DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s submittal made on 06/25/2024. Claims 1-18 are pending.
Specification (Title)
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: “…such that”. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1, 4, 10, 14 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 7 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,647 and 647’ hereinafter. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to the following:
(18753922 (claims 1 and 15)) authenticate a first communication session with an EV through the charger cable; send, via the first communication session, encrypted EV charger access credentials to the EV; receive, via the first communication session, a digital token from the EV; verify the digital token; end the first communication session with the EV; after ending the first communication session with the EV, initiate a charging session based upon a command contained within the digital token such that power is provided to the EV via the charger cable; end the charging session; store, in the memory, charging session data for the charging session; authenticate a second communication session with the EV via the charger cable, wherein the second communication session is separate from the first communication session; and through the second communication session with the EV, transfer the charging session data to the EV, wherein the charging session data is forwarded to a server when an internet connection is available on the EV; maps to (647’ (claim 1)) authenticate the first mobile device via the low power short range point-to-point communication system in part by sending encrypted EV charger access credentials to the first mobile device, receive a first digital token from the first mobile device, wherein the first digital token is associated with a first user account, verify the first digital token, initiate a first charging session based upon a command contained within the first digital token, end the first charging session, and store, in the memory, first charging session data for the first charging session, wherein the first digital token is encrypted using a public key and is self-authenticating without use of an internet connection; and authenticate a second mobile device via the low power short range point-to-point communication system, receive a second digital token from the second mobile device, wherein the second digital token is associated with a second user account, verify the second digital token, cause the storing the first charging session data on the second mobile device for forwarding, initiate a second charging session, end the second charging session, store, in the memory, second charging session data for the second charging session, wherein the internet connection is not available to the second mobile device when the first charging session data is received by the second mobile device, and use the authentication application on the second mobile device to send the first charging session data to a server system via an internet connection of the second mobile device when the internet connection becomes available on the second mobile device.
(18753922 (claims 4, 10 and 14)) 4. The EV charger of claim 3, wherein the encrypted EV charger access credentials comprise charger ID, time of day, and session time. 10. The EV charger of claim 1, wherein the digital token is bound to a specific time period, 14. The EV charger of claim 13, wherein: the EV charger further comprises a locking mechanism, and the processor is further configured by the authentication software application to release the locking mechanism upon ending the charging session; maps to (647’ (claims 4, 7 and 10)) 4. The system of claim 1, wherein the EV charger access credentials comprise charger ID, time of day, and session time; 7. The system of claim 1, wherein the first digital token is bound to a specific time period; 10. The system of claim 9, wherein: the EV charger further comprises a locking mechanism, and the processor is further configured by the authentication software application to release the locking mechanism upon ending the first charging session.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the mobile device" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the mobile device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the mobile device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the mobile device authentication software application" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the mobile device authentication software application" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the mobile device processor" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISHIBASHI (US Patent Publication No. 2011/0144844) in view of Solomon et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2021/0036522 and Solomon hereinafter).
As to claim 1, ISHIBASHI teaches a electric vehicle (EV) charger, comprising:
a power management unit (see figure 1 of ISHIBASHI);
a processor (see figure 1 of ISHIBASHI);
a charger cable (i.e., …teaches in par. 0074 the following: “The charging apparatus 40 is means for supplying power to the electric vehicle 50 connected to a plug.”);
and a memory containing an authentication software application (i.e., …teaches in par. 0022 the following: “an authentication processing unit”);
wherein the processor is configured by the authentication software application to (i.e., …teaches in par. 0022 the following: “an authentication processing unit that performs, after authentication information for performing authentication processing with the electric vehicle”):
authenticate a first communication session with an EV through the charger cable (i.e., …teaches in par. 0074 the following: “the charging apparatus 40 can transmit information to the electric vehicle 50 connected to the plug or receive information from the electric vehicle 50 connected to the plug”);
