DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This is a final rejection in response to the amendments and arguments filed 07/15/2026, claims 1, 8 and 12-13 are currently pending. Claims 1, 8 and 12 have been amended. Claims 2-7 and 9-11 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the response, filed 07/15/2026, with respect to 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejections of 02/23/2026 have been withdrawn in light of amendments to the claims.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/15/2026, with respect to the art rejections, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to arguments to the prior at Zhang, Yeh, Su, Mease and Liu, examiner contends that each corresponding prior art was not relied upon to teach the argued limitations. Examiner further contends that the combination of the prior art including Chang teaches “wherein the at least one support magnetic suction structure is a convex-shaped sheet” and the combination of the prior art including Su teaches “the at least one fan magnetic suction structure is or has a cylindrical structure fixed inside the fan surface cover”, see rejection below.
In response to applicant's argument to the prior art Chang and that Chang's two fixing members are used to tightly join the two fans together, rather than maintaining a certain distance after joining, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). The prior art Chang is relied upon to teach that fan structures, such as seen in figure 4 of Chang, may have a split casing configuration and also host a magnetic mechanism in such structure. Examiner contends that the combination of the prior art, including Chang, teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention.
Additionally, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., allowing a space for the air flow between the water-cooled row 3 and the fan 1 to achieve the heat dissipation function) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Overly, examiner contends that the combination of the prior art teaches each and every limitation of the invention as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6,722,418 to Zhang (Zhang) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2009/0044929 to Yeh et al. (Yeh) and in view of US Patent Application Publication 2007/0248460 to Su (Su) in view of US Patent 6,638,016 to Mease et al. (Mease) and in view of US Patent Application Publication 2022/0381253 to Chang et al. (Chang).
In Reference to Claim 1
Zhang discloses a fan with a magnetic suction support, comprising
at least one fan (Fig. 1, 60 for instance), a support (30 for instance) and a heat dissipating device (10 for instance),
wherein the support (30) is fixedly connected above the heat dissipating device (10, and via 102 for instance), the fan (60) is movably connected above the support (30, and removable via screws 100 for instance).
Zhang does not teach “... a water-cooled row ...” “... the fan is arranged with at least one fan magnetic suction structure, the support is arranged with the same number of at least one support magnetic suction structure matched with the at least one fan magnetic suction structure, and a position of the at least one support magnetic suction structure corresponds to that of the at least one fan magnetic suction structure ...” “... wherein the at least one fan magnetic suction structure is a magnet, and the at least one support magnetic suction structure is a magnetic material;...” “... wherein the support is formed by combining an upper support and a lower support, the at least one support magnetic suction structure is fixed on the lower support, the upper support has upper support magnetic suction holes matched with the at least one support magnetic suction structure in shape and position, and the at least one support magnetic suction structure penetrates through the upper support magnetic suction holes when the upper support and the lower support are combined; ...” “... wherein the at least one support magnetic suction structure is a convex-shaped sheet, and the support is a hollow rectangular structure;...” “... wherein the fan comprises a fan base and a fan surface cover, the at least one fan magnetic suction structure is a cylindrical structure fixed inside the fan surface cover, the fan base has fan base magnetic suction holes matched with the at least one fan magnetic suction structure in shape and position, and the at least one fan magnetic suction structure penetrates through the fan base magnetic suction holes when the fan base and the fan surface cover are combined....”
Regarding the limitation “... a water-cooled row ...”: Yeh is related to cooling system including a fan (Fig. 2, 20 for instance) and heat dissipating device (10 for instance), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein the heat dissipating device is a water-cooled row (a liquid cooling module for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Zhang wherein the heat dissipating device is a water-cooled row (as taught by Yeh), such that the support (of Zhang) is fixedly connected above the water-cooled row (as taught by Yeh), so as to use an art known technique (of using liquid cooling in a cooling system as taught by Yeh), into the system of Zhang and predictably provide heat dissipation for the cooling system.
