical structures (compound structure feature representation for query chemical compound). The MoIE adapts a NN transformed architecture with molecular graph inputs, including SMILES and Extended Connectivity Fingerprints/ECFPs (molecular fingerprints encoding substructures of molecules as preset chemical groups or as atom environments). This self-supervised model pretrains on learning chemical structures (compound structure feature representation) and uses a massive multi-task approach to learn biological information (phenomic images…exposed to [] perturbation…machine learning embedding), to achieve state-of-the-art results for absorption-distribution-metabolism-excretion-toxicity/ADMET properties (phenome) from the Therapeutic Data Commons [Mendez-Lucio at Abstract].
In some embodiments, the physiological condition of interest is a phenotype. For instance, in some embodiments, the physiological condition of interest is a physiological manifestation of a compound, a small molecule, and/or a therapeutic, such as toxicity and/or resolution of a disease… the physiological condition is a phenotype measured using experimental data including, but not limited to, flow cytometry readouts, imaging and microscopy annotations (e.g., H&E slides, IHC slides, radiology images, and/or other medical imaging), and/or cellular constituent data…the physiological condition of interest is a measure of toxicity [0237-0238].
Data (e.g. phenomic images of cells exposed to a training compound/perturbation in claims 4, 12, and 17) remain merely measured and manipulated in abstract ideas (generating a phenomic image similarity by comparing the first machine learning embedding and the second machine learning embedding… generating a difference metric… determining the pheno-similarity threshold from a distribution of difference metrics) to be used in the judicial exception. Generic recitations of well-understood and conventional steps for utilizing any task appropriate computer-implemented module, processors, CRM, are recited in the specification without any particularity or specificity [FIGs 6 and 8] as recited in the specification below:
Although FIG. 6 illustrates the sphere system 102 being implemented by a particular component and/or device within the environment, the sphere system 102 can be implemented in whole or in part by other computing devices and/or components in the environment (e.g., additional client device(s)) [0065]… present disclosure may comprise or utilize a special purpose or general purpose computer including computer hardware, such as, for example, one or more processors and system memory, as discussed in greater detail below [0088]…those skilled in the art will appreciate that the disclosure may be practiced in network computing environments with many types of computer system configurations, including, personal computers, desktop computers, laptop computers, message processors, hand-held devices, multi-processor systems, microprocessor-based or programmable consumer electronics, network PCs, minicomputers, mainframe computers, mobile telephones, PDAs, tablets, pagers, routers, switches, and the like [0094].
The MPEP 2106.05(a) provides evidence to the routine nature of applying the judicial exception with computers or devices to perform or automate an existing process, and constitute insignificant extra-solution activity, as recited: “Mere automation of manual processes, such as using a generic computer to process an application for financing a purchase, Credit Acceptance Corp. v. Westlake Services, 859 F.3d 1044, 1055, 123 USPQ2d 1100, 1108-09 (Fed. Cir. 2017) or speeding up a loan-application process by enabling borrowers to avoid physically going to or calling each lender and filling out a loan application, LendingTree, LLC v. Zillow, Inc., 656 Fed. App'x 991, 996-97 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (non-precedential).”
With respect to the instant claims, the steps (generating and relating compound structure representations and property data with bioactive states for structure-phenomic similarity analysis in order to identify other genes/compounds with similar cell bioactivity) and additional elements (processors, systems, target perturbations) involving mathematical algorithm application and automated mental steps do not comprise an inventive concept when considered individually or as an ordered combination that transforms the claimed judicial exception into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception. Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B: No). As such, claims 1-20 are not patent eligible.
Response to Remarks – 101
Applicant's remarks (p.15-18), filed 05/14/2026, have been fully considered and are not persuasive for the previously stated rejection of record, with additions necessitated by claim amendments.
Cannot be performed in the human mind or with pen and paper: The claims also are not directed to mental processes. Capturing phenomic images using imaging devices, generating phenomic embeddings using an embedding neural network, comparing embeddings within a latent feature space of the embedding neural network, modifying parameters of a structure-phenomics relationship neural network to reduce a loss, and using the trained structure-phenomics relationship neural network to generate phenomic similarity predictions are not operations that can practically be performed in the human mind or with pen and paper.
However, it is respectfully submitted that Applicant’s assertion is not persuasive. Generating, embedding, training, classifying, comparing features from images of cells and compound graphical representations are possible within the human mind, regardless of the amount of data involved. Capturing phenomic images using imaging devices are not practically performed by the human mind and is considered as an additional element. Said limitation serves as a field of use limitation and does not transform the imaging devices or the NN, only providing image output for input data into the NN. Tangible, wet lab, or physical steps, such as capturing images with imaging devices, also do not provide practical integration (see MPEP 2106.05(a)). In Ex Parte Wu (nonprecedential), the practical integration of abstract ideas/mathematical concepts related to protein design ultimately to synthesize new proteins is not analogous to the instant independent claims which generically embed and train a ML model/NN to produce a prediction and compound selection without actually performing analogous synthesis, an assay, or any change in the functioning of the NN step.
Technical improvement: a specific technical pipeline for training and using a structure-phenomics relationship neural network… (In Desjardins) improved way of training a machine-learning model-namely, training a structure-phenomics relationship neural network using phenomic-image-derived embeddings and measured ground truth similarities generated in the latent feature space of an embedding neural network. This recited training process reflects the technical improvement described in the specification: using phenomic-image-derived relationships to train a structure-based prediction model that can generate phenomic similarity predictions for query chemical compounds without requiring the same exhaustive phenomic testing for each query compound… (Ex Parte Wu) the claims recited a mathematical concept, but held that the claims integrated that concept into a practical application…reflected a specific improvement to the technical field of protein design, simulation, and synthesis……further applies the resulting prediction by selecting the query chemical compound for performing an assay based on the phenomic similarity prediction.
Despite Applicant’s assertion of alleged technical improvement, it is unclear that instant independent claims recite the minimally sufficient and essential steps required to achieve that improvement. MPEP 2106.05(a): “An important consideration in determining whether a claim improves technology is the extent to which the claim covers a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome, as opposed to merely claiming the idea of a solution or outcome. McRO, 837 F.3d at 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d at 1102- 03; DDR Holdings, 773F.3d at 1259, 113 USPQ2d at 1107.”