send, via the first communication session, encrypted EV charger access credentials to the EV (i.e., …teaches in par. 0122 the following: “when a random number, a ciphertext, and identification information are input from the management apparatus 60 via the communication unit 402, the control unit 404 performs mutual authentication with the electric vehicle 50 by using the random number, the ciphertext, and the identification information”);
receive, via the first communication session, a digital token from the EV (i.e. …teaches in par. 0123 the following: “When the communication path to the electric vehicle 50 is established, the input/output unit 406 receives a public key certificate (hereinafter, a vehicle certificate) transmitted by the electric vehicle 50 and used for authentication processing.”);
verify the digital token (i.e. …teaches in par. 0124 the following: “If verification of the vehicle certificate by the taxing server 20 is successful and verification of the server certificate by the electric vehicle 50 is successful”);
end the first communication session with the EV (i.e., …teaches in par. 0084 the following: “When the electric vehicle 50 and the charging apparatus 40 are connected by a plug (Step 1), the charging apparatus 40 detects the electric vehicle 50 by using the identification information input from the management apparatus 60. When detection of the electric vehicle 50 succeeds, the charging apparatus 40 performs authentication processing as appropriate. The charging apparatus 40 that succeeded in the detection and the authentication processing establishes a communication path between the charging apparatus 40 and the electric vehicle 50 and a communication path between the charging apparatus 40 and the taxing server 20 via the management apparatus 60 (Step 2).”);
after ending the first communication session with the EV (i.e., …teaches in par. 0084 the following: “When the electric vehicle 50 and the charging apparatus 40 are connected by a plug (Step 1), the charging apparatus 40 detects the electric vehicle 50 by using the identification information input from the management apparatus 60. When detection of the electric vehicle 50 succeeds, the charging apparatus 40 performs authentication processing as appropriate. The charging apparatus 40 that succeeded in the detection and the authentication processing establishes a communication path between the charging apparatus 40 and the electric vehicle 50 and a communication path between the charging apparatus 40 and the taxing server 20 via the management apparatus 60 (Step 2).”),
initiate a charging session based upon a command contained within the digital token such that power is provided to the EV via the charger cable (i.e., …teaches in par. 0124 the following: “If verification of the vehicle certificate by the taxing server 20 is successful and verification of the server certificate by the electric vehicle 50 is successful, the control unit 404 supplies power input from the power supply unit 408 to the electric vehicle 50 via the input/output unit 406.”);
end the charging session (i.e., …teaches in par. 0125 the following: “When charging of the electric vehicle 50 is completed, the control unit 404 causes the power supply to the electric vehicle 50 to stop”);
store, in the memory, charging session data for the charging session (i.e., …teaches in par. 0125 the following: “the input/output unit 406 receives information about charged watt-hours transmitted by the electric vehicle 50. Then, the input/output unit 406 inputs the information about charged watt-hours received from the electric vehicle 50 to the control unit 404. The control unit 404 transmits the information about charged watt-hours input by the input/output unit 406 to the taxing server 20 via the communication unit 402.”);
authenticate a second communication session with the EV via the charger cable (i.e., …teaches in par. 0098 the following: “When charging of the batteries is completed, the electric vehicle 50 and the taxing server 20 start taxation processing (Step 5). Since authentication is successfully completed in Step 3, the taxing server 20 already correctly recognizes the owner (ID information (the above identification ID.sub.EV) of the electric vehicle 50 contained in the public key certificate C.sub.1) of the electric vehicle 50, and performs taxation processing with this owner as the taxable person.”),
wherein the second communication session is separate from the first communication session (i.e., …teaches in par. 0098 the following: “When charging of the batteries is completed, the electric vehicle 50 and the taxing server 20 start taxation processing (Step 5). The taxation process is a different session that occurs after the first session of charging the vehicle is complete”);
and through the second communication session with the EV, transfer the charging session data to the EV (i.e., …teaches in par. 0098 the following: “the electric vehicle 50 first transmits information about charged watt-hours to the taxing server 20 (notification of charged watt-hours). After receiving information about charged watt-hours from the electric vehicle 50, the taxing server 20 performs taxation processing based on the charged watt-hours. For example, the taxing server 20 calculates a tax amount in accordance with the charged watt-hours and records the calculated tax amount in association with the owner of the electric vehicle 50. When such taxation processing is completed, the taxing server 20 transmits information indicating completion of taxation processing to the electric vehicle 50 (notification of taxing completion). The electric vehicle 50 receives information indicating completion of taxation processing from the taxing server 20, and maintains a state where the taxation processing is complete (hereinafter, taxing complete state).” The examiner notes that the taxation information transmitted back to the vehicle including the charging session data in the calculations.).
The system of ISHIBAHSI:
wherein the charging session data is forwarded to a server when an internet connection is available on the EV.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference Solomon.
