DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s amendments were received on 10/28/25. Claims 1 has been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata (EP2116372) in view of OTSUKA ET AL. (KR 10-2016-0033692) in further view of KO ET AL. (KR 10-2017-0129645), on claims 1-12 are amended in view of the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata (EP2116372) in view of OTSUKA ET AL. (KR 10-2016-0033692) in further view of KO ET AL. (KR 10-2017-0129645).
Regarding claims 1-4, the Murata et al. reference discloses a rechargeable battery comprising a separator between a positive electrode (P108) and a negative electrode (P109-P116). The positive electrode comprises a positive active electrode material comprising lithium cobalt oxide and the separator (multilayer porous membrane) comprises a polyolefin resin porous membrane (Applicant’s claimed porous substrate with a sing layer) and a porous layer (also appears to be referred to as the multilayer or porous multilayer by Murata; Applicant’s claimed coating layer) on the surfaces of the polyolefin resin porous membrane (P14). The positive electrode surface face the porous membrane (P111). The porous substrate essentially consists of polyolefin (50% or more of polyolefin; P18-20) and the thickness of the porous substrate can be about 5 micron to about 12.5 micron and a heat shrinkage rate in the transverse direction of the separator is less than about 5% (Table 1). Specifically, the Murata reference discloses the multilayer porous membrane has a film thickness (total layer thickness) of preferably 7 microns (P89) for sufficiently securing the mechanical strength and a porous layer (also disclosed by Murata reference as multilayer; claimed coating layer) thickness comprises 0.5 or 2 microns for permeability and to achieving higher capacity of a battery (P76). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed value through process optimization, since it has been held that the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable values involve only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). As a result, the polyolefin resin porous membrane is within the range of 5-12.5 microns.
In addition, The Murata et al. reference teaches the porous layer to comprise an inorganic component with a binder. The Murata et al. reference teaches a broad teaching of the binder to be a methacrylic copolymer (P38) but is silent in disclosing the binder layer further comprises a first structural unit derived from methacrylamide, a second structural unit derived from methacrylonitrile and a third structural unit derived from methacrylamido sulfonic acid. However, OTSUKA ET AL. reference discloses a separator for a lithium-ion battery cell, the separator comprising (i) a polypropylene porous film and (ii) a protective film coated on the polypropylene porous film (P256 and P338). The protective film (similar to the disclosed porous layer taught by the Murata reference) comprises fillers of alumina, silica, zirconia and a binder (Otsuka et al. 2.2-2.2.1). The binder of the protective film comprises a polymer comprising (meth) acrylamide-derived repeating units and repeating units derived from α,β-unsaturated nitrile compound (e.g., methacrylonitrile; see P80-P86, P98-P100), the proportions of the (meth)acrylamide-derived repeating units is 50-85 parts by mass (P82), and the proportion of the repeating units derived from α,β-unsaturated nitrile compound is 0-30 parts by mass (P99-P100). OTSUKA ET AL. also discloses that the weight average molecular weight (Mw) of the water soluble polymer is 300,000 to 6,000,000 (P115). The protective film with the binder is to bind the inorganic components in that layer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the binder to bind the fillers comprising a polymer comprising (meth) acrylamide-derived repeating units and repeating units derived from α,β-unsaturated nitrile compound (e.g., methacrylonitrile; see P80-P86, P98-P100), the proportions of the (meth)acrylamide-derived repeating units is 50-85 parts by mass (P82), and the proportion of the repeating units derived from α,β-unsaturated nitrile compound is 0-30 parts by mass (P99-P100). OTSUKA ET AL. also discloses that the weight average molecular weight (Mw) of the water soluble polymer is 300,000 to 6,000,000 (P115) disclosed by the Otsuka et al. reference for the broad teachings of the methacrylic copolymer binder that binds the same oxide particles (Otsuka et al. reference discloses silica, alumina, zirconia) taught in the Murata et al. reference to effectively bind these oxide particles and to increase battery protection.