Independent claims 1, 10, and 16 are broad and claim only the generic ML field of use limitations of a NN model: data input (phenomic images from imaging devices and chemical compound structures), a machine learning environment (neural network) which mathematically optimizes the ML model (latent space, measured ground truth similarity, similarity measure of loss, threshold from a distribution of difference metrics) to achieve desired output (query chemical compound, target perturbation, and phenomic similarity prediction). The distinguishing details of the multi-task learning tuning and specialized task heads which would grant particularity to the NN and the product are not present in the independent claims.
Further, the instant independent claims do not recite the specificity of deep learning neural network architecture with structure including tasks, task heads, and weightings which are analogous to Desjardins. In Ex Parte Desjardins, the claims are drawn to the use of a machine learning model, trained on one task with a first set of data, and set parameter weights, then trained again using differing data on a different task, specifically adjusting parameters and weights, while protecting performance of the first task.
"This training strategy allows the model to preserve performance on earlier tasks even as it learns new ones, directly addressing the technical problem of 'catastrophic forgetting' in continual learning systems." In Ex parted Desjardins, p 7.
The independent claim in Ex parted Desjardins contained specific limitations as to how at least some aspects of the asserted improvements are achieved:
"When evaluating the claim as a whole, we discern at least the following limitation of independent claim 1 that reflects the improvement: "adjust the first values of the plurality of parameters to optimize performance of the machine learning model on the second machine learning task while protecting performance of the machine learning model on the first machine learning task." We are persuaded that constitutes an improvement to how the machine learning model itself operates, and not, for example, the identified mathematical calculation." In Ex parte Desjardins, p9.
Therefore, in Desjardins, the retraining of the particular ML changed the structure of that ML in a way that provided "'[a]n improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field,' as discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(l) and 2106.05(a)". In contrast, the instant claims do not clearly set forth the link between the phenomic/compound structure data gathered, the initial training of the NN, the structure of the NN, and how training or retraining affects the NN structure to obtain the desired results or asserted improvement. Specific features which provide particularity and transform the technology, e.g. a generic AI into a specific AI architecture, include specifics of internal AI architecture (mathematical loss functions/weightings: similarity measure of loss, tasks, task heads in claims 8, 12, 17), specifics of training data input (e.g. SMILES strings for structural input for chemical compounds), embedding features (claims 2 and 11), or functions for converting similarity scores into classifications using pheno-similarity thresholds and distribution metrics (claims 5 and 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Note on formatting: citations from the instant application are italicized in the following section.
A. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wolf et al. US20220403335A1 (IDS cited; herein Wolf).
Independent claim 1 recite method steps implemented with a system of independent claim 10, and a CRM of independent claim 20.
Regarding instant claims 1, 10, and 16, instant application recites:
A computer-implemented method/ system/non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a computing device to: comprising:
training a structure-phenomics relationship neural network to generate phenomic similarity predictions by: capturing, utilizing one or more imaging devices, a first phenomic image of a first cell exposed to a training chemical compound; generating, utilizing an embedding neural network, a first phenomic embedding from [[a]] the first phenomic image of [[a]] the first cell exposed to [[a]] the training chemical compound; capturing, utilizing the one or more imaging devices, a second phenomic image of a second cell exposed to a training perturbation; generating, utilizing the the second phenomic image of [[a]] the second cell exposed to [[a]]the training perturbation; comparing, within a latent feature space of the similarity as a measured ground truth similarity for training the structure-phenomics relationship neural network; generating, utilizing the structure-phenomics relationship neural network, a predicted phenomic feature space similarity between the training chemical compound and the training perturbation from a training compound structure feature representation of the training chemical compound; comparing the phenomic image feature space similarity and the predicted phenomic feature space similarity to generate a phenomic feature space similarity measure of loss; and generating a trained structure-phenomics relationship neural network by modifying parameters of the structure-phenomics relationship neural network to reduce the phenomic feature space similarity measure of loss on a subsequent training iteration; generating a compound structure feature representation for a query chemical compound; [[and]] generating, utilizing the trained structure-phenomics relationship neural network, a phenomic similarity prediction for the compound structure feature representation and a target perturbation; and selecting the query chemical compound for performing an assay based on the phenomic similarity prediction.
The prior art to Wolf teaches computer systems and methods for modeling a chemical compound structure fingerprint with physiological conditions (phenomic, cellular bioactivity) [Abstract, claims 1 and 29] (utilizing a structure-phenomics relationship trained embedding neural network). Wolf discloses a method/system/non-transitory computer-readable medium/NTCRM for associating a test compound fingerprint input with a physiological condition of interest as an activation score (phenomic similarity prediction), wherein the physiological condition has different states (phenomes) associated with exposure of cells (exposed to cell perturbations) to reference compounds known to affect the physiological condition.
The prior art to Wolf teaches:
a method [Wolf in claim 1], system [Wolf at claim 29], and NTCRM [Wolf at claim 30]. The system 100 in some embodiments includes one or more processing units (CPU(s)) 102 (e.g., a processor, a processing core, etc.), one or more network interfaces 104, a user interface 106 including (optionally) a display 108 and an input system 105 (e.g., an input/output interface, a keyboard, a mouse, etc.) for use by the user, memory (e.g., non-persistent memory 107, persistent memory 109), and one or more communication buses 103 for interconnecting the aforementioned components [0212-0214, FIG 1]…provides a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing one or more computer programs, executable by a computer, for associating a test chemical compound with a physiological condition of interest [Wolf at claim 30 and 0448].
training of the model 601, in this example, the SMILES representations of compounds represented in activation data structure 504 of FIG. 6 are transformed into an ECFP4 fingerprint representation (Wolf at claim 26), and additionally a graph representation. Subsequentially two models are trained (training the structure-phenomics relationship trained embedding neural network). That is, the model 601 is an ensemble of two different models (trained embedding neural network) in this example: A) a fully connected neural network architecture is used to train on ECFP4 representation, B) a message-passing neural network (MPNN) is used to train on graph representations. The untrained model 601 is trained using, for each respective chemical structure (compound structure representation) of each respective compound in the training set, for each respective cellular constituent module (phenome) in the set of cellular constituent modules, a respective difference between: (i) a respective calculated activation score (phenomic similarity prediction) for the respective cellular constituent module upon input of the fingerprint of the chemical structure of the respective compound into the untrained model (generating, utilizing the structure-phenomics relationship trained embedding neural network, a predicted phenomic similarity between the training compound and the training perturbation from a training compound structure feature representation of the training compound); and (ii) the respective numerical activation score of the respective cellular constituent module for the respective compound in the set of cellular constituent modules (obtained from the activation data structure 504), where the training adjusts a plurality of parameters associated with the untrained model 601 responsive to the difference (modifying parameters of the structure-phenomics relationship trained embedding neural network by determining a measure of loss utilizing the first phenomic embedding, the second phenomic embedding, and the predicted phenomic similarity) and where the plurality of parameters comprises 100 or more parameters, thereby obtaining a trained model [0562].
