DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This is a non-final rejection in response to the communication filed 12/29/2025, claims 1-13 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the support (2) is arranged with the same number of support magnetic suction structures (21)" in line 5-6. It is unclear how this relates to the number in the limitation of the “at least one fan magnetic suction structure (11)”. It appears the prior limitation should read --the support (2) is arranged with the same number of at least one support magnetic suction structures (21)-- so as to be consistent with other limitations in the claim.
Further limitations in claim 1 including “the fan magnetic suction structure (11)” (two instances) and “the support magnetic suction structure (21)” should also be consistent with other claim limitations and read --the at least one fan magnetic suction structure (11)-- and --the at least one support magnetic suction structure (21)--.
Claim 2, in relation to claim 1, recites the limitations of “the fan magnetic suction structure (11)” and “the support magnetic suction structure (21).” It appears these limitations should read --the at least one fan magnetic suction structure (11)-- and --the at least one support magnetic suction structure (21)--.
Claim 3, in relation to claim 1, recites the limitations of “the fan magnetic suction structure (11)” and “the support magnetic suction structure (21).” It appears these limitations should read --the at least one fan magnetic suction structure (11)-- and --the at least one support magnetic suction structure (21)--.
Claim 4, in relation to claim 1, recites the limitations of “the support magnetic suction structure (21)” (three instances) and it appears they should read --the at least one support magnetic suction structure (21)--.
Also, claim 4 recites the limitation "the upper support magnetic suction hole (24)" in line 6-7. It is unclear if reference is being made to the “upper support magnetic suction holes (24)” (plural) earlier in the claim. It appears the limitation should read --the upper support magnetic suction holes (24)--.
Claim 5, in relation to claim 1, recites the limitations of “the support magnetic suction structure (21)” (three instances) and it appears they should read --the at least one support magnetic suction structure (21)--.
Also, claim 5 recites the limitation "the upper support magnetic suction hole (24)" in line 6-7. It is unclear if reference is being made to the “upper support magnetic suction holes (24)” (plural) earlier in the claim. It appears the limitation should read --the upper support magnetic suction holes (24)--.
Claim 6, in relation to claim 1, the limitation of “the support magnetic suction structure (21)” should read --the at least one support magnetic suction structure (21)--.
Claim 7, in relation to claim 1, the limitation of “the support magnetic suction structure (21)” should read --the at least one support magnetic suction structure (21)--.
Claim 10, in relation to claim 1, the limitations of “the fan magnetic suction structure (11)” (three instances) should read --the at least one fan magnetic suction structure (11)--.
Claim 11, in relation to claim 1, the limitations of “the fan magnetic suction structure (11)” (three instances) should read --the at least one fan magnetic suction structure (11)--.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the support electro-conductive contact (28)" in line 4-5. It is unclear if reference is being made to the “at least one support electro-conductive contact (28)” earlier in the claim. It appears the limitation should read --the at least one support electro-conductive contact (28)--.
Claims 2-13 are indefinite based on their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6,722,418 to Zhang in view of US Patent Application Publication 2009/0044929 to Yeh et al. (Yeh) and in view of US Patent Application Publication 2007/0248460 to Su (Su).
In Reference to Claim 1
Zhang discloses a fan with a magnetic suction support, comprising
at least one fan (Fig. 1, 60 for instance), a support (30 for instance) and a heat dissipating device (10 for instance),
wherein the support (30) is fixedly connected above the heat dissipating device (10, and via 102 for instance), the fan (60) is movably connected above the support (30, and removable via screws 100 for instance).
Zhang does not teach “... a water-cooled row ...” or “... the fan is arranged with at least one fan magnetic suction structure, the support is arranged with the same number of support magnetic suction structures matched with the fan magnetic suction structure, and a position of the support magnetic suction structure corresponds to that of the fan magnetic suction structure ....”