The Murata et al. in view of OTSUKA ET AL. reference (herein referred to as the modified Murata et al. reference) is silent in specifying the acrylic copolymer further comprises a third structural unit derived from (meth)acrylamidosulfonic acid, a (meth)acrylamidosulfonate, or a combination thereof and a content of each structural unit is numerically limited by mol%. However, KO ET AL. discloses 0.1-20 mol% of sulfonate-containing unit (e.g., 2-acrylamido-2-methylpropane sulfonic acid) with respect to the total amount of an acrylic heat-resistant binder, the adhesion, heat resistance, air permeability, and oxidation resistance of a separator are enhanced (claim 1 and P60-P63). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate 0.1-20 mol% of sulfonate-containing unit (e.g., 2-acrylamido-2-methylpropane sulfonic acid) with respect to the total amount of polymer since choosing the instantly claimed value through process optimization, since it has been held that the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable values involve only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding the range of 0.1-20 mol% for the third structural unit, the proportions of the (meth)acrylamide-derived repeating units is 50-85 parts by mass, α,β-unsaturated nitrile compound is 0-30 parts by mass, it is the Examiner’s position that the amounts in question are so close that it is a prima facie obvious that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 773
Regarding claim 5, the modified Murata et al. reference in view of KO ET AL. discloses that the first, second and third structural unit but does not specify the (meth)acrylonitrile is included in an amount of 10 to 15 mol% based on 100 mol% of the (meth)acrylic copolymer, (meth)acrylamido sulfonic acid, (meth)acrylamido sulfonic acid salt, or a combination thereof is included in an amount of 5 to 10 mol% based on 100 mol% of the (meth)acrylic copolymer, (meth)acrylamide is included in an amount of 80 mol% to 85 mol% based on 100 mol% of the (meth)acrylic copolymer. However, the KO ET AL. reference discloses different structural unit, the heat resistance, air permeability, and oxidation resistance of a separator are enhanced. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed value through process optimization, since it has been held that the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable values involve only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Murata et al. reference discloses the feature wherein the water-soluble polymer comprises repeating units derived from meth(acrylamide)
wherein R1 is a hydrogen atom or a methyl group and repeating units derived from α,β-unsaturated nitrile compound (e.g. methacrylonitrile
See (P80-P86, P98-100). This corresponds to the case where, in chemical formula I and II , x=y=0 and R2 is methyl. In addition, KO ET AL. discloses the feature wherein the acrylic binder comprises a sulfonate-containing unit represented by chemical formula 5-7 (claims 1-4). Chemical formula 5-7 corresponds to Chemical formula 3-5.
Regarding claim 7, the modified Murata et al. reference in view of the KO ET AL. reference is silent in disclosing a glass transition temperature of 150-180°C, however, such properties are inherent, given that both modified Murata et al. reference . in view of KO ET AL. and the present application utilize similar or the same materials. A reference which is silent about a claimed invention's features is inherently anticipatory if the missing feature is necessarily present in that which is described in the reference. In re Robertson, 49 USPQ2d 1949 (1999). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. MPEP2112.01 I
Regarding claim 8, modified Murata et al. reference in view of KO ET AL. is silent in specifying the (meth)acrylic copolymer is included in an amount of 1-5wt% based on a total amount of the coating layer, however, since the modified Murata et al. reference in view of KO ET AL. reference discloses the copolymers are for the heat resistance, air permeability, and oxidation resistance enhancement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed value through process optimization, since it has been held that the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable values involve only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 9 and 11, the modified Murata et al. reference discloses a slurry for forming the protective film comprises a filler of titanium oxide (P32).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Murata et al. reference in view of KO ET AL. discloses water-soluble polymer is included in an amount of 0.1-20 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of filler (P183). However, the KO ET AL. reference discloses different components enhances the heat resistance, air permeability, and oxidation resistance of a separator. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed value through process optimization, since it has been held that the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable values involve only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 12, the OTSUKA ET AL. reference discloses that thickness of the protective film to be 0.5-4microns (P205).
Double Patenting
The nonstatutory double patenting rejection as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Application No. 17/296528 in view of Murata (EP2116372) or Murata in view of 17/296528 are maintain. The rejections are repeated below for convenience.