obtaining a fingerprint of a chemical structure of the test chemical compound (query chemical compound) [Wolf at claims 1, 7-9: fingerprint from a simplified molecular-input line-entry system (SMILES) string representation of the test chemical compound]
trained embedding neural network [Wolf in claim 11: responsive to inputting the fingerprint of the chemical structure into the corresponding fully connected neural network].
cellular constituent data (e.g., abundances of genes and/or perturbation signatures) corresponding to physiological conditions of interest (e.g., phenotypes, diseases, cell states, and/or cellular processes of interest), and using latent representations and machine learning to determine associations (e.g., weights and/or correlations) between modules (e.g., subsets) of cellular constituents and the physiological condition of interest…elucidating molecular mechanisms underlying various physiological conditions, such as disease … inputting the fingerprint of the chemical structure into a model retrieving, as output from the model, a respective activation score (phenomic similarity prediction) which if it meets a threshold, the compound (query compound) is identified as associated with the physiological condition (phenome, bioactive/cell state) (Wolf at [0009, 0011]).
associating perturbations (e.g. chemical compounds) with phenomic images, experimental data of a physiological condition is a phenotype, from cytometry readouts, imaging and microscopy annotations (medical imaging) (Wolf at [0228, 237: Referring to FIGS . 3A - 3E , one aspect of the present disclosure provides a method 300 of associating a test chemical compound with a physiological condition of interest (embedding a phenomic image) …the physiological condition is a phenotype measured using experimental data including , but not limited to , flow cytometry readouts , imaging and microscopy annotations ( e.g. , H & E slides , IHC slides , radiology images , and / or other medical imaging ) , and / or cellular constituent data]).
different states (cell states) associated with the physiological condition (phenomes) is derived by exposing cells to reference compounds known to affect the physiological condition (perturbations) in addition to a control state of unexposed cells (Wolf at claim 4)…an annotated cell state (phenomic image) in the plurality of annotated cell states is an exposure of a cell in the first plurality of cells to a compound under an exposure condition (a duration of exposure, a concentration of the compound, or a combination of a duration of exposure and a concentration of the compound) (Wolf at claim 16-17) (utilizing training compound structure feature representations and phenomic image similarities generated by comparing phenomic images of cells exposed to cell perturbations)…
training a candidate cellular constituent model using, for each respective covariate in the plurality of covariates, a difference between (i) a calculated activation against each cellular constituent module represented by the candidate cellular constituent model upon input of a fingerprint of the covariate into the candidate cellular constituent model and (ii) actual activation against each cellular constituent module represented by the candidate cellular constituent model, wherein the training adjusts a plurality of covariate parameters associated with the candidate cellular constituent model responsive to the difference (Wolf at claim 14) (predicted phenomic similarity with the phenomic image similarity to determine a measure of loss).
the plurality of covariates comprises cell batch, cell donor, cell type, disease status, exposure to a chemical compound…the training the candidate cellular constituent model is performed using a categorical cross-entropy loss in a multi-task formulation, in which each covariate in the plurality of covariates corresponds to a cost function in plurality of cost functions and each respective cost function in the plurality of cost functions has a common weighting factor [0038-0039] (modifying parameters of the structure-phenomics relationship trained embedding neural network based on the measure of loss).
Regarding instant claim 2, instant application recites:
wherein the target perturbation comprises a target gene knockout perturbation or a target chemical compound perturbation.
The prior art to Wolf teaches perturbations.
derived by exposing cells to reference compounds (target compound perturbation) known to affect the physiological condition in addition to a control state of unexposed cells (Wolf at claim 4).
… physiological condition of interest is characterized by an activation of a set of cellular constituents (e.g., a cellular constituent module) and/or a perturbation signature (e.g., a differential expression profile of a plurality of analytes in response to a perturbation)… [using] any type of analyte (e.g., a gene, a transcript, a carbohydrate, a lipid, an epigenetic feature, a metabolite, a protein, or a combination thereof)…in a respective cellular constituent module [0239-0240].
… a perturbation refers to any exposure of the cell to one or more conditions, such as a treatment by one or more compounds. In some embodiments, a perturbation signature is a change in the expression or abundance level of one or more cellular constituents in the cell induced by a perturbation…. not limited to, gene knockdowns (i.e. gene knockouts), cellular responses to stimuli, tissue growth and regeneration, and/or treatment with or exposure to compounds. Example perturbagens include, but are not limited to, a small molecule, a biologic, a therapeutic, a protein, a protein combined with a small molecule, an ADC, a nucleic acid, such as an siRNA or interfering RNA, a cDNA over-expressing wild-type and/or mutant shRNA, a cDNA over-expressing wild-type and/or mutant guide RNA (e.g., Cas9 system or other gene editing system) [0335-0336].
Regarding instant claim 3, instant application recites:
wherein generating the phenomic similarity prediction comprises generating a similarity classification from a set of classifications comprising: a pheno-similar classification, a pheno-dissimilar classification, and a pheno-independent classification.
The prior art to Wolf teaches an activation score (phenomic similarity prediction) for its corresponding cellular constituent module, for any compound, whether part of the training set or not by a model 601 is capable of reporting out whether its corresponding cellular constituent module is associated with a test compound (similarity classification). If it is, the model outputs a score that indicates that its corresponding cellular constituent module is associated with a test compound… this score is categorical (e.g. a “1” if the corresponding cellular constituent module is associated with a test compound” and a “0” if it is not) (a set of classifications)…[or] a probability or likelihood, e.g., on a scale of 0 to 1 where numbers closer to 1 (e.g., 0.85) indicate the likelihood that the corresponding cellular constituent module is associated with a test compound [0565] (a set of classifications comprising: a pheno-similar classification, a pheno-dissimilar classification, and a pheno-independent classification). The instant specific classification categories are generally known by those having skill in the art of statistical analysis/data classification and are not considered a matter of invention given the instant disclosure.