Regarding the limitation “... a water-cooled row ...”: Yeh is related to cooling system including a fan (Fig. 2, 20 for instance) and heat dissipating device (10 for instance), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein the heat dissipating device is a water cooled row (a liquid cooling module for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Zhang wherein the heat dissipating device is a water-cooled row (as taught by Yeh), such that the support (of Zhang) is fixedly connected above the water-cooled row (as taught by Yeh), so as to use an art known technique (of using liquid cooling in a cooling system as taught by Yeh), into the system of Zhang and predictably provide heat dissipation for the cooling system.
Regarding the limitations “... the fan is arranged with at least one fan magnetic suction structure, the support is arranged with the same number of support magnetic suction structures matched with the fan magnetic suction structure, and a position of the support magnetic suction structure corresponds to that of the fan magnetic suction structure ...”: Su is related to a mounting system for a fan (Fig. 2, 10 for instance) in a cooling system (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches the fan is arranged with at least one fan magnetic suction structure (Fig. 2, 20 for instance or Fig. 11, corners 14 of fan 10 for instance), a support (Fig. 11, 31’ for instance) is arranged with the same number of support magnetic suction structures matched with the fan magnetic suction structure (20 for instance and matching the corners of a fan 10 for instance), and a position of the support magnetic suction structure corresponds to that of the fan magnetic suction structure (20 for instance and matching the corners of a fan 10 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Zhang wherein the fan is arranged with at least one fan magnetic suction structure (as taught by Su), the support (of Zhang) is arranged with the same number of support magnetic suction structures matched with the fan magnetic suction structure (such as the mounting of a fan to a frame as taught by Su), and a position of the support magnetic suction structure corresponds to that of the fan magnetic suction structure (as taught by Su), so as to use an art known technique (of the mounting of a fan using a magnetic system as taught by Su) into the system of Zhang (as a replacement for mounting screws for instance) and predictably mount the fan in the cooling system.
In Reference to Claim 2
Zhang, as modified by Yeh and Su, discloses the fan with a magnetic suction support according to claim 1, wherein the fan magnetic suction structure is a magnet (a permanent magnet as taught by Su for instance, see ¶ [0029]), and the support magnetic suction structure is a strong magnetic material (a material such as iron as taught by Su for instance, see ¶ [0030]).
In Reference to Claim 3
Zhang, as modified by Yeh and Su, discloses the fan with a magnetic suction support according to claim 1, wherein the fan magnetic suction structure is a strong magnetic material (a material such as iron as taught by Su for instance, see ¶ [0041]), and the support magnetic suction structure is a magnet (a permanent magnet as taught by Su for instance, see ¶ [0040]).
In Reference to Claim 8
Zhang, as modified by Yeh and Su, discloses the fan with a magnetic suction support according to claim 6, wherein the support (Zhang, 30) is disposed with at least four support screw holes (Zhang, 40), the water-cooled row (Zhang, 10 and as modified by Yeh) is disposed with water-cooled row screw holes (Zhang, 18 for instance) corresponding to the support screw holes (Zhang, 42), the support is arranged with support screws (Zhang, 102), and the support screws penetrate through the support screw holes and are fixed on the water-cooled row screw holes (Zhang, the securing of 30 to 10 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 9
Zhang, as modified by Yeh and Su, discloses the fan with a magnetic suction support according to claim 7, wherein the support (Zhang, 30) is disposed with at least four support screw holes (Zhang, 40), the water-cooled row (Zhang, 10 and as modified by Yeh) is disposed with water-cooled row screw holes (Zhang, 18 for instance) corresponding to the support screw holes (Zhang, 42), the support is arranged with support screws (Zhang, 102), and the support screws penetrate through the support screw holes (26) and are fixed on the water-cooled row screw holes (Zhang, the securing of 30 to 10 for instance).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6,722,418 to Zhang in view of US Patent Application Publication 2009/0044929 to Yeh et al. (Yeh) and in view of US Patent Application Publication 2007/0248460 to Su (Su) as applied to claims 2 and 3 above, and further in view of US Patent 6,638,016 to Mease et al. (Mease).