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Application No. 17/296528 in view of Murata (EP2116372) or Murata in view of 17/296528
Regarding claims 1-5 and 12, the Murata et al. reference discloses a rechargeable battery comprising a separator between a positive electrode (P108) and a negative electrode (P109-P116). The positive electrode comprises a positive active electrode material comprising lithium cobalt oxide and the separator (multilayer porous membrane) comprises a polyolefin resin porous membrane (Applicant’s claimed porous substrate with a sing layer) and a porous layer (also appears to be referred to as the multilayer or porous multilayer by Murata; Applicant’s claimed coating layer) on the surfaces of the polyolefin resin porous membrane (P14). The positive electrode surface face the porous membrane (P111). The porous substrate essentially consists of polyolefin (50% or more of polyolefin; P18-20) and the thickness of the porous substrate can be about 5 micron to about 12.5 micron and a heat shrinkage rate in the transverse direction of the separator is less than about 5% (Table 1). Specifically, the Murata reference discloses the multilayer porous membrane has a film thickness (total layer thickness) of preferably 7 microns (P89) for sufficiently securing the mechanical strength and a porous layer (also disclosed by Murata reference as multilayer; claimed coating layer) thickness comprises 0.5 or 2 microns for permeability and to achieving higher capacity of a battery (P76). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed value through process optimization, since it has been held that the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable values involve only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). As a result, the polyolefin resin porous membrane is within the range of 5-12.5 microns.
In addition, The Murata et al. reference teaches the porous layer to comprise an inorganic component with a binder. The Murata et al. reference teaches a broad teaching of the binder to be a methacrylic copolymer (P38) but is silent in disclosing the binder layer further comprises a first structural unit derived from methacrylamide, a second structural unit derived from methacrylonitrile and a third structural unit derived from methacrylamido sulfonic acid. However, the 17296528 reference discloses a separator for a lithium secondary battery, comprising a porous substrate and a coating layer on at least one surface of the porous substrate wherein the coating layer comprises an (meth)acrylic copolymer including a first structural unit, a second structural unit, and a third structural unit, the first structural unit is derived from (meth)acrylamide, the second structural unit is derived from (meth)acrylonitrile, and the third structural unit is derived from (meth)acrylamido sulfonic acid, (meth)acrylamido sulfonic acid salt, or a combination thereof, the first structural unit is included in an amount of 80 mol% to 90 mol% based on 100 mol% of the (meth)acrylic copolymer, the second structural unit is included in an amount of 5 mol% to 15 mol% based on 100 mol% of the (meth)acrylic copolymer, and third structural unit (meth)acrylamide, the second structural unit is derived from (meth)acrylonitrile, and the third structural unit is derived from (meth)acrylamido sulfonic acid, (meth)acrylamido sulfonic acid salt, or a combination thereof, the first structural unit is included in an amount of 80 mol% to 90 mol% based on 100 mol% of the (meth)acrylic copolymer, the second structural unit is included in an amount of 5 mol% to 15 mol% based on 100 mol% of the (meth)acrylic copolymer, and third structural unit
Regarding claims 6-12, these claims are identical to claims 4-10
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/28/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant’s arguments are
“In the interest of advancing prosecution of the present application, and without acquiescing to the rejection, claim 1 is amended to recite, in part (emphasis added), "wherein the porous substrate is a single layer that essentially consists of polyolefin and the thickness of the porous substrate is about 5 pm
to 12.5 pm." Applicant submits that a "multilayer" as cited in the Office action does not read on the above recited features. Further, even though the Office states that "Applicant's specification teaches a range that would include those taught in the Examples of Murata,” claim 1 recites, in part, "the thickness of the porous substrate is about 5 pm to 12.5 pm."
However, the Murata et al. reference defines the separator to be the multilayer porous membrane to comprise the polyolefin resin porous membrane with a porous layer on the polyolefin resin porous membrane. The porous layer appears to be interchangeably disclosed as the multilayer by the Murata et al. reference. The Murata reference discloses the multilayer porous membrane has a film thickness (total layer thickness) of preferably 7 microns (P89) for sufficiently securing the mechanical strength and a porous layer (also disclosed by Murata reference as multilayer; Applicant’s claimed coating layer) thickness comprises 0.5 or 2 microns for permeability and to achieving higher capacity of a battery (P76). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed value through process optimization, since it has been held that the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable values involve only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). As a result, the polyolefin resin porous membrane is within the range of 5-12.5 microns. Furthermore, the Applicant’s specification discloses the claimed porous substrate can be 1-40 microns (Applicant’s Paragraph [0028] which is within range of the specific example in Table 1 of the Murata reference i.e. polyolefin resin porous membrane of 16 microns).
Conclusion
/Helen Oi K CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752