Solomon teaches in par. 0086 the following: “when a charging station or a DCU is in a local authorization mode (e.g., network connectivity with the server is interrupted), the charging station or DCU stores state data related to each charging session. When network connectivity is restored, the state data is transmitted to the server which then updates the profile associated with the identifier.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of ISHIBASHI with the teachings of Solomon by having their system comprises an enhanced data management process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to provide a secure data transferring process, wherein the enhanced data management process helps facilitate data security and will make it easier to store charging session data.
As to claim 2, the system of ISHIBASHI and Solomon as applied to claim 1 above teaches EV charging, specifically ISHIBASHI teaches the EV charger of claim 1, wherein the memory further contains a digital certificate comprising cryptographic information (i.e. …teaches in par. 0139 the following: “The storage unit 508 is means for holding information such as secret keys, public keys, and public key certificates.”).
As to claim 3, the system of ISHIBASHI and Solomon as applied to claim 2 above teaches EV charging, specifically ISHIBASHI teaches the EV charger of claim 2, wherein the authentication request from the mobile device contains an encrypted challenge (i.e., …teaches in par. 0085 the following: “in a case of performing mutual authentication between the charging apparatus 40 and the electric vehicle 50, the management apparatus 60 acquires the identification information of the electric vehicle 50, the random number and the ciphertext from the security token 80 by using the management terminal 62 and the reader/writer 70 and inputs the same to the charging apparatus 40. This random number is generated by the random number generator of the security token 80. Also, this ciphertext is the random number which has been encrypted by using the cipher generator based on the key information held by the security token 80. In this case, the charging apparatus 40 performs mutual authentication with the electric vehicle 50 by using the identification information, the random number and the ciphertext input from the management apparatus 60, and after succeeding in this mutual authentication”).
As to claim 5, the system of ISHIBASHI and Solomon as applied to claim 2 above teaches EV charging, specifically ISHIBASHI teaches the EV charger of claim 2, wherein verifying the digital token is performed by decrypting the digital token using cryptographic information contained within the digital certificate (i.e. …teaches in par. 0175 the following: “charging apparatus 40 decrypts the ciphertext E.sub.EV received from the electric vehicle 50 (S162).”).
As to claim 6, the system of ISHIBASHI and Solomon as applied to claim 1 above teaches EV charging, specifically ISHIBASHI teaches the EV charger of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured by the authentication software application to collect charging session data (i.e., …teaches in par. 0125 the following: “the input/output unit 406 receives information about charged watt-hours transmitted by the electric vehicle 50. Then, the input/output unit 406 inputs the information about charged watt-hours received from the electric vehicle 50 to the control unit 404. The control unit 404 transmits the information about charged watt-hours input by the input/output unit 406 to the taxing server 20 via the communication unit 402.”).
As to claim 7, the system of ISHIBASHI and Solomon as applied to claim 6 above teaches EV charging, specifically ISHIBASHI teaches the EV charger of claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured by the authentication software application to send the charging session data to the mobile device via the charger cable (i.e., …teaches in par. 0192 the following: “the electric vehicle 50 acquires information m.sub.2 about charged watt-hours (S236). For example, the electric vehicle 50 monitors the amount of stored charges of the battery 504, and calculates charged watt-hours from a difference in the amount of stored charges before and after charging. Alternatively, the electric vehicle 50 makes an inquiry about charged watt-hours to the charging apparatus 40 to acquire the information m.sub.2 about charged watt-hours from the charging apparatus.”).
As to claim 8, the system of ISHIBASHI and Solomon as applied to claim 6 above teaches EV charging, specifically ISHIBASHI teaches the EV charger of claim 6, wherein the charging session data comprises duration of the charging session, energy used during the charging session, and a plug-in status (i.e., …teaches in par. 0125 the following: “the input/output unit 406 receives information about charged watt-hours transmitted by the electric vehicle 50. Then, the input/output unit 406 inputs the information about charged watt-hours received from the electric vehicle 50 to the control unit 404. The control unit 404 transmits the information about charged watt-hours input by the input/output unit 406 to the taxing server 20 via the communication unit 402.”).
As to claim 10, the system of ISHIBASHI and Solomon as applied to claim 1 above teaches EV charging, ISHIBASHI teaches the EV charger of claim 1, wherein the digital token is bound to a specific time period (i.e., …teaches in par. 0201 the following: “the expiration date of a public key certificate used for the above authentication processing is preferably set for a legal maintenance date of the electric vehicle 50.”).