Regarding instant claims 4, and 17, instant application recites:
the system …the computing device …the computer-implemented method
wherein training the structure-phenomics relationship neural network comprises, for each training iteration of a plurality of training iterations: generating a corresponding phenomic feature space similarity measure of loss for a corresponding pair of training chemical compound and training perturbation; and modifying the parameters of the structure-phenomics relationship neural network to reduce corresponding phenomic feature space similarity measures of loss across the plurality of training iterations.
The prior art to Wolf teaches:
system/computing device (FIG 1: processing core 102)
this example, model 601 is an ensemble (trained embedding neural network) of (i) a fully connected network on standard fingerprints of the SMILES strings, where the network architecture is a 3-layer network with ReLU activations and (ii) an MPNN network out of the DGL library. Upon input of the chemical structural information, model 601 provides the activation score of each cellular constituent module 132 that it was trained on [0563].
For training of the model 601, in this example, the SMILES representations of compounds represented in activation data structure 504 of FIG. 6 are transformed into an ECFP4 fingerprint representation (Wolf at claim 26), and additionally a graph representation. Subsequentially two models are trained (training the structure-phenomics relationship trained embedding neural network). That is, the model 601 is an ensemble of two different models (trained embedding neural network) in this example: A) a fully connected neural network architecture is used to train on ECFP4 representation, B) a message-passing neural network (MPNN) is used to train on graph representations. The untrained model 601 is trained using, for each respective chemical structure (compound structure representation) of each respective compound in the training set, for each respective cellular constituent module (phenome) in the set of cellular constituent modules, a respective difference between: (i) a respective calculated activation score (phenomic similarity prediction) for the respective cellular constituent module upon input of the fingerprint of the chemical structure of the respective compound into the untrained model and (ii) the respective numerical activation score of the respective cellular constituent module for the respective compound in the set of cellular constituent modules (obtained from the activation data structure 504), where the training adjusts a plurality of parameters associated with the untrained model 601 responsive to the difference, and where the plurality of parameters comprises 100 or more parameters, thereby obtaining a trained model [0562].
provides an activation score for its corresponding cellular constituent module, for any compound, whether part of the training set or not. That is, each model 601 is capable of reporting out whether its corresponding cellular constituent module is associated with a test compound. If it is, the model outputs a score that indicates that its corresponding cellular constituent module is associated with a test compound. In some embodiments, this score is categorical (e.g. a “1” if the corresponding cellular constituent module is associated with a test compound” and a “0” if it is not). In some embodiments, this score is a probability or likelihood, e.g., on a scale of 0 to 1 where numbers closer to 1 (e.g., 0.85) indicate the likelihood that the corresponding cellular constituent module is associated with a test compound [0565] (generating a phenomic image similarity by comparing the first machine learning embedding and the second machine learning embedding).
The respective perturbation signature comprises an identification of a respective plurality of cellular constituents and, for each respective cellular constituent in the respective plurality of cellular constituents, a corresponding significance score that quantifies an association between a change in abundance of the respective cellular constituent (identifying a second machine learning embedding of a second phenomic image of a second cell exposed to a training perturbation) and a change in cell state between a respective first cell state and a respective second cell state. One of the respective first cell state and second cell state is an unperturbed cell state while the other is a respective perturbed cell state caused by exposure of cells to the compound corresponding to the respective perturbation signature [0420]….a measure of differential cellular constituent abundance between an unaltered cell state and an altered cell state. Here, the altered cell state occurs through the cellular transition from the unaltered cell state to the altered cell state. Moreover, at least one of (i) the unaltered cell state, (ii) the altered cell state, and (iii) the transition from the unaltered cell state to the altered cell state is associated with the physiological condition of interest. The single-cell transition signature comprises an identification of a reference plurality of cellular constituents and, for each respective cellular constituents in the plurality of reference cellular constituents, a corresponding first significance score that quantifies an association between a change in abundance of the respective cellular constituent and a change in cell state between the unaltered cell state and the altered cell state [0420-0422] (identifying a first machine learning embedding of a first phenomic image of a first cell exposed to a training compound… generating a phenomic image similarity by comparing the first machine learning embedding and the second machine learning embedding.
Regarding instant claim 5, instant application recites:
wherein generating the phenomic image feature space similarity as the measured ground truth similarity comprises: by: generating, within the latent feature space of the embedding neural network, a difference metric between the first phenomic embedding and the second phenomic embedding; and applying a pheno-similarity threshold to the difference metric to generate a pheno- similarity classification between the training chemical compound and the training perturbation.
The prior art to Wolf wherein the
a first output of the corresponding fully connected neural network and a second output of the corresponding message passing neural network is combined, responsive to inputting the fingerprint of the chemical structure into the corresponding fully connected neural network and the corresponding message passing neural network, to determine an activation score in the one or more calculated activation scores (phenomic similarity prediction) for the corresponding cellular constituent module in the set of cellular constituent modules [Wolf in claim 11] (generating the phenomic image similarity).
a measure of differential cellular constituent abundance between an unaltered cell state and an altered cell state. Here, the altered cell state occurs through the cellular transition from the unaltered cell state to the altered cell state. Moreover, at least one of (i) the unaltered cell state, (ii) the altered cell state, and (iii) the transition from the unaltered cell state to the altered cell state is associated with the physiological condition of interest. The single-cell transition signature comprises an identification of a reference plurality of cellular constituents and, for each respective cellular constituents in the plurality of reference cellular constituents, a corresponding first significance score that quantifies an association between a change in abundance of the respective cellular constituent and a change in cell state between the unaltered cell state and the altered cell state [0420-0422] (generating a difference metric between the first machine learning embedding and the second machine learning embedding).