In Reference to Claim 4
Zhang, as modified by Yeh and Su, discloses the fan with a magnetic suction support according to claim 2, except, “... wherein the support is formed by combining an upper support and a lower support, the support magnetic suction structure is fixed on the lower support, the upper support has upper support magnetic suction holes matched with the support magnetic suction structures in shape and position, and the support magnetic suction structure penetrates through the upper support magnetic suction hole when the upper support and the lower support are combined ....”
Mease is related to a mounting assembly for cooling system, as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein a support (a mounting system as seen in figure 2 for instance) is formed by combining an upper support (20A for instance) and a lower support (14A for instance), a fixing structure (28 for instance, see also figure 4) is fixed on the lower support (14A), the upper support (20A) has upper support holes (in 20A for instance, see figure 4B) matched with the fixing structures (28) in shape and position, and the fixing structure (28) penetrates through the upper support hole (of 20A) when the upper support (20A) and the lower support (14A) are combined (see figure 4B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Zhang wherein the support (of Zhang) is formed by combining an upper support and a lower support (the support to include two portions as taught by Mease), the support magnetic suction structure (as taught by Su for instance) is fixed on the lower support (in replacement of a fixing member as taught by Mease for instance), the upper support has upper support magnetic suction holes (holes as taught by Mease and having a fixing structure as taught by Su for instance) matched with the support magnetic suction structures in shape and position (the fixing structures as disposed in holes as taught by Mease), and the support magnetic suction structure (as taught by Su for instance) penetrates through the upper support magnetic suction hole (through the holes as taught by Mease for instance) when the upper support and the lower support are combined (as taught by Mease), so as to use an art known technique (of using a support structure having multiple support portions as taught by Mease for instance) into the system of Zhang and predictably form a support structure for the mounting of the fan to other structures plus the added benefits of vibration reduction (see also Mease col 3, ll 23-27).
In Reference to Claim 5
Zhang, as modified by Yeh and Su, discloses the fan with a magnetic suction support according to claim 3, except, “... wherein the support is formed by combining an upper support and a lower support, the support magnetic suction structure is fixed on the lower support, the upper support has upper support magnetic suction holes matched with the support magnetic suction structures in shape and position, and the support magnetic suction structure penetrates through the upper support magnetic suction hole when the upper support and the lower support are combined ....”
Mease is related to a mounting assembly for cooling system, as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein a support (a mounting system as seen in figure 2 for instance) is formed by combining an upper support (20A for instance) and a lower support (14A for instance), a fixing structure (28 for instance, see also figure 4) is fixed on the lower support (14A), the upper support (20A) has upper support holes (in 20A for instance, see figure 4B) matched with the fixing structures (28) in shape and position, and the fixing structure (28) penetrates through the upper support hole (of 20A) when the upper support (20A) and the lower support (14A) are combined (see figure 4B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Zhang wherein the support (of Zhang) is formed by combining an upper support and a lower support (the support to include two portions as taught by Mease), the support magnetic suction structure (as taught by Su for instance) is fixed on the lower support (in replacement of a fixing member as taught by Mease for instance), the upper support has upper support magnetic suction holes (holes as taught by Mease and having a fixing structure as taught by Su for instance) matched with the support magnetic suction structures in shape and position (the fixing structures as disposed in holes as taught by Mease), and the support magnetic suction structure (as taught by Su for instance) penetrates through the upper support magnetic suction hole (through the holes as taught by Mease for instance) when the upper support and the lower support are combined (as taught by Mease), so as to use an art known technique (of using a support structure having multiple support portions as taught by Mease for instance) into the system of Zhang and predictably form a support structure for the mounting of the fan to other structures plus the added benefits of vibration reduction (see also Mease col 3, ll 23-27).
Claim(s) 6-7 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6,722,418 to Zhang in view of US Patent Application Publication 2009/0044929 to Yeh et al. (Yeh) and in view of US Patent Application Publication 2007/0248460 to Su (Su) as applied to claims 1-5 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication 2022/0381253 to Chang et al. (Chang).