As to claim 11, the system of ISHIBASHI and Solomon as applied to claim 1 above teaches EV charging, specifically ISHIBASHI teaches the EV charger of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured by the authentication software application to receive a communication from the mobile device via the charger cable (i.e. …illustrates in figure 3A, figure element 406 and 50 communication via the plug).
As to claim 12, the system of ISHIBASHI and Solomon as applied to claim 11 above teaches EV charging, specifically ISHIBASHI teaches the EV charger of claim 11, wherein the communication comprises an encrypted message to end the charging session (i.e. …teaches in par. 0117 the following: “a secure communication path based on the session key K is established between the electric vehicle 50 and the charging apparatus 40.”).
As to claim 13, the system of ISHIBASHI and Solomon as applied to claim 12 above teaches EV charging, specifically ISHIBASHI teaches the EV charger of claim 12, wherein the processor is further configured by the authentication software application to decrypt the second communication message and to end the charging session (i.e. …teaches in par. 0117 the following: “a secure communication path based on the session key K is established between the electric vehicle 50 and the charging apparatus 40.”).
As to claim 15, ISHIBASHI teaches a system for electric vehicle (EV) charging, the system comprising: an EV charger, wherein the EV charger comprises:
a power management unit (see figure 1 of ISHIBASHI);
a processor (see figure 1 of ISHIBASHI);
a charger cable (i.e., …teaches in par. 0074 the following: “The charging apparatus 40 is means for supplying power to the electric vehicle 50 connected to a plug.”);
and a memory containing an authentication software application (i.e., …teaches in par. 0022 the following: “an authentication processing unit that performs, after authentication information for performing authentication processing with the electric vehicle”);
wherein the processor is configured by the authentication software application to: authenticate a first communication session with an EV through the charger cable (i.e., …teaches in par. 0022 the following: “an authentication processing unit that performs, after authentication information for performing authentication processing with the electric vehicle” …teaches in par. 0074 the following: “The charging apparatus 40 is means for supplying power to the electric vehicle 50 connected to a plug.”);
send, via the first communication session, encrypted EV charger access credentials to the EV (i.e., …teaches in par. 0122 the following: “when a random number, a ciphertext, and identification information are input from the management apparatus 60 via the communication unit 402, the control unit 404 performs mutual authentication with the electric vehicle 50 by using the random number, the ciphertext, and the identification information”);
receive, via the first communication session, a digital token from the EV (i.e. …teaches in par. 0123 the following: “When the communication path to the electric vehicle 50 is established, the input/output unit 406 receives a public key certificate (hereinafter, a vehicle certificate) transmitted by the electric vehicle 50 and used for authentication processing.”);
verify the digital token (i.e. …teaches in par. 0124 the following: “If verification of the vehicle certificate by the taxing server 20 is successful and verification of the server certificate by the electric vehicle 50 is successful”);
end the first communication session with the EV (i.e., …teaches in par. 0084 the following: “When the electric vehicle 50 and the charging apparatus 40 are connected by a plug (Step 1), the charging apparatus 40 detects the electric vehicle 50 by using the identification information input from the management apparatus 60. When detection of the electric vehicle 50 succeeds, the charging apparatus 40 performs authentication processing as appropriate. The charging apparatus 40 that succeeded in the detection and the authentication processing establishes a communication path between the charging apparatus 40 and the electric vehicle 50 and a communication path between the charging apparatus 40 and the taxing server 20 via the management apparatus 60 (Step 2).”);
after ending the first communication session with the EV (i.e., …teaches in par. 0084 the following: “When the electric vehicle 50 and the charging apparatus 40 are connected by a plug (Step 1), the charging apparatus 40 detects the electric vehicle 50 by using the identification information input from the management apparatus 60. When detection of the electric vehicle 50 succeeds, the charging apparatus 40 performs authentication processing as appropriate. The charging apparatus 40 that succeeded in the detection and the authentication processing establishes a communication path between the charging apparatus 40 and the electric vehicle 50 and a communication path between the charging apparatus 40 and the taxing server 20 via the management apparatus 60 (Step 2).”),
initiate a charging session based upon a command contained within the digital token such that power is provided to the EV via the charger cable (i.e., …teaches in par. 0124 the following: “If verification of the vehicle certificate by the taxing server 20 is successful and verification of the server certificate by the electric vehicle 50 is successful, the control unit 404 supplies power input from the power supply unit 408 to the electric vehicle 50 via the input/output unit 406.”);
end the charging session (i.e., …teaches in par. 0125 the following: “When charging of the electric vehicle 50 is completed, the control unit 404 causes the power supply to the electric vehicle 50 to stop”);
store, in the memory, charging session data for the charging session (i.e., …teaches in par. 0125 the following: “the input/output unit 406 receives information about charged watt-hours transmitted by the electric vehicle 50. Then, the input/output unit 406 inputs the information about charged watt-hours received from the electric vehicle 50 to the control unit 404. The control unit 404 transmits the information about charged watt-hours input by the input/output unit 406 to the taxing server 20 via the communication unit 402.”);