the model is an unsupervised clustering model. In some embodiments, the model is a supervised clustering model… The clustering problem can be described as one of finding natural groupings in a dataset. To identify natural groupings, two issues can be addressed. First, a way to measure similarity (or dissimilarity) between two samples can be determined. This metric (e.g., similarity measure) can be used to ensure that the samples in one cluster are more like one another than they are to samples in other clusters. Second, a mechanism for partitioning the data into clusters using the similarity measure can be determined. One way to begin a clustering investigation can be to define a distance function and to compute the matrix of distances between all pairs of samples in the training set. If distance is a good measure of similarity, then the distance between reference entities in the same cluster can be significantly less than the distance between the reference entities in different clusters (difference metric). However, clustering may not use of a distance metric. For example, a nonmetric similarity function s(x, x′) can be used to compare two vectors x and x′. s(x, x′) can be a symmetric function whose value is large when x and x′ are somehow “similar.” Once a method for measuring “similarity” or “dissimilarity” between points in a dataset has been selected, clustering can use a criterion function that measures the clustering quality of any partition of the data. Partitions of the data set that extremize the criterion function (difference metric) can be used to cluster the data [0204] (generating a difference metric between the first machine learning embedding and the second machine learning embedding; and applying a pheno-similarity threshold to the difference metric to generate a pheno-similarity classification between the training compound and the training perturbation)
… wherein the correlation model includes a graph clustering, wherein the graph clustering is Leiden clustering on a Pearson-correlation-based distance metric or a Louvain clustering (Wolf at claims 20- 22) (difference metric).
the set of cellular constituent modules is a plurality of cellular constituent modules,
a first subset of the plurality of cellular constituent modules, including the first cellular constituent module, is associated with the physiological condition of interest (training perturbation), a second subset of the plurality of cellular constituent modules is not associated with the physiological condition of interest (not with training perturbation), and the test chemical compound (training compound) is identified with the physiological condition of interest when the respective calculated activation score (phenomic similarity prediction) for the first cellular constituent module satisfies the first threshold criterion and the respective calculated activation score for a cellular constituent module in the second subset of the plurality of cellular constituent modules satisfies a second threshold criterion…(Wolf at claims 1, 13, 19, and 20) (applying a pheno-similarity threshold to the difference metric to generate a pheno-similarity classification between the training compound and the training perturbation).
Regarding instant claim 6, instant application recites:
determining the pheno-similarity threshold from a distribution of difference metrics between the training perturbation and a plurality of additional perturbations, wherein the pheno- similarity threshold is specific to the training perturbation.
The prior art to Wolf teaches:
the set of cellular constituent modules is a plurality of cellular constituent modules,
a first subset of the plurality of cellular constituent modules, including the first cellular constituent module, is associated with the physiological condition of interest (training perturbation), a second subset of the plurality of cellular constituent modules is not associated with the physiological condition of interest (not with training perturbation), and the test chemical compound (training compound) is identified with the physiological condition of interest when the respective calculated activation score (phenomic similarity prediction) for the first cellular constituent module satisfies the first threshold criterion and the respective calculated activation score for a cellular constituent module in the second subset of the plurality of cellular constituent modules satisfies a second threshold criterion…(Wolf at claims 1, 13, 19, and 20) (training perturbation and a plurality of additional perturbations).
[For example]: the trained model 601 for Module 78 was used to predict cellular constituent activation scores for cellular constituent module 78 (Module 78) for a random subset of 200,000 compounds sampled from five million compounds in a public database. From this, the top 50 compounds predicted to highly activate cellular constituent module 78 were selected and compared to a set of compounds in a database including compounds from the LINCS L1000 dataset and Synthetic Hit analogs derived from the chemical structure of a known compound, referred to herein as the Known Piperidine-Containing Compound (“KPCC”). The distribution of this comparison is illustrated in FIG. 10E. At the tail end of the distribution, the predictions obtained for the trained model 601 for cellular constituent module 78 identified a compound that significantly exceeded all compounds in LINCS and the Synthetic Hits. This approach highlights a method for optimizing chemical structure against specific desired cellular processes [0570].
Regarding instant claim 7, instant application recites:
wherein training the structure-phenomics relationship neural network machine learning model further comprises generating, utilizing the structure-phenomics relationship neural network machine learning model, an additional predicted phenomic feature space similarity from the training compound structure feature representation and an additional training perturbation.
The prior art to Wolf wherein the
[For example]: the trained model 601 for Module 78 was used to predict cellular constituent activation scores for cellular constituent module 78 (Module 78) for a random subset of 200,000 compounds sampled from five million compounds in a public database… the top 50 compounds predicted to highly activate cellular constituent module 78 were selected and compared to a set of compounds in a database…derived from the chemical structure of a known compound (compound structure feature representation)… The distribution of this comparison [FIG. 10E] with tail end of the distribution showing the predictions obtained for the trained model 601 for cellular constituent module 78 identified a compound that significantly exceeded all compounds in LINCS and the Synthetic Hits. This approach highlights a method for optimizing chemical structure against specific desired cellular processes (phenomic) [0570] (generating a training compound structure feature representation for the training compound).
the set of cellular constituent modules is a plurality of cellular constituent modules,
a first subset of the plurality of cellular constituent modules, including the first cellular constituent module, is associated with the physiological condition of interest (training perturbation), a second subset of the plurality of cellular constituent modules is not associated with the physiological condition of interest (not with training perturbation), and the test chemical compound (training compound) is identified with the physiological condition of interest when the respective calculated activation score (phenomic similarity prediction) …(Wolf at claims 1, 13, and 20) (generating, utilizing the structure-phenomics relationship trained embedding neural network, a predicted phenomic similarity from the training compound structure feature representation and the training perturbation).
Regarding instant claim 8, instant application recites:
wherein training the structure-phenomics relationship neural network machine learning model further comprises: modifying parameters of a first task head of the structure-phenomics relationship neural network based on the predicted phenomic feature space similarity corresponding to the training perturbation; and modifying parameters of a second task head of the structure-phenomics relationship neural network based on the additional predicted phenomic feature space similarity corresponding to the additional training perturbation.
The prior art to Wolf teaches a machine learning loss function based on differences of probability distributions.
training a candidate cellular constituent model using, for each respective covariate in the plurality of covariates, a difference between (i) a calculated activation against each cellular constituent module represented by the candidate cellular constituent model upon input of a fingerprint of the covariate into the candidate cellular constituent model and (ii) actual activation against each cellular constituent module represented by the candidate cellular constituent model, wherein the training adjusts a plurality of covariate parameters associated with the candidate cellular constituent model responsive to the difference (Wolf at claim 14) (comparing the predicted phenomic similarity with the phenomic image similarity to determine a measure of loss).
the plurality of covariates comprises cell batch, cell donor, cell type, disease status, exposure to a chemical compound…the training the candidate cellular constituent model is performed using a categorical cross-entropy loss in a multi-task formulation, in which each covariate in the plurality of covariates corresponds to a cost function in plurality of cost functions and each respective cost function in the plurality of cost functions has a common weighting factor [0038-0039] (modifying parameters of the structure-phenomics relationship trained embedding neural network based on the measure of loss).