Regarding the limitations “... the fan is arranged with at least one fan magnetic suction structure, the support is arranged with the same number of at least one support magnetic suction structure matched with the at least one fan magnetic suction structure, and a position of the at least one support magnetic suction structure corresponds to that of the at least one fan magnetic suction structure ...” and “... wherein the at least one fan magnetic suction structure is a magnet, and the at least one support magnetic suction structure is a magnetic material; ...”:
Su is related to a mounting system for a fan (Fig. 2, 10 for instance) in a cooling system (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches the fan is arranged with at least one fan magnetic suction structure (Fig. 2, 20 for instance or Fig. 11, corners 14 of fan 10 for instance), a support (Fig. 11, 31’ for instance) is arranged with the same number of at least one support magnetic suction structure matched with the at least one fan magnetic suction structure (20 for instance and matching the corners of a fan 10 for instance), and a position of the at least one support magnetic suction structure corresponds to that of the at least one fan magnetic suction structure (20 for instance and matching the corners of a fan 10 for instance) and wherein the at least one fan magnetic suction structure is a magnet (a permanent magnet, see ¶ [0029]), and the at least one support magnetic suction structure is a magnetic material (a material such as iron for instance, see ¶ [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Zhang wherein the fan is arranged with at least one fan magnetic suction structure (as taught by Su), the support (of Zhang) is arranged with the same number of at least one support magnetic suction structures matched with the at least one fan magnetic suction structure (such as the mounting of a fan to a frame as taught by Su), and a position of the at least one support magnetic suction structure corresponds to that of the at least one fan magnetic suction structure (as taught by Su) and wherein the at least one fan magnetic suction structure is a magnet, and the at least one support magnetic suction structure is a magnetic material (as taught by Su), so as to use an art known technique (of the mounting of a fan using a magnetic system as taught by Su) into the system of Zhang (as a replacement for mounting screws for instance) and predictably mount the fan in the cooling system.
Regarding the limitation “... wherein the support is formed by combining an upper support and a lower support, the at least one support magnetic suction structure is fixed on the lower support, the upper support has upper support magnetic suction holes matched with the at least one support magnetic suction structure in shape and position, and the at least one support magnetic suction structure penetrates through the upper support magnetic suction holes when the upper support and the lower support are combined; ...”:
Mease is related to a mounting assembly for cooling system, as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein a support (a mounting system as seen in figure 2 for instance) is formed by combining an upper support (20A for instance) and a lower support (14A for instance), a fixing structure (28 for instance, see also figure 4) is fixed on the lower support (14A), the upper support (20A) has upper support holes (in 20A for instance, see figure 4B) matched with the fixing structures (28) in shape and position, and the fixing structure (28) penetrates through the upper support hole (of 20A) when the upper support (20A) and the lower support (14A) are combined (see figure 4B.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Zhang wherein the support (of Zhang) is formed by combining an upper support and a lower support (the support to include two portions as taught by Mease), the at least one support magnetic suction structure (of Zhang as taught by Su for instance) is fixed on the lower support (in replacement of a fixing member as taught by Mease for instance), the upper support has upper support magnetic suction holes (holes as taught by Mease and having a fixing mechanism as taught by Su for instance) matched with the at least one support magnetic suction structure in shape and position (the fixing mechanism as disposed in holes as taught by Mease), and the at least one support magnetic suction structure (of Zhang as taught by Su for instance) penetrates through the upper support magnetic suction holes (through the holes as taught by Mease for instance) when the upper support and the lower support are combined (as taught by Mease), so as to use an art known technique (of using a support structure having multiple support portions as taught by Mease for instance) into the system of Zhang and predictably form a support structure for the mounting of the fan to other structures plus the added benefits of vibration reduction (see also Mease c. 3, l. 23-27).
Regarding the limitation “... wherein the at least one support magnetic suction structure is a convex-shaped sheet, and the support is a hollow rectangular structure;...” “... wherein the fan comprises a fan base and a fan surface cover, the at least one fan magnetic suction structure is a cylindrical structure fixed inside the fan surface cover, the fan base has fan base magnetic suction holes matched with the at least one fan magnetic suction structure in shape and position, and the at least one fan magnetic suction structure penetrates through the fan base magnetic suction holes when the fan base and the fan surface cover are combined ...”:
Zhang discloses the fan with a magnetic suction support, wherein the support is a hollow rectangular structure (Fig. 1, rectangular frame portion 32 with hollow portions 34 for instance).
Chang is related to magnetic suction portion for joining two structures (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein at least one support magnetic suction structure (Fig. 2, 15 or 25 for instance) is a convex-shaped sheet (see ¶ [0038 and thin form of 25 in figure 2 for instance); Chang also teaches wherein a fan (Fig. 4, 10 for instance) comprises a fan base (lower portion of 116 for instance) and a fan surface cover (upper portion of 116 for instance), at least one fan magnetic suction structures (141 or 142 for instance) is fixed inside the fan surface cover (in upper portion of 116 once the portions are assembled for instance), the fan base has fan base magnetic suction holes (15 or 16 for instance) matched with the fan magnetic suction structures (141 or 142 for instance) in shape and position, and the fan magnetic suction structures penetrate through the fan base magnetic suction holes when the fan base and the fan surface cover are combined (once portions of 116 are assembled for instance).