authenticate a second communication session with the EV via the charger cable (i.e., …teaches in par. 0098 the following: “When charging of the batteries is completed, the electric vehicle 50 and the taxing server 20 start taxation processing (Step 5). Since authentication is successfully completed in Step 3, the taxing server 20 already correctly recognizes the owner (ID information (the above identification ID.sub.EV) of the electric vehicle 50 contained in the public key certificate C.sub.1) of the electric vehicle 50, and performs taxation processing with this owner as the taxable person.”),
wherein the second communication session is separate from the first communication session (i.e., …teaches in par. 0098 the following: “When charging of the batteries is completed, the electric vehicle 50 and the taxing server 20 start taxation processing (Step 5). The taxation process is a different session that occurs after the first session of charging the vehicle is complete…”);
and through the second communication session with the EV, transfer the charging session data to the EV (i.e., …teaches in par. 0098 the following: “the electric vehicle 50 first transmits information about charged watt-hours to the taxing server 20 (notification of charged watt-hours). After receiving information about charged watt-hours from the electric vehicle 50, the taxing server 20 performs taxation processing based on the charged watt-hours. For example, the taxing server 20 calculates a tax amount in accordance with the charged watt-hours and records the calculated tax amount in association with the owner of the electric vehicle 50. When such taxation processing is completed, the taxing server 20 transmits information indicating completion of taxation processing to the electric vehicle 50 (notification of taxing completion). The electric vehicle 50 receives information indicating completion of taxation processing from the taxing server 20, and maintains a state where the taxation processing is complete (hereinafter, taxing complete state).” The examiner notes that the taxation information transmitted back to the vehicle including the charging session data in the calculations.),
wherein the EV comprises an EV processor and an EV memory containing an EV authentication software application (i.e., …see figure 4 figure element 50 of ISHIBASHI);
wherein the EV processor is configured by the EV authentication software application to: send the authentication request to the EV charger via the charger cable (i.e., …teaches in par. 0188 the following: “After receiving the charging start request m.sub.1 and the digital signature .sigma..sub.2 from the electric vehicle 50,”);
receive the encrypted EV charger access credentials from the EV charger (i.e., …teaches in par. 0085 the following: “performing mutual authentication between the charging apparatus 40 and the electric vehicle 50”);
and send the digital token to the EV charger (i.e., …teaches in par. 0141 the following: “the control unit 506 transmits the vehicle certificate read from the storage unit 508 to the charging apparatus”).
ISHIBASHI does not expressly teach:
wherein the charging session data is forwarded to a server when an internet connection is available on the EV.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference Solomon.
Solomon teaches in par. 0086 the following: “when a charging station or a DCU is in a local authorization mode (e.g., network connectivity with the server is interrupted), the charging station or DCU stores state data related to each charging session. When network connectivity is restored, the state data is transmitted to the server which then updates the profile associated with the identifier.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of ISHIBASHI with the teachings of Solomon by having their system comprises an enhanced data management process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to provide a secure data transferring process, wherein the enhanced data management process helps facilitate data security and will make it easier to store charging session data.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISHIBASHI in view of Solomon as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Turner (US Patent Publication No. 2014/0067680).
As to claim 4, the system of ISHIBASHI and Solomon as applied to claim above teaches EV charging, specifically neither reference expressly teaches the EV charger of claim 3, wherein the encrypted EV charger access credentials comprise charger ID, time of day, and session time.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference Turner.
Turner teaches in par. 0046 the following: “The data embedded in the code can include one or more of a unique identification of the EVSE 670 (such as EVSE 240 in FIG. 2) that the user is using to charge their electric vehicle, the charging port that the user is using (if there is more than one charging port on the EVSE 670), the start date/time of the charging session (e.g., the date and time or substantially the date and time of when the charging session data was created, potentially within some acceptable level of accuracy (for instance, .+-.1 minute or less)), and other information that will be used by the back office server application 601 to properly determine the costs to bill the user for this charging session.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of ISHIBASHI and Solomon with the teachings of Turner by having their system comprises an enhanced charging station data report. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to provide comprehensive vehicle charging records, wherein the enhanced charging station data report helps facilitate better charging session records and will make it easier to identify charging stations.