Regarding instant claims 9, 15, and 20, instant application recites:
receiving the query chemical compound and the target perturbation via a user interface of a client device; and
providing the phenomic similarity prediction for display via the user interface of the client device.
The prior art to Wolf wherein:
neural network ensemble output is responsive to inputting the fingerprint of the chemical structure into the corresponding fully connected neural network and the corresponding message passing neural network, to determine an activation score (phenomic similarity prediction) in the one or more calculated activation scores for the corresponding cellular constituent module in the set of cellular constituent modules [Wolf at claim 11].
The system 100 in some embodiments includes one or more processing units (CPU(s)) 102 (e.g., a processor, a processing core, etc.), one or more network interfaces 104, a user interface 106 including (optionally) a display 108 and an input system 105 (e.g., an input/output interface, a keyboard, a mouse, etc.) for use by the user, memory (e.g., non-persistent memory 107, persistent memory 109), and one or more communication buses 103 for interconnecting the aforementioned components [0212-0214, FIG 1].
Regarding instant claim 11, instant application recites:
receive the target perturbation by receiving a target gene knockout perturbation or a target chemical compound perturbation; and generate the phenomic similarity prediction by generating a similarity classification from a set of classifications comprising: a pheno-similar classification, a pheno-dissimilar classification, and a pheno-independent classification..
The instant specific use of classification categories are generally known by those having skill in the art of statistical analysis/data classification and are not considered a matter of invention given the instant disclosure.
The prior art to Wolf teaches:
derived by exposing cells to reference compounds (target compound perturbation) known to affect the physiological condition in addition to a control state of unexposed cells (Wolf at claim 4).
… a perturbation refers to any exposure of the cell to one or more conditions, such as a treatment by one or more compounds. In some embodiments, a perturbation signature is a change in the expression or abundance level of one or more cellular constituents in the cell induced by a perturbation…. not limited to, gene knockdowns (i.e. gene knockouts), cellular responses to stimuli, tissue growth and regeneration, and/or treatment with or exposure to compounds. Example perturbagens include, but are not limited to, a small molecule, a biologic, a therapeutic, a protein, a protein combined with a small molecule, an ADC, a nucleic acid, such as an siRNA or interfering RNA, a cDNA over-expressing wild-type and/or mutant shRNA, a cDNA over-expressing wild-type and/or mutant guide RNA (e.g., Cas9 system or other gene editing system) [0335-0336].
…an activation score (phenomic similarity prediction) for its corresponding cellular constituent module, for any compound, whether part of the training set or not by a model 601 is capable of reporting out whether its corresponding cellular constituent module is associated with a test compound (similarity classification). If it is, the model outputs a score that indicates that its corresponding cellular constituent module is associated with a test compound… this score is categorical (e.g. a “1” if the corresponding cellular constituent module is associated with a test compound” and a “0” if it is not) (a set of classifications)…[or] a probability or likelihood, e.g., on a scale of 0 to 1 where numbers closer to 1 (e.g., 0.85) indicate the likelihood that the corresponding cellular constituent module is associated with a test compound [0565] (a set of classifications comprising: a pheno-similar classification, a pheno-dissimilar classification, and a pheno-independent classification).
Regarding instant claim 12, instant application recites:
wherein the at least one non- transitory computer-readable storage medium stores additional instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to train the structure-phenomics relationship neural network by:
modifying parameters of a first task head of the structure-phenomics relationship neural network based on the predicted phenomic feature space similarity corresponding to the training perturbation; and
modifying parameters of a second task head of the structure-phenomics relationship neural network based on an additional predicted phenomic feature space similarity corresponding to an additional training perturbation
The prior art to Wolf teaches:
system/computing device (FIG 1: processing core 102)
Activation scores corresponding to each respective cellular constituent module for each respective compound serve as labels (e.g., numerical activation scores indicating an actual presence or absence of association between modules and compounds) for training a multi-task model (task head of the structure-phenomics relationship neural network) to identify associations (e.g., weights and/or correlations) between modules and compounds [0382]…In an example embodiment, the training the model is performed using a categorical cross-entropy loss in a multi-task formulation, in which each covariate in the plurality of covariates corresponds to a cost function in plurality of cost functions and each respective cost function in the plurality of cost functions has a common weighting factor [0400].
Activation scores corresponding to each respective perturbation signature for each respective compound serve as labels (e.g., numerical activation scores indicating an actual presence or absence of association between perturbation signatures and compounds) for training a multi-task model to identify associations (e.g., weights and/or correlations) between perturbation signatures and compounds. For instance, as described above, in some embodiments, a first subset of the plurality of perturbation signatures is associated with the physiological condition of interest, and a second subset of the plurality of perturbation signatures is not associated with the physiological condition of interest. Thus, in some such embodiments, an actual presence of association can be included in the training dataset using the first subset of the plurality of perturbation signatures as labels, and an actual absence of association can be included in the training dataset using the second subset of the plurality of perturbation signatures as labels. [0444] (additional predicted phenomic feature space similarity corresponding to an additional training perturbation).
this example, model 601 is an ensemble (trained embedding neural network) of (i) a fully connected network on standard fingerprints of the SMILES strings, where the network architecture is a 3-layer network with ReLU activations and (ii) an MPNN network out of the DGL library. Upon input of the chemical structural information, model 601 provides the activation score of each cellular constituent module 132 that it was trained on [0563].
For training of the model 601, in this example, the SMILES representations of compounds represented in activation data structure 504 of FIG. 6 are transformed into an ECFP4 fingerprint representation (Wolf at claim 26), and additionally a graph representation. Subsequentially two models are trained (training the structure-phenomics relationship trained embedding neural network). That is, the model 601 is an ensemble of two different models (trained embedding neural network) in this example: A) a fully connected neural network architecture is used to train on ECFP4 representation, B) a message-passing neural network (MPNN) is used to train on graph representations. The untrained model 601 is trained using, for each respective chemical structure (compound structure representation) of each respective compound in the training set, for each respective cellular constituent module (phenome) in the set of cellular constituent modules, a respective difference between: (i) a respective calculated activation score (phenomic similarity prediction) for the respective cellular constituent module upon input of the fingerprint of the chemical structure of the respective compound into the untrained model and (ii) the respective numerical activation score of the respective cellular constituent module for the respective compound in the set of cellular constituent modules (obtained from the activation data structure 504), where the training adjusts a plurality of parameters associated with the untrained model 601 responsive to the difference, and where the plurality of parameters comprises 100 or more parameters, thereby obtaining a trained model [0562].
