Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9 and 15-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radosevic (US 9,853,742 B1) and Demirors (2015, ACM DL).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Radosevic teaches a node in an acoustic network, the node comprising:
a first communications module comprising an integrated transducer [[fig. 8] shows transceiver with transmitter module #632 and receiver module #634 in communication with ocean channel #640; [prior art claim 1] transceiver connected to the transducer; [col. 5:50-60] processor 12 uses the center frequency and bandwidth of the transducer to adjust signal modulation parameters, including the carrier frequency, signal bandwidth, and passband sample rate.]];
the first communications module configured to receive or transmit network communications carried at acoustic wavelengths via an acoustic medium [[fig. 8] shows transceiver with transmitter module #632 and receiver module #634 in communication with ocean channel #640; [prior art claim 1] transceiver connected to the transducer; [col. 1:20-30] software defined acoustic communications system; [col. 5:50-60] processor 12 uses the center frequency and bandwidth of the transducer to adjust signal modulation parameters, including the carrier frequency, signal bandwidth, and passband sample rate.], each of the network communications being defined by a communications protocol among multiple communications protocols [[col. 6:25-40] system 10 is configured, via the appropriate software modules within processor 12 and/or digital system 14, along with the appropriate associated hardware, to probe and scan for a range of possible frequency bands, communication protocols, data rates, and other parameters. … after estimating such and other parameters of the unknown communications system, system could be configured to communicate with such system using for example the same modulation scheme as the unknown system];
a digital hardware module [[fig. 8] shows digital system #580] communicatively coupled to the first communications module [[fig. 8] shows transceiver #630] and configured to process data in accordance with one of the multiple communications protocols [[col. 4:1-15] system 10 may be configured with the appropriate software modules to perform the functions as discussed herein. As an example, processor 12 and/or digital system 14 may have such modules stored therein. The modules may either function alone or in concert with processor 12 and/or digital system 14, or with other devices or components of system 10. Such modules may be utilized separately and/or together locally and/or remotely to form a program product thereof. Any of the methods or protocols described herein may be implemented as a program product comprised of a plurality of such modules];
the first communications module and digital hardware module being communicatively coupled via an interface configured to enable the first communications module to be [swapped] with a second communications module, via the interface [[col. 2:30-45] embodiments provide for signal processing 35 that is entirely implemented in software, a wide operating frequency range (e.g. 10 KHz-250 KHz), multiple definable modulation schemes, low signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) (e.g. less than 15 dB), and high data throughput ( e.g. greater than 10 kbps). The embodiments may also be used for terrestrial 40 communication ( over-the-air) by slight configuration changes, to include but not limited to change of the transducer for an antenna suitable for such communications; [col. 2:45-60] system 10 may be implemented into a buoy as part of an inexpensive, extensive, and highly modular sensor/communication network, or into a manned or unmanned surface or sub-surface vessel to provide ACOMMS capability. As an example, system 10 is shown with transducer(s) 26, which are used in an underwater operating environment 28. However, system 10 may be configured to operate in an air-based operating environment using an antenna connected to transceiver 24; [col. 4:45-65]; [col. 8:35-45] FIG. 8 shows a block diagram of an embodiment of signal processing components for use in a system in accordance with the Software-Defined Acoustic Communications System. As an example, some of the components may be implemented as software modules that are stored within and processed by digital system, while other components comprise hardware components].
(claim 15: a first communications module, communicatively coupled to the node via an interfaces [[abstract] a processor connected to the digital system. At least one of the digital system and the processor has a plurality of software modules stored therein. One of the software modules is configured to reconfigure the operating frequency of the digital system based upon the operating frequency of the transducer; [col. 2:45-60] system 10 may be implemented into a buoy as part of an inexpensive, extensive, and highly modular sensor/communication network], the first communications module including at least one acoustic transducer having a respective operational frequency band [[col. 3:25-40] transceiver 24 then directs the signals to transducer(s) 26 ( or an antenna if used), which transmit the signals within the particular operating environment 28 to a desired target location. In some embodiments where multiple transducers are used, such transducers may be paired with multiple DACs/ADCs to form sets with different frequency bands that seamlessly work together as a single logical transducer with a wider overall bandwidth]).