Claim(s) 9 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISHIBASHI in view of Solomon as applied to claims 1 and 15 above and further in view of Partovi (US Patent Publication No. 2019/0020210).
As to claims 9 and 16, the system of ISHIBASHI and Solomon as applied to claim 8 above teaches EV charging, specifically neither reference expressly teaches the EV charger of claim 8, wherein the charging session data further comprises a status of the EV charger, diagnostics data, temperature data and humidity data.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference Partovi.
Partovi teaches in par. 0077 the following: “the communicated information can be the output voltage, current, power, device or battery status, validation ID for receiver, end of charge or various charge status information, receiver battery, device, or coil temperature, and/or user data such as information about the user, verification of ability to account and charge a customer for a charging/power service, etc or provide true data communication that can be used to perform system or firmware updates, diagnostics, etc”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of ISHIBASHI and Solomon with the teachings of Partovi by having their system comprises an enhanced data provisioning. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to provide comprehensive charging data recording capability, wherein the enhanced data provisioning process helps facilitate better understanding of the charging data and will make it easier to maintain vehicle charging data records.
As to claim 17, the system of ISHIBASHI and Solomon as applied to claim 16 above teaches EV charging, specifically ISHIBASHI teaches the system of claim 16, wherein the EV processor is further configured by the mobile device authentication software application to communicate with the server when a network connection with the server is present (i.e., …teaches in par. 0123 the following: “When the communication path to the electric vehicle 50 is established, the input/output unit 406 receives a public key certificate (hereinafter, a vehicle certificate) transmitted by the electric vehicle 50 and used for authentication processing. Then, the input/output unit 406 inputs the vehicle certificate received from the electric vehicle 50 to the control unit 404. The control unit 404 transmits the vehicle certificate input by the input/output unit 406 to the taxing server 20 via the communication unit 402”).
As to claim 18, the system of ISHIBASHI and Solomon as applied to claim 17 above teaches EV charging, specifically ISHIBASHI teaches the system of claim 17, wherein the mobile device processor is further configured by the mobile device authentication software application to send the charging session data to the server (i.e., …teaches in par. 0098 the following: “the electric vehicle 50 first transmits information about charged watt-hours to the taxing server 20 (notification of charged watt-hours). After receiving information about charged watt-hours from the electric vehicle 50, the taxing server 20 performs taxation processing based on the charged watt-hours. For example, the taxing server 20 calculates a tax amount in accordance with the charged watt-hours and records the calculated tax amount in association with the owner of the electric vehicle 50. When such taxation processing is completed, the taxing server 20 transmits information indicating completion of taxation processing to the electric vehicle 50 (notification of taxing completion). The electric vehicle 50 receives information indicating completion of taxation processing from the taxing server 20, and maintains a state where the taxation processing is complete (hereinafter, taxing complete state).”).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISHIBASHI in view of Solomon as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Sakakibara et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2009/0144150 and Sakakibara).
As to claim 14, the system of ISHIBASHI and Solomon as applied to claim 13 above teaches EV charging, specifically neither reference expressly teaches the EV charger of claim 13, wherein: the EV charger further comprises a locking mechanism, and the processor is further configured by the authentication software application to release the locking mechanism upon ending the charging session.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference Sakakibara.
Sakakibara teaches in par. 0111 the following: “In charging facility 300, whether or not the account settlement of the fee billed to electric powered vehicle 200 in step S350 has been completed is confirmed (step S270). When the account settlement completion is confirmed (YES is determined in S270), the external charge operation to electric powered vehicle 200 is finished. For example, the configuration can be such that a mechanism that locks the movement of electric powered vehicle 200 during external charge is provided, and at the end of the external charge operation accompanying the account settlement completion, the relevant lock mechanism is released.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of ISHIBASHI and Solomon with the teachings of Sakakibara by having their system comprises an enhanced vehicle charging connection process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to provide comprehensive charging capability, wherein the enhanced vehicle charging connection process helps facilitate better connections and will make it more safer and reliable to charge vehicles.
Contact Information
/BRYAN F WRIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 2497