Regarding instant claims 13 and 18, instant application recites:
generating, within the latent feature space of the embedding neural network, a difference metric between the first phenomic embedding and the second phenomic embedding; and applying a pheno-similarity threshold to the difference metric to generate a pheno- similarity classification between the training chemical compound and the training perturbation, wherein the pheno-similarity threshold is determined from a distribution of difference metrics between the training perturbation and a plurality of additional perturbations.
The prior art to Wolf teaches:
a measure of differential cellular constituent abundance between an unaltered cell state and an altered cell state. Here, the altered cell state occurs through the cellular transition from the unaltered cell state to the altered cell state. Moreover, at least one of (i) the unaltered cell state, (ii) the altered cell state, and (iii) the transition from the unaltered cell state to the altered cell state is associated with the physiological condition of interest. The single-cell transition signature comprises an identification of a reference plurality of cellular constituents and, for each respective cellular constituents in the plurality of reference cellular constituents, a corresponding first significance score that quantifies an association between a change in abundance of the respective cellular constituent and a change in cell state between the unaltered cell state and the altered cell state [0420-0422] (generating a difference metric between the first machine learning embedding and the second machine learning embedding).
the set of cellular constituent modules is a plurality of cellular constituent modules,
a first subset of the plurality of cellular constituent modules, including the first cellular constituent module, is associated with the physiological condition of interest (training perturbation), a second subset of the plurality of cellular constituent modules is not associated with the physiological condition of interest (not with training perturbation), and the test chemical compound (training compound) is identified with the physiological condition of interest when the respective calculated activation score (phenomic similarity prediction) for the first cellular constituent module satisfies the first threshold criterion and the respective calculated activation score for a cellular constituent module in the second subset of the plurality of cellular constituent modules satisfies a second threshold criterion…(Wolf at claims 1, 13, and 20) (training perturbation and a plurality of additional perturbations).
[For example]: the trained model 601 for Module 78 was used to predict cellular constituent activation scores for cellular constituent module 78 (Module 78) for a random subset of 200,000 compounds…the top 50 compounds predicted to highly activate cellular constituent module 78 were selected and compared to a set of compounds in a database including compounds …derived from the chemical structure of a known compound…The distribution of this comparison is illustrated in FIG. 10E. At the tail end of the distribution, the predictions obtained for the trained model 601 for cellular constituent module 78 identified a compound that significantly exceeded all compounds in LINCS and the Synthetic Hits. This approach highlights a method for optimizing chemical structure against specific desired cellular processes [0570].
Regarding instant claims 14 and 19, instant application recites:
cause the system to train the structure-phenomics relationship neural network
modifying the parameters of the structure-phenomics relationship neural to reduce a difference between the predicted phenomic feature space similarity and the phenomic image feature space similarity on a subsequent training iteration based on the phenomic feature space similarity measure of loss.
The prior art to Wolf teaches a machine learning loss function based on compound structures and differences of probability distributions.
constituent model and (ii) actual activation against each cellular constituent module represented by the candidate cellular constituent model, wherein the training adjusts a plurality of covariate parameters associated with the candidate cellular constituent model responsive to the difference (Wolf at claim 14) (comparing the predicted phenomic similarity with the phenomic image similarity to determine a measure of loss).
the plurality of covariates comprises cell batch, cell donor, cell type, disease status, exposure to a chemical compound…the training the candidate cellular constituent model is performed using a categorical cross-entropy loss in a multi-task formulation, in which each covariate in the plurality of covariates corresponds to a cost function in plurality of cost functions and each respective cost function in the plurality of cost functions has a common weighting factor [0038-0039] (modifying parameters of the structure-phenomics relationship trained embedding neural network based on the measure of loss).
Response to Remarks – 102
Applicant's remarks (p.19-20), filed 05/14/2026, have been fully considered in view of claim amendments. Applicant asserts Wolf does not teach an image-derived, loss-based training in a feature-space-similarity training process.
Wolf fails to disclose "generating a trained structure-phenomics relationship neural network by modifying parameters of the structure-phenomics relationship neural network to reduce the phenomic feature space similarity measure of loss on a subsequent training iteration," as recited by currently amended independent claim 1…Wolf trains a model using differences between calculated activation scores and numerical activation scores for cellular constituent modules or perturbation signatures. Moreover, Wolf does not disclose capturing phenomic images of cells exposed to a training chemical compound and a training perturbation…training a model to predict activation scores from compound fingerprints. That is different from the claimed image-derived, feature-space-similarity training process. Accordingly, Wolf fails to disclose the claimed loss-based training limitation as recited in currently amended independent claims 1, 10, and 16.
However, this is not persuasive because Wolf reference still reads upon the broadest reasonable interpretation of the instant application ( a structure-to-phenomics model using measured similarity labels derived from phenomic images and embeddings of perturbed cells , trained based on prior compound/perturbation examples and then predicts phenomic similarity directly from the structure of a new query compound).
training of the model 601, in this example, the SMILES representations of compounds represented in an activation data structure 504 of FIG. 6 are transformed into an ECFP4 fingerprint representation (Wolf at claim 26), and additionally a graph representation. Subsequentially two models are trained (training the structure-phenomics relationship trained embedding neural network) based on feature score differences (similarity based) between: (i) a respective calculated activation score (phenomic similarity prediction) for the respective cellular constituent module upon input of the fingerprint of the chemical structure of the respective compound into the untrained model (generating, utilizing the structure-phenomics relationship trained embedding neural network, a predicted phenomic similarity between the training compound and the training perturbation from a training compound structure feature representation of the training compound); and (ii) the respective numerical activation score of the respective cellular constituent module for the respective compound in the set of cellular constituent modules (obtained from the activation data structure 504) [0562]. Wolf uses a plurality of covariates comprises cell batch, cell donor, cell type, disease status, exposure to a chemical compound. Combining the cellular constituent count data structure in the latent representation (latent space) using the cellular constituents or the compound representation as a common dimension (phenomic image feature space similarity), to determine activation weightings. Candidate cellular constituent model (structure-phenomics relationship neural network) is trained using a difference between (i) a prediction of an absence or presence of each covariate in the plurality of covariates in each cellular constituent module represented in the activation data structure upon input of the activation data structure into the candidate model and (ii) actual absence or presence of each covariate in each cellular constituent module (similarity measure of loss/difference metric). This training adjusts a plurality of covariate parameters associated with the candidate cellular constituent model responsive to the difference (modifying parameters of the structure-phenomics relationship neural network) [0082, 0192: weighting factors/thresholds].