In Reference to Claim 6
Zhang, as modified by Yeh and Su, discloses the fan with a magnetic suction support according to claim 4, wherein the support is a hollow rectangular structure (Zhang Fig. 1, rectangular frame portion 32 with hollow portions 34 for instance), except, “... wherein the support magnetic suction structure is a convex-shaped sheet ....”
Chang is related to magnetic suction portion for joining two structures (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein a support magnetic suction structure (Fig. 2, 15 or 25 for instance) is a convex-shaped sheet (see ¶ [0038 and thin form of 25 in figure 2 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Zhang wherein the support magnetic suction structure (of Zhang) is a convex-shaped sheet (as taught by Chang), so as to use an art known technique (of a mating fixing portion formed in a convex shape as taught by Chang) into the system of Zhang and predictably provide a mating configuration for the magnetic fixing portions.
In Reference to Claim 7
Zhang, as modified by Yeh and Su, discloses the fan with a magnetic suction support according to claim 5, wherein the support (2) is a hollow rectangular structure (Zhang Fig. 1, rectangular frame portion 32 with hollow portions 34 for instance), except, “... wherein the support magnetic suction structure is a convex-shaped sheet ....”
Chang is related to magnetic suction portion for joining two structures (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein a support magnetic suction structure (Fig. 2, 15 or 25 for instance) is a convex-shaped sheet (see ¶ [0038 and thin form of 25 in figure 2 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Zhang wherein the support magnetic suction structure (of Zhang) is a convex-shaped sheet (as taught by Chang), so as to use an art known technique (of a mating fixing portion formed in a convex shape as taught by Chang) into the system of Zhang and predictably provide a mating configuration for the magnetic fixing portions.
In Reference to Claim 10
Zhang, as modified by Yeh and Su, discloses the fan with a magnetic suction support according to claim 2, except, “... wherein the fan comprises a fan base and a fan surface cover, the fan magnetic suction structures are fixed on the fan surface cover, the fan base has fan base magnetic suction holes matched with the fan magnetic suction structures in shape and position, and the fan magnetic suction structures penetrate through the fan base magnetic suction holes when the fan base and the fan surface cover are combined ....”
Chang is related to magnetic suction portion for joining two structures (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein a fan (Fig. 4, 10 for instance) comprises a fan base (lower portion of 116 for instance) and a fan surface cover (upper portion of 116 for instance), a fan magnetic suction structures (141 or 142 for instance) are fixed on the fan surface cover (in upper portion of 116 once the portions are assembled for instance), the fan base has fan base magnetic suction holes (15 or 16 for instance) matched with the fan magnetic suction structures (141 or 142 for instance) in shape and position, and the fan magnetic suction structures penetrate through the fan base magnetic suction holes when the fan base and the fan surface cover are combined (once portions of 116 are assembled for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Zhang wherein the fan (of Zhang) comprises a fan base and a fan surface cover (as taught by Chag), with fan magnetic suction structures (as taught by Chang) fixed on the fan surface cover (as taught by Chang), the fan base has fan base magnetic suction holes (14) matched with the fan magnetic suction structures (as taught by Chang) in shape and position, and the fan magnetic suction structures penetrate through the fan base magnetic suction holes when the fan base and the fan surface cover are combined (as taught by Chang), so as to use and art known technique (of a fan formed of multiple portions and incorporating magnetic fixing portions as taught by Chang) into the system of Zhang and predictably assemble the fan and provide mounting to other structures.
In Reference to Claim 11
Zhang, as modified by Yeh and Su, discloses the fan with a magnetic suction support according to claim 3, except, “... wherein the fan comprises a fan base and a fan surface cover, the fan magnetic suction structures are fixed on the fan surface cover, the fan base has fan base magnetic suction holes matched with the fan magnetic suction structures in shape and position, and the fan magnetic suction structures penetrate through the fan base magnetic suction holes when the fan base and the fan surface cover are combined ....”