Radosevic does not explicitly teach and yet Demirors2015 teaches a first communications module comprising at least one transmitter chain and receiver chain [[sec. 32. software setup, para. 2] by connecting these objects to each other different processing chains that correspond to different physical layer designs can be built; [para. 3] physical layer transmitter chain; [para. 4] at the receiver side, the audio input object inputs the digital signal that are coming from the ADC into the receiver chain.]; the first communication module to be swapped with a second communications module, via the interface [[sec. 3.1 hardware setup] SEANet prototype provides an evolvable and reconfigurable underwater sensing platform, thanks to its modular design. Each module in the prototype is designed to be swappable since it is connected to others with standard interfaces and has well-described, non-overlapping duties. Therefore, the prototype can support varying hardware requirements dictated by different applications and systems without the need to change design, as further discussed in Section 3.4].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the FPGA based software defined radio which allows for changing between transducers and antennas as taught by Radosevic, with the modules designed to be swappable since it is connected to others with standard interfaces and has well-described, non-overlapping duties as taught by Demirors2015 because this can support varying hardware requirements dictated by different applications and systems without the need to change design (Demirors2015) [[sec. 3.1 hardware setup]].
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Radosevic teaches the node of claim 1 and of claim 15, wherein the digital hardware module is configured to define logic blocks having hardware circuitry configured to perform primitive processing functions, sequences of the logic blocks being capable of processing data units in accordance with any of the multiple communications protocols without reconfiguring the logic blocks themselves [[col. 4:45-65] main modules allow for devices and capabilities to be easily enabled/disabled without rebooting the system or recompiling the source code. Processor 12 may contain a set of core modules therein configured to oversee the activity and direct signal flow. One such module may be a signal manager module. This module manages the overall system configuration, codec choices, and flow of signals at the software layer for both transmit and receive. The signal manager module helps provide the ability to easily switch modulation schemes, allowing for many application-specific configurations from a unified device. In ACOMMS mode for example, the user has the option to select from modulation schemes as discussed below.].
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Radosevic teaches the node of claim 2 and claim 16, wherein the digital hardware module is further configured to: process a data unit in accordance with a first communications protocol of the multiple communications protocols by directing the data unit through a first sequence of logic blocks; and process a subsequent data unit in accordance with a second communications protocol of the multiple communications protocols by directing the subsequent data unit through a second sequence of logic blocks [[col. 4:45-65] the signal manager module helps provide the ability to easily switch modulation schemes, allowing for many application-specific configurations from a unified device. In ACOMMS mode for example, the user has the option to select from modulation schemes as discussed below.].
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Radosevic teaches the node of claim 1 and claim 18, wherein the first communications module is configured to receive or transmit network communications in accordance with a first communications protocol of the multiple communications protocols [[col. 6:25-40] system 10 is configured, via the appropriate software modules within processor 12 and/or digital system 14, along with the appropriate associated hardware, to probe and scan for a range of possible frequency bands, communication protocols, data rates, and other parameters.], and wherein the second communications module is configured to receive or transmit network communications in accordance with a second communications protocol [[col. 6:25-40]; [prior art claim 1] system is configured, via one or more of the software modules, to probe and scan the operating environment for a range of possible frequency bands, communication protocols, data rates, and other parameters, to determine a center frequency, a bandwidth, and a modulation scheme about other unknown communication systems].
Regarding claims 6 and 21, Radosevic teaches the node of claim 5 and claim 20, wherein the first and second communications protocols correspond to distinct frequency bands [[prior art claim 1] system is configured, via one or more of the software modules, to probe and scan the operating environment for a range of possible frequency bands, communication protocols, data rates, and other parameters, to determine a center frequency, a bandwidth, and a modulation scheme about other unknown communication systems.