training adjusts a plurality of parameters associated with the untrained model 601 responsive to the difference (modifying parameters of the structure-phenomics relationship trained embedding neural network by determining a measure of loss utilizing the first phenomic embedding, the second phenomic embedding, and the predicted phenomic similarity) and where the plurality of parameters comprises 100 or more parameters, thereby obtaining a trained model [0562] (“generating a trained structure-phenomics relationship neural network by modifying parameters iteratively the structure-phenomics relationship neural network”).
…training the candidate cellular constituent model is performed using a categorical cross-entropy loss in a multi-task formulation, in which each covariate in the plurality of covariates corresponds to a cost function in plurality of cost functions and each respective cost function in the plurality of cost functions has a common weighting factor [0038-0039] (“loss-based training limitation”).
Wolf associates perturbations (e.g. chemical compounds) with phenomic images, experimental data of a physiological condition is a phenotype, from cytometry readouts, imaging and microscopy annotations (medical imaging) (Wolf at [0228, 237: Referring to FIGS . 3A - 3E , one aspect of the present disclosure provides a method 300 of associating a test chemical compound with a physiological condition of interest (embedding a phenomic image) …the physiological condition is a phenotype measured using experimental data including , but not limited to , flow cytometry readouts , imaging and microscopy annotations ( e.g. H & E slides , IHC slides , radiology images , and / or other medical imaging ) , and / or cellular constituent data]) (“capturing phenomic images of cells exposed to a training chemical compound and a training perturbation”…training a model to predict activation scores from compound fingerprints [0237 and 0241: perturbation signatures].
Double Patenting
Note: references to the instant application are italicized in the following Double Patent section.
A. Instant independent claims 1, 10 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of Recursion et al. US Patent Application 19/331,878. The reference claims of ‘261 are obvious variants (generating, utilizing a perturbation machine learning model, a plurality of compound perturbation concentration embeddings from functional response data measured from applying a query compound to a plurality of cells; generating, utilizing the perturbation machine learning model, a target perturbation embedding from functional response data measured from applying a target perturbation to a cell; comparing the plurality of compound perturbation concentration embeddings to the target perturbation embedding to generate a plurality of concentration-target embedding similarity measures; generating, from the plurality of concentration-target embedding similarity measures, a potency metric for the query compound) of the claims of the instant application. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
B. Instant independent claims 1, 10 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of Recursion et al. US Patent Application 19/351,052. The reference claims of ‘261 are obvious variants (inputting the compound-protein machine learning representation comprising the plurality of binding scores between the target compound and the plurality of proteins into the target machine learning model; or generating a biological perturbation program prediction by inputting the compound-protein machine learning representation comprising the plurality of binding scores between the target compound and the plurality of proteins into the target machine learning model; selecting the plurality of proteins as a subset of proteins from a larger set of proteins based on biological similarity; generating, utilizing the compound-protein interaction machine learning model, the plurality of binding scores between the target compound and the subset of proteins from the larger set of proteins selected based on the biological similarity; and generating the compound-protein machine learning representation comprising the plurality of binding scores between the target compound and the subset of proteins selected based on the biological similarity) of the claims of the instant application. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
C. Instant independent claims 1, 10 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of Recursion et al. US Patent Application 18,990,261. The reference claims of ‘261 are obvious variants (perturbation pairs: first perturbation and a second perturbation; generating a tuned map prediction machine learning model by comparing a similarity prediction for the perturbation pair; comparing the similarity prediction with the ground truth similarity to determine a measure of loss; and adjusting parameters of the map prediction machine learning model to reduce the measure of loss for a subsequent tuning iteration; and generating an additional similarity prediction for an unobserved perturbation pair utilizing the tuned map prediction machine learning model) of the claims of the instant application. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Remarks regarding Double Patenting
Applicant's remarks (p.14-15), filed 05/14/2026, have been fully considered in view of claim amendments and is unpersuasive. Although the claims are not identical, claiming a neural network in contrast to provisional applications other machine deep learning models are obvious design modifications for one of ordinary skill in the art to yield predictable outcomes. The rejection is maintained. Further distinguishing the claimed neural network with specific system architecture and functions to generate phenomic similarity predictions by claim amendments rooted in the specification can separate the instant application from the obvious variants.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
E-mail Communications Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting following form via EFS-Web or Central Fax (571-273-8300): PTO/SB/439. Applicant is encouraged to do so as early in prosecution as possible, so as to facilitate communication during examination.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
Inquiries
Papers related to this application may be submitted to Technical Center 1600 by facsimile transmission. Papers should be faxed to Technical Center 1600 via the PTO Fax Center. The faxing of such papers must conform to the notices published in the Official Gazette, 1096 OG 30 (November 15, 1988), 1156 OG 61 (November 16, 1993), and 1157 OG 94 (December 28, 1993) (See 37 CFR § 1.6(d)). The Central Fax Center Number is (571) 273-8300.
Patent applicants with problems or questions regarding electronic images that can be viewed in the Patent Application Information Retrieval system (PAIR) can now contact the USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center (Patent EBC) for assistance. Representatives are available to answer your questions daily from 6 am to midnight (EST). The toll free number is (866) 217-9197. When calling please have your application serial or patent number, the type of document you are having an image problem with, the number of pages and the specific nature of the problem. The Patent Electronic Business Center will notify applicants of the resolution of the problem within 5-7 business days. Applicants can also check PAIR to confirm that the problem has been corrected. The USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center is a complete service center supporting all patent business on the Internet. The USPTO’s PAIR system provides Internet-based access to patent application status and history information. It also enables applicants to view the scanned images of their own application file folder(s) as well as general patent information available to the public.
/VR/
Examiner
Art Unit 1685
/MARY K ZEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1686