Su above, further teaches at least one fan magnetic suction structure (Fig. 2, 20 for instance) is a cylindrical structure (as seen) fixed inside a fan surface cover (inside 15 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Zhang wherein the at least one support magnetic suction structure (of Zhang) is a convex-shaped sheet (as taught by Chang), and the support is a hollow rectangular structure (of Zhang); wherein the fan (of Zhang) comprises a fan base and a fan surface cover (as taught by Chang), the at least one fan magnetic suction structure is a cylindrical structure fixed inside the fan surface cover (having a shape and fixed inside one portion of the fan as taught by Su for instance), the fan base has fan base magnetic suction holes matched with the at least one fan magnetic suction structure in shape and position (as taught by Chang), and the at least one fan magnetic suction structure penetrates through the fan base magnetic suction holes when the fan base and the fan surface cover are combined (as taught by Chang), so as to use an art known technique (of a mating fixing portion formed in a convex shape as taught by Chang) into the system of Zhang and predictably provide a mating configuration for the magnetic fixing portions, and so as to use and art known technique (of a fan formed of multiple portions or split configuration and incorporating magnetic fixing portions as taught by Chang) into the system of Zhang and predictably assemble the fan and provide the ability to mount to other structures.
In Reference to Claim 8
Zhang, as modified by Yeh, Su, Mease and Chang, discloses the fan with a magnetic suction support according to claim 1, wherein the support (Zhang, 30) is disposed with at least four support screw holes (Zhang, 40), the water-cooled row (Zhang, 10 and as modified by Yeh) is disposed with water-cooled row screw holes (Zhang, 18for instance) corresponding to the support screw holes (Zhang, 42), the support is arranged with support screws (Zhang, 102), and the support screws penetrate through the support screw holes and are fixed on the water-cooled row screw holes (Zhang, the securing of 30 to 10 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 12
Zhang, as modified by Yeh, Su, Mease and Chang, discloses the fan with a magnetic suction support according to claim 1, Chang teaches wherein structures are arranged with an electro-conductive interface (Fig. 9, between 110 and 210 for instance), a first structure is arranged with at least one support electro-conductive contact (210 for instance), and a second structure is arranged with a fan electro-conductive contact (110 for instance) matched with at least one support electro-conductive contact (210).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Zhang wherein the support (of Zhang) is arranged with an electro-conductive interface (as taught by Chang), the support (of Zhang) is arranged with at least one support electro-conductive contact (as taught by Chang), and the fan (of Zhang) is arranged with a fan electro-conductive contact matched with the support electro-conductive contact (matching connections as taught by Chang), so as to use an art known technique (of using electro-conductive interface between connecting structures as taught by Chang) into the system of Zhang and predictably provide power through the assembled system of the fan and support structure.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6,722,418 to Zhang (Zhang) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2009/0044929 to Yeh et al. (Yeh) and in view of US Patent Application Publication 2007/0248460 to Su (Su) in view of US Patent 6,638,016 to Mease et al. (Mease) and in view of US Patent Application Publication 2022/0381253 to Chang et al. (Chang) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent 7,606,028 to Liu (Liu).
In Reference to Claim 13
Zhang, as modified by Yeh, Su, Mease and Chang, discloses the fan with a magnetic suction support according to claim 1, except, “... wherein the support is arranged with integrally formed L-shaped support fasteners, and the fan is disposed with fan fastener holes matched with the support fasteners ....”
Liu is related to the mounting of a fan in a cooling system (Fig. 1), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein a support (Fig. 2, 20 for instance) is arranged with integrally formed L-shaped support fasteners (224 for instance), and a fan (30 for instance) is disposed with fan fastener holes (open portion of 32 for instance) matched with the support fasteners (see assembly in figure 1 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Zhang wherein the support (of Zhang) is arranged with integrally formed L-shaped support fasteners (as taught by Liu), and the fan (of Zhang) is disposed with fan fastener holes matched with the support fasteners (as taught by Liu), so as to use an art known technique (of the securement of a fan within an assembly as taught by Liu) into the system of Zhang and predictably provide a redundant attachment for the fan of Zhang to the support structure of Zhang.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, as cited in the Notice of References Cited, are cited to show magnetic fixing structures in cooling systems, and mounting structures for fan cooling systems.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WAYNE A LAMBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745