Regarding claims 7 and 22, Radosevic teaches the node of claim 1 and claim 15, wherein the first communications module further includes a plurality of acoustic transducers, each of the plurality of acoustic transducers having respective operational frequency bands that are at least partially distinct from one another [[col. 3:30-40] some embodiments where multiple transducers are used, such transducers may be paired with multiple DACs/ADCs to form sets with different frequency bands that seamlessly work together as a single logical transducer with a wider overall bandwidth].
Regarding claims 8 and 23, Radosevic teaches the node of claim 1 and claim 15, wherein the first communications module further includes an interface enabling removal and replacement of an acoustic transducer [[col. 2:45-60] system 10 may be implemented into a buoy as part of an inexpensive, extensive, and highly modular sensor/communication network, or into a manned or unmanned surface or sub-surface vessel to provide ACOMMS capability. As an example, system 10 is shown with transducer(s) 26, which are used in an underwater operating environment 28. However, system 10 may be configured to operate in an air-based operating environment using an antenna connected to transceiver 24].
Regarding claim 9, Radosevic teaches the node of claim 1, wherein the digital hardware module further includes a software module configured as at least one software block, the digital hardware module configured to access the at least one software block in the first sequence of logic blocks [[col. 2-3 bridging] digital system 14 may, for example, comprise a field-programmable gate array (FPGA) or microcontroller. When in transmit mode, processor 12 sends a signal to digital system 14. Digital system 14 is configured to, via a high; [col. 6:25-30] system 10 is configured, via the appropriate software modules within processor 12 and/or digital system 14, along with the appropriate associated hardware].
Regarding claim 18, Radosevic teaches the node of claim 15, wherein the communications module is a first communications module and the acoustic transducer is a first acoustic transducer, and further comprising a second communications module including a second acoustic transducer [[col. 3:25-40]], the digital hardware module being configured to be communicatively coupled to the second communications module in place of the first communications module via the interface [[col. 4:45-65]; [col. 8:35-45]].
Regarding claim 19, Radosevic teaches the node of claim 18, wherein the first and second acoustic transducers have respective operational frequency bands that are at least partially distinct from one another [[col. 3:25-40] transceiver 24 then directs the signals to transducer(s) 26 ( or an antenna if used), which transmit the signals within the particular operating environment 28 to a desired target location. In some embodiments where multiple transducers are used, such transducers may be paired with multiple DACs/ADCs to form sets with different frequency bands that seamlessly work together as a single logical transducer with a wider overall bandwidth].
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radosevic (US 9,853,742 B1) and Demirors (2015, ACM DL)as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Demirors (2016, ACM DL).
Regarding claim 10, Radoseciv does not explicitly teach and yet Demirors2016 teaches the node of claim 1 wherein the digital hardware module is configured to access a software module to process the data units before, after, or between at least two of the logic blocks within the first sequence of logic blocks or the second sequence of logic blocks [[sec. 3.2 software architecture] physical layer … software architecture includes a physical layer building blocks and libraries for defining different communication schemes and forward error correction techniques … moreover it also hosts reusable primitive building blocks; [sec. 3.1 hardware architecture] SEANet G2 has a hardware architecture with building blocks similar to the previous generation SEANet platform [17]. It is structured into four modules, i.e., main, communication, power, and sensor module, as illustrated in Fig. 1. Each module is designed to be swappable/upgradeable as it is interfaced to other modules through standard interfaces and has distinct, non-overlapping functionalities. In this way, SEANet G2 platform can provide hardware evolution and reconfiguration to adequately support different applicational needs. The main module incorporates a field programmable gate array (FPGA) and a general purpose processing unit. The combination of processor and FPGA provides hardware and software reprogrammability. The processor is responsible for executing software-defined functionalities to define reconfigurable high-level networking protocols, i.e., non-time critical MAC functionalities, network, application. The FPGA is in charge of physical layer and time-critical MAC layer functionalities. In this way, processing-intensive physical layer functionalities are software-defined, but executed in hardware that can be reconfigured in real-time (through registers and partial reconfiguration on the FPGA).].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to implement the software defined acoustic communication module as taught by Radoseciv, with the reusable modules and building blocks as taught by Demirors2016 so that the hardware can be reconfigured to adequately support different applicational needs (Demirors2016) [[sec. 3.1 hardware architecture]].