Chang is related to magnetic suction portion for joining two structures (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein a fan (Fig. 4, 10 for instance) comprises a fan base (lower portion of 116 for instance) and a fan surface cover (upper portion of 116 for instance), a fan magnetic suction structures (141 or 142 for instance) are fixed on the fan surface cover (in upper portion of 116 once the portions are assembled for instance), the fan base has fan base magnetic suction holes (15 or 16 for instance) matched with the fan magnetic suction structures (141 or 142 for instance) in shape and position, and the fan magnetic suction structures penetrate through the fan base magnetic suction holes when the fan base and the fan surface cover are combined (once portions of 116 are assembled for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Zhang wherein the fan (of Zhang) comprises a fan base and a fan surface cover (as taught by Chag), with fan magnetic suction structures (as taught by Chang) fixed on the fan surface cover (as taught by Chang), the fan base has fan base magnetic suction holes (14) matched with the fan magnetic suction structures (as taught by Chang) in shape and position, and the fan magnetic suction structures penetrate through the fan base magnetic suction holes when the fan base and the fan surface cover are combined (as taught by Chang), so as to use and art known technique (of a fan formed of multiple portions and incorporating magnetic fixing portions as taught by Chang) into the system of Zhang and predictably assemble the fan and provide mounting to other structures.
In Reference to Claim 12
Zhang, as modified by Yeh and Su, discloses the fan with a magnetic suction support according to claim 1, except, “... wherein the support is arranged with an electro-conductive interface, the support is arranged with at least one support electro-conductive contact, and the fan is arranged with a fan electro-conductive contact matched with the support electro-conductive contact ....”
Chang is related to magnetic suction portion for joining two structures (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein structures are arranged with an electro-conductive interface (Fig. 9, between 110 and 210 for instance), a first structure is arranged with at least one support electro-conductive contact (210 for instance), and a second structure is arranged with a fan electro-conductive contact (110 for instance) matched with the support electro-conductive contact (210).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Zhang wherein the support (of Zhang) is arranged with an electro-conductive interface (as taught by Chang), the support (of Zhang) is arranged with at least one support electro-conductive contact (as taught by Chang), and the fan (of Zhang) is arranged with a fan electro-conductive contact matched with the support electro-conductive contact (matching connections as taught by Chang), so as to use an art known technique (of using electro-conductive interface between connecting structures as taught by Chang) into the system of Zhang and predictably provide power through the assembled system of the fan and support structure.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6,722,418 to Zhang in view of US Patent Application Publication 2009/0044929 to Yeh et al. (Yeh) and in view of US Patent Application Publication 2007/0248460 to Su (Su) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent 7,606,028 to Liu (Liu).
In Reference to Claim 13
Zhang, as modified by Yeh and Su, discloses the fan with a magnetic suction support according to claim 1, except, “... wherein the support is arranged with integrally formed L-shaped support fasteners, and the fan is disposed with fan fastener holes matched with the support fasteners ....”
Liu is related to the mounting of a fan in a cooling system (Fig. 1), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein a support (Fig. 2, 20 for instance) is arranged with integrally formed L-shaped support fasteners (224 for instance), and a fan (30 for instance) is disposed with fan fastener holes (open portion of 32 for instance) matched with the support fasteners (see assembly in figure 1 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Zhang wherein the support (of Zhang) is arranged with integrally formed L-shaped support fasteners (as taught by Liu), and the fan (of Zhang) is disposed with fan fastener holes matched with the support fasteners (as taught by Liu), so as to use an art known technique (of the securement of a fan within an assembly as taught by Liu) into the system of Zhang and predictably provide a redundant attachment for the fan of Zhang to the support structure of Zhang.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, as cited in the Notice of References Cited, are cited to show magnetic fixing structures in cooling systems, and mounting structures for fan cooling systems.
Conclusion
/WAYNE A LAMBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745