Regarding claim 11, Radoseciv does not explicitly teach and yet Demirors2016 teaches the node of claim 1, wherein the digital hardware module utilizes a router defined therein to direct each data unit through respective sequences of logic blocks [[sec. 3.2 software architecture] Network Layer. The software architecture of SEANet G2 includes our libraries [3] to support IPv4 and IPv6 protocols through an adaptation layer that provides IP header compression, IP packet fragmentation, and optimizes the traditional IPv4 and IPv6 headers for underwater acoustic channels to minimize the overall network delay and energy consumption [3]. Moreover, it will incorporate implementation of different routing protocols including [25{27].].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to implement the software defined acoustic communication module as taught by Radoseciv, with the reusable modules and building blocks as taught by Demirors2016 so that the hardware can be reconfigured to adequately support different applicational needs (Demirors2016) [[sec. 3.1 hardware architecture]].
Regarding claim 12, Radoseciv does not explicitly teach and yet Demirors2016 teaches the node of claim 1, wherein each data unit includes a header specifying a sequence of logic blocks the respective data unit is to be directed along for processing in accordance with a corresponding communications protocol, and wherein each logic block is configured to direct each data unit to a next logic block or to an output port according to the respective sequence specified in the header of the data unit [[sec. 3.2 software architecture] Network Layer. The software architecture of SEANet G2 includes our libraries [3] to support IPv4 and IPv6 protocols through an adaptation layer that provides IP header compression, IP packet fragmentation, and optimizes the traditional IPv4 and IPv6 headers for underwater acoustic channels to minimize the overall network delay and energy consumption [3]. Moreover, it will incorporate implementation of different routing protocols including [25{27].].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to implement the software defined acoustic communication module as taught by Radoseciv, with the reusable modules and building blocks as taught by Demirors2016 so that the hardware can be reconfigured to adequately support different applicational needs (Demirors2016) [[sec. 3.1 hardware architecture]].
Regarding claim 13, Radoseciv does not explicitly teach and yet Demirors2016 teaches the node of claim 12, further comprising a processor communicatively coupled to the digital hardware module and configured to: select a communications protocol from among the multiple communications protocols, and communicate application data and the selected communications protocol to the digital hardware module [[sec. 4.1 hardware implementation] architecture provides the combined benefits of (i) an ARM microcontroller that can run a Linux operating system and be programmed through high-level languages (C++, Python); (ii) an FPGA to enable hardware reconfiguration (offline or runtime) in support of different physical layer protocols and other computationally-intensive data processing operations without sacrificing on energy efficiency].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to implement the software defined acoustic communication module as taught by Radoseciv, with the reusable modules and building blocks as taught by Demirors2016 so that the hardware can be reconfigured to adequately support different physical layer protocols (Demirors2016) [[sec. 4.1 hardware implementation]].
Regarding claim 14, Radoseciv does not explicitly teach and yet Demirors2016 teaches the node of claim 13, wherein the digital hardware module is further configured to convert the application data into a data unit including a header specifying a sequence of logic blocks the data unit is to be directed along for processing according to the selected communications protocol [[sec. 4.2 software implementation] implemented ZP-OFDM defines a packet format where N OFDM symbols are preceded by a preamble packet that is used for packet detection and coarse time synchronization. The implemented ZP-OFDM includes two types of preamble blocks, i.e., pseudo-noise (PN)-sequence and chirp].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to implement the software defined acoustic communication module as taught by Radoseciv, with the reusable modules and building blocks as taught by Demirors2016 so that the data can be combined into a packet format and timestamped (Demirors2016) [[sec. 4.2 software implementation]].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 8-10, filed 5/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Demirors (2015, ACM DL).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN D ARMSTRONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3645